bangaloREsident@1 Shanthi Road

The artist group bösediva is looking for a new mix of the devices of theatre and the visual arts. The work focusses on freedom and dissidence in western societies. One of the main subjects of  research is the tension between the romantic impulses of narrative in theatre and literature and the supposed purity of the art object as an object to project onto and a commodity. Other subjects were the blurring of the boundaries between the sexes, the male and female body and their representations.
bösediva utilises performance art, sculpture, video- and sound-installation. Beauty is on display, often in huge intricately designed spaces, but it is not meant to overpower. bösediva insists on offering spectators an aesthetic experience which can also be experienced as alienating, and aims at giving spectators the highest possible amount of autonomy to design their own experience.
Elisa Duca and Robin Detje are bösediva.
Elisa @ Orientation week © Charlotte von Thaden Elisa Duca has worked as a classical actress and has a degree in theatre from the DAMS-Institute at the University of Bologna. Following numerous independent theatre and performance projects in Italy and Germany (with “Einstürzende Neubauten”, among others) she worked as assistant director with Meg Stuart at Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in Berlin. She teaches and coaches young adults and adults in performance art techniques, at Maxim Gorki Theater, Deutsches Theater and University of the Arts in Berlin, among others.
Robin Detje is a trained actor. For many years he worked as a critic, for DIE Robin @ Orienatation week © Charlotte von Thaden ZEIT, Süddeutsche Zeitung and Berliner Zeitung, among others. He is the author of Castorf – Provokation aus Prinzip (Berlin 2002) . Besides his work as an artist, he is also a literary translator (of Kiran Desai, Gary Shteyngart, William T. Vollmann, among others) and was awarded the Leipzig Book Fair Prize in 2014.
Since 2009, bösediva has presented work in Berlin at Sophiensaele, LEAP and silent green Kulturquartier, als well as nationally and internationally (at SET UP Art Fair, Bologna, IT, the Santarcangelo Festival, IT; zeitraumexit, Mannheim; PATHOS München; scatolabianca, Milan and Venice, IT, among others). bösediva has received funding from Bezirk Oberbayern, NPN and Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
For the duration of the bangaloREsidency, bösediva will be working on a project at the boundaries of Performance Art and Land Art, PROCESSING is about establishing a new order which does and does not make sense – much the same way poetry tries to make sense by establishing its very own rules of language The work is about the constant production and deletion of images, about the becoming of things and their infinite possibilities.

Final Report

Elisa: A Day at 1 Shanthi Road
A Tuesday in April, maximum temperature: 39 degrees Celsius.
5:30 am: rise and shine. Sleeping in is no fun anyway: the heat is coming, the dogs are barking, the big honking fest begins.
Suresh is up already, drinking his green tea.

Maureen is  too punctual in picking me up: 6:20 am. We are going to yoga class in Lavelle Road (that's French, she says, but it must be mispronounced for the rickshaw driver to understand).

Yoga class is on a terrace on the 5th floor., it's 6:45, sweating already. But that's okay. For me, this is great. Yoga in Berlin was boring, for years. Here everybody comes together, office workers, housewives, college students, pregnant women, all practicing together. Our teacher is petite, funny and strict. We sweat and sing (ok, I don't sing with the others), and then that was it, we are fit and the day begins.

Back at 1 Shanthi Road.
Mangos, bananas and coconuts await.
So does Suresh.

city_market ©bösediva:Robin_Detje city_market ©bösediva:Robin_Detje “Do you want to go to the city market?” Off we go. The City Market is a small, denser version of Bangalore: noisy, dirty, colourful, hectic. The best place to shop, and the best place to study people. Suresh walks fast, I am trying to keep up. We buy: paan leaves, camphor, onion sacks, lanterns, plastic gloves, kumkum, thread, neon-colored scouring pads, a saw, five coconut graters.
Back home. Lunch is ready at 1 Shanthi Road. The cook is here, she comes almost every day. For 100 Rupees, we can get a meal at home.

We switch on the fan in the gallery space and begin our work session of the day. The work is about manipulating objects from Bangalore, about chaos and order. Suresh drops by. He stands in the doorway for a couple of minutes and leaves. “I like what you did”, he will say later.

After our session there are artists everywhere. Sitting in the courtyard in discussion, sleeping on Suresh's office bed in the house, planning new steps in their fight to save Venkatappa Gallery. We take part in it happily.

