Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Mexico City


Itinerant Conference
USA – Canada – Mexico – Germany


“Queer Commons – Queer Conflicts”

Part II: Queer Diversity

Queer Diversity Photo (Detail): Pexels

Queer Diversity

What began as a gay movement in the Stonewall period became more differentiated in the wake of gender studies and the recognition of a whole spectrum of gender identities. The ACT UP movement of the 1980s and 1990s in particular challenged traditional notions of gender in academia, society, and politics.

But even today members of the gay and lesbian mainstream often struggle to accept non-binary gender identities. Even though these groups were and continue to be instrumental in overcoming traditional roles – now more than ever, as the heteronormative and homosexual lifestyles of the 21st century converge.

Roland Emmerich’s ambitious attempt to process the Stonewall events in a film failed in the eyes of a large part of the audience precisely because it did not take sufficient account of the decisive role that queer people outside the gay/lesbian dichotomy played in the revolt.

How do we deal with the reality of queer diversity? How can small minorities be granted equal rights?Are there any historical precedents? How can the history of the struggle against gender discrimination be rewritten? Does it make sense to differentiate gender identities any further?

In partnership with

Museo Memoria y Tolerancia


Queer commons – queer conflicts

Four exhibition venues, four panel discussions, four themes: parallel to the exhibition, there will be panel discussions in Toronto, New York, Mexico City, and Berlin. Between June and September 2019, various aspects of current queer discourse will be deliberated under the banner Queer Commonalities – Queer Conflicts: queer resistance, queer culture, queer diversity, and queer establishment. Discussions will take place in English with participants from the US, Canada, Mexico, and Germany.
 


More conferences

Queer Resistance graphik: TomVonier.online

New York City, 06/20/2019
Queer Resistance

Queer lifestyles have supposedly become mainstream. However, the rise of neo-conservative forces across the globe increasingly question the legitimacy of anti-discrimination legislation. What can we learn from the global experience of gender-generated resistance?

 Klaus Wowereit with Ken Adam, Hannelore Hoger, Regina Ziegler and Thomas Gottschalk 2012 in Berlin at the inauguration of the Boulevard of the Stars. Foto: NetAction, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-3.0

Berlin, 09/15/2019
Queer Establishment

Is there room for otherness within the ruling class? Can queer politicians be expected to pursue different policies or queer leaders to lead in a distinctive way?

Queer Culture Foto: Pexels

Toronto, 06/21/2019
Queer Culture

Which forms of queer culture are there today? How does queer opposition manifest itself in the cultural sector? Is there such a thing as queer culture at all?

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Wanderkonferenz Mexiko-Stadt

22. Juni 2019
15:30 Uhr

öffentliche Veranstaltung
Museo de Memoria y Tolerancia
Av. Juárez 8
Colonia Centro
06010 Cuauhtémoc
CDMX
MexikoLocaton

Museo de Memoria y ToleranciaFoto: Fotograf

Queere Vielfalt
// Mexiko-Stadt

Queer Diversity Foto: Pexels Was in der Stonewall-Zeit als Schwulenbewegung seinen Anfang nahm, differenzierte sich in der Folge verstärkter Genderforschung im Sinne der Anerkenntnis vielfältiger Genderidentitäten. Vor allem die Act-up-Bewegung seit den 1980er- und 90er-Jahren stellt das überkommene Geschlechterverständnis im akademischen und gesellschaftspolitischen Bereich infrage.

Doch noch heute tun sich selbst Vertreter*innen des schwul-lesbischen Mainstreams häufig schwer mit der Anerkennung nicht-binärer Geschlechter-Identitäten. Und das, obwohl diese Gruppen einen nicht unbedeutenden Anteil an der Überwindung überkommener Rollenmodelle hatten und vor dem Hintergrund der fortschreitenden Angleichung hetero- und homonormativer Lebensweisen im 21. Jahrhundert mehr haben denn je.

So scheiterte Roland Emmerichs ambitionierter Versuch der filmischen Verarbeitung der Stonewall-Ereignisse in den Augen weiter Teile des Publikums und der Kritik daran, dass er dem entscheidenden Anteil von queeren Protagonist*innen an der Revolte jenseits der Identitäten schwul / lesbisch nicht ausreichend Rechnung trug.

Wie gehen wir mit dem Phänomen queerer Vielfalt um? Wie lässt sich das Gleichbehandlungsprinzip auch für kleine Minderheiten durchsetzen? Gibt es historische Vorbilder? Wie wäre die Geschichte des Kampfes gegen genderbedingte Diskriminierung neu zu schreiben? Ist es überhaupt sinnvoll, Gender-Identitäten immer weiter auszudifferenzieren?

In Parnterschaft mit
Museo Memoria y Tolerancia


Queere Gemeinsamkeiten, queere Konflikte

Vier Ausstellungsorte, vier Gesprächsrunden, vier Themen: Toronto, New York City, Mexiko-Stadt und Berlin veranstalten im Stonewall-Jubiläumsjahr parallel zur Ausstellung öffentliche Gesprächsrunden. Zwischen Juni und September 2019 stehen unter dem Titel Queere Gemeinsamkeiten – Queere Konflikte unterschiedliche Aspekte des aktuellen Queer-Diskurses zur Verhandlung: Queerer Widerstand, Queere Kultur, Queere Vielfalt und Queeres Establishment. Diskutiert wird auf Englisch, jeweils mit Teilnehmenden aus den USA, aus Kanada, Mexiko und Deutschland. Wer nicht persönlich teilnehmen kann, findet die vier Panels auf dieser Website zusammengeführt als Aufzeichnung.


Weitere Konferenzen

Queer Resistance Grafik: TomVonier.online

New York City, 20.06.2019
Queerer Widerstand

Queere Lebenskonzepte sind vermeintlich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft angekommen. Das weltweite Erstarken neo-konservativer Kräfte stellt die Gleichbehandlung dennoch weiter infrage. Was lässt sich aus den letzten fünfzig Jahren lernen?

Klaus Wowereit mit Hannelore Hoger und Thomas Gottschalk bei der Einweihung des Boulevards der Stars 2012 in Berlin Foto: NetAction, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-3.0

Berlin, 15.09.2019
Queeres Establishment

Gibt es Raum für Otherness in den Führungseliten? Ist von queeren Politiker*innen eine andere Politik zu erwarten, von queeren Führungskräften ein anderer Führungsstil?

Queer Culture Foto: Pexels

Toronto, 21.06.2019
Queere Kultur

Welche Formen queerer Kultur lassen sich heute identifizieren? Wo manifestiert sich queerer Widerspruch im Kultursektor? Gibt es überhaupt so etwas wie Queer Culture?

Top