Fabien Prioville
bangaloREsident@Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts

Fabien Prioville graduated from the Centre National de Danse Contemporaine (CNDC) in Angers. After this, he worked with Édouard Lock and his company La La La Human Steps in Canada before moving to Stockholm to work with Philippe Blanchard. In 1999, he became part of Pina Bausch's Tanztheater Fabien Prioville Photo: Fabien Prioville Wuppertal. He has been working as a freelance dancer and choreographer since 2006 with Josef Nadj and Davis Freeman, among others. Commissioned work brought him to New York’s Juilliard School, and to Japan and Australia. The Fabien Prioville Dance Company is located in Düsseldorf.

Since 2009, the Company has collaborated with the tanzhaus nrw, Düsseldorf, with productions falling between the genres of performing arts and multimedia.

Final Report

I spent four weeks in Bangalore due to an invitation from the Attakkalari Biennial. I was commissioned to collaborate with Indian choreographers and the students from Attakkalari Studio, to create a site specific work, a walk in the middle of the city.

As one of the late-comers to the bangaloREsidency programme, my involvement in the activities proposed by the Goethe-Institut was restricted. I had to spend most of my time working on the development of the project, which at first sight seemed for Attakkalari complex in its organisation.
 
  • Four Seeds 3 - Fabien Prioville Photo: Hari Adivarekar
  • Four Seeds 4 - Fabien Prioville Photo: Lars Meese / Goethe-Institut
  • Four Seeds 5 - Fabien Prioville Photo: Lars Meese / Goethe-Institut
  • Four seeds 6 - Fabien Prioville Photo: Hari Adivarekar
The work was really enriching in many ways. I came to this project for the experience to share discussions on finding a fit with the body in surroundings such as nature and try to narrow the line between the two.

The exchange with the students and the choreographers was most amazing. I really felt a commitment.

My room was simple yet sufficient. It took a while to get used to India, because it wasn't a deliberate choice for me, it just came with the proposal. I've enjoyed and learnt to enjoy it through exercising my work. And it was good.

I wish I had more time to look around and learn more about the country.

Fabien Prioville
bangaloREsident@Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts

Fabien Prioville schloss seine Ausbildung am Centre National de Danse Contemporaine (CNDC) in Angers ab. Im Anschluss nahm er ein Engagement bei Édouard Lock und dessen Kompanie La La La Human Steps in Kanada an, bevor er nach Stockholm zu Philippe Blanchard ging. Fabien Prioville Foto: Fabien Prioville
1999 wechselte er zu Pina Bauschs Tanztheater Wuppertal. Seit 2006 arbeitet er als freiberuflicher Tänzer und Choreograf, u.a. mit Josef Nadj und Davis Freeman. Auftragsarbeiten führten ihn nach New York an die Julliard School, nach Japan und Australien. Die fabien prioville dance company hat ihren Sitz in Düsseldorf.

Seit 2009 entstehen Tanztheaterproduktionen in Koproduktion mit dem tanzhaus nrw, Düsseldorf und internationalen Partnern, die sich an der Grenze zwischen darstellender Kunst und Multimedia bewegen.

Abschlussbericht

Auf Einladung der Attakkalari Biennale verbrachte ich vier Wochen in Bangalore. Meine Haupttätigkeit war es, mit indischen Choreographen und den Studenten von Attakkalari zusammenzuarbeiten und ein ortsspezifisches Kunstprojekt zu entwickeln. In diesem Projekt ‚Four Seeds‘ ging es um einen Walk mitten in der Stadt.

Da ich leider für die bangaloREsidency zu spät kam, war meine Beteiligung an den ersten bangaloREsidency- Events beschränkt. Dann war ich die meiste Zeit mit der Entwicklung des Attakkalari-Projekts beschäftigt. Dieses schien Attakkalari am Anfang etwas kompliziert zu organisieren.
 

Meine Tätigkeit war in vielen Hinsichten überaus bereichernd.  Ich kam zu diesem Projekt, um Erfahrungen und Diskussionen über das Empfinden des eigenen Körpers in verschiedenen Umgebungen, beispielsweise in der Natur zu sammeln bzw. zu führen, und um diese beiden näher zusammenzubringen.

Der Austausch mit den Choreographen und Studenten war ganz toll. Ich konnte ihr Engagement täglich miterleben.

Mein Zimmer war schlicht, dennoch ausreichend. Es dauerte eine Weile, bis ich mich an Indien gewöhnte, denn ich hatte mir Indien nicht ausgesucht. Aber das Projekt verlangte von mir einen Indienaufenthalt. Ich hatte Spaß und habe es gelernt, durch meine Arbeit die Zeit zu genießen.

Ich wünschte, ich hätte mehr Zeit gehabt, mehr zu sehen und mehr über das Land zu erfahren.