Thomas Heidtmann
bangaloREsident@SRISHTI

Satellites, Space, SPARTH!
Thomas Heidtmann is a media artist whose quest involves material for satellite-inspired interactive objects that communicate with each other and the visitor in an exhibition setup, using light, sound, sensors, projections, and augmented reality. In Bangalore he also plans to organise a space-art hackathon: SPARTH. 

Thomas Heidtmann is a media artist, formally educated at the Berlin University of the Arts with an emphasis on painting and new media. In his recent works, he examines forms and expressions of exploration, collaboration, and communication. He is fascinated by space technologies, mirrors, and questions of visibility and observation.

Heidtmann combines traditional aesthetics, materials, and techniques with new technologies such as 3D-printing to create installations and objects that are often interactive and engaging. The interactions vary from the more obvious to the arcane. He builds ephemeral solutions for site-specific requirements, as well as autonomous pieces.

He is co-founder and board member of Lacuna Lab e.V., an artist-run association, collaborative community, and space in Kreuzberg, Berlin, working at the intersection of arts, science, and technology. He also is co-organiser of Science Hack Day Berlin.

His works were presented among others at ISEA in Hong Kong, Vorspiel / transmediale & CTM and Retune Festival Berlin. He was involved in projects at Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin and Fundació Joan Miró in Barcelona, Spain, and has lectured, at Martin-Gropius-Bau Berlin, among others.
thomas heidtmann © Kristina Paustian
The eight-week long bangaloREsidency at Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, starting from September 3rd, is the initial phase of the long-term project PLACE IN ORBIT*.

For the next two years, it will unite investigative artistic practices and modern collaboration processes with space exploration and technologies. It is an examination of the unique methods, shapes, and tools of our time that occurred with the invention of space rockets and satellites.

For his artistic research during the bangaloREsidency of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, Thomas Heidtmann plans to visit the space science facilities located around Bangalore. He wants to study materials, shapes, and processes used in the production and development of space satellites.

Additionally, he will interview engineers, scientists and other people working for the Indian space industry to learn more about the specific characteristics of the Indian approach to space exploration.
The aim is to collect material for satellite-inspired interactive objects that communicate with each other and the visitor in an exhibition setup, using light, sound, sensors, projections, and augmented reality.
His idea also includes connecting the local art scene and space industry in Bangalore through SPARTH – a space art hackathon where people from different professions come together and collaboratively work on (space) art projects. For more information:  SPARTH

Thomas Heidtmann
bangaloREsident@SRISHTI

Satellites, Space, SPARTH!
Der Medienkünstler Thomas Heidtmann hat sich von Satelliten inspirieren lassen und nutzt Licht, Sound, Sensoren, Projektionen und erweiterte Realität um interaktive Objekte zu entwickeln, die untereinander, wie auch mit dem Betrachter in einer Ausstellung kommunizieren können. In Bangalore plant er einen space-art Hackathon: SPARTH.

Thomas Heidtmann ist ein in Berlin lebender und arbeitender Medienkünstler, der an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin in den Schwerpunkten Malerei und Neue Medien ausgebildet wurde. In seinen jüngsten Arbeiten untersucht und spielt er mit Formen und Ausdrücken des menschlichen Forschens, der Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation. Er ist fasziniert von Raumfahrttechnologien, Spiegeln sowie Fragen der Sichtbarkeit und Beobachtung.

Er verbindet traditionelle Ästhetik, Materialien und Techniken mit neuen Technologien wie 3D-Druck, um Installationen und Objekte zu schaffen, die oft interaktiv und einbeziehend sind. Die Interaktionen variieren zwischen offensichtlichen und verborgenen. Er entwickelt sowohl temporäre Lösungen für standortspezifische Anforderungen als auch autonome Stücke.

Er ist Mitbegründer und Vorstandsmitglied vom Lacuna Lab e.V. – einem von Künstlern betriebenen Verein, einer Community sowie einem Studio in Kreuzberg, Berlin, an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie. Er ist darüber hinaus Mitorganisator des Science Hack Day Berlin.
Seine Werke wurden unter anderem auf der ISEA in Hongkong, Vorspiel / transmediale & CTM und Retune Festival Berlin präsentiert. Er war an Projekten in der Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin und der Fundació Joan Miró in Barcelona, ​​Spanien beteiligt und hielt zum Beispiel im Martin-Gropius-Bau Berlin Vorträge.

thomas heidtmann © Kristina Paustian Die achtwöchige bangaloREsidency am Srishti Institute for Art, Design and Technology ist der Startpunkt des Langzeitprojekts PLACE IN ORBIT*.

Für die nächsten zwei Jahre vereint es investigative künstlerische Praktiken und moderne kollaborative Arbeitsprozesse mit Weltraumforschung und -technologien. Es beabsichtigt eine Untersuchung der einzigartigen Methoden, Formen und Werkzeuge unserer Zeit, die mit der Erfindung von Weltraumraketen und Satelliten auftraten.

Für seine künstlerische Forschung während der bangaloREsidency des Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan plant Thomas Heidtmann, die Einrichtungen, Organisationen und Unternehmen in und rund um Bangalore zu besuchen, die sich mit Weltraumforschung und -technologien befassen. Hierbei wird er Materialien, Formen und Prozesse studieren, die bei der Herstellung und Entwicklung von Satelliten verwendet werden.

Darüber hinaus wird er mit Ingenieuren, Wissenschaftlern und anderen Berufsgruppen, die für die indische Raumfahrtindustrie arbeiten, Interviews führen, um mehr über die spezifischen Merkmale des indischen Ansatzes der Weltraumforschung zu erfahren.
Ziel ist es, Ausgangsmaterial für interaktive, von Satelliten inspirierte Objekte zu sammeln, welche in einer Ausstellungssituation sowohl untereinander als auch mit dem Besucher mittels Licht, Ton, Sensoren, Projektionen und Augmented Reality kommunizieren.

Seine Idee beinhaltet darüber hinaus die Verbindung der lokalen Kunstszene und der Raumfahrtindustrie in Bangalore durch SPARTH – einem Space-Art-Hackathon, bei dem Personen aus verschiedenen Berufsfeldern zusammenkommen, um gemeinsam an (Weltraum-) Kunstprojekten zu arbeiten. Mehr Infos dazu: SPARTH