Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
The design of the exhibition "Queer as German Folk" developed by the Berlin based agency chezweitzgraphic: chezweitz

1969 – 2019 | 50 years Stonewall Riots
Queer as German Folk

The 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots gives occasion to celebrate, but also to continue the fight for queer rights. The Goethe-Institut supports debate and remembrance with an international program.


Current Posts


Exhibition

Schwules Museum Berlin Schwules Museum Berlin

Germany, 07/18–12/31/2019
Berlin

In 2019, eight branches of the Goethe-Institut in North America and the Schwules Museum, Berlin present the exhibition Queer as German Folk. Further Goethe-Instituts across the globe will follow in 2020. The exhibition invites visitors to experience the history of the queer movement and its present, within local contexts and spaces.


Stonewall Moments

The Stonewall Uprising has fundamentally changed our perception of queer people and opened up new possibilities of articulation for LBGTQ* people themselves. Queer resistance existed before, in the Weimar Republic, for instance, or in the civil rights movement in the U.S. Stonewall, however, was the beacon from which the LGBTQ* movement was constituted and diversified, a moment in history after which nothing could be the same. Most queer people experience such Stonewall moments: Individual situations, or people who fundamentally impact their lives, leading to a sharpening and personal awareness of queer identity. For Queer as German Folk, some have shared their experiences of such life situations with us. They are very personal stories, each a mosaic piece of queer history after Stonewall.

Bahlam Vigil

San Francisco
Bahlam Vigil

Elle Flanders

Toronto
Elle Flanders

Lucas Avendaño

Mexiko
Lucas Avendaño

Nadja Schallenberg

Berlin
Nadja Schallenberg


Itinerant Conference

Four exhibition venues, four panel discussions, four themes: parallel to the exhibition, there will be panel discussions in Toronto, New York, Mexico City, and Berlin. Between June and September 2019, various aspects of current queer discourse will be deliberated under the banner Queer Commonalities – Queer Conflicts: queer resistance, queer culture, queer diversity, and queer establishment. Discussions will take place in English with participants from the US, Canada, Mexico, and Germany.
 

Queer Resistance graphik: TomVonier.online

New York City, 06/20/2019
Queer Resistance

Queer lifestyles have supposedly become mainstream. However, the rise of neo-conservative forces across the globe increasingly question the legitimacy of anti-discrimination legislation. What can we learn from the global experience of gender-generated resistance?

Queer Culture Foto: Pexels

Toronto, 06/21/2019
Queer Culture

Which forms of queer culture are there today? How does queer opposition manifest itself in the cultural sector? Is there such a thing as queer culture at all?

Queer Diversity Foto: Pexels

Mexiko City, 06/22/2019
Queer Diversity

How do we deal with the phenomenon of queer diversity? How can equal treatment be granted to small minorities?

 Klaus Wowereit with Ken Adam, Hannelore Hoger, Regina Ziegler and Thomas Gottschalk 2012 in Berlin at the inauguration of the Boulevard of the Stars. Foto: NetAction, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-3.0

Berlin, 09/15/2019
Queer Establishment

Is there room for otherness within the ruling class? Can queer politicians be expected to pursue different policies or queer leaders to lead in a distinctive way?


Queer Cinema from Germany

The Goethe-Institut offers a list of queer films from Germany that can be used as a basis for local film programs. The film selection and texts are by Wieland Speck, the long-standing head of the Berlinale’s Panorama section, which traditionally includes many gay, lesbian, and trans films. Speck also initiated the Teddy Award, the world's only official queer film prize to be awarded by an A-list festival. The film recommendations reflect Speck’s personal views.


Queer for German learner

Queer for students of German – the Cover from “QP” © Goethe-Institut New York

The “Queer as German Folk” teaching materials developed by the Goethe-Institut New York allow you to teach with cultural references, give young people a diverse and vibrant impression of Germany, and consider individual identities: a multimedia booklet written from the perspective of a teenager.


Partners

Queer as German Folk is a project of the Goethe-Institut in North America in cooperation with Schwules Museum, Berlin, and Bundeszentrale für poltische Bildung (Federal Agency for Political Education)

Logo Schwules Museum Berlin Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Local Partners

We thank all of our local partners in Berlin, Chicago, Guadalajara, Mexico City, Montreal, New York, San Francisco, Toronto, and Washington DC for their energetic and enthusiastic support, which made the on-site realization possible.
 

New York City
Stonewall 50 Consortium Queer Cinema The Center Videoout

Washington D.C.
The DC Center Rainbow DC WWH Wunderbar together

Chicago
Leather Archives and Museum Packingtown The Plant Chicago Filmmakers

San Francisco,  Montreal, Toronto
Hormel Center San Francisco Never Apart Toronto Pride Toronto Arquives

Mexiko City

Museo Memoria y Tolerancia MIC Genero Centro Cultural México Contemporaneo

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Das Design der Ausstellung „Queer as German Folk“ entwickelt von der Berliner Agentur chezweitzGrafik: chezweitz

1969 – 2019 | 50 Jahre Stonewall Riots
Queer as German Folk

Das Jubiläum 50 Jahre Stonewall Riots gibt Anlass zum Feiern, aber auch zum Weiterkämpfen für queere Rechte. Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt die Debatte und Erinnerung mit einem internationalen Programm. 


