Lauryn Mannigel
bangaloREsident@Srishti

Lauryn Mannigel portrait © Sabrina Meissner Lauryn Mannigel, born (*1983) and raised in former East Germany, works as an artist-researcher and curator. Since 2015, she is based in Berlin, but has also worked and studied abroad in a number of countries (France, Canada, Netherlands, Great Britain) over an 11-year period. Lauryn holds an M.A in Contemporary Art and New Media from Université Paris 8 (2009).

Lauryn’s artistic practice is both experimental and interdisciplinary. Since 2005, she has been mainly interested in tackling the issue of the Western cultural dominance of visual aesthetics and epistemology by exploring primarily non-visual modalities and perception. Inspired by narratives of empowerment and resistance, she has previously examined the influence of the physical and socio-cultural dynamics of space on body perception through site-specific interventions (e.g. Occupation Sonore, 2007) and tactile-sound installations (e.g. Internal Earthquake, 2014).

Lauryn initiated the nomadic meeting spaces Think Tank (2007-8) and the Think & Action Tank (2014-15) to foster informal discussions on diverse creative research processes and presentation formats. Since 2016, she has curated the Sensory Culture Club reading group, which tackles aspects concerning the role of society and culture of the historically repressed sense of smell, touch and taste. In 2018-19, she co-supervised a Master of Science thesis project on consumer science of body odour in food at Wageningen University (NL).

Since 2016, Lauryn has been investigating the politics of body scent by unveiling feelings and assumptions that people have pertaining to experiences of others’ smell and body odour. Lauryn creates performance-based experiments combined with interdisciplinary surveys. From a feminist perspective, she critically draws from laboratory practices of human olfactory (smell) perception in psychology and neuroscience. In this line of work, she recently presented her projects Love Sweat Love (2016), Eat Me (2018), and Smell Feel Match (2019). In addition, she showed the first results of her research into people’s felt perception towards others’ body scents at the interdisciplinary Human Olfaction Conference (2017).
 
During the bangaloREsidency, Lauryn will collaborate with the Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology. There, she will begin to explore ideas related to processes of “othering” by investigating people’s perceptions about body scents. As a starting point, she will examine “othering” as a form of social exclusion based on the premise that a person or group is perceived as "different", and therefore not considered as part of one's own social group. Through research and discussions on postcolonial narratives of “othering” with Indians and the Indian diaspora, Lauryn will design artistic experiments, in which participants can investigate their own olfactory judgment of others’ body scents. Most importantly, she seeks to engage in an open-minded discussion on the perception of body scent, which she intends to maintain past the residency period.

Final Report

I was overcome with a sudden influx of overwhelming emotions when I landed in Bangalore. When planning my trip, I had been looking forward to exploring the city. In particular, I was excited to discover the smells of the city’s urban spaces, the local foods, and people. I had my first memorable olfactory (smell) impression at the airport, where the Goethe-Institut welcomed us with jasmine flower garlands. I was mesmerized by the jasmine’s light yet intense floral smell.

olfactory welcome at the airport © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore My second notable olfactory experience was elicited by the savoury smells of a delicious home-cooked Indian lunch that both the residents and the staff from the Goethe-Institut shared at the art space 1 Shanthi Road. Suresh Jayaram, the founder of the space, had prepared various dishes to welcome us. The food was delicious, and yet it was surprisingly quite different from the Indian food I had been cooking at home for many years. This lunch marked the beginning of a mouthwatering daily culinary discovery that I found with every following meal.

lunch at 1 Shanthi Road bangaloREsidency 2019 II © Lauryn Mannigel The Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology was my host organisation. Both of my contacts, Meena Vari — Dean of the School of Media, Arts and Sciences and Dean of the Department of Contemporary Arts and Curatorial Practice, as well as Yashas Shetty, the head of Art Science BLR, supported me in getting started on my research. I spent some of my time working from a desk that was offered to me at Art Science BLR. The Srishti Institute also provided me with a room in a shared apartment that was located in a green gated community in Yelahanka, a suburb north of the city. The apartment’s location was very convenient to get to Srishti Institute, as it was only a five-minute ride in a rickshaw. However, getting to the city centre usually took a good hour and a half. Since I ended up working a lot from the apartment to do research, partly because I fell sick several times, I felt increasingly isolated.
 
