Conversation Listening to History: Sound, Space and Remembrance

Louis Chude-Sokei listening at the Reichsparteitagsgelände (Nazi party rally grounds) in Nuremberg, Germany © Jan St. Werner

Thu, 10/22/2020

Online

Louis Chude-Sokei listening at the Reichsparteitagsgelände (Nazi party rally grounds) in Nuremberg, Germany

A conversation between Louis Chude-Sokei and Emeka Ogboh



Please note, this event takes place at 12:00 PM EDT (18:00 CEST).

How can listening to a space of historical trauma, like the Nazi Party Rally Grounds in Nürnberg, help us find lost or new narratives in history?  Can sound help re-tell the story of colonization and histories of Africans in the contemporary world? In this online conversation, scholar and author Louis Chude-Sokei and sound artist Emeka Ogboh consider their sound practices within the context of memorialization and ask if the medium of sound can point to new ways to remember and honour all narratives of the past.  

The conversation begins with the following presentations:

History is Listening: Race, Sound and Living Archives
Louis Chude-Sokei, founder of the Echolocution Project discusses the project’s dependence on a history of Black engagements with history and technology via sound and its commitment to archiving spaces of historical trauma ranging from Nuremberg, Germany, to slave sites in the African Diaspora.

More on the Chude-Sokei is currently working on the related project “Sometimes you just have to give it your attention” focused on the former Nuremberg Nazi Rally Grounds, which is funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.


The Spaces of African Memory
Nigerian Sound Artist Emeka Ogboh will discuss his evolving methods of creating sound installations rooted in both his culture and his ongoing engagement with the experiences and histories of Africans in the contemporary world.

Below images from Ogboh's sound installation Ámà: The gathering place (Multichannel sound. Sculpture. Fabrics)
at the Cleveland Museum of Art in 2019.
 
  • Ámà: The Gathering Place; Multichannel sound. Sculpture. Fabrics; Cleveland Museum of Art; 2019 Image: Emeka Ogboh
  • Ámà: The Gathering Place; Multichannel sound. Sculpture. Fabrics; Cleveland Museum of Art; 2019 Image: Emeka Ogboh



LCS Bild: LCS Louis Chude-Sokei is writer and scholar who teaches at Boston University and directs the African American Studies Program. His work includes the award-winning The Last Darky: Bert Williams, Black on Black Minstrelsy and the African Diaspora (2005) and The Sound of Culture: Diaspora and Black Technopoetics (2015). Forthcoming are Floating in A Most Peculiar Way: A Memoir (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021) and Dr. Satan’s Echo Chamber and Other Essays (Wesleyan University Press). He is the Editor in Chief of The Black Scholar, one of the oldest and leading journals of Black Studies in America and the founder of the sonic art and archival project, Echolocution.

Emeka Ogboh Photo: Jean Picon Emeka Ogboh connects to places with his senses of hearing and taste. Through his audio installations and gastronomic works, Ogboh explores how private, public, collective memories and histories are translated, transformed and encoded into sound and food. These works contemplate how auditory and gustatory experiences capture existential relationships, frame our understanding of the world and provide a context in which to ask critical questions on immigration, globalization, and post-colonialism. Ogboh has participated in numerous international exhibitions including documenta14, (2017), Athens and Kassel, Skulptur Projekte Münster (2017), the 56th edition of La Biennale di Venezia, Italy (2015), and Dakar Biennale (2014).


“Listening to History" is a series of transatlantic conversations between sound artists, historians and musicologists around the relationship between sound and remembrance. With monuments being called into question around the world, many are asking if there are more flexible and effective alternatives to classical marble and bronze statues. What qualities should we be looking for in the monuments of the future – can sound point us in new directions? What advantages does sound as a medium offer for connecting the past with the present?

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The project connects to the activist and artistic work of local, national, and transnational movements as a reflection of memory culture and discusses new perspectives on forms of memory. 
 

Back

Gespräch Geschichte hören: Sound, Raum und Erinnerung

Louis Chude-Sokei hört auf dem Reichsparteitagsgelände in Nürnberg hin © Jan St. Werner

Do, 22.10.2020

12:00 Uhr

online

Louis Chude-Sokei hört auf dem Reichsparteitagsgelände in Nürnberg hin

Ein Gespräch zwischen Louis Chude-Sokei und Emeka Ogboh



Achtung: diese Veranstlung findet um 12:00 Uhr EDT (18 Uhr CEST) statt.

