Katerina Valdivia Bruch
bangaloREsident@Natya & STEM Dance Kampni

Katerina Valdivia Bruch is a Berlin-based independent dancer and choreographer, who researches on dance and other fields of art. She collaborates with different artists, such as experimental musicians and visual artists, focussing on an interdisciplinary work.
In the nineties, she has been actively working for different contemporary dance companies in Lima (Peru), participating in local and international dance festivals. In 2000, she moves to Berlin and starts to create her own pieces, mainly as a solo performer.

Katerina Valdivia Bruch Photo: privat Among her interests are instant compositions, based on guided improvisations on stage or in the public space. For a number of projects, she has involved non dancers, promoting their own movement and integrating them in her choreographies. In the last years, she has started to experiment with video, producing her own video dance pieces. Katerina has performed, created choreographies, given lessons and workshops in several countries, including Germany, Brasil, Indonesia, Mexico, Serbia, Poland and Spain.

For the bangaloREsidency@Natya STEM Dance Kampni, she will work on the topics of freedom and imprisonment, and trace the limitations and openness that offer public buildings, using dance and video as a means of expression. As an example of this, she would like to work on the history of Freedom Park in Bangalore, use the buildings in the park in order to explore the use of space and its limitations through dance and movement. For that, she would like to collaborate with local dancers and visual artists.

As part of her residency there will be a three-day video dance workshop on dance and architecture in the public space. In the framework of her exchange with local dancers, she will give Modern Dance lessons at Natya Institute of Kathak and Choreography and learn some basic Kathak movements in order to incorporate them into her own dance language. The final outcome of the residency will be a public presentation of a dance video, a collaboration with STEM Dance Kampni, shot at Freedom park.

Katerina Valdivia Bruch
bangaloREsident@Natya & STEM Dance Kampni

Katerina Valdivia Bruch ist eine in Berlin lebende unabhängige Tänzerin und Choreografin, die sich mit Tanz und verschiedenen Kunstsparten auseinander setzt. Sie arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen Künstlern, wie etwa experimentelle Musiker und bildende Künstler, mit Schwerpunkt auf interdisziplinärer Arbeit.
 
In den neunziger Jahren, hat sie aktiv für verschiedene zeitgenössische Tanzgruppen in Lima (Peru) gearbeitet und hat in lokalen und internationalen Tanzfestivals teilgenommen. Seit 2000 lebt sie in Berlin, wo sie angefangen hat ihre eigene Stücke zu schaffen, vor allem als Solo-Performerin.

Katerina Valdivia Bruch Foto: privat Zu ihren Interessen gehören „instant compositions“, die auf geführte Improvisationen, auf der Bühne oder im öffentlichen Raum, basieren. Sie hat für einige Projekte mit Nicht-Tänzern gearbeitet, um ihre eigene Bewegungen zu fördern und diese in ihre eigenen Choreographien einzubinden. In den letzten Jahren hat sie angefangen mit Video zu experimentieren und hat ihre eigene Videotanzstücke produziert. Katerina hat in mehreren Ländern – u.a. Deutschland, Brasilien, Indonesien, Mexiko, Serbien, Polen und Spanien – getanzt, choreographiert, unterrichtet und Workshops gegeben.

Für die bangaloREsidency@Natya & STEM Dance Kampni, wird sie sich mit den Themen Freiheit und Inhaftierung beschäftigen, aber auch die Spuren von Grenzen und Offenheit der öffentlichen Gebäuden, mittels Tanz und Video erforschen. Ein Beispiel dafür ist Freedom Park in Bangalore. Sie ist interessiert, die Geschichte des Parks zu untersuchen, die Gebäude im Park zu verwenden und dabei die Nutzung des Raums und seine Grenzen durch Tanz und Bewegung zu erforschen. Dafür möchte sie gerne mit lokalen Tänzern und bildenden Künstlern zusammenarbeiten.

Als Teil ihrer Residenz wird sie einen dreitägigen Videotanz-Workshop über Tanz und Architektur im öffentlichen Raum geben. Im Rahmen des Austauschs mit lokalen Tänzern wird sie Modern Dance am Natya Institute of Kathak and Choreography unterrichten. Während ihres Aufenthalts möchte sie einige Kathak-Grundbewegungen lernen, um diese in ihre eigene Tanzsprache zu integrieren. Das endgültige Ergebnis der Residenz ist die öffentliche Präsentation eines Tanzvideos, eine Zusammenarbeit mit STEM Dance Kampni, welches am Freedom Park gedreht wurde.