Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Latest
Support services for Ukrainians

Flagge der Ukraine

German courses at a symbolic price, an emergency aid fund or a placement offer from Ukrainian artists and cultural workers to German host institutions: On this page you will find an overview of the projects that the Goethe-Institut launched in response to the war in Ukraine.
 

The Goethe-Institut is in full solidarity with the Ukrainian people and especially its partners. In Ukraine, the Goethe-Institut is represented by a large institute in Kyiv, from which a large network of three cultural societies, 15 language learning centres, 17 partner libraries or reading rooms and many university cooperations are coordinated. The Goethe-Institut has been active in Ukraine since 1993. A total of 115 colleagues work at the Goethe-Institut Kyiv, most of whom have left the country in the meantime or are in Western Ukraine.

Funding opportunities for cultural workers from Ukraine

The war in Ukraine has forced many people to leave their country. Cultural institutions in Germany and other European countries have set up aid programmes for artists and cultural workers. These include, for example, residencies lasting several months, scholarships or work opportunities that facilitate the stay in the host countries. Together with Artists at Risk, the Goethe-Institut arranges such support offers. Artists at Risk is a European organisation that has been able to gain experience in arranging support for artists at risk for over ten years.
To the funding opportunities

Emergency fund for Ukrainian cultural workers

Together with the Federal Cultural Foundation, the Goethe-Institut supports artists and cultural actors from Ukraine in their country or in exile. For this purpose, both institutions have set up the Emergency Aid Scholarship Programme, for which artists and cultural workers from partner institutions of the Goethe-Institut Ukraine or the Federal Cultural Foundation can apply. The fund of almost 500,000 euros pays out grants of 2,000 euros each. Applicants can submit projects to the emergency fund of the Goethe-Institut and the Federal Cultural Foundation that aim to deal with crisis situations, systematically support cultural actors who have fled or preserve cultural scenes.

German courses for Ukrainians

Shortly after the war began, the Goethe-Institut Ukraine offered free online German courses for 3,100 people, which were quickly fully booked. Due to the high demand, it additionally offers a digital self-learning course. The course "First Steps in German" is aimed at adults aged 18 and over without any prior knowledge of German. Until the end of May, the course is offered at a special price of 33 hryvnia (about 1 euro).
To the Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Mein Weg nach Deutschland - Information for Ukrainians

Usually, the web portal "Mein Weg nach Deutschland" is aimed at people who come to Germany to work. Since the Russian attack on Ukraine, however, there are also many questions about the effects of the war. That's why the Goethe-Institut provides important information on the portal for refugees from Ukraine coming to Germany, for example, on assistance, telecommunications, health insurance, kindergartens and schools, and plenty of information on free self-learning opportunities for the German language.
To the web portal Mein Weg nach Deutschland

Voice of Ukraine - The Kyiv Symphony Orchestra on tour in Germany

In an unprecedented action, the Kyiv Symphony Orchestra was brought from the war zone to Germany for a tour in April and May. Seven German cities with their most important concert halls - including the Dresden Kulturpalast and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg - spontaneously agreed to take part. With this tour, the Kyiv Symphony Orchestra is setting a sign of resistance against aggression. Ukrainian compositions from four centuries make the previously all too seldom heard voice of Ukraine audible. The tour was created in cooperation with Konzertdirektion Schmid and in partnership with the Goethe-Institut.

Support for Ukrainian PASCH schools

17 of the almost fifty Ukrainian PASCH schools are supported by the Goethe-Institut Ukraine. With the exception of the PASCH school in Mariupol, all of these schools are currently in operation and function as official places of refuge - also for PASCH students who have lost their homes. All of the schools supported by the Goethe-Institut were able to receive support in the form of sleeping bags, sleeping mats, warm underwear, rescue blankets, bandages and power banks.

"Ukrainian Online School"

Originally launched in 2020 at the height of the Covid pandemic, the state education platform "Ukrainian Online School" is proving particularly helpful during the war: it now complements traditional school lessons in all Ukrainian regions. The platform is being expanded to include video tutorials for German as a foreign language, tests and materials for students, as well as customised methodological support for teachers.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Aktuelles
Hilfsangebote für Ukrainer*innen

Flag of Ukraine

Deutschkurse zu einem symbolischen Preis, ein Nothilfefonds oder ein Vermittlungsangebot von ukrainischen Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden an deutsche Gasteinrichtungen: Auf dieser Seite finden Sie eine Übersicht der Projekte, die das Goethe-Institut in Reaktion auf den Krieg in der Ukraine ins Leben rief.

Das Goethe-Institut ist uneingeschränkt solidarisch mit der ukrainischen Bevölkerung und insbesondere seinen Partnern. In der Ukraine ist das Goethe-Institut mit einem großen Institut in Kiew vertreten, von dem aus ein großes Netzwerk von drei Kulturgesellschaften, 15 Sprachlernzentren, 17 Partnerbibliotheken oder Lesesälen und vielen Hochschulkooperationen koordiniert wird. Das Goethe-Institut ist seit 1993 in der Ukraine tätig. Am Goethe-Institut Kiew arbeiten insgesamt 115 Kolleg*innen, die meisten von ihnen haben inzwischen das Land verlassen oder befinden sich in der Westukraine.

