Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Conference
New York City

June 20, 2019
7:00pm

public event
The Center
208 W 13 St
New York, NY 10011
USA
Locaton

Interior view The Center© The Center

Queer Resistance
// New York City

Queer Resistance Grafik: TomVonier.online In Europe and North America, a continuous strengthening of the gay and lesbian, and later queer, emancipation movements marked the decades after the Stonewall Riots in the summer of 1969. Queer issues became popular, gender studies established. 

Until recently, the achievements of the struggle for equal rights seemed irreversible. Queer lifestyles appeared to have reached mainstream society. Militant tones only emanated from the supposed margins of the formerly marginalized group(s). But with neo-conservative forces on the rise around the world and manifesting themselves in rightwing populist movements, homophobic and transphobic views are becoming socially acceptable once again and equal rights are increasingly being challenged. 

Are there any meaningful and contemporary ways to resist this development? Which experiences of gender-related resistance within and outside our German-American cultural sphere can we draw from at a global level? What can we learn from the history of the past 50 years?

In partnership with:
The Center - The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center


Queer commons – queer conflicts

Four exhibition venues, four panel discussions, four themes: parallel to the exhibition, there will be panel discussions in Toronto, New York, Mexico City, and Berlin. Between June and September 2019, various aspects of current queer discourse will be deliberated under the banner Queer Commonalities – Queer Conflicts: queer resistance, queer culture, queer diversity, and queer establishment. Discussions will take place in English with participants from the US, Canada, Mexico, and Germany. For those unable to attend in person, recordings of the four panels will be made available on this website.
 


More conferences

 Klaus Wowereit with Ken Adam, Hannelore Hoger, Regina Ziegler and Thomas Gottschalk 2012 in Berlin at the inauguration of the Boulevard of the Stars. Foto: NetAction, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-3.0

Berlin, 09/15/2019
Queer Establishment

Is there room for otherness within the ruling class? Can queer politicians be expected to pursue different policies or queer leaders to lead in a distinctive way?

Queer Diversity Foto: Pexels

Mexiko City, 06/22/2019
Queer Diversity

How do we deal with the phenomenon of queer diversity? How can equal treatment be granted to small minorities?

Queer Culture Foto: Pexels

Toronto, 06/21/2019
Queer Culture

Which forms of queer culture are there today? How does queer opposition manifest itself in the cultural sector? Is there such a thing as queer culture at all?

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Wanderkonferenz
New York City

20. Juni 2019
19 Uhr

öffentliche Veranstaltung
The Center
208 W 13 St
New York, NY 10011
USALocaton

Innenansicht The Center© The Center

Queerer Widerstand
// New York City

Queer Resistance Grafik: TomVonier.online Die Jahrzehnte nach den Stonewall Riots im Sommer 1969 waren – zumindest in Europa und Amerika – geprägt durch ein kontinuierliches Erstarken schwul-lesbischer und später queerer Emanzipationsbewegungen. Queere Fragestellungen wurden populär, die Genderforschung erstarkte. 

Die Erfolge im Kampf um gesellschaftliche Gleichbehandlung schienen bis vor Kurzem unumkehrbar. Queere Lebenskonzepte erreichten vermeintlich die Mitte der Gesellschaft. Kämpferisch fordernde Töne waren nur noch von den vermeintlichen Rändern der ehemaligen Randgruppe(n) zu vernehmen. Mit dem weltweiten Erstarken neo-konservativer Kräfte, die ihren Ausdruck in rechtspopulistischen Bewegungen finden, werden homo- und transphobe Positionen jedoch wieder gesellschaftsfähig und der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung zunehmend infrage gestellt. 

Gibt es sinnvolle und zeitgemäße Formen des Widerstands gegen solche Entwicklungen? Welche Erfahrungen gender-generierten Widerstands innerhalb und außerhalb unseres deutsch-amerikanischen Kulturraums lassen sich global nutzen? Was gibt es aus der Geschichte der vergangenen 50 Jahre zu lernen?

In Partnerschaft mit:
The Center - The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center


Queere Gemeinsamkeiten, queere Konflikte

Vier Ausstellungsorte, vier Gesprächsrunden, vier Themen: Toronto, New York City, Mexiko-Stadt und Berlin veranstalten im Stonewall-Jubiläumsjahr parallel zur Ausstellung öffentliche Gesprächsrunden. Zwischen Juni und September 2019 stehen unter dem Titel Queere Gemeinsamkeiten – Queere Konflikte unterschiedliche Aspekte des aktuellen Queer-Diskurses zur Verhandlung: Queerer Widerstand, Queere Kultur, Queere Vielfalt und Queeres Establishment. Diskutiert wird auf Englisch, jeweils mit Teilnehmenden aus den USA, aus Kanada, Mexiko und Deutschland. Wer nicht persönlich teilnehmen kann, findet die vier Panels auf dieser Website zusammengeführt als Aufzeichnung.


Weitere Konferenzen

Klaus Wowereit mit Hannelore Hoger und Thomas Gottschalk bei der Einweihung des Boulevards der Stars 2012 in Berlin Foto: NetAction, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-3.0

Berlin, 15.09.2019
Queeres Establishment

Gibt es Raum für Otherness in den Führungseliten? Ist von queeren Politiker*innen eine andere Politik zu erwarten, von queeren Führungskräften ein anderer Führungsstil?

Queer Diversity Foto: Pexels

Mexiko-Stadt, 22.06.2019
Queere Vielfalt

Wie gehen wir mit dem Phänomen queerer Vielfalt um? Wie lässt sich das Gleichbehandlungsprinzip auch für kleine Minderheiten durchsetzen?

Queer Culture Foto: Pexels

Toronto, 21.06.2019
Queere Kultur

Welche Formen queerer Kultur lassen sich heute identifizieren? Wo manifestiert sich queerer Widerspruch im Kultursektor? Gibt es überhaupt so etwas wie Queer Culture?

Top