Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Internationaler Hilfsfonds, Grafik: ©Katja Römer Internationaler Hilfsfonds, Grafik: ©Katja Römer

for Organisations in Culture and Education
International Relief Fund

Foreign policy is a living partnership, especially in difficult times.

Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas

International Relief Fund 2021

Maintaining and strengthening partnership structures

 

In 2020, the Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut initiated an International Relief Fund in response to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on cultural organisations abroad. With the support of other intermediary organisations, the relief fund was able to contribute to maintaining cultural partner’s structures abroad and at the same time to strengthen social diversity and local cultural life. The consortium partners of the International Relief Fund have agreed to continue the funding in 2021. The Federal Foreign Office has doubled the funds to around 6 million euros. This allowed the maximum individual funding to be increased to 30,000 euros and the funding period to be extended to 6 months. The Goethe-Institut is again in charge of the entire coordination of the fund. Other members of the consortium in 2021 are the S. Fischer Foundation and the Robert Bosch Foundation, which have doubled their funding to 100,000 euros. The German Commission for UNESCO, the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and the Siemens Foundation are participating with their own projects.

THE APPLICATION PHASE 2021 HAS BEEN COMPLETED, AND THE JURY Sessions ARE CURRENTLY UNDERWAY. THE APPLICANTS WILL BE INFORMED directly ABOUT THE JURY'S DECISION AT THE BEGINNING OF AUGUST.

Application Procedure 2021

Applications are only possible from abroad and via the Goethe-Instituts abroad, the German embassies or the consortium partners Robert Bosch Foundation or S. Fischer Foundation. Organisations in EU countries, the USA or Canada are excluded from the application. Several juries, made up of representatives of the consortium of the International Relief Fund 2021 and external jurors with regional expertise, decide on funding.
Applications will be accepted starting 8 April 2021 and until 7 May 2021.
Fundable organisations must meet the following criteria:
  • They contribute to safeguarding artistic freedom and a pluralistic society.
  • They have been working successfully as an organisation for at least three years (this activity must be validated with two civil society reference letters, “Civil Society Statements”).
  • They are already known to the Goethe-Institut, the German Embassy/Consulate General, the S. Fischer Foundation or the Robert Bosch Foundation through previous collaboration (this knowledge must be provided in the “Institutional Statement” of the respective application for funding through the partner institution supporting the International Relief Fund).
  • Their work is restricted due to the consequences of the coronavirus pandemic and no other sources of funding are available to develop their prospects.
  • They are able to accept international funding and to guarantee its use in compliance with (German) public procurement law and in compliance with anti-corruption standards, as well as to continuously verify this.
  • They have no bankruptcy proceedings pending.
  • They are based outside of the EU, the US and Canada.

International Relief Fund 2020


“Foreign policy is a living partnership, especially in difficult times. It is also a cultural policy mandate. Because in a time of physical distancing, cultural proximity is more important than ever.” 
(Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas)

The International Relief Fund 2020 was set up in summer 2020 on the initiative of the Goethe-Institut and the Federal Foreign Office in order to quickly support organisations from culture and education abroad in dealing with the anticipated effects of the coronavirus pandemic. The Federal Foreign Office provided around 3 million euros in emergency aid, the S. Fischer Foundation and the Robert Bosch Foundation added further funds, as did the Goethe Institute, which also coordinated the selection process and the allocation of funds. The DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, the German UNESCO Commission, the Mercator Foundation and the Siemens Foundation were involved with their own projects. A jury selected 141 projects for funding from more than 440 applications from 75 countries. Projects from the African continent, the Near and Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia as well as Eastern and South-eastern Europe and South America were supported with up to 25,000 euros each. 

Projects 2020


Three funded projects – three different ways to stay relevant for culture and society in spite of restrictions.

Test-shooting for outdoor performance at Royal District Theatre Photo (detail): © Gika Mikabadze

Royal District Theatre, Tbilisi, Georgia
Theatre without a theatre

When Georgia entered its first lockdown in spring 2020, the Royal District Theatre was forced to close and has not been able to reopen to this day. With the aid of the 2020 Relief Fund, the ensemble developed new ways to re-establish contact with its audience in public and digital space.

A community assistant accompanies children back home after school, Dušan Radović Primary School, Novi Sad Photo (video excerpt): © Andrija Kovač

Forum Roma, Belgrade, Serbia
Education for all

The Forum Roma Serbia has been working against the precarious living situation of the Roma in Serbia for years and primarily aims at expanding access to education. With the help of the Relief Fund 2020, analogue classes for Roma settlements in Bor, Novi Sad and Požarevac could be continued.

