Carlos Andrés Rico
bangaloREsident@Maraa

Carlos Andrés Rico, born in 1986, studied composition in Bogotá and worked several years there as content producer and presenter for cultural radio. Since 2011, he lives in Hamburg where he took a Master’s degree in multimedia composition with Georg Hajdu and Manfred Stahnke. 
 
Carlos Andrès © Athina Pontikou In 2016, he founded "Selva", the first festival for experimental short films, performance and music from Ibero-America in Hamburg. This festival offers a fresh perspective on Latin America, Spain and Portugal, and goes further than the folkloristic perceptions commonly associated with these regions.
 
Currently he is a Doctor of Music candidate with the subject Music Intervention in Public Spaces as Strategy to promote Social Integration at the Hamburg University of Music and Theater. Nowadays he is an active composer in the field of music and social integration through different projects with local communities and with the Ibero-American Network of Musicians and Artists (RIMA), which unites Latin American and European artists and organises events in Germany. 
 
As a musician, he leads "Sedah Hajusom", a music ensemble of young people with migrational backgrounds that mixes traditional melodies with rap and electronic beats. 

Radio Intervention Bangalore
With his music interventions, Carlos Andrés Rico transforms daily sounds, places and interactions into art by constructing a new soundscape, a new territory which results from the symbiosis between music, performance and the city. His project goes beyond frontiers, producing new citizen's subjectivities and a recreational relationship with the public space, through a work that can become part of the city and of the experiences of the human beings who inhabit it.
 
During the bangaloREsidency@Maraa he plans to invite local artists to participate in a series of radio works about culture and public space in order to develop an intervention for the streets of Bangalore collectively.

Final Report


As years have passed and while I was immersed in contemporary music composition, I discovered a great interest in the possibility of creating works that could be presented in public spaces. Now back in Hamburg after two months stay in Bangalore I believe that the bangaloREsidency is one of the best opportunities I had until now to explore this interest and to confirm the possibility to use public space as a place for artistic creation in order to promote favorable co-existence among citizens of different ages, social classes and beliefs.
There are two main reasons to believe that: one is the great support, financial and organizational, that the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan gives to the project of each artist. You arrive in a new city and you already have all you need to start working, including a network of artist or people that may be related to your project. Not to forget that is not always easy for an artist to find the opportunity to focus for two months almost completely on one project.
Max Mühler @ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan ©Carlos Andrés Rico
The other reason for me to kind of praise the bangaloREsidency is the host I had the opportunity to work with, Maraa, Media & Arts Collective. Simply the best host I could have wished for. Not just because of their huge hospitality but because they deeply inspired me to follow the path of using artistic creation almost as a strategy to promote inclusion, social justice, fearless listening and to promote a democratic usage of and access to public spaces.

ATTENTION this is not censored was the project we developed together, in collaboration with Madhuri and Jagdeesh from MoonArra, Parmita Mjukerjee, Veecheet Dhakal from Gauley Bhai and Narayanswamy. After several rehearsals (or jams) this project culminated in two performances, one at the Goethe-Institut Auditorium and one in open space at the awesome Cubbon Park.

Max Mühler Performance @ Cubbon Park 3 © Joseph Santhosh Kumar
Seeing such a diverse and unaware audience, curiously listening, gave me immediately the sensation that I was in the right place exactly at the right moment. For me an unforgettable experience.

Also, following from the hardworking spirit of my host we planned to record the music we developed and release an EP (that ended up being an LP). Recorded and Mastered by Christopher Burchell is it possible to listen and download for free at: https://maraa.bandcamp.com/album/attention-this-is-not-censored I would like to end this final report thanking all the team at the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, my host Maraa, my lovely family in Bangalore Tasqeen, Jason and Asad, and all musicians. They make this project possible and this residency a great and fun two-month stay in Bangalore.

Carlos Andrés Rico
bangaloREsident@Maraa

Carlos Andrés Rico, geboren 1986, studierte in Bogotá Musik mit dem Schwerpunkt Komposition. Zur gleichen Zeit arbeitete er als Koordinator und Moderator im Kulturradio. Seit April 2011 wohnt er in Hamburg. Hier belegte er den Masterstudiengang Multimediale Komposition, welchen er im Jahr 2015 abschloss.
 
Carlos Andrès © Athina Pontikou 2016 gründete er “Selva”, das erste Festival für experimentelle Kurzfilme, Performance und Musik aus Iberoamerika in Hamburg. Dieses Festival bietet eine frische Facette Lateinamerikas, Spaniens und Portugals, und geht weiter als die folkloristischen Auffassungen, mit denen man üblicherweise diese Regionen assoziiert.
 
