Traces along the Wild Atlantic Way Imogen Stuart, sculptor

In Principio (at the back) and Ladders (right), Imogen Stuart at Mary Immaculate College.
In Principio (at the back) and Ladders (right), Imogen Stuart at Mary Immaculate College. | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut Irland

Most Irish people may not know her name but almost all know at least one of her sculptures. The work of the German-born Imogen Stuart is everywhere – in churches, shopping centres and public buildings.

Imogen Stuart was born in Berlin in 1927, into a family devoted to art: her father Bruno Werner was a renowned art critic and her mother had studied art history. She herself studied with the sculptor Otto Hitzberger in Bavaria. She met Ian Stuart, son of the Irish novelist Francis Stuart and himself a sculptor. When she married him in 1951, she moved to County Wicklow. She was struck by the relative absence of a visual culture in Ireland. She was also fortunate, however, in that Catholic churches were beginning to commission more ambitious work.

Stuart’s work, with its deep attraction to Christian spirituality, its deceptive simplicity, and its way of being both devotional and modern, fit the bill. She combines eclectic influences – Romanesque and Gothic carvings, German Expressionism and old Irish manuscripts and metalwork – into an organic and fluid style of her own. Over sixty years, it has become an Irish style, written beautifully into the country’s built environment.

Visitor Information: 
Mary Immaculate College
University of Limerick
South Circular Road
Limerick
Ireland

Spuren entlang des Wild Atlantic Way Die Bildhauerin Imogen Stuart

In Principio (hinten) und Ladders (rechts) von Imogen Stuart, zu sehen im Mary Immaculate College.
In Principio (hinten) und Ladders (rechts) von Imogen Stuart, zu sehen im Mary Immaculate College. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut Irland

Die meisten Iren kennen nicht ihren Namen, dafür aber eine ihrer Arbeiten. Die Werke der in Deutschland geborenen Imogen Stuart sind überall zu finden – in Kirchen, Einkaufszentren und öffentlichen Gebäuden.

Imogen Stuart wurde 1927 in Berlin in eine ganz der Kunst hingegebene Familie hineingeboren: Ihr Vater Bruno war ein bekannter Kunstkritiker und ihre Mutter hatte Kunstgeschichte studiert. Sie selbst war Schülerin des Bildhauers Otto Hitzberger in Bayern. Sie begegnete Ian Stuart, dem Sohn des irischen Romanschriftstellers Francis Stuart, der selbst Bildhauer war. Als sie ihn 1951 heiratete, zog sie in die Grafschaft Wicklow. Es fiel ihr auf, welch geringe Rolle die bildenden Künste in Irland spielten. Zu ihrem Glück begannen katholische Kirchen jedoch damit, anspruchsvollere Arbeiten in Auftrag zu geben.

Stuarts Werke, mit ihrer starken Affinität zur christlichen Spiritualität, ihrer nur scheinbaren Einfachheit und dadurch, dass sie sowohl andächtig als auch modern wirken, werden jenen Anforderungen gerecht. Sie verbindet eklektische Einflüsse – romanische und gotische Schnitzarbeiten, deutschen Expressionismus und altirische Manuskripte und Metallarbeiten – zu einem organischen und flüssigen, eigenen Stil. Nach sechzig Jahren wurde Imogen Stuarts Stil zu einem irischen Stil, der sich mit den jeweiligen Bauwerken auf eine wunderschöne Weise verbindet.

Besucherinformationen: 
Mary Immaculate College
University of Limerick
South Circular Road
Limerick
Ireland