Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton
bangaloREsident@Pepper House

Dubayyland – view from the other side:
During her stay in Kerala, visual artist Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton will continue her long-term project «Dubayyland», introducing a new chapter «Gulfi», focusing on the cultural and economic relations between Kerala and the UAE.

Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton © Joseph Devitt Tremblay Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton (*1979, Berlin) lives in Berlin. She studied visual art till 2007 at the University of the Arts, Berlin and Cooper Union, New York. After her studies she travelled for projects within Europe, to Los Angeles and to the United Arab Emirates, where she developed central aspects of her current artistic practice.
 
In her research-based installations, Trenka-Dalton examines the processes of cultural shifting and appropriation that occur when centres of power implode and reshape. She retraces the continuous migration of cultural motifs along objects, buildings and stories. For exhibitions, she develops architectural display-sculptures that present collected artifacts, sculptures, photography and video work. In addition, artist lectures give further insight into the chains of visual associations that run through her work.
 
During her stay in Kerala with the bangaloREsidency the artist will continue her long-term project Dubayyland (since 2009) and develop the new chapter Gulfi, which focuses on the cultural and economic relations between Kerala and the UAE. Starting point is the line of thought she developed for Dubayyland, where Dubai reads as a miniature and direct materialisation of the contemporary world and how it functions. Gulfi will examine Keralite life realities that have been influenced by migration specifically to the UAE and the resulting remittance capital returning to Kerala.
 
Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton has exhibited at basso, Berlin, Serpentine Gallery, London, Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, New York, Kunstraum Michael Barthel, Leipzig, Heidelberger Kunstverein, Heidelberg, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, Alserkal Avenue, Dubai and Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin, amongst others. In 2016, her catalog PALMS was published by Textem Verlag Hamburg, giving a first comprehensive overview of projects and exhibitions since 2005. Also in 2016, she was voted onto the board of the berufsverband bildender künstler*innen (bbk berlin, Berlin’s main artist association), where she advocates for fair pay for artistic labour.
 
 

Final Report

In order to research the specific relationship between Kerala and the Gulf countries, for my project ‘Gulfi’, I spent 10 weeks in Kerala as part of the bangaloREsidency, organised by the Goethe-Institut Bangalore. The Kochi Biennale Foundation supported my project with an Artist Residency in Pepper House in Fort Kochi.
 
Advertisement 4

During my time in Kerala, I search for references to the Gulf States. During conversations with the people I quickly realise that practically everyone has relatives in the Gulf, who moved there to work or  live. Both the taxi drivers with whom I drive around have worked as family drivers in Saudi Arabia. One of their wives is still working for a bank in Bahrain. I briefly met her on his phone via video call during one of our sight-seeing tours. In addition, my favourite kiosk owner shows me pictures of his daughter and his son, both married in Dubai. The son of the homestay-family where I used to live worked in a beach resort next to the Jebel Ali harbour and one of the founders of the Kochi Biennale Foundation mentions that two of his brothers are living in the Emirates. To have work and family in the Gulf is part of everyday life for people in Kerala. During my stay, I learn a lot about the specific social, political and cultural configurations of Kerala which influence this particular exodus of workers to the Gulf in the past few decades.

Advertisement 3
 
A key motive in the myth and self-image of Kerala is seafaring: spice trade, fisheries, boatbuilding and religions which established themselves on the Malabar Coast through the sea route. I found one of the first links to my previous work in Dubai directly in front of the window of Pepper House. My work space is located right on the sea with a view of the container port of Kochi on the opposite island. The container port is run by Dubai Ports World, an Emirates-based company, which conducts and develops industrial and free ports worldwide. In the following weeks, I spend a lot of time watching and filming the container port and the boat traffic from my window, including container ships, ferries, oil tankers, battleships and fishing boats. 
 
Later, I take up some recommendations which bring me to the city of Kozhikode and the Malappuram district north of Kochi. Inside Kerala the area is known for the highest population of Muslims. In the small towns of Malappuram, I document numerous shops, signboards and advertisements with a connection to the Gulf in words and images. For example the jewellery shop ‘Dubai Gold and Diamonds’, markets with names like ‘Gulf Bazaar’, restaurants like ‘Sharjah Palace’ or the garage ‘Abu Dhabi Motors’. 