I began my residency project after an intense first week of being ill. Initially, I had intended to explore ideas related to processes of “othering” by investigating people’s feelings, potential assumptions and judgements about others’ body scents. The term body scents is what I use to refer to the entire spectrum of human smells, as they occur in everyday life. Body scents can be both solely natural body odours, as well as any modification to them through addition of products such as shower gel, aftershave, essential oils or the like. Overall, all activities (such as working, exercising, food, etc.) and the spaces we inhabit construct the mixtures of scents and aromas that make up our body scents. Moreover, I use the term “othering” as a word to describe a form of social exclusion based on the premise that a person or group is perceived as "different", and therefore is not considered as part of the broader social group.

Since I was completely new to India’s cultural landscape, it seemed necessary to first gain an understanding of how people perceived and constructed their world through smell. To begin with, I decided to search for contemporary academic texts on the cultural history of smell. I had multiple seminal conversations with Yashas Shetty, as well as with Suresh Jayaram. To my surprise, I only found one book written in English — “Sandalwood and Carrion: Smell in Indian Religion and Culture” (McHugh 2012) — which provided cultural insights into smell in pre-modern South Asia that were based on Sanskrit texts. The book showed comparisons made between Hindu, Buddhist, and Jain religious practices in relation to smell. One particularly interesting insight that I gained was that urine, dead bodies and human excrements, as well as sick people had been perceived as foul smelling in pre-modern India.
 
The more I started to learn about smell in Indian culture, the more eager I became to look into academic writing on the social perception of human body scents in India in the fields of the social sciences, psychology and neuroscience. During my research, I discovered one article — “Theorising Sensory Cultures in Asia: Sociohistorical Perspectives” (Low 2019) — which examined the role of the senses through Asia’s historical context. One thing of note was that the article explained how “Imperialist attitudes governing sensory conduct, property and civility in [India] meant that local sensory behaviours were interpreted as transgressive and thereby pathological” (Low 2019, p. 629). Besides this article, I found the amount of literature in the English language on my chosen topic to be sparse. I was surprised that I had not yet been able to find any contemporary academic texts that documented how people perceived each other through their body scents.

At the beginning of my residency, I had planned to explore the social perception of people’s body scents by creating a new version of my olfactory performance-experiment titled “Eat Me” (2018). I had designed “Eat Me” to ask participants to imagine a world in which experiencing others by tasting and smelling (retronasal smell) them would be the norm.  Originally, I had created “Eat Me” by conducting interviews at Wageningen University in the Netherlands. During these interviews, I had asked people if they could imagine eating body scents, and if so, what texture, taste and colour they would ascribe to them. Based on people’s replies, I designed four snacks and one beverage, which I served at a public presentation.

Lauryn Mannigel in conversation with Dr. Shannon Olsson © Santosh Rajus For my new project in Bangalore, I had aimed to identify the aroma of a few carefully selected individuals’ body scents in order to insert them into the composition of snacks and drinks. To be able to determine a person’s aroma, it is first necessary to assess the person’s molecular make up with the help of a scientist who is familiar with the process of conducting a chemical analysis on odours. Second, the scent molecules have to be translated into aroma molecules for the purpose of mixing the flavours of a person into the food objects. When searching for a collaborator for the chemical analysis component of my research, Yashas Shetty introduced me to chemical ecologist Dr. Shannon Olsson from the National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS). After some fascinating conversations with Shannon about olfactory communication between insects and plants as well as among humans, she agreed to collaborate with me. In our discussions on the concept of my project, three questions arose: (1) From which body parts should participants collect their own body scent and why? (2) Which materials would be suitable for body scent collection? (3) And most importantly whose body scent would I want to collect? As part of my investigation to determine whose body scents to explore, I wanted to first get an understanding about the role that social and cultural groupings play in contemporary Indian society. Thus, I arranged a meeting with social scientist Sobin George, an Assistant Professor at the Institute for Social and Economic Change. He pointed out that many people still think about society according to the caste system.