Aktuelle Beiträge


Stonewall-Momente

Der Stonewall-Aufstand hat unsere Wahrnehmung queerer Menschen grundlegend verändert und queeren Menschen selbst neue Artikulationsmöglichkeiten geöffnet. Queeren Widerstand gab es auch vorher, in der Weimarer Republik, in der Bürgerrechtsbewegung der USA. Stonewall aber war das Fanal, von dem aus sich die LGBTQ*-Bewegung konstituierte und diversifizierte, ein Moment in der Geschichte, nach dem nichts mehr so sein konnte wie vorher. Die meisten queeren Menschen erleben solche Stonewall-Momente: individuelle Lebenssituationen oder Menschen, die ihr Leben von Grund auf verändern und zur Schärfung und Bewusstmachung ihrer queeren Identität geführt haben. Für Queer as German Folk haben einige ihre Erfahrungen solcher Lebenssituationen mit uns geteilt. Es sind sehr persönliche Geschichten, jede ein Mosaikstein queerer Geschichte nach Stonewall.

Wolfgang Benjamin Lobos Phebles

Mexiko
Wolfgang Benjamin Lobo Phebles

Sabrina Bello

New York City
Sabrina Bello

Erica Meiners

Chicago
Erica Meiners

Bettina Dziggel

Berlin
Bettina Dziggel


Ausstellung

Schwules Museum Berlin Schwules Museum Berlin

Deutschland, 18.07.–31.12.2019
Berlin

2019 zeigen acht Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika und das Schwule Museum Berlin die Ausstellung Queer as German Folk. Ab 2020 folgen weitere Goethe-Institute weltweit. Die Ausstellung schafft einen Erlebnisraum zur Geschichte und Gegenwart der queeren Bewegung und passt sich lokalen Kontexten und Räumlichkeiten an.


Wanderkonferenz

Vier Ausstellungsorte, vier Gesprächsrunden, vier Themen: Toronto, New York City, Mexiko-Stadt und Berlin veranstalten im Stonewall-Jubiläumsjahr parallel zur Ausstellung öffentliche Gesprächsrunden. Zwischen Juni und September 2019 stehen unter dem Titel Queere Gemeinsamkeiten – Queere Konflikte unterschiedliche Aspekte des aktuellen Queer-Diskurses zur Verhandlung: Queerer Widerstand, Queere Kultur, Queere Vielfalt und Queeres Establishment. Diskutiert wird auf Englisch, jeweils mit Teilnehmenden aus den USA, aus Kanada, Mexiko und Deutschland. Wer nicht persönlich teilnehmen kann, findet die vier Panels auf dieser Website zusammengeführt als Aufzeichnung.

Klaus Wowereit mit Hannelore Hoger und Thomas Gottschalk bei der Einweihung des Boulevards der Stars 2012 in Berlin Foto: NetAction, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-3.0

Berlin, 15.09.2019
Queeres Establishment

Gibt es Raum für Otherness in den Führungseliten? Ist von queeren Politiker*innen eine andere Politik zu erwarten, von queeren Führungskräften ein anderer Führungsstil?

Queer Culture Foto: Pexels

Toronto, 21.06.2019
Queere Kultur

Welche Formen queerer Kultur lassen sich heute identifizieren? Wo manifestiert sich queerer Widerspruch im Kultursektor? Gibt es überhaupt so etwas wie Queer Culture?

Queer Diversity Foto: Pexels

Mexiko-Stadt, 22.06.2019
Queere Vielfalt

Wie gehen wir mit dem Phänomen queerer Vielfalt um? Wie lässt sich das Gleichbehandlungsprinzip auch für kleine Minderheiten durchsetzen?

Queer Resistance Grafik: TomVonier.online

New York City, 20.06.2019
Queerer Widerstand

Queere Lebenskonzepte sind vermeintlich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft angekommen. Das weltweite Erstarken neo-konservativer Kräfte stellt die Gleichbehandlung dennoch weiter infrage. Was lässt sich aus den letzten fünfzig Jahren lernen?


Queeres Kino aus Deutschland

Das Goethe-Institut bietet eine Liste von queeren Filmen aus Deutschland an, die sich als Grundlage für lokale Kinoprogramme eignen. Die Auswahl und die Kommentare stammen von Wieland Speck, dem langjährigen Berlinale-Kurator für die Sektion Panorama, die traditionell viele schwul-lesbische und Transgender-Filme in den Wettbewerb aufnimmt. Speck initiierte auch den Teddy Award, den weltweit einzigen offiziellen queeren Filmpreis eines A-Festivals. Die Filmempfehlungen stellen die persönliche Sicht von Wieland Speck dar.


Partner

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Logo Schwules Museum Berlin Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Lokale Partner

Wir danken all unseren lokalen Partnern in Berlin, Chicago, Guadalajara, Mexiko-Stadt, Montreal, New York, San Francisco, Toronto und Washington D.C. für ihre tatkräftige und begeisterte Unterstützung, die die Realisierung vor Ort erst möglich gemacht hat.  

New York City
Stonewall 50 Consortium Queer Cinema The Center Videoout

Washington D.C.
The DC Center Rainbow DC WWH Wunderbar together

Chicago
Leather Archives and Museum Packingtown The Plant Chicago Filmmakers

San Francisco,  Montreal,  Toronto
Hormel Center San Francisco Never Apart Toronto Pride Toronto Arquives

Mexiko-Stadt

Museo Memoria y Tolerancia MIC Genero Centro Cultural México Contemporaneo
 

Top