Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Sudan Moves”
The Power of Archives

Mapping the real space
Mapping the real space | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Sudan

For it’s first virtual artist residency “Sudan Moves”, the Goethe-Institut Sudan invited German and Sudanese artists and collectives to explore new forms of artistic collaboration in the digital sphere.

By Laura Klöckner and Larissa Fuhrmann

Altering reality across the world, the COVID-19 pandemic has among other things accelerated the proximity of digitality and culture. The decision to move online and conduct a virtual residency program between Sudan and Germany back in March 2020 was far from easy. But together with Rift Digital Lab, Art Kanoon and Elmastaba TV in Khartoum the Goethe-Institut Sudan was grappled by the curiosity to explore if and how collectivity and artistic encounters could be generated in a transnational digital space.
 
“Acts of Resistance: An Anthology” is the Goethe-Institut’s first 3D virtual exhibition that will showcase the work of 19 artists and collectives based in Germany, Sudan, Qatar and Switzerland. During the residency they reflected on the urgency to dismantle and engage with recent socio-political shifts in both Sudan and Germany, finding formats and languages to translate their practice into the digital space.

Virtual overcoming of boundaries Virtual overcoming of boundaries | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Sudan
The collectives Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz (KHHP) in Berlin and the Khartoum based research studio The Urban Episode jointly transformed the weekly virtual hangouts into a space of exchange and un-learning. Critically reflecting on the power and authority of archives over collective memory in their respective contexts, they span two projects around the reproduction of racist and colonial narratives through new forms of digital archives. “Goethe aktuell” talked with them about their experiences.
 
What questions were at the core of the two projects you developed?

The Urban Episode: Our project sheds light on the issue of accessibility in Sudanese archives and advocates for transparency and open access to information. The difficulty in accessing maps in particular is the reason we are addressing the archives in hopes that urbanists, architects, and anyone who is interested in the formation of the urban fabric would be able to acquire the tools that enable them to conduct further research.

The access to maps is crucial for a full understanding of how the city develops and changes through time. We approached numerous Sudanese local archives repeatedly in hopes of being granted access to historical maps of Khartoum. But we faced continuous rejection arguing that “maps are a threat to national security”. So we had to ask ourselves: Where does this threat come from and why? What is the point of the archive if the information that exists within it is restricted from the public? 

Paradoxically, we found out that historical maps of Khartoum could be retrieved from open access digital archives of foreign institutions outside the country. These circumstances set the parameters for our installation “Maps in Context” in which we exhibited two historical maps of Khartoum outside the Goethe-Institut and Institut Français.

KHHP: Our part of the work was to investigate the role of the archive in Berlin. In our research, we are critically reflecting on the connection between the dominant narrative that is created by the media and the documentation of public spaces by Google Maps. The virtual experience of the city created by Google Maps is a new form of archive that we interact with on a daily basis. Investigating the virtual experience created by Google Maps, this project is engaging in the question of how the archive is shaping reality and discourses. Google Maps is not only archiving the city by documenting it and making it accessible through Streetview, but also archiving spaces by giving the possibility to share experiences, pictures, information, and recommendations integrated into the virtual experience. These new possibilities of archiving can be seen as a process of democratization on one hand but on the other participating in the discourse of marginalizing and criminalizing certain spaces and communities.
 
What was new for you with the virtual residency?

KHHP: As we are a newly formed collective, we did not participate in residencies as a collective but as individuals. The main difference that we experienced in the digital residency of “Sudan Moves” was the communication that was only happening in the digital space. Through this experience, we challenged the absence of bodies and physical spaces, which was new for all of us. There were no significant differences in the level of brain-storming and theoretical exchange. On the other hand, the differences appeared on the level of practical realization: Usually, residencies offer exclusive access to spaces and resources in a certain time frame resulting in full engagement within the creative process. In the residency of "Sudan Moves" the exchange was limited to the virtual meetings through a more sustained period, that influenced the creative and collective process.
Work in progress in real space Work in progress in real space | Photo (detail): © Ehassan Eluontasir
How did you find the topic and the format?

KHHP: At the beginning of the residency, we chose the title “the relationship with the archive“ as the main concept of our work. Our collaboration took space in weekly virtual meetings in which we were mainly presenting the development of our offline work that took the form of lecture performances. Also, we needed to show this learning process to the audience and other residents during the final presentation. In Berlin, we decided to make this process of engaging and researching in digital space the main part of the artistic work (zoom, google maps, sound experience, digital media) focusing on the local context of Berlin and the neighborhood we are living in.

