Concert, Exhibition, Story Telling, Visual Art Project, Language Classes Culture Night 2020

Culture Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut

Mon, 21.09.2020 -
Fri, 18.09.2020

Online and Goethe-Institut Irland



Culture Night 2020 at the Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut in Dublin is inviting you to a cultural evening from Germany at Culture Night 2020.
Due to current restrictions the house will be open until 5.30pm IST.
The Online Events will take place from 4pm to 10pm IST.

 
Programme Overview
Time Event
4:00 pm IST Introduction by Ulrike Gasser, Director of Goethe-Institut Irland
4:15 pm IST Exhibition A Hurry Through Which Known And Strange Things Pass
5:00 pm IST Digital Art Project Earth Speakr: Important Messages
6:00 pm IST Story Time: A Shadow Theatre for Children
6:30 pm IST Introduction of the Language Department by Michael Hauke, Head of Language Department
6:40 pm IST Launch of Podcast Hiberno Goethe: German Irish Conversations
7:00 pm
- 9:00 pm IST
German Language Taster Sessions via Zoom
7:00 pm IST Concert Prog Rock Grooves: Jaki Liebezeit & the Nature of Rhythm
7:40 pm IST Conclusion of Culture Night by Ulrike Gasser, Director of Goethe-Institut Irland
 
Exhibition
A Hurry Through Which Known and Strange Things Pass
4:00-5:30 pm IST
Online + The Return, Goethe-Institut Irland, 37 Merrion Square, Dublin 2

A Hurry Through Which Known And Strange Things Pass (C) Dominique Crowley, María del Buey Propositions, performances, experiments and scenarios by the NCAD MFA Art in the Contemporary World. The gallery is a hasty site (a hurry) where materials and objects (known and strange) pass through, change direction and disperse. Starting with Culture Night the group presents aspects of their recent post-graduate research staged briefly, with intent. This is an opportunity for audiences near and far to experience lively elaborations of artistic research by the MFA ACW graduates, in untethered and unfeathered moments of making, thinking, acting and doing using the Return Gallery at the Goethe-Institut Irland as a focal point and a point of departure.
The series of events will open on Culture Night with the exhibition "Between Telemorphosis and Security Zones" by Dominique Crowley and Maria del Buey.

After Culture Night the installation "Between Telemorphosis and Security Zones" is open to visitors during regular opening hours of the Return Gallery: Monday-Thursday 10:00 am - 09:00 pm, Friday 10:00 am - 05:30 pm, Saturday 10:00 am - 1:30 pm.

The show can be visited by 1 person at the time. Approx. visiting time is 10 min.
No booking necessary.

Please note that due to the protected structure of the Georgian building, the gallery is not wheelchair accessible.
 

Join us digitally

Get a glimpse of A Hurry Through Which Known and Strange Things Pass: Between Telemorphosis and Security Zones 
-
on September 18 at 4:15 pm IST - just click here!

Digital Art Project
Earth Speakr: Important Messages
5:00 pm IST
Online

Earth Speakr (C) Olafur Eliasson, Earth Speakr, 2020 We invite children and young adults into our library in order to contribute their creative messages about the future of the planet.
Earth Speakr is a new work of art by Berlin based Icelandic-Danish artist Olafur Eliasson, devised on the occasion of the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020. Earth Speakr consists of a playful app and an interactive website (in all 24 official EU languages), as well as physical presentations in key locations. To amplify kids’ ideas and concerns about the wellbeing of our planet, Olafur Eliasson and his team are working with a growing network across the EU, including museums, schools, and libraries to expand the reach of this collective artwork. Are you ready to listen to the future?
The project is funded by the German Federal Foreign Office and realised in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut.
https://earthspeakr.art
 

Join us digitally

The Goethe-Institut Irland will show Earth Speakr: Important Messages
- on September 18 at 5:00 pm IST - just click here!

Story Time: A Shadow Theatre for Children
Das Traumfresserchen by Michael Ende
6:00 pm IST
Online

Performed in German by Claudia Kunkel and Verena Mähler
for ages 4-7
 

join us digitally

 

The Goethe-Institut Irland will show Story Time: A Shadow Theatre for Children
- on September 18 at 6:00 pm IST - just click here!

