Flo Maak
bangaloREsident@Pepper House

Flook Maak Teaserpicture © Flo Maak Flo Maak (born 1980) studied fine arts with Wolfgang Tillmans and Willem de Rooij at the Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main, and Cooper Union, New York City. From 2013 to 2017 he was professor for fine art photography at Chung-Ang University, Seoul. After a one-year scholarship at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig, he now lives in Berlin.

His work is based on photography, extends to installation, text, sculpture and video, and explores the relation between pictorial and exhibition space. His works are thematically diverse, whereby questions of autonomy, sovereignty and mutual dependency, especially in human-animal relationships, and the destructive consequences of human economy are recurring subjects. Starting from photography, he usually develops large installations in which the images are extended into space through architectural interventions and sculptural elements. Text also plays an important role in his work, either as part of the images, title or accompanying wall text. He always emphasises the visual aspect of his concept-based works.

Maak has also been cooperating with filmmaker and artist Lasse Lau for many years. Together they've been enquiring into the history of queer protests and the relationship between sexuality and food, whereby John Harvey Kellogg, as the inventor of cornflakes, a pronounced opponent of masturbation and patent holder of a chastity belt, has taken up a broad space in their joint works.

During the bangaloREsidency, Flo Maak plans to further develop his project “seascapes”, which explores the worldwide network of the seas and its role in the transmission and transformation of life forms and forms of life. To this end, he will explore the port and beaches of Kochi and work with local experts.

Selected solo exhibitions include “Technologies of the Kitchen” at Pro Arts, Oakland (2017), “Friendly Patterns” at gallery Bernhard Knaus, Frankfurt (2017), “In/Off The Grid” at 공간291, Seoul (2016), “DANGER” at Corner Art Space, Seoul (2015), “-graphie” at von Cirne, Cologne (2013), "Nichts tun wie ein Biest" at Bielefelder Kunstverein (2009), "Trompe-l'eil Polizei" at Frankfurter Kunstverein (2008) and  "silent specters" at JET, Berlin (2006). Selected group exhibitions include “Europe in China” at Sculpture Museum, Quingdao (2017), “On the Possibility of Life in Ruins” at Huset for Kunst og Design, Holstebro (2017), “Scattered Showers” at Frankfurter Kunstverein (2013), “After Prisma” at Villa Romana, Florence (2011) and "I Animal! (You Human)" at Perla Mode, Zurich (2010).

Final Report

Arriving in Bangalore, the KR flower market impressed me a lot. While I could only slowly move along with masses of people between the market stalls, the tarpaulins, stretched out above us for protection against sun and rain, constantly changed their shape in the wind and coloured everything below them red.
 
Tarpaulin_Flo Maak © Flo Maak After an intensive week in Bangalore, I travelled on to Kochi. I had expected to find a great variety of animals and plants due to the tropical conditions. But it was not the flying foxes or the colourful kingfisher bird, unknown to me from Germany, that caught my attention, but the crows searching for food on the beaches of Fort Kochi. These birds, which are omnipresent in Berlin as well, are obviously very adaptable. They seem to be the only species, besides humans, that have become native to very different climatic zones and can therefore be found all around the world today. While I still had to come to terms with the sultry heat myself, I began to take pictures of crows every day, watching how they skilfully searched for food, fighting over fish, frogs or rats and simply appearing everywhere I went. They accompanied me throughout my entire stay in Kochi and so, in addition to my planned work, I created an independent series of pictures with crows which I would like to publish later this year, either on its own or together with pictures of crows from other places. 
 
Crows on the beach_Flo Maak © Flo Maak Before my arrival in Kochi I had planned to realise a work about invasive marine species there. Large container ships transport seawater in ballast tanks along their routes and have thus in the past brought smaller organisms such as mussels to places where they were previously not found. A small proportion of these new arrivals have then spread rapidly and displaced other species; in these cases we speak of invasive species. Internationally, the discussion about so-called "invasive alien species" has grown for several years. With increasing international trade and due to changing living conditions for animals, plants and humans as a result of climate change, typical local species are disappearing and new ones arrive. However, this discussion does not only reflect a changing global situation. The biologist and Professor of Women and Gender Studies, Banu Subramaniam, has shown, for example, that in the USA, after September 11, 2001, the public debate on invasive species has become more extensive and aggresive. Thus, racist stereotypes and fear of the "other" also influence the perception of so-called alien animals and plants.
 
Tree_Flo Maak © Flo Maak To my surprise, there is little concern in Kochi about introduced creatures. This is probably because there is still an enormous variety of species in the sea and on land, but possibly also because the place has a long history of international trade and frequently changing colonial powers in addition to the different religious groups who have been living together peacefully there for a long time. The "other" and the "foreign" therefore does not seem to be perceived as a threat so much.
 
