REPORT ON ANTICIGANISM PRESENTED

Roma group protesting AP

An independent commission for combating Antiziganism in Germany requires a fundamental change in society

Antiziganism is an extremely serious problem affecting the whole of German society. This reads the latest report of the Independent Commission for Combating Antiziganism, commissioned by the German Parliament. The commission's 821-page report is based on 15 current researches and extensive empirical studies.

It has studied, the anti-Roma attitudes, for instance, in municipal administration, the police, textbooks, films, journalistic reports and social media. The report found that antiziganism racism represents a "comprehensive day-to-day experience for Sinti and Roma" and found "a failure of German policy, German legislation and enforcement."

The Commission therefore calls for a comprehensive antiziganism strategy. "We need a fundamental change of perspective in German society that takes into account the structural causes of the problem."

In this context, the so-called "Policy of catching up justice" is also crucial, "as it will erase the injustice done to survivors and their heirs after 1945". In addition, the Commission calls for "effective and sustainable participation structures at all levels for Sinti and Roma communities".

With regard to the media coverage of Sinti and Roma, the Commission recommends Sinti and Roma organisations to be involved in the administrative and supervisory committees, as well as in the preparation of public service broadcasting. According to the report, "convincing creative and journalistic material related to the deconstruction of anti-Gypsy models of perception and thinking should be more strongly respected." Sinti and Roma's own press services, radio stations or publications should also be financially and ideologically supported.

Media corporations and newsrooms are urged to take into account the results of anti-Gypsy research and to develop appropriate ethical guidelines. An important prerequisite for this is the inclusion of the topic in the curriculum of Journalism and Media and Mass communications degree programs in universities and colleges. It should also become a regular part of the additional training programs for journalists.

In addition, effective measures for stronger self-representation of Sinti and Roma in the media should be taken immediately. The report contains a wide range of specific guidelines for action at all levels and in all areas.

The Independent Commission recommends that the state and the provinces appoint special commissioners to combat Antiziganism and that a standing commission be set up to work at the highest political level against Sinti and Roma.

The Independent Antiziganism Commission was set up by the German parliament. It features11 representatives of science and civil society, who deal with Antiziganism, respectively with the hostility, prejudice, discrimination or racism which is specifically directed at Romani people. 

The full text of the report in German can be found here: https://dserver.bundestag.de/btd/19/303/1930310.pdf
Top

Bericht über Antiziganismus vorgelegt

Roma und Sinti protestieren AP

Unabhängige Kommission Antiziganismus in Deutschland fordert grundlegenden Perspektivwechsel in der Gesellschaft

Antiziganismus stellt ein massives gesamtgesellschaftliches Problem in Deutschland dar. So lautet das Resümee des Berichts der Unabhängigen Kommission Antiziganismus, der vom Deutschen Bundestag in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Der 821 Seiten umfassende Kommissionsbericht stützt sich auf 15 aktuelle Studien und breite empirische Erhebungen.

Untersucht wurde Antiziganismus beispielsweise in kommunalen Verwaltungen, bei der Polizei, in Schulbüchern, in Filmen, in der journalistischen Berichterstattung und in den Social Media. Der Bericht stellt fest, dass antiziganistischer Rassismus eine "allumfassende Alltagserfahrung für Sinti_ze und Rom_nja" ist und konstatiert ein "Versagen deutscher Politik, deutscher Gesetzgebungen und deren Rechtsanwendung".

Die Kommission fordert eine umfassende Strategie gegen Antiziganismus. "Wir brauchen einen grundlegenden Perspektivwechsel in der deutschen Gesellschaft, der die strukturellen Ursachen des Problems in den Blick nimmt."

Entscheidend sei in diesem Kontext auch eine "Politik der nachholenden Gerechtigkeit", "die das seit 1945 begangene Unrecht gegenüber Überlebenden und deren Nachkommen ausgleicht". Zudem fordert die Kommission, "effektive und nachhaltige Partizipationsstrukturen für die Communitys der Sinti_ze und Rom_nja auf allen Ebenen zu schaffen".

In Bezug auf die mediale Repräsentation von Sinti und Roma empfiehlt die Kommission, die Selbstorganisationen von Sinti und Roma an den Verwaltungs- und Aufsichtsgremien sowie an der Programmgestaltung in öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk- und Fernsehanstalten zu beteiligen. Es müssten „überzeugende künstlerische und journalistische Arbeiten zur Dekonstruktion antiziganistischer Wahrnehmungs- und Denkmuster stärker gewürdigt werden.“ Und eigene Presseagenturen, Sender oder Publikationen von Sinti und Roma müssten finanziell und ideell gefördert werden.

Medienunternehmen und Redaktionen werden aufgefordert, die Ergebnisse antiziganismuskritischer Forschung zu berücksichtigen und entsprechende ethische Richtlinien zu erarbeiten. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür sei die Aufnahme des Themas in die Lehr- und Ausbildungspläne der Studiengänge für Journalismus und für Medien und Kommunikation an den Universitäten und Hochschulen. Es sollte aber auch ein regelmäßiger Bestandteil der Fortbildungsprogramme für Journalist_innen sein.

Außerdem sollten umgehend wirksame Maßnahmen zur stärkeren Selbstrepräsentation von Sinti_ze und Rom_nja im Medienbereich ergriffen werden. Der Bericht enthält eine Fülle von konkreten Handlungsanweisungen auf allen Ebenen und in allen Bereichen.

Die Unabhängige Kommission Antiziganismus empfiehlt Bund und Ländern, Beauftragte gegen Antiziganismus zu berufen und eine ständige Bund-Länder-Kommission zu schaffen, um die Arbeit gegen Antiziganismus auf höchster Ebene politisch zu verankern.

Die Unabhängige Kommission Antiziganismus wurde vom Deutschen Bundestag eingesetzt. Ihm gehören 11 Personen aus Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft an, die sich mit Antiziganismus beziehungsweise Rassismus gegen Sinti_ze und Rom_nja befassen.

Der komplette Bericht in Deutsch hier: https://dserver.bundestag.de/btd/19/303/1930310.pdf
Top