Launch of Podcast
Hiberno Goethe: German Irish Conversations
6:40 pm IST
Online

Hiberno Goethe Klein (C) Goethe-Institut Irland This Podcast dives into the many colours of arts, language and life across cultures. St. Pauli fan and former Düsseldorfer Ciarán Murray and his guests explore the connecting moments of German and Irish life. What do musicians, dancers, artists, writers pick up from either culture? How are they inspired and enriched by the other? For all listeners who like to go and think beyond borders.
The first episode of the new podcast series will be launched with mezzo soprano singer Sharon Carty! Tune in to hear how she went from PE teacher to opera singer and how her love of the German language grew, especially as she began to sing opera in German.
Click here for more information about the podcast.


German Language Taster Sessions
7:00-9:00 pm IST
Online via Zoom

Thinking of learning a new language? We are running 20-minute taster classes in beginners‘ German. No prior knowledge needed, everyone welcome!
From 7-9 pm there will be taster session in German at the European Commission Represenation in Ireland.
 

Sign up for your taster session on 18 September 2020

Please click on your favoured time slot and you will be forwarded to Eventbrite:

7:00 pm - 7:20 pm
7:30 pm - 7:50 pm
8:00 pm - 8:20 pm
8:30 pm - 8:50 pm

Concert
Prog Rock Grooves: Jaki Liebezeit & the Nature of Rhythm
7:00 pm IST
Online

Jaki Liebezeit Image: Victoria Huf Jaki Liebezeit is best known for his drumming with influential German avant-garde band Can, sculpting their transcendent grooves. He also forged long term creative relationships playing & writing with hundreds of other renowned musicians & composers. Perhaps most importantly, during his 60 year journey at the vanguard of contemporary music, he uncovered the basic musical & ergonomic principles underlying rhythm. 
These are ancient, borderless ideas whose time has come...they liberate drumming, and rhythm, from the traditional Western strait-jackets of bars and time signatures. This show owes its musical structure to these ideas and rules which Jaki uncovered and developed alongside Drums Off Chaos and Burnt Friedman.The piece is called "110-22".
If these rhythms appeal to you, you can find out more about their genesis in the recent book "Jaki Liebezeit - Life, Theory and Practice of a Master Drummer" published last year by Unbound ( https://unbound.com/books/jaki-liebezeit/ ).
This show pays homage to one of the great musical innovators of the late 20th Century and beyond. His elegant, insistent grooves are owed a great debt by much of contemporary popular music, from techno to Kanye West, and his continuing influence in Germany ranges from Bernd-Alois Zimmermann to Burnt Friedman, and from Joachim Witt to Klaus Dinger to Michael Rother.

Bryan O’Connell (composer) – drums & percussion
Stephen Shannon – bass guitar, electronics & synthesiser
Matthew Nolan – electric guitar & synthesiser
Seán Mac Erlaine – piano, electronics, chalumeau & car horn
 

join us digitally

 

The Goethe-Institut Irland will show Prog Rock Grooves: Jaki Liebezeit & the Nature of Rhythm on September 18
at 7:00 pm IST online.

Click here to book your ticket for Prog Rock Grooves: Jaki Liebezeit & the Nature of Rhythm. This is a free event.


Part of European Culture Trail, an initiative by EUNIC Ireland (European Union National Institutes for Culture) for Culture Night. Whether you come out to town this year for Culture Night or whether you enjoy it from your home – immerse yourself in the diversity of European language and culture on the European Culture Trail, where cultural delights from Austria, France, Germany, Italy and Spain are awaiting you.

Back

Konzert, Ausstellung, Schattentheater, Digitales Kunstprojekt, Podcast, Deutschunterricht Culture Night 2020

Culture Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut

Mo, 21.09.2020 -
Fr, 18.09.2020

Online und Goethe-Institut Irland

Online und
37 Merrion Square
2 Dublin

37 Merrion Square

Culture Night 2020 im Goethe-Institut

Auch 2020 lädt das Goethe-Institut in Dublin an Culture Night zu einem kulturellen Abend aus Deutschland ein.
Aufgrund der aktuellen Restriktionen ist unser Haus bis 17:30 Uhr IST geöffnet.
Die Online-Veranstaltungen finden von 16:00 Uhr - 22:00 Uhr IST statt.

