Film Streaming We Wanted More (Das Wunder von Taipeh)

Das Wunder von Taipeh © mindjazz pictures

Wed, 05/26/2021

online

Summer Screening Series 2021

Director: John David Seidler, Germany, Documentary, 85 minutes, 2019, German with English subtitles

Get your free ticket here

In 1981, Taiwan invited to the Women's World Invitation Tournament (the Chunghua Cup) - at a time when the DFB (Deutscher Fussball-Bund) tolerated more than promoted women's soccer, which was officially banned in Germany until 1970. Since the formation of a women's national team had not been of interest to the DFB, the invitation went to the German record champions, the women’s team of SSG 09 Bergisch Gladbach.
In the film, the former players, some of whom started out as players in an illegal bar team on a really inadequat soccer field in Cologne-Dellbrück, tell of the now absurd conditions under which they fought for their great dream of soccer, against all odds and with a good dose of humor.

John David Seidler (c) John David Seidler Born in Cologne, John David Seidler studied media studies at the University of Cologne, concurrently he began working on Film and TV projects. He completed his PhD at the University of Rostock.
Seidler has taught at the Universities of Rostock and Cologne and at the Deutsche Sporthochschule Cologne (Institute of Communication and Media Research).
He has directed and edited several award-winning Documentary Feature Films. His Latest Documentary Feature Film DAS WUNDER VON TAIPEH (2019) was an audience favorite at various German Film Festivals.


 

Back

Film Streaming Das Wunder von Taipeh

Das Wunder von Taipeh © mindjazz pictures

Mi, 26.05.2021

Online

Summer Screening Series 2021

Regie: John David Seidler, Deutschland, Dokumentarfilm, 85 Minuten, 2019, Deutsch mit Englischen Untertiteln

Hier finden Sie den Link zur Eintrittskarte

1981 lud Taiwan zur ersten Fußballweltmeisterschaft ( Chunghua Cup) der Frauen ein – zu einer Zeit, als der DFB (Deutscher Fussball-Bund) den Frauenfußball, der in Deutschland bis 1970 offiziell verboten war, mehr duldete als förderte. Da die Gründung einer Frauennationalmannschaft für den DFB bis dato nicht von Interesse war, ging die Einladung an die deutschen Rekordmeisterinnen der SSG 09 Bergisch Gladbach.
Die ehemaligen Spielerinnen, die zum Teil noch in einer illegalen Thekenmannschaft auf einem Aschenplatz in Köln-Dellbrück begannen, erzählen im Film von den heute absurd anmutenden Bedingungen, unter denen sie für ihren großen Traum vom Fußball kämpften, gegen alle Widerstände und mit einer gehörigen Portion Humor. 

John David Seidler (c) John David Seidler


Der gebürtige Kölner John David Seidler studierte Medienwissenschaften an der Universität zu Köln und begann gleichzeitig mit der Arbeit an Film- und Fernsehprojekten. Er promovierte an der Universität Rostock.
Seidler lehrte an den Universitäten Rostock und Köln sowie an der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln (Institut für Kommunikations- und Medienforschung).
Er führte Regie und schnitt mehrere preisgekrönte Dokumentarspielfilme. Sein neuester Dokumentarfilm DAS WUNDER VON TAIPEH (2019) war ein Publikumsliebling bei verschiedenen deutschen Filmfestspielen.


 

Zurück