Let the spark fly and hold on to it. Outreach Foundation Johannesburg Photo (detail): © Earl Abrahams

Outreach Foundation, Johannesburg, South Africa
Setting off sparks of inspiration

The Outreach Foundation in Johannesburg does neighbourhood work in the city centre. With the help of the International Relief Fund 2020, it was able to keep its doors open as an important contact point for children and young people and continue a multi-generational theatre project.

Partners

 

Initiators:
Auswärtiges Amt Goethe-Institut

Consortium partners 2021:
Robert Bosch Stiftung S. Fischer Stiftung

Participating with their own projects:
Dt. UNESCO-Kommission  Berliner Künstlerprogramm DAAD Siemens Stiftung

Contact


Applications are only possible via the Goethe-Instituts abroad, the German embassies or the consortium partners Robert Bosch Foundation and S. Fischer Foundation 

For general questions about the International Relief Fund 2021, please contact:
hilfsfonds2021@goethe.de

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Internationaler Hilfsfonds, Grafik: ©Katja Römer Internationaler Hilfsfonds, Grafik: ©Katja Römer

Für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung
Internationaler Hilfsfonds

Außenpolitik ist gelebte Partnerschaft, gerade auch in schwierigen Zeiten.

Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas

Internationaler Hilfsfonds 2021

Partnerstrukturen erhalten und stärken


2020 initiierten das Auswärtige Amt und das Goethe-Institut in Reaktion auf die Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie auf Kulturorganisationen im Ausland einen Internationalen Hilfsfonds. Unterstützt von weiteren Mittlerorganisationen, konnte der Hilfsfonds einen Beitrag zum Erhalt kultureller Partnerstrukturen im Ausland leisten und darüber zugleich gesellschaftliche Vielfalt und kulturelles Leben vor Ort stärken. Für 2021 haben sich die Konsortialpartner des Internationalen Hilfsfonds auf die Fortsetzung der Förderung verständigt. Das Auswärtige Amt hat die Mittel auf rund 6 Millionen Euro verdoppelt. Damit konnte die maximale Einzelfördersumme auf 30.000 Euro erhöht und die Förderdauer auf 6 Monate verlängert werden. Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt erneut die gesamte Koordination. Weitere Mitglieder des Konsortiums sind auch 2021 die S. Fischer Stiftung und die Robert Bosch Stiftung, die ihren Mittelbeitrag auf 100.000 Euro verdoppelt hat. Die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission, das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD und die Siemens Stiftung beteiligen  sich mit eigenen Projekten.

Antragsverfahren 2021

Die Bewerbung ist nur aus dem Ausland heraus und über die Auslandsinstitute des Goethe-Instituts, die Deutschen Botschaften oder die Konsortiumspartner Robert Bosch Stiftung oder S. Fischer Stiftung möglich. Organisationen in EU-Ländern, den USA oder Kanada sind von der Bewerbung ausgeschlossen. Über eine Förderung entscheiden mehrere Jurys, die sich aus Vertreter*innen des Konsortiums des Internationalen Hilfsfonds 2021 sowie externen Juror*innen mit regionaler Expertise zusammensetzen.
Ausschreibungsbeginn ist am 8. April 2021, Bewerbungsschluss am 7. Mai 2021,12 Uhr mittags. 
Förderfähige Organisationen müssen folgende Kriterien erfüllen:
  • Sie tragen zur Sicherung künstlerischer Freiheit und einer pluralistischen Gesellschaft bei.
  • Sie sind seit mindestens drei Jahren erfolgreich als Organisation tätig (diese Tätigkeit muss durch zwei zivilgesellschaftliche Referenzschreiben – „Civil Society Statements“ – belegt sein).
  • Sie sind dem Goethe-Institut, der deutschen Botschaft/dem deutschen Generalkonsulat, der S. Fischer Stiftung oder der Robert-Bosch-Stiftung bereits durch frühere Zusammenarbeit bekannt (diese Kenntnis muss durch das „Institutional Statement“ der jeweiligen, eine Bewerbung um Förderung durch den Internationalen Hilfsfonds unterstützenden Partnerinstitution bestätigt sein).
  • Sie sind durch die Folgen der Corona-Pandemie in ihrer Arbeit eingeschränkt und haben keine anderen Finanzierungsquellen zur Perspektiventwicklung verfügbar.
  • Sie sind fähig, internationale Fördermittel anzunehmen und deren Verwendung unter Beachtung des (deutschen) Vergaberechts und unter Einhaltung von Antikorruptionsstandards zu gewährleisten sowie durchgehend nachzuweisen.
  • Sie haben kein Insolvenzverfahren laufen oder anhängig.
  • Sie sind außerhalb der EU, den USA und Kanada ansässig