Night falls early. Two days ago I bought fabric on the textile market, no I want to take it to the tailor. I have to cross the street four times to get there. I still don't understand how it can be done. Though I did it so many times. To cross the street in Bangalore, you have to forget everything you learned in Europe about traffic.

On my way back I drop by the booze shop, I need a beer to relax.

The per diem is part of the experience: As long as you live and eat and go out the way the locals do, it is more than enough. White wine is expensive, unfortunately. For white wine, you have to wait for Christoph's next party.

Of my per diem of 1000 Rupees I spent today: 300 for yoga class, 20 for 1 litre of water, 30 for a giant papaya, 140 for the rickshaw ride, 100 for lunch, 90 for a beer, 125 for curry and lemonade at Foody's.

Robin: Mixing with Animals
crows©bösediva:Robin_Detje crows © bösediva:Robin_Detje We live in a Badam Tree. It grows on the lot next door and arches over half the house.
We live with animals, the animals in the tree. The crows are the loudest ones, “knock, knock, knock” they go. Supposedly, crows are almost as intelligent as monkeys. They can recognise people by the face. On one of my first days underneath the Badam Tree, a crow places herself on a branch an arm's length away and stares at me. They leave me in peace after that.

You have to stay on the right side of the crows. They chase the skinny cat we see around a lot out of the tree pecking their beaks on to its head. In the skies over the Badam Tree, the crows try to snatch away the prey from the black kites. Three black kites have to get together to chase away one crow. When the crows are not there, two palm squirrels dart through the tree.

The big red ants are always there, they use the powerlines that go through the tree as a shortcut. Ashok was bitten by the big red ants. Not us. It always depends on the attitude you display.

At night, around six, you can sit on the roof and watch the black kites trying to make a last catch before dark. Parakeets fly over the house, 20, 30 at a time, towards the west, where their night quarters are. Pretty much at seven o'clock sharp the giant fruit bats appear from the northwest. One by one, slowly, elegantly. At night you can sometimes see them hanging in the trees, head down, guzzling on fruit. When they spread their wings, they transport you into in a horror movie.

Once the monkeys came and trashed everything they could find on the roof under the Badam Tree. They sucked an old highlighter dry and broke big branches off the tree. Then they were gone.
And once we set up art underneath the Badam Tree. Immediately there was a pigeon, pecking around on it, checking it out. The minute the pigeon left, a palm squirrel appeared and studied everything closely. And then the big red ants very quickly devoured everything of our art that tasted good to them.

The crows and the monkeys, the giant fruit bats and the palm squirrels, the black kites and the pigeons and the ants – curators!

bösediva
bangaloREsident@1 Shanthi Road

Die Künstlergruppe bösediva sucht eine neue Mischung der Mittel von Theater und bildender Kunst. Die Arbeit kreist um die Begriffe von Freiheit und Dissidenz in den westlichen Gesellschaften der Gegenwart. Die Spannung zwischen den romantischen Impulsen theatraler und literarischer Narrative und der angeblichen Offenheit des Kunstobjektes als Projektionsfläche mit Warencharakter ist ein wichtiger Gegenstand der formalen Recherche. Andere Gegenstände waren die verschwimmenden Grenzen zwischen den Geschlechtern, der weibliche und männliche Körper und ihre Darstellung.
 
bösediva arbeitet mit den Mitteln der Performance, der Skulptur, der Video- und Klanginstallation. Schönheit wird in oft aufwändig gestalteten Räumen angeboten, dient aber nicht der Überwältigung. bösediva beharrt darauf, eine ästhetische Erfahrung anzubieten, die auch als fremd erlebt werden kann, und verfolgt ästhetische Strategien, die den Besucherinnen und Besuchern größtmögliche Autonomie schenken, ihre Erfahrung selbst zu gestalten.
 
bösediva sind Elisa Duca und Robin Detje.
 
Elisa @ Orientation week © Charlotte von Thaden Elisa Duca hat neben der Arbeit als klassische Schaupielerin am Institut DAMS der Universität Bologna ein Studium von Theater, Film und Kunstgeschichte abgeschlossen. Nach zahlreichen freien Theater- und Performanceprojekten in Italien und Deutschland, unter anderem mit den „Einstürzenden Neubauten“, war sie Assistentin von Meg Stuart an der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz. Sie unterrichtet und coacht Jugendliche und Erwachsene in Performancetechniken, unter anderem am Maxim-Gorki-Theater, an der Universität der Künste und am Deutschen Theater in Berlin.