During my research I came across a plant that is considered invasive in Kerala and which immediately fascinated me because of its name. In Malayalam, the local language, it is called Communist Pacha, whereby Pacha is best translated as green. In biological taxonomy it is listed under the name Chromolaena odorata. The local names of plants often also refer to the importance and benefits that the plant has for the local population. For example, Chromolaena odorata is called Devil's Weed in Australia and other places, which clearly shows how much it is hated there. Often local names of introduced species refer to distant places to emphasise their strangeness. In Germany, the same plant is called Siamkraut and in many English-speaking countries Siam Weed. Until 1939, Siam was the name of a country which largely corresponds to today's Thailand. But the plant originally comes from Central and South America. Seen from Europe, both Southeast Asia and South America are far away and – as we know well – the colonial view has confused East and West before.
 
Communist Pacha_Flo Maak © Flo Maak In Kerala, Chromolaena odorata was accidentally introduced in the 1940s and spread rapidly. One of the reasons for its name is that the plant spread as quickly in Kerala as communism did there in the 1940s and '50s. This can be seen as a positive or negative association depending on the political point of view of the observer. In the positive reading, the plant's resilience is also often compared to that of Kerala’s Communist Party, which has repeatedly provided local government since its inception and has, especially in its early days, helped to overcome blatant forms of inequality in Kerala’s society. 
 
Communist Flag_Flo Maak © Flo Maak To learn more about the ecological significance of Communist Pacha in Kerala, I interviewed the biologist TV Sajeev of the Kerala Forest Research Institute. Together with his team he observes the spread of invasive plant species in Kerala and develops recommendations and control measures. First of all, he made it clear that Communist Pacha is only a problem in the forests, because it is used by people in the vicinity of settlements, for example as a medicine to heal wounds or it is removed when it becomes rampant. This regulation does not exist in the forest. Nevertheless, he is not panicky about Chomolaena odorata, rather he observes that this plant itself is now being displaced by other invasive species. I actually had difficulties finding the plant in larger populations. On the roadside, in the woods around Thrissur, where I was told it was widespread, I hardly found it. The only place, where I found significant populations was on Vypin Island off Kochi and on Kakkathuruthu Island.
 
Communist Pacha with blue Lungi_Flo Maak © Flo Maak At the end of my conversation with TV Sajeev, he pointed out that illegal mining in Kerala repeatedly leads to land erosion and landslides that destroy human and animal habitats, and that he and his staff have begun to map these activities. In Kochi I was told that the future of many people there and on the surrounding islands are threatened by rising sea levels. The communist weed on the roadside, thus seems not much of concern to most people.
 
My work is not finished yet and I will continue to edit my photographs and video recordings over the next few months, as well as continue my research, before presenting my finished work in the Pepper House Residency exhibition during the Kochi-Muziris Biennale in December 2020. I would like to thank the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, namely Dr. Claus Heimes, Maureen Gonsalves and Riya Matthew and the team of the Kochi Biennale Foundation, and especially Jith Joseph and Gautam Das for their great support.

Flo Maak
bangaloREsidentin@Pepper House

Flook Maak Teaserbild © Flo Maak Flo Maak, geboren 1980, studierte bildende Kunst an der Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main, und der Cooper Union, New York City. Von 2013 bis 2017 unterrichtete als Professor für künstlerische Fotografie an der Chung-Ang Universität, Seoul. Nach einem einjährigen Stipendienaufenthalt an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig lebt er heute in Berlin.
 
Seine Arbeiten sind thematisch vielfältig, wobei Fragen von Autonomie, Souveränität und gegenseitiger Abhängigkeit, insbesondere in Tier-Mensch Beziehungen, sowie die zerstörrerischen Folgen menschlichen Wirtschaftens wiederkehrende Sujets sind. Von Fotografie ausgehend entwickelt er meist große Installationen, in denen die Bilder durch architektonische Interventionen und skulpturale Elemente in den Raum erweitert werden. Weiterhin spielt Text in den Bilder, als Titel oder begleitenden Wandtext eine wichtige Rolle in seiner Arbeit. Immer betont er dabei den visuellen Aspekt seiner konzeptbasierten Arbeiten.
 
Seit vielen Jahren kooperiert Maak ausserdem mit dem Filmemacher und Künstler Lasse Lau. Gemeinsam beschäftigen sie sich mit der Geschichte queerer Proteste und dem Verhältnis von Sexualität und Essen, wobei John Harvey Kellogg als Erfinder der Cornflakes, ausgesprochener Gegener der Masturbation und Patentinhaber eines Keuschheitsgürtels breiten Raum in ihren gemeinsamen Arbeiten eingenommen hat.
 
