Martin Lutz
bangaloREsident@Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts

Martin Lutz studied sound art at UdK Berlin and musicology at LMU Munich. He works as a composer, musician and sound artist for dance, performances, theatre, installations and film.

His work focus lies in the nature of sound and it's relevance for the space. Field recordings and experimental sound production are the basis for compositions that take sounds and soundscapes out of their natural context to give them a new content-related and spatial sense.
 
Martin Lutz has been invited by Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts to work out and realise a sound concept and music score for their dance production Bhinna Vinyasa – Multiple Assemblages. The performance will premiere at the Attakkalari India Biennial 2017.
As part of the bangaloREsidency 2014 Deepa he has already worked on parts of the performance.
 
The starting point of the artistic process is a consideration of site-specific Indian urban developments and the social and cultural transformation of individuals and societies. The goal is to find a sonic language that characterises typical urban Indian milieus and their inner dynamics. He will work with Indian musicians from Bangalore and also with video and light artists from Europe to find a performative way between (sound-)installation, performance and music for contemporary Indian dance.

Final Report

For my collaboration with the Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts, the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan gave me the opportunity to stay twice for quite a while in Bangalore. First from the end of September to the end of October 2016 and finally from mid of January to mid of February 2017.
The performance Bhinna Vinyasa was premiered at the Attakkalari India Biennial 2017.
The premiere preceded a very intense period of artistic examination and dialogue with the collaboration partners from India, Italy and Spain.

Bhinna Vinyasa team © Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts Under the leadership of the artistic director of the Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts,
Jayachandran Palazhy, Bhinna Vinyasa was created together with six dancers from the Attakkalari Repertory Company, the Spanish dramaturge Andrés Morte, the Italian video artist Luca Brinchi, the Indian lighting designer Shymon Chelad, the Indian musicians KRV Pulkeshi, Balasubramanya Sharma and P. Janardhana and myself, who was responsible for composition and sound design.
Bhinna Vinyasa, a ‘realm of changing configurations/assemblages’, explores metaphysical journeys prompted by internal and external forces resulting in profound changes in the lives of individuals and communities. 

bhinna vinyasa - Martin Lutz © Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts Alluding to the imagined ancient idea of the ātman (individual soul) and paramātman (universal meta soul) as well as the rhizomatic relations in the “post-humanist future”, Bhinna Vinyasa traverses the notions of self through a continuous process of becoming and disappearing, where the coordinates of time and space appear elastic.

The fusion of Indian traditions (dance, music and philosophy) with a contemporary global awareness and aesthetic appeal made the composition a challenge.The musical aspect is based on a specific kind of traditional Indian music, composed and recorded by musicians from Bangalore. To bring the idea of the piece together with the aesthetics of the Indian music, I was trying to transform components of the Indian music, to destroy them or only use certain aspects of them.

Martin Lutz - bhinna vinyasa © Martin Lutz The sounds I’m working with are mainly field recordings from transit facilities, sounds of deconstructed instruments or the elements, like wood, metal, water, whatever and recordings of electromagnetic waves of the Silicon Valley of India. The result is electro-acoustic music between multi-channel sound installation, soundscape and noise.
Bhinna Vinyasa was co-produced by Fabbrica Europa (Florence) and had its European premiere  in Florence in June 2017 with a subsequent tour through Italy (Rome, Ancona, Milan, Verbania).

Martin Lutz
bangaloREsident@Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts

Martin Lutz hat Klangkunst an der UdK Berlin und Musikwissenschaft an der LMU München studiert. Er arbeitet als Komponist, Musiker und Klangkünstler für Tanz, Performance, Theater, Installationen und Film.

Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht die Auseinandersetzung mit Klang und dessen Bedeutung und Beschaffenheit im und für den Raum. Field Recordings und experimentelle Klangerzeugung sind die Basis der Kompositionen, die Klänge und Soundscapes ihrer natürlichen Umgebung entreißen, um sie in einen neuen inhaltlichen und räumlichen Kontext zu bringen.
 
Martin Lutz wurde von Attakkalari Centre for Movement eingeladen, Klangkonzept und Komposition für die Tanztheater Produktion "Bhinna Vinyasa – Multiple Assemblages" zu erarbeiten und zu realisieren. Uraufgeführt wird die Performance auf der Attakkalari India Biennial 2017.
Im Rahmen der bangaloResindency 2014 Deepa hat er bereits an Teilen der Performance gearbeitet.
 