Internationaler Hilfsonds 2020


„Außenpolitik ist gelebte Partnerschaft, gerade auch in schwierigen Zeiten. Darin liegt auch ein kulturpolitischer Auftrag. Denn kulturelle Nähe ist in Zeiten physischer Distanz wichtiger, denn je.“
(Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas)

Der Internationale Hilfsfonds 2020 wurde im Sommer 2020 auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts und des Auswärtigen Amts eingerichtet, um Organisationen aus Kultur und Bildung im Ausland schnell im perspektivischen Umgang mit den Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie zu unterstützen. Das Auswärtige Amt stellte rund 3 Millionen Euro Soforthilfe zur Verfügung, die S. Fischer Stiftung und die Robert Bosch Stiftung ergänzten um weitere Mittel, ebenso das Goethe-Institut, das darüber hinaus das Auswahlverfahren und die Mittelvergabe koordinierte. Mit eigenen Projekten beteiligt waren das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission, die Stiftung Mercator und die Siemens Stiftung. Aus mehr als 440 Bewerbungen aus 75 Ländern wählte eine Jury 141 Projekte zur Förderung aus. Mit jeweils bis zu 25.000 Euro wurden Projekte vom afrikanischen Kontinent, aus Nahem und Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien sowie Ost- und Südosteuropa und Südamerika unterstützt.

Projekte 2020


Drei geförderte Projekte – drei verschiedene Wege, für Kultur und Gesellschaft trotz Einschränkungen relevant zu bleiben.

Testaufnahmen für eine Aufführung des Royal District Theatre Foto (Ausschnitt): © Gika Mikabadze

Royal District Theatre, Tbilissi, Georgien
Theater ohne Theater

Mit dem ersten Lockdown in Georgien im Frühjahr 2020 musste das Royal District Theatre schließen und konnte bis heute nicht wieder öffnen. Mittels des Hilfsfonds 2020 entwickelte das Ensemble neue Wege im öffentlichen und im digitalen Raum, um den Kontakt zu seinem Publikum wieder aufzunehmen.

Kinder nach der Schule auf dem Weg nach Hause, Dušan Radović Grundschule, Novi Sad Foto (Video-Ausschnitt): © Andrija Kovač

Forum Roma, Belgrad, Serbien
Bildung für alle

Das Forum Roma Serbia arbeitet seit Jahren gegen die prekäre Lebenssituation der Roma in Serbien an und zielt vor allem auf einen Ausbau des Bildungszugangs. Mithilfe des Hilfsfonds 2020 konnte der analoge Unterricht für Roma-Siedlungen in Bor, Novi Sad und Požarevac aufrechterhalten werden.

Den Funken überspringen lassen und festhalten, Theaterworkshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg Foto (Ausschnitt): © Earl Abrahams

Outreach Foundation, Johannesburg, Südafrika
Den Funken überspringen lassen

Die Outreach Foundation in Jo­hannes­burg leistet Quartier­sarbeit im Zentrum der Stadt. Mithilfe des Hilfs­fonds 2020 konnte sie als wichtige Anlaufstelle für Kinder und Jugendliche weiterhin ihre Türen offen halten und ein ge­ne­ration­en­über­grei­fen­des Theater­projekt fortsetzen.

Partner

 

Initiatoren:
Auswärtiges Amt Goethe-Institut

Konsortialpartner 2021:
Robert Bosch Stiftung S. Fischer Stiftung

Mit eigenen Projekten beteiligt:
Dt. UNESCO-Kommission  Berliner Künstlerprogramm DAAD Siemens Stiftung

Kontakt


Die Bewerbung ist nur über die Auslandsinstitute des Goethe-Instituts, die Deutschen Botschaften oder die Konsortiumspartner Robert Bosch Stiftung und S. Fischer Stiftung möglich 

Für allgemeine Fragen zum Internationalen Hilfsfonds 2021 wenden Sie sich bitte an:
hilfsfonds2021@goethe.de

Top