Robin @ Orienatation week © Charlotte von Thaden Robin Detje ist ausgebildeter Schauspieler und war lange Kritiker, u.a. für die ZEIT, die „Süddeutsche Zeitung“ und die „Berliner Zeitung“. Er ist Autor des Buches „Castorf – Provokation aus Prinzip“ (Berlin 2002). Neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit arbeitet er als literarischer Übersetzer (von Kiran Desai, Gary Shteyngart, William T. Vollmann u.a.) und wurde im Jahr 2014 mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse ausgezeichnet.
 
Die Arbeiten von bösediva waren seit 2009 in Berlin in den Sophiensaelen, im LEAP und im silent green Kulturquartier zu sehen und wurden ins In- und Ausland eingeladen (u.a. Kunstmesse SET UP, Bologna, IT; Festival Santarcangelo dei Teatri, IT; zeitraumexit, Mannheim; PATHOS München; scatolabianca, Mailand und Venedig, IT). bösediva wurde gefördert vom Bezirk Oberbayern, vom Nationalen Performance Netz (NPN) und vom Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
 
Während der bangaloREsidency arbeitet bösediva an einem Projekt auf der Grenze von Land Art und Performance Art. In PROCCESSING geht es darum, eine neue Ordnung zu schaffen, die sinnhaft und unsinnig zugleich ist – ganz so wie Lyrik Sinn zu produzieren versucht, indem sie ihre ganz eigenen Sprachregeln aufstellt. Die Arbeit dreht sich um die fortwährende Produktion und Auslöschung von Bildern, um das Werden der Dinge und ihre unendlichen Möglichkeiten

Abschlussbericht

Elisa: Ein Tag in der 1 Shanthi Road
 
An einem Dienstag in April, Höchsttemperatur 39 Grad.
5:30 h: aufstehen. Viel länger kann man sowieso nicht schlafen: Die Hitze droht, die Hunde bellen, das große Hupkonzert beginnt.
Suresh ist schon wach und trinkt seinen Grünen Tee.

Maureen holt mich überpünktlich ab: 6:20 h. Wir fahren zum Yoga in die Lavelle Road (eigentlich ein französisches Wort, muss man aber falsch aussprechen, sagt Maureen, sonst versteht der Rikschafahrer einen nicht).

Die Yogastunde findet auf einer Terrasse im 5. Stock statt, es ist 6:45 h, man schwitzt schon. Macht aber nichts. Ich, seit Jahren vom Yoga in Berlin völlig gelangweilt, finde das hier einfach toll. Alle treffen sich hier, Büromenschen, Hausfrauen, Studenten, Schwangere und üben zusammen. Die Lehrerin ist klein, lustig und streng. Wir schwitzen und singen (ok, ich singe nicht mit), und dann ist Schluss, dann ist man fit und der Tag fängt an.

Zurück in der 1Shanthi Road.
Mangos, Bananen und Kokosnüsse sind immer da.
Suresh auch.

city_market ©bösediva:Robin_Detje city_market ©bösediva:Robin_Detje „Do you want to go to the city market?“ Wir fahren. Der City Market ist eine kleine, verdichtete Version von Bangalore: laut, bunt, schmutzig, hektisch. Es ist der beste Ort zum Einkaufen und der beste Ort zum Menschen Beobachten. Suresh läuft sicher und schnell, ich hinterher. Wir kaufen: Pan-Blätter, Kampfer, Zwiebelsäcke, Lampions, Momoschalen, Plastikhandschuhe, Kumkum, Garn, bunte Schwämme, 1 Säge, 5 coconut grater.
Zurück. In der Shanthi Road gibt es Mittagessen. Die Köchin kommt fast jeden Tag und kocht für alle. Für 100 rp kann man zuhause essen.

Wir schalten den Ventilator in der Galerie ein und starten unsere Arbeitssession. In der Arbeit geht es um den Umgang mit Objekten und Materialien aus Bangalore, um Chaos und Ordnung. Suresh schaut herein. Er bleibt stehen für wenige Minuten an der Tür und verschwindet wieder. „I like what you did“, wird er später sagen.