Ausgangspunkt des künstlerischen Prozesses ist die Betrachtung orts-spezifischer urbaner Entwicklungen Indiens und deren sozialen und kulturellen Transformationen und Auswirkungen auf das Individuum und die Gesellschaft. Ziel ist es, eine Klangsprache zu finden, die typische urbane Milieus und deren zugrunde liegende Dynamik charakterisiert. Dies wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern aus Bangalore, aber auch mit Video- und Lichtkünstlern aus Europa geschehen, um einen performativen Weg zwischen (Klang-)Installation, (Sound-)Performance und Musik für zeitgenössischen indischen Tanz zu entwickeln.

Abschlussbericht

Für eine Kollaboration mit dem Attakkalari Center for Movement Arts ermöglichte es mir das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan gleich zwei Mal für längere Zeit nach Bangalore zu kommen. Zunächst von Ende September bis Ende Oktober 2016 und abschließend von Mitte Januar bis Mitte Februar 2017. 

Am 6. Februar wurde die Performance Bhinna Vinyasa auf der Attakkalari India Biennial 2017 uraufgeführt. Der Premiere vorausgegangen ist eine sehr intensive Zeit der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung und Zusammenarbeit mit den Kollaborationspartnern aus Indien, Italien und Spanien.

Bhinna Vinyasa team © Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts Unter der Leitung des künstlerischen Direktors des Attakkalari Center for Movement Arts,Jayachandran Palazhy, entstand Bhinna Vinyasa gemeinsam mit sechs Tänzern der Attakkalari Repertory Company, dem spanischen Dramaturgen Andrés Morte, dem italienischen Videokünstler Luca Brinchi, dem indischen Lichtdesigner Shymon Chelad, den indischen Musikern K.R.V Pulkeshi, Balasubramanya Sharma und P. Janardhana und mir, der ich für Komposition und Klangkonzept verantwortlich war.

bhinna vinyasa - Martin Lutz © Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts Bhinna Vinyasa - a 'realm of changing configurations/assemblages', erkundet metaphysische Reisen, die durch innere und äußere Kräfte hervorgerufen werden, was zu tiefgreifenden Veränderungen im Leben von Individuen und Gemeinschaften führt. Das Stück basiert auf der indisch tradierten Idee von ātman (individuelle Seele) and paramātman (universale Meta-Seele), verknüpft mit den postmodernen Gedanken über die rhizomatischen Verflechtungen einer posthumanistischen Zukunft.
Gerade die Verschmelzungen indischer Traditionen (Tanz, Musik und Philosophie) mit einem zeitgenössisch globalen Bewusstsein und ästhetischem Anspruch machten die Komposition zu einer Herausforderung. Musikalisch basiert das Stück auf spezielle traditionelle Musik Indiens, Carnatic Jathis und Alaaps, komponiert und im Studio eingespielt von zwei Sängern und einem Perkussionisten aus Bangalore. Um die gegenwartsrelevante Idee der Performance mit der traditionellen Ästhetik der indischen Musik zu verbinden, versuchte ich Elemente der indischen Musik klanglich zu transformieren, sie im Sinne der Noise-Music zu zerstören oder einzelne
Elemente (z.B. rhythmische Strukturen) in einem komplett anderen klanglichen Kontext zu nutzen. 

Martin Lutz - bhinna vinyasa © Martin Lutz Die von mir verwendeten Klänge sind, neben der Stimme und der Trommel der indischen Aufnahmen, hauptsächlich field recordings von Transiträumen und akustischen Fundstücken Bangalores, Aufnahmen von Elementen wie Wasser, Holz, Metall und Luft, Aufnahmen elektromagnetischer Wellen des Silicon Valley of India und dekonstruierte und präparierte Musikinstrumente. 
Das Resultat ist elektro-akustische Musik zwischen mehrkanaliger Klanginstallation, Soundscape und Noise. 

Bhinna Vinyasa wurde co-produziert von Fabbrica Europa (Florenz) und hatte im Juni 2017 die Europapremiere in Florenz mit anschließender Tour durch Italien (Rom, Ancona, Mailand, Verbania).