The Urban Episode: For us the topic was influenced by our work as architects and researchers and the difficulty we have been facing in trying to find historical maps and its impact on our work. The initial proposed idea of the archive focused our thoughts regarding these difficulties and allowed us to zoom out and understand the problem of maps as a part of a larger phenomena.
Sudan Moves
Goethe-Institut Sudan
Sudan Moves | Copyright: Goethe-Institut Sudan
The video art work “Pool Untitled” by the collective Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz and the lecture performance “Maps in Context” by The Urban Episode will be presented as part of the digital exhibition “Acts of Resistance: An Anthology” by Goethe-Institut Sudan, opening on December 11th 2020.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Sudan Moves“
Die Macht der Archive

Kartografie des realen Raums
Kartografie des realen Raums | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Sudan

Für die virtuelle Künstlerresidenz „Sudan Moves“ lud das Goethe-Institut Sudan deutsche und sudanesische Künstler*innen und Kollektive zu einem Austausch über neue Formen künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit im digitalen Raum ein.

Von Laura Klöckner und Larissa Fuhrmann

Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat weltweit eine neue Wirklichkeit geschaffen und somit unter anderem die Annäherung von Digitalität und Kultur beschleunigt. Die bereits im März getroffene Entscheidung, ein virtuelles Residenzprogramm zwischen dem Sudan und Deutschland durchzuführen, war alles andere als einfach. Aber zusammen mit Rift Digital Lab, Art Kanoon und Elmastaba TV in Khartum war das Goethe-Institut Sudan neugierig zu erkunden, ob und in welchem Maße künstlerische Begegnungen in einem transnationalen digitalen Raum erzeugt werden können.
 
„Acts of Resistance: An Anthology“ ist die erste virtuelle 3D-Ausstellung des Goethe-Instituts, welche die Werke von 19 Künstler*innen und Kollektiven aus Deutschland, dem Sudan, Katar und der Schweiz präsentieren wird. Im Rahmen des Residenzprogramms beschäftigten sich die Künstler*innen mit den jüngsten sozialpolitischen Veränderungen sowohl im Sudan als auch in Deutschland  und erschufen Formate und Sprachen, um ihre Kunst in den digitalen Raum zu übertragen.

Virtuelle Überwindung von Grenzen Virtuelle Überwindung von Grenzen | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Sudan
Die Künstlerkollektive Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz (KHHP) in Berlin sowie das in Khartum angesiedelte Recherchestudio The Urban Episode wandelten ihre wöchentlichen virtuellen Treffen in einen Raum für Austausch und UN-Learning um. Im Rahmen ihrer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Macht und Autorität von Archiven über die kollektive Erinnerung erschufen sie zwei Projekte zur Darstellung von rassistischen und kolonialen Narrativen. Im Gespräch mit „Goethe aktuell“ erläutern sie die Hintergründe.
 
Was sind die Kernfragen der beiden von Ihnen entwickelten Projekte?

The Urban Episode: Unser Projekt wirft Licht auf die Frage der Zugänglichkeit der sudanesischen Archive und setzt sich für die Transparenz und den offenen Zugang zu Information ein. Die Schwierigkeit insbesondere bei der Beschaffung von Karten ist der Grund, warum wir die Archive ansprechen. Wir tun dies in der Hoffnung, dass Stadtplaner*innen, Architekt*innen und alle, die an der Gestaltung des städtischen Gefüges Interesse haben, Zugang zu diesen Instrumentarien bekommen, die eine weitere Recherche ermöglichen.

Der Zugang zu Karten ist wesentlich, um zu verstehen, wie sich eine Stadt im Laufe der Zeit entwickelt und verändert. Wir sind immer wieder an zahlreiche örtliche Archive im Sudan herangetreten in der Hoffnung, Zugang zu historischen Karten von Khartum zu bekommen, wurden aber durchgehend mit Ablehnung konfrontiert, mit der Begründung, dass Karten eine Bedrohung für die nationale Sicherheit seien. Also stellten wir uns die Frage: Woher kommt dieses Gefühl der Bedrohung? Was ist der Sinn eines Archivs, wenn die darin vorhandene Information der Öffentlichkeit vorenthalten wird?