 
Uhrzeit Veranstaltung
Programmübersicht
16:00 Uhr IST Begrüßung durch die Institutsleiterin Ulrike Gasser
16:15 Uhr IST Ausstellung A Hurry Through Which Known And Strange Things Pass
17:00 Uhr IST Digitales Kunstprojekt Earth Speakr: Wichtige Botschaften
18:00 Uhr IST Story Time: Ein Schattenspiel für Kinder
18:30 Uhr IST Vorstellung der Sprachabteilung durch den Leiter der Spracharbeit Michael Hauke
18:40 Uhr IST Neuer Podcast Hiberno Goethe: German Irish Conversations
19:00
- 21:00 Uhr IST
Schnupperklassen via Zoom
19:00 Uhr IST Konzert Prog Rock Grooves: Die Rhythmen von Jaki Liebezeit
19:40 Uhr IST Abschluss der Culture Night durch die Institutsleiterin Ulrike Gasser
 
Ausstellung
A Hurry Through Which Known and Strange Things Pass
16:00-17:30 Uhr IST
Online + The Return Gallery, 37 Merrion Square, Dublin 2

Between telemorphosis and security zones (C) Dominique Crowley, María del Buey Ideen, Performances, Experimente und Szenarien des Studiengangs MFA Art in the Contemporary World am National College of Art and Design.
Die Galerie ist ein flüchtiger Ort, den Materialien und bekannte und fremde Objekte durchlaufen, ihre Richtung ändern und sich zerstreuen. Culture Night bildet den Auftakt einer Ausstellungsreihe, in der Abssolvent*innen des Master-Studiengangs Aspekte ihrer jüngsten Postgraduiertenforschung präsentieren, die in kurzer Abfolge inszeniert werden. Die Ausstellungen bieten dem Publikum Gelegenheit, Ausarbeitungen der künstlerischen Forschung der MFA ACW-Absolvent*innen zu erleben und den Prozess des Machens, Denkens und Handelns nachzuvollziehen, wobei die Return Gallery im Goethe-Institut Irland als Brenn- und Ausgangspunkt dient. Die Reihe wird im Rahmen der Culture Night mit der Ausstellung "Between Telemorphosis and Security Zones" von Dominique Crowley und María del Buey eröffnet. 

Im Anschluss an Culture Night ist die Ausstellung "Between Telemorphosis and Security Zones" bis zum 26.09.2020 während der üblichen Öffnungszeiten der Return Galerie geöffnet: Montag-Donnerstag 10:00-21:00 Uhr, Freitag 10:00-17:30 Uhr, Samstag 10:00-13:30 Uhr.

Die Ausstellung ist für jeweils 1 Besucher*in zugänglich und kann in ca. 10 Minuten erkundet werden.
Keine Buchung erforderlich.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass aus Denkmalschutzgründen keine Barrierefreiheit zur Return Gallery vorhanden ist.
 

Seien sie digital dabei

Werfen Sie online einen Blick auf die Ausstellung A Hurry Through Which Known and Strange Things Pass: Between Telemorphosis and Security Zones.
- am 18. September um 16:15 Uhr IST - einfach hier klicken!


Digitales Kunstprojekt
Earth Speakr: Wichtige Botschaften
17:00 Uhr IST
Online

Earth Speakr (C) Olafur Eliasson, Earth Speakr, 2020 Wir laden Kinder und Jugendliche in unsere Bibliothek ein, ihre kreative Botschaft zur Zukunft des Planeten zu vermitteln.
Earth Speakr ist das neue Kunstwerk des in Berlin ansässigen isländisch-dänischen Künstlers Olafur Eliasson anlässlich der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2020. Das interaktive Kunstwerk verschafft den Ansichten von Kindern und Jugendlichen über die Zukunft unseres Planeten Gehör – es lädt Erwachsene und Entscheidungsträger von heute dazu ein, zuzuhören, was Kinder zu sagen haben. Earth Speakr nutzt Augmented Reality und umfasst eine kostenlose, spielerische App sowie eine interaktive Website, die in den 24 offiziellen Landessprachen der Europäischen Union verfügbar ist.
Das Projekt wird vom Auswärtigen Amt im Rahmen der deutschen EU Ratspräsidentschaft 2020 gefördert und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut durchgeführt.
https://earthspeakr.art
 

Seien sie digital dabei

 

Das Goethe-Institut Irland zeigt Earth Speakr: Wichtige Botschaften
-
am 18.September um 17:00 Uhr IST - einfach hier klicken!

Story Time: Ein Schattenspiel für Kinder
Das Traumfresserchen von Michael Ende
18:00 Uhr IST
Online

Aufgeführt von Claudia Kunkel und Verena Mähler
für Kinder im Alter von 4-7 Jahren
 

Seien sie digital dabei

Das Goethe-Institut Irland zeigt Story Time: Ein Schattenspiel für Kinder
- am 18. September um 18:00 Uhr IST - einfach hier klicken!