Lauryn Mannigel in conversation with Prof. Sobin George © Chandra Gowda I then began to initiate discussions with women living in Bangalore about how they think they are being perceived, based on their smell. A larger group discussion took place during the workshop “I smell a rat”, which I ran at the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan on December 12, 2019. The workshop invited participants to critically engage with gender-related perceptions in relation to body scents, through a presentation, discussion, and hands-on experiments. While this session was informative in many aspects, I walked away from the event having learned that female body scents as a whole are more stigmatised than male ones.

Workshop “I smell a rat” © Magali Couffon de Trevros I responded to this new information by re-focusing my project to be about the social perception of women’s body scents. My initial attempts to engage in a dialogue about this topic quickly led me to realise that body scents are a big taboo in Bangalore. The only open conversations I had during my trip were with women of the millennial generation, all of whom have also completed some form of higher education. I held interviews with five women to inquire about their experience of how other people perceive their body scents as well how they perceive their own smell. I audio recorded these exchanges. In 2020, I plan to follow up with my research by asking the interviewees to collect their own body scents from their necks.
 
From my research, it seemed to me that a women’s neck is the most suitable and respectful body part to focus my exploration of the social perception of women’s body scents in Bangalore because it can be both partially exposed to the world, as well as covered up by clothes. The variety of scents on a women’s neck might be perceived by others during particular types of exchanges, for instance by hugging. However, these smells can also be experienced in the public domain, for example, when traveling on a crowded bus. Although the neck is considered an intimate space, the scents of the area do not seem to be as stigmatised as the other intimate areas of the body, such as the scents of a women’s underarm. Overall, it is my intention to have my work raise an awareness about the social perception of women’s body scents by trying to avoid reinforcing existing stigmas on the way women smell. 

collecting body scent © Lauryn Mannigel During my residency, I had encountered big resistance and a lack of understanding towards my project idea to present women’s everyday body scents in the form of snacks. Some of the feedback I had received suggested that my work was being perceived as insensitive, inappropriate, and cannibalistic. It has become clear to me that if I continued to pursue the idea of creating experiences for eating snacks that contain women’s body scents, I would most likely drive people away instead of possibly catching their interest in the social perception of women’s smell. As a result, I am now reconsidering the further development of my project which I am excited about. I wish to present the final project in Bangalore as an exhibition in 2020 or 2021.
 
A big thank you to the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, Moira Heuer, Charlotte Rauth, Marie Knop, Meena Vari and Yashas ShettY from the Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Prof. Shannon Olsson and Srinivas Rao from the NICE Lab at the National Centre for Biological Sciences, Prof. Sobin George from the Institute for Social and Economic Change, 1 Shanthi Road, Blank Noise, Sandbox Collective, The Courtyard, and all the women in Bangalore with whom I had discussions.




Bibliography

McHugh, J 2012, Sandalwood and Carrion: Smell in Indian Religion and Culture, Oxford University Press, New York.
 
Low, KEY 2019, ‘Theorising Sensory Cultures in Asia: Sociohistorical Perspectives’, Asian Studies Review, vol. 43, no. 4, pp. 618-636, DOI: 10.1080/10357823.2019.1664985

Lauryn Mannigel
bangaloREsidentin@SRISHTI

Lauryn Mannigel portrait © Sabrina Meissner Lauryn Mannigel wurde 1983 geboren und wuchs in Ostdeutschland auf. Sie arbeitet als Artistic Researcher und Kuratorin. Sie studierte und arbeitete elf Jahre lang im Ausland (Frankreich, Kanada, den Niederlanden, Großbritannien) und lebt seit 2015 in Berlin. Lauryn hat einen Master in zeitgenössischer Kunst und neuen Medien der Université Paris 8 (2009).

Lauryns künstlerische Praxis ist experimentell und ein disziplinübergreifender Hybrid. Seit 2005 ist sie hauptsächlich daran interessiert, die westliche Dominanz der visuellen Ästhetik und Epistemologie zu untersuchen, indem sie vor allem die nicht-visuellen Sinne und deren Wahrnehmung erforscht. In diesem Zusammenhang erkundete sie den Einfluss der physischen und soziokulturellen Dynamik des Raumes auf die Körperwahrnehmung durch ortsspezifische Interventionen (z. B. Occupation Sonore, 2007) und taktile Klanginstallationen (z. B. Internal Earthquake, 2014).