Advertisement 1

In comparison to the microcosm of Malappuram, I also document some video material in the area of the monolithic LuLu Mall which represents an oft-quoted success story: At the beginning of the ‘90s a business man from Kerala founded the super market chain LuLu Hypermarket in Abu Dhabi. 20 years later, he became a billionaire and opened a LuLu Mall in Kochi, the biggest, or depending on the source, one of the biggest in India. Since it is not particularly viable for retailers, except for the booming LuLu Hypermarket on the ground floor, most of the brand stores in this huge mall are empty and the mall functions rather as a social meeting point for young people who arrive in streaming hordes to advertising events like ‘LuLu Beauty Queen 2017’. The 5-star Marriott Hotel Tower was built simultaneously next to the mall – no alcohol served, a shisha lounge by the pool and a helipad on the rooftop. At the breakfast buffet, a young man in a wheelchair asks for Arab food for his mother. The cabin crew of Gulf Air pass through the foyer of the Hotel.

Advertisement 2
 
‘Gulfi’ will be presented at the Pepper House Residency Show which will happen during the Kochi-Muziris Biennale in December 2018.

Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton
bangaloREsident@Pepper House

Dubayyland – Blick von der anderen Seite:
Während ihres Aufenthaltes in Kerala wird die bildende Künstlerin Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton ihr Langzeitprojekt «Dubayyland»  einem neuen Kapitel fortführen: «Gulfi» Darin bleuchtet sie die ökonomischen Beziehungen zwischen Kerala und den VAE.

Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton © Joseph Devitt Tremblay Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton (*1979, Berlin) lebt in Berlin und studierte bis 2007 Bildende Kunst an der Universität der Künste Berlin und Cooper Union, New York. Nach dem Studium folgten Projektreisen innerhalb Europas, nach Los Angeles und in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, wo die Künstlerin zentrale Aspekte ihrer Arbeitsweise entwickelte.

Trenka-Dalton untersucht in ihren recherchebasierten Installationen kulturelle Verschiebungs- und Aneignungsprozesse, die im Zuge der Implosion und Neuformierung von Machtzentren entstehen. Entlang von Objekten, Gebäuden und Geschichten zeichnet sie die kontinuierliche Migration kultureller Motive nach. Für Ausstellungen entwickelt sie architektonische Displays, die gesammelte Artefakte, Skulpturen, Photographie und Video präsentieren. Bildvorträge erweitern den Kontext der Motive und visuellen Assoziationsketten, die sich durch ihre Arbeit ziehen.

Mit der Projektreise nach Kerala im Rahmen der BangaloREsidency setzt die Künstlerin ihr Langzeitprojekt Dubayyland (seit 2009) fort und wird das neue Kapitel Gulfi entwickeln, in dem sie die kulturellen und ökonomischen Verbindungen zwischen Kerala und den VAE recherchiert. Ausgehend von der These in Dubayyland, dass Dubai als Miniatur und unmittelbare Materialisierung der zeitgenössischen Welt und ihrer Prozesse gelesen werden kann, wird Gulfi verschiedene keralische Lebensrealitäten nachvollziehen, die durch Arbeitsmigration spezifisch in die VAE und dem daraus resultierenden Auslandskapital entstehen.

Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im basso, Berlin, in der Serpentine Gallery, London, in der Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, New York, im Kunstraum Michael Barthel, Leipzig, im Heidelberger Kunstverein, Heidelberg, im KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, in der Alserkal Avenue, Dubai, und im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin, ausgestellt. 2016 erschien ihr Katalog PALMS beim Textem Verlag Hamburg über Projekte und Ausstellungen seit 2005. Ebenfalls 2016 wurde sie in den Vorstand des berufsverbands bildender künstler*innen berlin (bbk berlin) gewählt, wo sie sich kulturpolitisch für die faire Bezahlung künstlerischer Arbeit einsetzt.
 

Abschlussbericht

Im Rahmen der bangaloREsidency des Goethe-Instituts Bangalore habe ich 10 Wochen im südindischen Bundesstaat Kerala verbracht, um für mein Projekt „Gulfi“ die spezifische Beziehung zwischen Kerala und den Golfstaaten zu recherchieren. Die Kochi Biennale Foundation unterstütze mein Projekt dabei mit einer Artist Residency im Pepper House in Fort Kochi.