Während der bangaloREsidency plant Flo Maak sein Projekt seascapes fortzuentwickeln, welches das weltweite Netz der Meere und seine Rolle bei der Übertragung und Transformation von Lebensformen und Lebenswesen untersucht. Hierfür wird er den Hafen und die Strände in Kochi erkunden und mit Expertinnen und Experten vor Ort zusammenarbeiten.
 

Abschlussbericht

In Bangalore angekommen hat mich der KR Blumenmarkt sehr beeindruckt. Während ich mich mit Massen von Menschen nur langsam zwischen den Marktständen fortbewegen konnte, veränderten die über uns zum Schutz gegen Sonne und Regen aufgespannten Planen ständig ihre Form im Wind und färbten alles unter ihnen rot.
 
Plane_Flo Maak © Flo Maak Nach einer intensiven Woche in Bangalore bin ich weiter nach Kochi gereist. Ich hatte schon erwartet dort wegen der tropischen Bedingungen eine große Vielfalt von Tieren und Pflanzen zu finden. Es waren aber nicht, die mir aus Deutschland unbekannten, Flughunde oder bunten Kingfisher, die meine Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zogen, sondern vor allem die Krähen, die an den Ufern von Fort Kochi nach Nahrung suchen. Diese auch in Berlin allgegenwärtigen Vögel sind offensichtlich sehr anpassungsfähig. Sie scheinen neben den Menschen, die einzige Art zu sein, die in ganz unterschiedlichen Klimazonen heimisch geworden ist und somit heute rund um die Welt zu finden ist. Während ich mich selber noch mit der schwülen Hitze arrangieren musste, begann ich täglich Bilder von Krähen zu machen, beobachtete wie sie geschickt Nahrung suchten, um Fische, Frösche oder Ratten als Nahrung stritten und einfach überall auftauchten, wo ich hinkam. Sie begleiteten mich über meinen gesamten Aufenthalt in Kochi und so entstand neben meiner geplanten Arbeit noch eine eigenständige Serie von Bilder mit Krähen, die ich später in diesem Jahr entweder für sich oder zusammen mit Bildern von Krähen an anderen Orten veröffentlichen möchte. 
 
Crows on the beach_Flo Maak © Flo Maak Vor meiner Ankunft in Kochi hatte ich geplant mich dort mit invasiven, marinen Arten zu beschäftigen. Große Containerschiffe transportieren in Ballasttanks Meereswasser entlang ihrer Routen und haben so in der Vergangenheit kleinere Organismen wie etwa Muscheln an Orte gebracht, an denen diese zuvor nicht zu finden waren. Ein kleiner Teil dieser Neuankömmlinge hat sich dann schnell ausgebreitet und andere Arten verdrängt, in diesen Fällen wird von invasiven Arten gesprochen. International nimmt die Diskussion um sogenannte “invasive alien species” seit einigen Jahren zu. Mit wachsendem internationalem Handel und wegen sich verändernder Lebensbedingungen für Tiere, Pflanzen und Menschen in Folge vom Klimawandel verschwinden ortstypische Arten und kommen neue hinzu. In diesen Diskussion spiegelt sich aber nicht nur eine veränderte globale Situation. Die Biologin und Professorin für Women and Gender Studies, Banu Subramaniam, hat beispielsweise gezeigt, dass in den USA nach dem 11. September 2001 die öffentliche Diskussion über invasive Arten an Umfang und Schärfe gewonnen hat. So beeinflussen rassistische Stereotype und Angst vor dem Fremden auch die Wahrnehmung von neu hinzugekommenen Tieren und Pflanzen.
 
Tree_Flo Maak © Flo Maak Zu meiner Überraschung gibt es in Kochi wenig Bedenken bezüglich eingeschleppter Lebewesen, vermutlich weil es dort im Meer und an Land weiterhin einen enormen Artenreichtum gibt, möglicherweise aber auch weil der Ort eine lange Geschichte internationalen Handels und häufig wechselnder Kolonialmächte hat und zudem dort schon lange unterschiedliche Glaubensgruppen friedlich mit einander leben. Das Andere und Fremde scheint hier also nicht so sehr als Bedrohung wahrgenommen zu werden.
 