Wie kann uns das Hören in einem Raums historischer Traumata wie dem NSDAP-Versammlungsgelände in Nürnberg helfen, verlorene oder neue Narrative in der Geschichte zu finden? Kann Klang helfen, die Geschichte der Kolonialisierung und die Geschichte der Afrikaner in der heutigen Welt mit neuen Einsichten zu erzählen? In diesem Online-Gespräch betrachten der Wissenschaftler und Autor Louis Chude-Sokei und der Klangkünstler Emeka Ogboh ihre Klangpraktiken im Kontext der Erinnerungskultur und fragen, ob das Medium Klang neue Wege aufzeigen kann, sich an die Vergangenheit zu erinnern und sie zu ehren.

Das Gespräch beginnt mit folgenden Präsentationen:

"Die Geschichte hört zu: Rasse, Klang und lebendige Archive"
Louis Chude-Sokei, Gründer des Echolocution-Projekts, diskutiert die Abhängigkeit des Projekts von einer Geschichte schwarzer Auseinandersetzungen mit Geschichte und Technologie über Klang und sein Engagement für die Archivierung von Räumen historischer Traumata , die von Nürnberg bis zu Sklavenstandorten in der afrikanischen Diaspora reichen.
Mehr zum Aktuell arbeitet Chude-Sokei beispielsweise an dem Projekt „Sometimes you just have to give it your attention“ auf dem ehemaligen Nürnberger Reichsparteitagsgelände, welches von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert wird.


"Die Räume der afrikanischen Erinnerung"
Der nigerianischer Klangkünstler Emeka Ogboh spricht über seine Klanginstallationen, die sowohl in seiner Kultur wie auch in der ständigen Auseinandersetzung mit den Erfahrungen und Geschichten der Afrikaner in der heutigen Welt verwurzelt sind.

Unten Bilder von Ogbohs Klanginstallation Ámà: The gathering place (Multichannel sound. Sculpture. Fabrics)
am Cleveland Museum of Art in 2019.
 
  • Ámà: The Gathering Place; Multichannel sound. Sculpture. Fabrics; Cleveland Museum of Art; 2019 Bild: Emeka Ogboh
  • Ámà: The Gathering Place; Multichannel sound. Sculpture. Fabrics; Cleveland Museum of Art; 2019 Bild: Emeka Ogboh



LCS Bild: LCS Louis Chude-Sokei ist Schriftsteller und Wissenschaftler. Er lehrt an der Boston University und leitet das African American Studies Program. Zu seinen Arbeiten gehören der preisgekrönte Film The Last Darky: Bert Williams, Black on Black Minstrelsy und die afrikanische Diaspora (2005) sowie The Sound of Culture: Diaspora and Black Technopoetics (2015). In Arbeit sind: Eine Erinnerung (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021) und Dr. Satans Echokammer und andere Essays (Wesleyan University Press). Er ist Chefredakteur von The Black Scholar, einer der ältesten und führenden Zeitschriften für Black Studies in Amerika, und Gründer des Sonic Art and Archival-Projekts Echolocution.


Emeka Ogboh Foto: Jean Picon Emeka Ogboh verbindet sich durch den Hör- und Geschmackssinn mit Orten. In seinen Audioinstallationen und „gastronomischen“ Werken untersucht Ogboh, wie private, öffentliche, kollektive Erinnerungen und Geschichten übersetzt, transformiert und in Klang und Essen kodiert werden. Diese Arbeiten untersuchen, wie auditive und geschmackliche Erfahrungen existenzielle Beziehungen erfassen und unser Verständnis der Welt gestalten. Sie bieten dabei einen Kontext, in dem auch kritische Fragen zu Einwanderung, Globalisierung und Postkolonialismus gestellt werden. Ogboh hat an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen teilgenommen, darunter documenta14 (2017), Athen und Kassel, Skulptur Projekte Münster (2017), die 56. Ausgabe der Biennale di Venezia, Italien (2015) und Dakar Biennale (2014).

"Listening to History" ist eine Reihe transatlantischer Gespräche zwischen Klangkünstlern, Historikern und Musikwissenschaftlern über die Beziehung zwischen Klang und Erinnerung. Angesichts der weltweit diskutierten Rolle von Denkmälern fragen sich viele, ob es flexiblere und effektivere Alternativen zu klassischem Marmor- und Bronzestatuen gibt. Welche Eigenschaften sollten wir in den Denkmälern der Zukunft suchen - kann uns dabei der Klang in neue Richtungen weisen? Welche Vorteile bietet der Klang als Medium, um die Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart zu verbinden?

Shaping the Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. Das Projekt knüpft an die aktivistische und künstlerische Arbeit lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zu Reflexion von Erinnerungskultur an und diskutiert neue Perspektiven auf Formen des Erinnerns.

Zurück