Advertisement 4
 
Während der Zeit in Kerala suche ich nach Referenzen an die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate bzw. Golfstaaten. In Gesprächen stellt sich schnell heraus, dass im Grunde jede und jeder Verwandte hat, die dort zum Arbeiten leben oder gelebt haben. Die zwei Taxifahrer, mit denen ich am häufigsten fahre, haben beide in Saudi Arabien als family driver gearbeitet, die Ehefrau des einen Fahrers arbeitet zur Zeit noch bei einer Bank in Bahrain. Auf einer unserer Fotofahrten stellt er sie mir kurz auf seinem Telefon per Videochat vor. Auch mein favorisierter Kioskbesitzer zeigt mir auf seinem Telefon Fotos von seiner Tochter und seinem Sohn, die beide verheiratet in Dubai leben. Der Sohn der Homestay-Familie, bei der ich wohne, hat in einem Beach Resort neben Dubais Freihafen Jebel Ali gearbeitet und einer der Gründer der Kochi Biennale Foundation erwähnt, dass zwei seiner Brüder in den Emiraten leben. Arbeiten und Familie in den Golfstaaten zählen zum Alltag der Menschen in Kerala. Während meines Aufenthalts erfahre ich viel über die spezielle gesellschaftliche, politische und kulturelle Konfiguration von Kerala, die auch die Basis dieser spezifischen Arbeitsmigration der letzten Jahrzehnte in die Golfstaaten bildet.

Advertisement 3
 
Ein zentrales Motiv im Selbstverständnis und Mythos Keralas ist die Seefahrt: Gewürzhandel, Fischerei, Bootsbau und Religionen, die sich über den Seeweg an der Malabarküste etablierten. Einen ersten Anknüpfungspunkt an meine vorhergehende Arbeit in Dubai finde ich direkt vor dem Fenster der Pepper House Residency. Mein Arbeitsraum liegt direkt am Wasser mit Blick auf den Containerhafen von Kochi auf der gegenüberliegenden Insel. Der Containerhafen wird von Dubai Ports World betrieben, einer emiratischen Firma, die weltweit Industrie- und Freihäfen betreibt und entwickelt. Ich verbringe in den folgenden Wochen viel Zeit damit, den Containerhafen und den Schiffsverkehr aus Ausflugsbooten, Containerschiffen, Fähren, Öltankern, Kriegsschiffen und Fischerbooten vor meinen Fenstern zu beobachten und zu filmen.
Später folge ich einer Reihe von Empfehlungen, die mich in die Stadt Kozhikode und den Distrikt Malappuram nördlich von Kochi führen, der innerhalb von Kerala als die Gegend mit der höchsten Dichte muslimischer Bevölkerung gilt. In den kleinen Ortschaften von Malappuram dokumentiere ich zahlreiche Geschäfte, Firmenschilder und Werbeplakate mit direktem Golf-Bezug in Wort und Bild, wie zum Beispiel das Juweliersgeschäft „Dubai Gold and Diamonds“, Märkte mit Namen wie „Gulf Bazaar“, Restaurants wie „Sharjah Palace“ oder die Autowerkstatt „Abu Dhabi Motors“.

Advertisement 1

Im Kontrast zum Mikrokosmos von Malappuram entstehen in Kochi später noch Videoaufnahmen im Umfeld der monolithischen LuLu Mall, die eine viel zitierte Erfolgslegende repräsentiert: Anfang der 1990er begründet ein Geschäftsmann aus Kerala die Supermarktkette LuLu Hypermarket in Abu Dhabi. 20 Jahre später, mittlerweile Milliardär, eröffnet er LuLu Mall in Kochi, die größte, oder, je nach Quelle, eine der größten Malls in Indien. Für den Einzelhandel definitiv nicht rentabel ­– bis auf den brummenden LuLu Hypermarket im Erdgeschoss herrscht in den Brand Stores gähnende Leere – funktioniert LuLu Mall primär als Sozial-Event für junge Menschen, die in Massen zu Werbeveranstaltungen wie „LuLu Beauty Queen 2017“ strömen. Neben der Mall entstand zeitgleich ein 5-Sterne Marriott Hotel Tower – ohne Alkoholausschank, mit Shisha-Lounge am Pool und Helipad auf dem Dach. Beim Frühstücksbuffet fragt ein junger Mann im Rollstuhl, seiner Kleidung nach eindeutig Khaleeji, für seine Mutter nach Arab food. Durch das Foyer des Hotels zieht ein Schwarm Flugpersonal von Gulf Air.

Advertisement 2
 
„Gulfi“ wird im Rahmen der Pepper House Residency Exhibition präsentiert, die parallel zur Kochi-Muziris-Biennale im Dezember 2018 in Kochi eröffnet.