Lauryn initiierte die Nomadentreffen des Think Tank (2007-8) und des Think & Action Tank (2014-15) und förderte informelle Diskussionen über diverse kreative Forschungsprozesse und Präsentationsformate. Seit 2016 kuratiert sie den Sensory Culture Club reading group, welcher sich mit der gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Rolle der historisch unterdrückten Geruchs-, Geschmacks- und Berührungssinne auseinandersetzt. Zwischen 2018 und 2019 war sie Ko-Betreuerin eines Master-of-Science-Projekts zur Konsumentenforschung von Körpergerüchen in Lebensmitteln an der Universität Wageningen (NL).

Seit 2016 untersucht Lauryn die Politik des Körperduftes. In diesem Sinne legt sie Gefühle und Annahmen, die in Resonanz auf den Geruch sowie Körpergeruch anderer entstehen, frei. Lauryn unternimmt künstlerische Experimente, die sie mit interdisziplinären Umfragen kombiniert. Hierbei schöpft sie aus einer feministischer Perspektive und setzt sich kritisch mit Laborstudien der Psychologie und den Neurowissenschaften zur menschlichen Geruchswahrnehmung auseinander. In diesem Kontext präsentierte sie kürzlich ihre Projekte Love Sweat Love (2016), Eat Me (2018) und Smell Feel Match (2019). Zudem zeigte sie auf der interdisziplinären Human Olfaction Conference (2017) ihre ersten Forschungsergebnisse zur gefühlten Wahrnehmung der Körperdüfte anderer.

Während der bangaloREsidency wird Lauryn mit dem Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology zusammenarbeiten. Sie wird dort Ideen untersuchen, die mit Prozessen des „Othering“ verbunden sind, indem sie die menschliche Wahrnehmung von Körperdüften erforscht. Hierbei wird sie das „Othering“ zunächst als eine Form sozialer Ausgrenzung betrachten, bei der eine Person oder Gruppe „anders“ und folglich nicht als Teil der eigenen sozialen Gruppe wahrgenommen wird. Durch Recherchen und Diskussionen über postkoloniale Perspektiven des „Othering“ mit Inder*innen und der indischen Diaspora wird Lauryn künstlerische Experimente entwerfen, in denen die Teilnehmer*innen ihre Geruchsbeurteilung zu den Körperdüften anderer untersuchen können. Sie ist vorrangig daran interessiert eine aufgeschlossene Diskussion über die Wahrnehmung von Körpergerüchen anzuregen, die sie auch nach der Künstlerresidenz fortführen möchte.
 

Abschlussbericht

Als ich in Bangalore landete, war ich sehr bewegt. Ich hatte bereits seit einigen Jahren gehofft, die Stadt – insbesondere die Gerüche des Essens, der Menschen sowie der städtischen Umgebung – erkunden zu können. Meinen ersten einschneidenden Geruchseindruck erlebte ich am Flughafen, als uns das Goethe-Institut mit Jasminblütenketten empfang. Ich war fasziniert von dem leichten und zugleich intensiven Blumenduft.

Empfang am Flughafen © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore Meine zweite durchdringende Geruchserfahrung wurde hervorgerufen durch die Gerüche eines köstlichen indischen Mittagessens im Kunstraum 1 Shanthi Road, an dem alle Künstler*innen sowie die Mitarbeiter*innen des Goethe-Instituts teilnahmen. Suresh Jayaram, der Gründer des Kunstraums, hatte zu unserer Begrüßung verschiedene Gerichte vorbereitet. Das Essen war sehr schmackhaft, wenn auch nicht überraschend anders als das indische Essen, das ich seit vielen Jahren koche. Dieses Mittagessen stellte den Beginn einer täglichen köstlichen kulinarischen Entdeckungsreise dar.

