Vincent Chomaz & Edgar Kandratian
bangaloREsidents@Pepper House

Vincent Chomaz © Vincent Chomaz Vincent Chomaz is an artist and cultural operator interested in informal and collaborative forms of knowledge production and dissemination. Spanning installation, interventions, workshops, and formats of co-production, his work focuses on listening as a critical practice – an associative and empathic tool which can bridge conscious and unconscious knowledge to investigate collective dynamics and histories as a network of individual experiences.





Edgar Kandratian © Edgar Kandratian

Edgar Kandratian
is a graphic designer and project initiator whose work centres on scenography and communication in the field of visual and conceptual art. Best described as translational, his design practice takes an interdisciplinary and collaborative approach to devise
culture identities. Over the years, he has worked with various cultural institutions throughout Germany, such as the Deutsches Historisches Museum, the Klassik Stiftung Weimar, the Jewish Museum Berlin and the Stuftung Bauhaus Dessau.




Conceived as a speculative research of what the future could bring, When the Sea Rises, the project of Edgar Kandratian and Vincent Chomaz for their bangaloREsidency, takes the form of a multi-week walk along what could become the coastline of the Lakshadweep Sea.

In contradiction to the ambitions of early Land artists, When the Sea Rises does not conceive walking as an aesthetic approach but, rather, as an embodied mode of investigation and mean of producing a body of situated knowledge.

Informed by the recent data and the interactive map of “Land projected to be below tideline in 2050” published by Climate Central, their walk will follow the coastline that will emerge in 2050 between Kochi, Koyattam, and Alappuzha. Under this hypothetical, future seashore, Vincent and Edgar will work to uncover the strata of what will be lost to changing climate conditions – to sea rise, increased level of precipitations, and flooding.

What will be lost? What could be gained? What would become of the affected communities and the surrounding landscapes? Of their everyday soundscapes? How can we read and imagine a landscape that is yet to come?

Along the walk, they will document the sounds and realities of a land that will be submerged and transformed. A point to devise temporary interventions but also encounter the communities affected, conduct speculative interviews of local residents, and discuss with them how they understand their future.

When the Sea Rises is intended to be open to other, local practitioners – artists, cultural practitioners, and scientists that would be interested to understand and document the histories at stake.

The project is developed by Edgar Kandratian and Vincent Chomaz as part of their ongoing and open format collaboration, what we hear. Started in 2017 in Berlin, what we hear emerged from their shared interest for listening and its politics. Their collaboration embraces subjective empathy and different modes of embodied exploration – acts such as walking and listening – as methods of artistic research.

Edgar Kandratian © Edgar Kandratian, Vincent Chomaz

Edgar Kandratian & Vincent Chomaz

Edgar Kandratian © Edgar Kandratian Edgar Kandratian ist Grafikdesigner und Projektinitiator. Er arbeitet in den verschiedenen Bereichen der visuellen und konzeptuellen Kunst, einschließlich Szenografie und Kommunikation. In seiner Herangehensweise beschreibt er seine Praxis der interdisziplinären
und kollaborativen Gestaltung von Kultur-Identitäten als visuelle Übersetzung. Im Laufe der Jahre hat er mit verschiedenen kulturellen Institutionen in ganz Deutschland zusammengearbeitet, wie z. B. dem Deutschen Historischen Museum, der Klassik Stiftung Weimar, dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin und der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau.



Vincent Chomaz © Vincent Chomaz Vincent Chomaz ist ein Künstler und Kulturakteur, der an informellen und kollaborativen Formen der Wissensproduktion und -verbreitung interessiert ist. Seine Arbeit umfasst Installationen, Interventionen, Workshops und Formate der Koproduktion und konzentriert sich auf das Zuhören als kritische Praxis - ein assoziatives und empathisches Werkzeug, das bewusstes und unbewusstes Wissen überbrücken kann, um kollektive Dynamiken und Geschichten als Netzwerk subjektiver Erzählungen und Erinnerungen zu untersuchen.





Im Sinne einer spekulativen Forschung über die Frage, was die Zukunft bringen könnte, ist When The Sea Rises, das Projekt von Vincent Chomaz und Edgar Kandratian für bangaloREsidency, konzipiert als ein mehrwöchiger Spaziergang entlang der Küstenlinie des momentanen oder zukünftigen Lakshadweep-Meeres.

Im Gegensatz zu den Zielen der frühen Land-Künstler, versteht When the Sea Rises den Spaziergang bzw. die Wanderung nicht als einen ästhetischen Ansatz, sondern vielmehr als eine Untersuchungsmethode und Instrument zur Sammlung und Erfassung von lokalen Wissensbeständen.

Auf der Grundlage der letzten Daten und der interaktiven Karte “land projected to be below tideline in 2050” die von Climate Central veröffentlicht wurde, wird die Wanderung einer Küstenlinie folgen, die im Jahr 2050 zwischen Kochi, Koyattam und Alappuzha entstehen soll. In dieser hypothetischen, zukünftigen Landschaft möchten Edgar und Vincent jene Schichten der Küste erkunden und sichtbar machen, welche durch die sich ändernden Klimabedingungen, den Anstieg des Meeresspiegels, erhöhte Niederschlagsmengen sowie Überflutungen verloren gehen werden.

Was würde verloren gehen? Was könnte entstehen? Was würde aus den betroffenen Gemeinden und den umliegenden Landschaften werden? Von ihren alltäglichen Geräuschen und Klanglandschaften? Wie können wir eine Landschaft lesen, die erst entstehen wird?

Entlang des Spaziergangs werden sie die Klänge und Realitäten eines Landes dokumentieren, welches sich transformieren oder vielleicht ganz versinken wird. Ein Mittel, um temporäre Interventionen zu konzipieren, aber auch um den betroffenen Gemeinden zu begegnen, sind spekulative Interviews mit den Bewohnern. Sie werden danach befragt, wie sie sich ihre Zukunft vorstellen.

Im Prozess der Aufzeichnung einer noch nicht existierenden Landschaft, hat When The Sea Rises vor, seine Arbeitsstrukturen zu öffnen und um lokale Praktiker*innen – Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende und Wissenschaftler*innen – zu erweitern.

Das Projekt wurde von Vincent Chomaz und Edgar Kandratian im Rahmen von what we hear entwickelt, als Teil ihrer laufenden und formatoffenen Kollaboration. Angefangen 2017 in Berlin, entstand die Zusammenarbeit aus ihrem gemeinsamen Interesse am Zuhören und deren Politiken als eine Praxis ’der künstlerischen Forschung. Durch Formen der Teilhabe wie Zuhören oder Wanderung werden Empathie und Gegenwärtigkeit eingebunden.

Edgar Kandratian © Edgar Kandratian, Vincent Chomaz

Abschlussbericht

In the wake of the global lockdowns and their 'interrupted' bangaloREsidency@Pepper House, Edgar Kandratian and Vincent Chomaz invite us to wander through Kochi and listen to the city and its backwaters.

In an introduction to their work*, they take over our Instagram account to post a series of sixteen one-minute long recordings. These soundcards form an associative narrative, a sound map of a city that lives at the edge of the sea. A means to understand what could be gained or lost to climate change – to sea rise, increased level of precipitation, and flooding.

The soundcards will be published every Monday and Thursday at 6.00 p.m. on our Instagram account @goetheinstitutbangalore, from June 15 till July 13, 2020. The entire series will be posted on our Facebook (@goetheinstitut.bangalore) and Twitter (@GI_Bangalore) pages, and archived on this page as well.