Paradoxerweise fanden wir heraus, dass es möglich ist, auf historische Karten von Khartum in digitalen open-access Archiven von Institutionen außerhalb des Sudans zuzugreifen. Diese Umstände bestimmten die Parameter für unsere Installation „Maps in Context“, bei der wir zwei historische Karten von der Umgebung des Goethe-Instituts und des Institut français in Khartum ausstellten.

KHHP: Unser Teil der Arbeit war es, die Rolle des Archivs in Berlin zu untersuchen. Bei unseren Recherchen haben wir die Verbindung zwischen dem vorherrschenden, von den Medien kreierten Narrativ reflektiert sowie die Dokumentation von öffentlichen Räumen durch Google Maps. Die virtuelle Erfahrung der Stadt, wie sie von Google Maps erzeugt wird, ist eine neuartige Archivierungsform, mit der wir täglich interagieren. Indem es die von Google Maps erzeugte virtuelle Erfahrung untersucht, beschäftigt sich das Projekt mit der Frage, wie das Archiv unsere Wirklichkeit und Diskurse gestaltet. Google Maps archiviert nicht nur die Stadt, indem es sie dokumentiert und durch Streetview zugänglich macht, sondern archiviert auch Räume, indem es die Möglichkeit gibt, Erfahrungen, Bilder, Information und Empfehlungen innerhalb der virtuellen Erfahrung zu teilen. Diese neuen Möglichkeiten der Archivierung können einerseits als Prozess der Demokratisierung gesehen werden, andererseits jedoch auch als Beitrag zur Marginalisierung und Kriminalisierung von bestimmten Räumen und Gemeinschaften.
 
Was war für Sie beim virtuellen Residenzprogramm neu?

KHHP: Als neu gegründete Kollektive haben wir bisher nur als Individuen und nicht gemeinschaftlich an Residenzprogrammen teilgenommen. Der Hauptunterschied, den wir bei dem digitalen Residenzprogramm „Sudan Moves“ wahrgenommen haben, war, dass die Kommunikation ausschließlich digital stattfand. Aufgrund dieser Erfahrung haben wir die Abwesenheit von Körpern und physischen Räumen überwunden, was für uns alle Neuland war. Es gab jedoch keine signifikanten Unterschiede auf der Ebene des Brainstormings und theoretischen Austauschs. Auf der anderen Seite gab es Unterschiede auf der Ebene der praktischen Umsetzung: Normalerweise bieten Residenzprogramme für einen gewissen Zeitraum exklusiven Zugang zu Räumen und Ressourcen, was zu einem intensiven Engagement innerhalb des kreativen Prozesses führt. Bei „Sudan Moves“ war der Austausch auf den Zeitraum der virtuellen Treffen begrenzt, was den kreativen und kollektiven Prozess geprägt hat.
Arbeitsprozess im realen Raum Arbeitsprozess im realen Raum | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ehassan Eluontasir
Wie fanden Sie das Thema und das Format?

KHHP: Zu Beginn des Residenzprogramms wählten wir den Titel „The Relationship with the Archive“ als das grundlegende Konzept für unsere Arbeit. Bei unseren wöchentlichen Besprechungen präsentierten wir hauptsächlich die Entwicklung unserer Offline-Arbeit in Form von Lecture-Presentations. Zudem mussten wir diesen Lernprozess dem Publikum und den anderen Residenzteilnehmer*innen vorstellen. In Berlin beschlossen wir, diesen Prozess des Austauschs und der Recherchen im digitalen Raum zum grundlegenden Teil unseres künstlerischen Werks zu machen (Zoom, Google Maps, Sound Experience, Digital Media), mit Fokus auf den lokalen Kontext Berlin sowie auf das Viertel, im dem wir leben.

The Urban Episode: Bei uns wurde das Thema von unserer Arbeit als Architekt*innen beeinflusst sowie durch unsere Schwierigkeiten beim Auftreiben historischer Karten. Der Arbeitsprozess beinhaltete daher Recherchen in verschiedenen Archiven, das Besprechen dieser Erfahrung und darüber nachzudenken, wie uns diese beeinflusst.
Sudan Moves
Goethe-Institut Sudan
Sudan Moves | Copyright: Goethe-Institut Sudan
Das Video-Kunstwerk „Pool Untitled“ des Künstlerkollektivs Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz sowie die Lecture-Performance „Maps in Context“ von The Urban Episode sind als Teil der digitalen Ausstellung „Acts of Resistance: An Anthology“ des Goethe-Instituts Sudan zu sehen, die am 11. Dezember 2020 eröffnet wird.

Top