Derzeit promoviert er an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg mit dem Thema Musikintervention im öffentlichen Raum als Strategie zur Förderung der sozialen Integration und betätigt sich nebenbei im musikalisch-sozialen Bereich durch die Arbeit mit dem von ihm mitbegründeten Iberoamerikanischen Netzwerk von Musikern und Künstlern (RIMA), welches lateinamerikanische und europäische Musiker verbindet und Konzerte in Hamburg veranstaltet. 
 
Als Musiker leitet er “Sedah Hajusom”, ein Musikensemble von jungen Menschen mit Fluchterfahrung, das traditionelle Melodien mit Rap und elektronischen Beats mischt.

Radio Intervention Bengaluru 
 
Mit seinen Interventionen verwandelt Carlos Andrés Rico, alltägliche Klänge und Orte in Kunst. Er versucht ein neues Territorium aus einer Symbiose von Musik, Performance und Stadt zu erschließen. Dieses Projekt geht über Grenzen hinaus und wird Teil des öffentlichen Raumes und der Erfahrungen der dort lebenden Menschen. Eine Stadt für alle, Kunst für alle. 
 
Während der bangaloREsidency plant er, lokale Künstler einzuladen, an einer Reihe von Radioarbeiten über Kultur und öffentlichen Raum teilzunehmen und gemeinsam eine Intervention für die Straßen von Bangalore zu entwickeln.

Abschlussbericht

Im Laufe der Jahre und während ich mich mit zeitgenössischer Musik beschäftigte, entdeckte ich ein großes Interesse an der Möglichkeit, Arbeiten zu schaffen, die im öffentlichen Raum präsentiert werden könnten. Jetzt, zurück in Hamburg nach zwei Monaten Aufenthalt in Bangalore, glaube ich, dass die bangaloREsidency eine der besten Gelegenheiten war, um diesem Interesse nachzugehen und die Möglichkeit, den öffentlichen Raum als Ort des künstlerischen Schaffens nutzen zu können, zu bestätigen. Künstlerisches Schaffen im Sinne der Förderung des friedlichen Zusammenlebens der unterschiedlichen Generationen, sozialen Klassen und Religionen.
 
Es gibt zwei Hauptgründe, um das zu glauben: zuerst, die organisatorischen und finanziellen Unterstützung, die jeder Künstler vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan für sein Projekt bekommt. Man kommt in eine neue Stadt und es ist schon alles da, um mit der Arbeit beginnen zu können – einschließlich eines Netzwerks von Künstlern oder Personen, die möglicherweise Teil Deines Projekts werden könnten. Nicht zu vergessen, dass es für einen Künstler nicht einfach ist, die Möglichkeit zu finden, sich zwei Monate lang vollständig auf ein Projekt konzentrieren zu können.

Max Mühler @ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan ©Carlos Andrés Rico Der andere Grund, warum ich die bangaloREsidency so lobe, ist der Gastgeber, mit dem ich zusammenarbeiten durfte: Maraa, Media & Arts Collective. Einfach der beste Gastgeber, den ich mir hätte wünschen können. Nicht nur wegen ihrer großen Gastfreundschaft, sondern weil sie mich zutiefst dazu inspiriert haben, künstlerisches Schaffen fast als eine Strategie zu verstehen, Inklusion, soziale Gerechtigkeit, fearless listening, und eine demokratische Nutzung und Zugang zu öffentlichen Räumen zu fördern.
 
Das Projekt ATTENTION This is not censored (ACHTUNG Dies ist nicht zensiert) wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Madhuri und Jagdeesh von MoonArra, Parmita Mjukerjee, Veecheet Dhakal von Gauley Bhai und Narayanswamy entwickelt. Nach mehreren Proben (oder Jams) kulminierte dieses Projekt in zwei Aufführungen, eine im Auditorium des Goethe-Instituts und eine im offenen Raum des großartigen Cubbon Park.

Max Mühler Performance @ Cubbon Park 3 © Joseph Santhosh Kumar Als ich das bunt gemischte und unerwartete Publikum sah, das neugierig zuhörte, bekam ich sofort das Gefühl, genau im richtigen Moment am richtigen Ort zu sein. Für mich ein unvergessliches Erlebnis.
 
Entsprechend dem hardworking Geist meines Host planten wir, die Musik aufzunehmen und eine EP (eine LP besser gesagt) zu veröffentlichen. Aufgenommen und Bearbeitet von Christopher Burchell, kann man sie kostenlos anhören und herunterladen: https://maraa.bandcamp.com/album/attention-this-is-not-censored Zum Schluss möchte ich mich bei allen Mitarbeitern des Goethe-Instituts / Max Mueller Bhavan, bei Maraa, meiner Bangalorer Familie Tasqeen, Jason, Asad und allen Musikern bedanken. Sie haben dieses Projekt möglich, und aus meiner bangalorREsidency einen großartigen und unterhaltsamen zweimonatigen Aufenthalt in Bangalore gemacht.