Neuer Podcast
Hiberno Goethe: German Irish Conversations
18:40 Uhr IST
Online

Hiberno Goethe (C) Goethe-Institut Irland Dieser Podcast taucht ein in die bunte Vielfalt von Kunst, Sprache und kulturübergreifendem Leben. St. Pauli-Fan und ehemaliger Düsseldorfer Ciarán Murray und seine Gäste sprechen über Momente, die deutsches und irisches Leben verbinden. Was nehmen Musiker*innen, Tänzer*innen, Künstler*innen, Autor*innen von der jeweils anderen Kultur auf? Wodurch werden sie inspiriert und bereichert? Für alle Hörer*innen, die grenzüberschreitend denken.
Die erste Episode der neuen Podcast-Serie startet mit Mezzosopranistin Sharon Carty! Finden Sie heraus, wie sie von ihrem Beruf als Sportlehrerin zur Opernsängerin wechselte und ihre Begeisterung für die deutsche Sprache wuchs, besonders als sie anfing, deutsche Opern zu singen.
Für mehr Informationen zum Podcast klicken Sie hier.


Schnupperklassen
19:00-21:00 Uhr IST
Online via Zoom

Sie überlegen, Deutsch zu lernen? Unsere 20-minütigen Online-Schnupperklassen für Deutsch-Anfänger sind da genau das Richtige. Offen für alle Interessierten - keine Vorkenntnisse erforderlich!
Von 19-21 Uhr werden in der Europäische Kommission Schupperklassen für Deutsch angeboten.
 

Anmeldung zur Schnupperklasse am 18.09.2020

Bitte klicken Sie auf den jeweiligen Zeitraum, um zur Anmeldung auf Eventbrite zu gelangen:
19:00 - 19:20 Uhr 
19:30 - 19:50 Uhr
20:00 - 20:20 Uhr
20:30 - 20:50 Uhr


Konzert
Prog Rock Grooves: Die Rhythmen von Jaki Liebezeit
19:00 Uhr IST
Online

Jaki 3_Victoria Huf Image: Victoria Huf Jaki Liebezeit erlangte große Bekanntheit durch seine Arbeit als Drummer für die deutsche Avantgarde Band Can, deren transzendente Rhythmen er maßgeblich geprägt hat. Darüber hinaus hat er mit einer Vielzahl weiterer bekannter Musiker und Komponisten zusammengearbeitet. Im Laufe seiner über 60 Jahre währenden Laufbahn als einer der Vorreiter der zeitgenössischen Musik hat er die grundlegenden musikalischen und ergonomischen Prinzipien von Rhythmus offengelegt.
Diese sehr alten und grenzüberspannenden Prinzipien sind aktueller denn je. Sie befreien Schlagzeug und Rhythmus von traditionell westlichen Zwängen und Taktvorgaben. Die musikalische Struktur dieses Events basiert auf den Ideen und Regeln, die Jaki Liebezeit gemeinsam mit Drums Off Chaos und Burnt Friedman aufgedeckt und entwickelt hat. Das Stück heißt "110-22".
Falls Sie an den Rhythmen Gefallen finden, können Sie mehr über deren Entstehung herausfinden - in dem Buch "Jaki Liebezeit - Life, Theory and Practice of a Master Drummer", welches letztes Jahr erschienen ist.
Die Veranstaltung ist eine Hommage an einen der größten Innovator*innen des späten 20. Jahrhunderts und darüber hinaus. Seine eleganten, eindringlichen Grooves beeinflussen einen großen Teil der heute populären Musik, von Techno bis Kanye West, und sein fortlaufender Einfluss in Deutschland reicht von Bernd-Alois Zimmermann zu Burnt Friedman, von Joachim Witt über Klaus Dinger zu Michael Rother.

Bryan O’Connell (composer) – drums & percussion
Stephen Shannon – bass guitar, electronics & synthesiser
Matthew Nolan – electric guitar & synthesiser
Seán Mac Erlaine – piano, electronics, chalumeau & car horn
 

Seien Sie digital dabei

Das Goethe-Institut Irland zeigt Prog Rock Grooves: Die Rhythmen von Jaki Liebezeit am 18. September um 19:00 Uhr online.

Klicken Sie hier, um Ihr Ticket für Prog Rock Grooves: Die Rhythmen von Jaki Liebezeit zu buchen. Eintritt frei.

Teil des European Culture Trail, einer Initiative von EUNIC Ireland (European Union National Institutes for Culture) für Culture Night.
Ob in der Stadt oder von zu Hause aus - Besucher*innen der Culture Night können in die Vielfalt europäischer Sprache und Kultur eintauchen mit zahlreichen kulturellen Kostproben aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Österreich und Spanien.

Zurück