Mittagessen bei 1 Shanthi Road bangaloREsidency 2019 II © Lauryn Mannigel Das Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology war meine Gastgeberorganisation. Meine beiden Kontakte, Meena Vari, Dekanin der School of Media, Arts and Sciences und Dekanin des Bereichs für Zeitgenössische Kunst und kuratorische Praxis, sowie Yashas Shetty, der Leiter des Art Science BLR , unterstützten mich dabei, mein Projekt zu beginnen. Yashas bot mir an, einen Schreibtisch im Art Science BLR nutzen zu können. Srishti stellte mir ein Zimmer in einer Wohnung zur Verfügung, die sich in einer grünen und bewachten Wohnanlage in Yelahanka, einem Vorort im Norden der Stadt, befand. Es war sehr einfach, zu Srishti zu gelangen, da die Schule nur eine fünfminütige Rikscha-Fahrt von der Wohnung entfernt lag. Die Fahrt ins Stadtzentrum dauerte jedoch gut anderthalb Stunden. Da ich im Verlauf der Residency meistens von der Wohnung aus arbeitete und recherchierte, teilweise, weil ich öfters krank war, fühlte ich mich zunehmend isoliert.

Ich begann mein Projekt nach einer intensiven ersten Woche, in der ich krank war. Zunächst hatte ich die Absicht, Ideen zu erforschen, die in einem Zusammenhang mit Prozessen des „Othering“ stehen, indem ich die Gefühle, potenziellen Annahmen und Urteile von Menschen über die Körperdüfte anderer Menschen untersuchte. Unter Körperdüften verstehe ich dabei das gesamte Spektrum menschlicher Gerüche, wie sie im Alltag vorkommen. Körperdüfte können sowohl rein natürliche Körpergerüche sein als auch deren Veränderung durch hinzugefügte Produkte wie Duschgel, Aftershave, ätherische Öle oder Ähnliches. Insgesamt prägen alle Aktivitäten (wie Arbeiten, Bewegung, Essen etc.) sowie die Orte, die wir bewohnen und durchstreifen, unseren Körperduft. Darüber hinaus verstehe ich das Konzept des „Othering“ als eine Form der sozialen Ausgrenzung, die auf der Annahme beruht, dass eine andere Person oder Gruppe als „anders“ wahrgenommen und daher nicht als Teil der eigenen sozialen Gruppe betrachtet wird.

Da ich völlig neu in der indischen Kulturlandschaft war, schien es mir notwendig, zunächst ein Verständnis dafür zu erlangen, wie die Menschen ihre Welt durch den Geruch wahrnehmen und konstruieren. Zunächst beschloss ich, nach zeitgenössischen akademischen Texten zur Kulturgeschichte des Geruchs zu suchen. Zudem hatte ich mehrere wegweisende Gespräche mit Yashas Shetty und Suresh Jayaram. Zu meiner Überraschung entdeckte ich nur folgendes Buch in englischer Sprache: „Sandalwood and Carrion: Smell in Indian Religion and Culture“ (McHugh 2012), welches anhand von Sanskrit-Texten Einblicke in die Geruchswahrnehmung im vormodernen Südasien gibt. Hier werden Vergleiche zwischen hinduistischen, buddhistischen und jainistischen religiösen Praktiken in Bezug auf den Geruch angestellt. Der Autor zeigt auf, dass Urin, Leichen und Exkremente, die von Menschen stammen, sowie kranke Menschen im vormodernen Indien als übel riechend wahrgenommen wurden.

Je mehr ich über den Geruch in der indischen Kultur zu lernen begann, desto interessierter war ich herauszufinden, was akademische Texte in den Bereichen der Sozialwissenschaften, Psychologie und Neurowissenschaften zur sozialen Wahrnehmung menschlicher Körperdüfte in Indien berichten. Ich entdeckte in diesem Zusammenhang nur einen Artikel: „Theorising Sensory Cultures in Asia: Sociohistorical Perspectives“ (Low 2019). Dieser untersucht die Rolle der Sinne im historischen Kontext Asiens und erwähnt, dass „imperialistische Haltungen, die das sinnesorientierte Verhalten, das Eigentum und die Höflichkeit  [...] [in Indien] bestimmen, bedeuten, dass lokale sinnesorientierte Verhaltensweisen als transgressiv und damit als pathologisch interpretiert wurden“ (Low 2019, S. 629, Übersetzung der Autorin). Über diesen Artikel hinaus ist die Literatur in englischer Sprache zu meinem erwünschten Thema sehr spärlich. Leider habe ich bisher keine zeitgenössischen wissenschaftlichen Texte finden können, die untersuchen, wie Menschen sich gegenseitig durch ihre Körperdüfte wahrnehmen.
 