Nach unserer Session stoßen wir überall auf Künstler. Sie sitzen im Hof und diskutieren, sie schlafen im Haus auf Sureshs Bürobett, sie planen neue Schritte im Kampf zur Rettung der Venkatappa Gallery. Wir beteiligen uns gerne daran.

Es wird früh dunkel, ich habe vor zwei Tagen Stoff auf dem Textilmarkt gekauft und will zum Schneider. Dazu muss ich viermal über die Straße. Ich verstehe bis heute nicht, wie man das schafft. Obwohl ich es so oft geschafft habe. Man muss alles vergessen, was man in Europa gelernt hat, um in Bangalore über der Straße zu kommen.
Auf dem Rückweg gehe zum Booze Shop, ich brauche ein Bier zum Runterkommen.

Das Tagegeld ist Teil der Erfahrung: Wenn man mit den Einheimischen lebt, isst und unterwegs ist, reicht das völlig aus. Leider ist Weißwein teuer. Dafür muss man auf die nächste Party bei Christoph warten.
Von meinen 1000 Rupien Tagegeld habe ich heute ausgegeben: 300 für die Yogastunde, 20 für 1 Liter Wasser, 30 für eine Riesenpapaya, 140 für die Rikschafahrt, 100 für den Lunch, 90 für ein Bier, 125 für Curry und Lemonade bei Foody's.

Robin: Unter Tieren.
 
crows on palm crows © bösediva:Robin_Detje Wir leben in einem Badam-Baum. Er steht auf dem Nachbargrundstück und überspannt das halbe Haus.
Wir leben unter Tieren, unter den Tieren im Baum. Die Krähen sind am lautesten, sie rufen „knock, knock, knock“. Krähen sollen fast so klug wie Affen sein. Sie können Menschen am Gesicht wiedererkennen. An einem meiner ersten Tage unter dem Badam-Baum setzt sich eine Krähe auf Armlänge vor mich auf einen Ast und starrt mich an. Danach werde ich in Ruhe gelassen.

Mit den Krähen muss man sich gut stellen. Die magere Katze, die oft um das Haus streunt, wird von den Krähen mit Schnabelhieben auf den Kopf aus dem Baum vertrieben. Über dem Badam-Baum versuchen die Krähen, den Schwarzmilanen die Beute abzujagen. Drei Schwarzmilane müssen sich zusammenrotten, um eine Krähe zu verscheuchen. Wenn die Krähen nicht da sind, huschen zwei Palmenhörnchen durch den Baum.

Die großen roten Ameisen sind immer im Baum, sie nutzen die Stromkabel, die sich durch die Äste ziehen. Ashok beißen die großen roten Ameisen. Uns tun sie nie etwas. Es kommt immer auch auf die Einstellung an.

Abends gegen sechs kann man auf dem Dach zusehen, wie die Schwarzmilane noch die letzte Beute machen wollen. In Schwärmen von 20 bis 30 Exemplaren fliegen Sittiche über das Haus, nach Westen in ein Nachtquartier. Ziemlich genau um sieben kommen dann aus Nordwesten die Riesenflughunde. Einzeln, gemächlich, mit elegantem Flügelschwung. In der Nacht kann man sie manchmal kopfüber in den Bäumen hängen und fressen sehen. Wenn sie sie die Flügel ausbreiten, ist man plötzlich in einem Horrorfilm.

Einmal sind die Affen gekommen und haben eine Stunde lang auf dem Dach unter dem Badam-Baum alles zertrümmert, was sie zu fassen bekommen haben. Sie haben einen alten Leuchtmarker ausgesaugt und dicke Äste aus dem Baum gebrochen. Dann sind sie wieder verschwunden.
Und einmal haben wir unter dem Badam-Baum Kunst aufgebaut. Sofort war eine Taube da und hat prüfend an der Kunst herumgepickt. Gleich nach der Taube war ein Palmenhörnchen da und hat die Kunst ganz genau gemustert. Und dann haben die großen roten Ameisen alles, was ihnen an unserer Kunst geschmeckt hat, ratzekahl aufgefressen.

Die Krähen und Affen, die Riesenflughunde und Palmenhörnchen, die Schwarzmilane und die Tauben und Ameisen – Kuratoren!