Bei meinen Recherchen bin ich dann auf eine Pflanze gestoßen, die in Kerala als invasiv gilt und die mich vor allem wegen ihres Namens sofort fasziniert hat. Sie wird in Malayalam, der lokalen Sprache, Communist Pacha genannt, wobei Pacha am ehesten mit Grünzeug zu übersetzen ist. In der biologischen Taxonomie wird sie unter dem Namen Chromolaena odorata verzeichnet. Die lokalen Namen von Pflanzen verweisen häufig auch auf die Bedeutung und den Nutzen, die diese Pflanze für die Bevölkerung hat. So wird Chromolaena odorata in Australien und auf Hawaii beispielsweise Devil‘s Weed genannt, was klar zeigt, wie unerwünscht sie dort ist. Häufig verweisen lokale Namen eingeschleppter Arten auch auf ferne Orte um so ihre Fremdheit zu betonen, so wird eben die gleiche Pflanze in Deutschland Siamkraut und in vielen Englisch-sprachigen Ländern siam weed genannt. Mit Siam wurde bis 1939 ein Land bezeichnete, welches weitestgehend dem heutigen Thailand entspricht. Die Pflanze stammt ursprüngliche aber aus Zentral- und Südamerika; von Europa aus gesehen ist beides – Südostasien und Südamerika – weit entfernt und der koloniale Blick hat bekanntermassen des öfteren schon West und Ost vertauscht.
 
Communist Pacha_Flo Maak © Flo Maak In Kerala ist die Pflanzen in den 1940er versehentlich eingeführt worden und hat sich dort schnell verbreitet. Erklärt wird ihr Name u.a. damit, dass sich die Pflanze in Kerala genauso schnell verbreitete wie der Kommunismus in den 1940er und 50er Jahren. Was je nach politischem Standpunkt der Betrachter*in als positiv oder negativ Assoziation betrachtet werden kann. In der positiven Lesart wird die Resilienz der Pflanze auch gerne mit der der kommunistischen Partei in Kerala verglichen, die seit ihrem Bestehen wiederholt die lokal Regierung gestellt hat und insbesondere in ihren Anfangstagen geholfen hat krasse Formen gesellschaftlicher Ungleichheit zu überwinden. 
 
Communist Flag_Flo Maak © Flo Maak Um mehr über die ökologische Bedeutung von Communist Pacha in Kerala zu erfahren, habe ich den den Biologen TV Sajeev vom Kerala Forest Research Institute interviewt. Er beobachtet zusammen mit seinem Team die Ausbreitung invasiver Pflanzenarten in Kerala und entwickelt Empfehlungen und Steuerungsmaßnahmen. Zunächst machte er deutlich, dass das Communist Pacha, wenn dann nur im Wald ein Problem sei, da es in Siedlungsnähe von den Menschen genutzt wird, z.B. als Medizin zur Wundheilung oder eben beseitigt wird, wenn es überhand nimmt. Diese Regulation gibt es im Wald nicht. Panisch ist er bezüglich Chomolaena odorata trotzdem nicht, vielmehr beobachtet er, dass die Pflanzen inzwischen selbst von anderen Neophyten, also eingeschleppten Arten, verdrängt wird. Ich hatte tatsächlich Schwierigkeiten die Pflanze in größeren Populationen zu finden. Am Wegesrand in den Wäldern um Thrissur, wo mir gesagt wurde, dass sie weit verbreitet sei, fand ich sie kaum. Bedeutende Populationen konnte ich nur auf der Kochi vorgelagerten Insel Vypin und auf der Insel Kakkathuruthu finden.
 
Communist Pacha with blue Lungi_Flo Maak © Flo Maak Am Ende meines Gesprächs mit TV Sajeev verwies er darauf, dass illegaler Bergbau in Kerala immer wieder zu Landerrosion und Erdrutschen führt, die Häuser und Lebensräume zerstören und das er und seine Mitarbeiter*innen begonnen haben diese Aktivitäten zu kartographieren. Für die Menschen in Kochi und auf den umliegenden Inseln ist der steigende Meeresspiegel die größte Bedrohung in der Zukunft. Das kommunistische Unkraut am Straßenrand störrt die meisten Menschen also nicht weiter.
 
Meine Arbeit ist noch nicht abgeschlossen und ich werde die nächsten Monate meine Foto- und Videoaufnahmen editieren, so wie meine Recherchen fortführen, um dann meine fertige Arbeit in der Pepper House Residency Ausstellung im Rahmen der Kochi-Muziris Biennale im Dezember 2020 zu präsentieren. Ich möchte mich ganz herzlich beim Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, namentlich bei Dr. Claus Heimes, Maureen Gonsalves und Riya Matthew und dem Team der Kochi Biennale Foundation, dort insbesondere bei Jith Joseph und Gautam Das für die tolle Unterstützung bedanken.