Förderangebote für Kulturschaffende aus der Ukraine

Der Krieg in der Ukraine hat viele Menschen gezwungen, ihr Land zu verlassen. Für Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende haben Kulturinstitutionen in Deutschland und weiteren europäischen Ländern Hilfsprogramme aufgesetzt. Dabei handelt es sich beispielsweise um mehrmonatige Residenzen, um Stipendien oder auch um Arbeitsmöglichkeiten, die den Aufenthalt in den Gastländern erleichtern. Das Goethe-Institut vermittelt gemeinsam mit Artists at Risk solche Unterstützungsangebote. Artists at Risk ist eine europäische Organisation, die seit über zehn Jahren Erfahrungen mit der Vermittlung von Unterstützungsangeboten an gefährdete Künstler*innen sammeln konnte.
Zu den Förderangeboten

Nothilfefonds für ukrainische Kulturschaffende

Gemeinsam mit der Kulturstiftung des Bundes unterstützt das Goethe-Institut Künstler*innen und Kulturakteur*innen aus der Ukraine vor Ort oder im Exil. Zu diesem Zweck haben beide Institutionen das Nothilfe-Stipendienprogramm aufgesetzt, für das sich Künstler*innen sowie Kulturschaffende aus Partnerinstitutionen des Goethe-Instituts Ukraine oder der Kulturstiftung des Bundes bewerben können. Der Fonds in Höhe von knapp 500.000 Euro zahlt Stipendien von jeweils 2.000 Euro aus. Antragssteller*innen können beim Nothilfefonds des Goethe-Instituts und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes Vorhaben geltend machen, die auf einen Umgang mit Krisensituationen, eine systematische Unterstützung von geflüchteten Kulturakteuren oder den Erhalt der kulturellen Szenen zielen.

Deutschkurse für Ukrainer*innen

Das Goethe-Institut Ukraine bot kurz nach Kriegsausbruch für 3.100 Personen kostenlose Online-Deutschkurse an, die rasch ausgebucht waren. Aufgrund der hohen Nachfrage bietet es zusätzlich einen digitalen Selbstlernkurs an. Der Kurs „Erste Schritte auf Deutsch“ richtet sich an Erwachsene ab 18 Jahren ohne Vorkenntnisse der deutschen Sprache. Bis Ende Mai wird der Kurs zu einem Sonderpreis von 33 Griwna (circa 1 Euro) angeboten.
​​​Zum Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Mein Weg nach Deutschland – Informationen für Ukrainer*innen

Normalerweise richtet sich das Webportal „Mein Weg nach Deutschland“ an Menschen, die zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland kommen. Seit dem russischen Angriff auf die Ukraine gibt es aber auch viele Fragen zu den Auswirkungen des Kriegs. Daher stellt das Goethe-Institut im Portal wichtige Informationen für geflüchtete Menschen aus der Ukraine, die nach Deutschland kommen, zur Verfügung, etwa zu Hilfsangeboten, Telekommunikation, Krankenversicherung, Kindergärten und Schulen und zahlreichen Informationen zu kostenlosen Selbstlernangeboten für die deutsche Sprache.
Zum Webportal Mein Weg nach Deutschland

Voice of Ukraine – Das Kyiv Symphony Orchestra auf Deutschland-Tour

In einer beispiellosen Aktion wurde das Kyiv Symphony Orchestra aus dem Kriegsgebiet für eine Tournee im April und Mai nach Deutschland geholt. Sieben deutsche Städte mit ihren bedeutendsten Konzerthäusern – darunter der Dresdner Kulturpalast und die Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg – erklärten sich spontan bereit, dabei mitzumachen. Mit dieser Tour setzt das Kyiv Symphony Orchestra ein Zeichen des Widerstands gegen die Aggression. Ukrainische Kompositionen aus vier Jahrhunderte machen die bislang viel zu selten vernommene Stimme der Ukraine hörbar. Die Tournee entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Konzertdirektion Schmid und in Partnerschaft mit dem Goethe-Institut.

Unterstützung für ukrainische PASCH-Schulen

17 der insgesamt fast fünfzig ukrainischen PASCH-Schulen werden durch das Goethe-Institut Ukraine betreut. Bis auf die PASCH-Schule in Mariupol sind derzeit alle diese Schulen in Betrieb und fungieren als offizielle Zufluchtsorte – auch für PASCH-Schüler*innen, die ihre Wohnung verloren haben. Alle durch das Goethe-Institut betreuten Schulen konnten durch die Ausstattung mit Schlafsäcken, Isomatten, warmer Unterwäsche, Rettungsdecken, Verbandszeug und Powerbanks unterstützt werden.

„Ukrainische Online-Schule“

Ursprünglich in Hochzeiten der Covid-Pandemie im Jahr 2020 gelauncht, erweist sich die staatliche Bildungsplattform „Ukrainische Online-Schule“ im Krieg als besonders hilfreich: In allen ukrainischen Regionen ergänzt sie jetzt den traditionellen Schulunterricht. Erweitert wird die Plattform um Video-Tutorials für Deutsch als Fremdsprache, Tests und Materialien für Schüler*innen sowie passgenaue methodische Unterstützung für die Lehrenden.

Top