Zu Beginn meiner Künstlerresidenz setze ich mir als Ziel, die soziale Wahrnehmung des Körperdufts von Menschen, die in Bangalore leben, zu untersuchen. Ich wollte hierbei ein neues olfaktorisches Performance-Experiment schaffen, welches auf dem Projekt „Eat Me“ (2018) aufbaut. Bei „Eat Me“ wurden die Teilnehmer*innen dazu aufgefordert, sich eine Welt vorzustellen, in der es normal ist, andere Personen über Geschmacks- und Geruchserfahrungen durch das Essen (retronasaler Geruch) zu erleben. Hierfür führte ich Interviews an der Universität Wageningen und fragte Personen, ob sie sich vorstellen könnten, Körperduft zu essen und, wenn ja, welche Textur, welchen Geschmack und welche Farbe sie diesem zuschreiben würden. Basierend auf den Antworten der Leute entwarf ich vier Snacks und ein Getränk, die ich dem Publikum servierte.

Lauryn Mannigel im Gespräch mit Dr. Shannon Olsson © Santosh Rajus Für mein neues Projekt plante ich, die Aromastoffe der Körperdüfte einiger ausgewählter Personen zu identifizieren, um Snacks und Getränke damit zu entwerfen. Um die Aromastoffe einer Person bestimmen zu können, ist es zunächst notwendig, die molekulare Zusammensetzung des Geruchs der Person mit Hilfe eines/r Wissenschaftlers*in, der/die mit der chemischen Analyse vertraut ist, zu bestimmen. Zweitens müssen die Geruchsmoleküle in Aromamoleküle übersetzt werden, damit die Geschmacksstoffe einer Person Lebensmitteln beigegeben werden können. Auf der Suche nach einem Kollaborator für die chemische Analyse stellte mich Yashas Shetty der Chemieökologin Dr. Shannon Olsson vom National Center for Biological Sciences (NCBS) vor. Nach einem faszinierenden Gespräch mit ihr über die Geruchskommunikation zwischen Insekten und Pflanzen sowie unter Menschen stimmte sie zu, die chemische Analyse der Körperduftproben zu leiten. Als wir das Konzept meines Projekts sowie die Aspekte von dessen Umsetzung zusammen diskutierten, kamen folgende Fragen auf: (1) Von welchen Körperteilen sollten die Teilnehmer*innen ihren eigenen Körperduft sammeln und warum? (2) Welche Materialien würden sich zur Aufnahme von Körperdüften eignen? Und vor allem: (3) Wessen Körperdüfte würde ich sammeln wollen? Auf der Suche nach dem zu erforschenden Körperduft wollte ich zunächst verstehen, ob die Zuordnung von Menschen zu einer Kaste weiterhin eine Rolle in der indischen Gesellschaft spielt oder nicht. Aus diesem Grund organisierte ich ein Gespräch mit dem Sozialwissenschaftler Sobin George, einem Assistenzprofessor am Institute for Social and Economic Change. Er bestätigte, dass das Unterscheiden der Gesellschaft nach Kasten in den Vorstellungen der Inder*innen weiterlebt.

Lauryn Mannigel im Gespräch mit Prof. Sobin George © Chandra Gowda Ich initiierte Diskussionen mit Frauen, die in Bangalore leben, darüber, wie sie glauben, dass sie aufgrund ihres Körperdufts wahrgenommen werden. Eine größere Diskussion fand während des Workshops „I smell a rat“ statt, den ich am 12. Dezember 2019 im Goethe-Institut Max Mueller Bhavan gab. Der Workshop lud Teilnehmerinnen ein, sich mittels einer Präsentation, Diskussionen und praktischer Experimente kritisch mit der geschlechtsspezifischen Wahrnehmung von Körperdüften auseinanderzusetzen. Der Workshop war in vielerlei Hinsicht sehr informativ. Ein wichtiger Aspekt, den ich lernte, war, dass Körperdüfte von Frauen in Bangalore stärker stigmatisiert sind als die von Männern.

Workshop “I smell a rat” © Magali Couffon de Trevros Anknüpfend an diese Aussage, richtete ich mein Projekt schließlich darauf aus, die soziale Wahrnehmung des Körperdufts von Frauen zu erforschen. Nach mehreren Versuchen, mit Frauen ein Gespräch zu diesem Thema zu eröffnen, bemerkte ich ebenso, dass Körperdüfte ein großes soziales Tabu darstellen. Bisher war es mir nur möglich mit einigen Frauen der Millenniumsgeneration offene Gespräche hierzu führen zu können. Alle von ihnen hatten eine Form von Hochschulausbildung abgeschlossen. Ich unternahm insgesamt längere Gespräche mit fünf Frauen darüber, wie sie die Wahrnehmung ihres Körperduftes durch andere erfahren und wie sie ihren eigenen Körperduft wahrnehmen.

Diese Gespräche zeichnete ich mit einem Tonaufnahmegerät auf. In einem nächsten Schritt werde ich meine Gesprächspartnerinnen bitten, die Körperdüfte im Bereich um ihren Hals zu sammeln, damit diese chemisch analysiert werden können, denn mir scheint der Hals einer Frau der respektvollste Körperteil zu sein, um die soziale Wahrnehmung der Körperdüfte von Frauen in Bangalore zu erforschen. Der Hals kann sowohl offen gezeigt werden als auch durch Kleidung verdeckt sein. Die Gerüche des Halses einer Frau können bei der Begrüßung anderer Menschen, z.B. durch das Umarmen, aber auch in der Öffentlichkeit, beispielsweise während einer Fahrt in einem überfüllten Bus, wahrgenommen werden. Obwohl es sich um einen intimen Raum handelt, scheinen demnach die Körperdüfte des Halses einer Frau nicht so stigmatisiert zu sein, wie dies z.B. bei Düften der Achselhöhle einer Frau der Fall ist. Es ist meine Absicht, das Bewusstsein für die soziale Wahrnehmung der Körperdüfte von Frauen zu schärfen, indem ich darauf abziele, die bestehenden Stigmata hinsichtlich der Art und Weise, wie Frauen riechen, nicht zu verstärken.

collecting body scent © Lauryn Mannigel Mit meiner ursprünglichen Projektidee, den Körperduft von Frauen als etwas Essbares zu präsentieren, stieß ich neben ein paar neugierigen Frauen auch auf großen Widerstand und großes Unverständnis. Mir wurde gesagt, dies sei unsensibel, unangemessen und kannibalisch. Meine Annahme ist demzufolge, dass diese Idee die Menschen in Bangalore höchstwahrscheinlich eher abschrecken würde, anstatt deren Interesse an der sozialen Wahrnehmung der Körperdüfte von Frauen zu wecken. Aus diesem Grund werde ich die weitere Entwicklung meines Projekts überarbeiten, worauf ich bereits sehr gespannt bin. Ich hoffe das finale Projekt im Jahr 2020 oder 2021 in einer Ausstellung in Bangalore vorzustellen.
 
Ein großes Dankeschön an das gesamte Team des Goethe-Instituts, an Max Mueller Bhavan, an Moira Heuer, an Charlotte Rauth, an Marie Knop, an Meena Vari und Yashas Shetty vom Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, an Prof. Shannon Olsson und Srinivas Rao vom NICE Lab des National Centre for Biological Sciences, an Prof. Sobin George vom Institute for Social and Economic Change, an das Team von 1 Shanthi Road, Blank Noise, das Sandbox Collective, The Courtyard sowie an alle Frauen in Bangalore, mit denen ich Gespräche führte.

Bibliographie

McHugh, J 2012, Sandalwood and Carrion: Smell in Indian Religion and Culture, Oxford University Press, New York.
 
Low, KEY 2019, ‘Theorising Sensory Cultures in Asia: Sociohistorical Perspectives’, Asian Studies Review, vol. 43, no. 4, pp. 618-636, DOI: 10.1080/10357823.2019.1664985