Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Debate Your Issue

#EngageDebateConnect #debateyourissue #dyi

Encourage and inspire your fellow citizens to find their way of expressing themselves, engage and involve them in exchanging ideas locally, nationally and in the EU level. Critical exchange of ideas is essential.

Debate Your Issue is a european project for young people aged between 18 and 25 years.

DEBATEYOURISSUE.EU

DYI logo
WHAT
Every democracy needs citizens who ask critical questions, who are not afraid to express their views, but also know how to listen to the opinions of others and how to respond to them in a matter-of-fact and fair way. 

Despite many differences between European countries, young people in Europe share substantial similarities concerning their worldview, experiences, fears and problems. A highly common issue is the fact that young Europeans' trust in mainstream media and public institutions at all levels is low. Youth in Europe distinguishes itself by a limited interest in politics, media literacy (exposure to fake news, hate speech) and political education. The voting turnout of young people is the lowest among all age categories. Young Europeans cope with a significantly higher level of unemployment than the countries’ average, and due to the negative impact of pandemic it will most probably increase.

WHY
The aim of the project Debate Your Issue (DYI) is to strengthen the awareness of young Europeans (18-25 years old) on the topics of politics, democracy, tolerance and their threats: disinformation, intolerance, polarization and hate speech. Debate can teach young people how to stand up for their opinions and views in a well-founded and convincing manner. Furthermore, by dealing with relevant socio-political questions in a critical manner, it contributes to political education in the targeted region.

HOW
The project activities include debate training programs and competitions, adaptations of a methodological approach, joint publications, providing open and effective tools for counterbalancing the rising polarization and disengagement of young people in six European countries (Belgium, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Serbia).

During the project the young people will access knowledge of relevant socio-political issues, and acquire skills of the art of debate. In the second part of the project they will take part in a debate competition, in order to compete with their peers from other countries.

Young people in all six project countries are invited to apply for debate training and active participation in the project activities. The training will take place both in person and online, the project is developing recommendations for debate trainers, webinars for online observation, as well as infographics that will help many other young people to learn aspects of media literacy.

***   

Project partners:
Mediawijs (Belgium), Goethe-Institut Tschechien (Czech Republic), National Library of Latvia (Latvia), International Youth Debate Alumni Association Lithuania (Lithuania), Kolegium Europy Wschodniej (Poland), Novo kulturno naselje (Serbia).

Project implementation period: 03.02.2020.–02.08.2021.

The project is co-funded by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union.
The project has already begun. The application period is over.

But thanks to Moodle you may join the DYI participants and learn not only about the project in more details but also learn something new about the EU, fake news or propaganda

 Join now! 
Teresa Weiser

Media Projects


Related projects

Jugend Debattiert in Mittel- Ost- und Südosteuropa

Competition
Jugend Debattiert in Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa

Good debates are a prerequisite for a lively democracy and a successful community not only in Europe. Together instead of against each other.

Klartexte Illustration: © Martina Hamouzová

#Klartexte

It seems increasingly difficult to distinguish facts from "alternative facts", news from "fake news" and the truth from lies. #Klartexte promots attentive, calm and critical media consumption.

JáDu © Goethe-Institut

jádu

Stories from everyday life and also extraordinary ones. Stories (not only) from Germany, Czechia and Slovakia.


Project partners

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Debate Your Issue

#EngageDebateConnect #debateyourissue #dyi

Ermutige und inspiriere deine Mitbürger*innen, sich auszudrücken und sich in den Austausch von Ideen auf lokaler, nationaler und EU-Ebene einzubringen. Für einen kritischen Gedankenaustausch!

Debate Your Issue ist ein europäisches Projekt für junge Erwachsene im Alter von 18 bis 25 Jahren.

DEBATEYOURISSUE.EU

DYI logo
WAS
Jede Demokratie braucht engagierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger, die kritische Fragen stellen, die keine Angst haben, ihre Ansichten zu äußern, die aber auch wissen, wie man auf die Meinungen anderer hört und wie man sachlich und fair reagiert.

Trotz vieler Unterschiede zwischen den Ländern Europas haben junge Menschen in Europa ähnliche Weltanschauungen, Erfahrungen, Ängste und Probleme. Eine häufige Problematik ist das geringe Vertrauen junger Europäer*innen in die etablierten Medien und öffentliche Institutionen. Kennzeichnend für die Jugend in Europa ist ein geringes Interesse an Politik, Medienkompetenz (im Kontakt und Umgang mit Fake news und Hate speech) und politischer Bildung. Die Wahlbeteiligung bei jungen Erwachsenen ist niedriger als bei allen anderen Alterskategorien. Junge Europäer*innen haben mit einer deutlich höheren Arbeitslosigkeit als im Landesdurchschnitt zu kämpfen, und aufgrund der negativen Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie wird diese höchstwahrscheinlich noch steigen.

WARUM
Das Ziel des Projekts Debate Your Issue (DYI) ist es, das Bewusstsein von jungen Europäer*innen (18–25 Jahre) für die Bereiche Politik, Demokratie, Toleranz und deren Bedrohungen durch Desinformation, Intoleranz, Polarisierung oder Hatespeech zu stärken. Themen zu diskutieren und Debattieren kann junge Menschen motivieren, eigene Meinungen und Ansichten fundiert und auf überzeugende Weise zu vertreten. Darüber hinaus trägt das Projekt durch eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit relevanten gesellschaftspolitischen Fragen zur politischen Bildung junger Menschen in den beteiligten Ländern bei.

WIE
Das Projekt besteht aus mehreren Modulen: einem Trainingsprogramm mit Workshops zu offen zugänglichen und wirksamen Methoden, um zunehmende Polarisierung und den politischen Rückzug junger Menschen auszugleichen, einem Debattierwettbewerb und gemeinsame Veröffentlichungen in einem Online-Magazin. Das Projekt findet in sechs europäischen Ländern (Belgien, Tschechische Republik, Lettland, Litauen, Polen, Serbien) statt.

Durch dieses Projekt erlangen die jungen Erwachsenen Wissen über relevante gesellschaftspolitische Themen und erwerben Kenntnisse in der Kunst des Debattierens. Im zweiten Teil des Projekts werden sie an einem Debattierwettbewerb teilnehmen, um sich mit ihren Kolleg*innen aus anderen Ländern zu messen.

Junge Menschen aus den sechs Projektländern sind eingeladen, sich für das Projekt zu bewerben. Das Training findet sowohl in persönlicher Begegnung als auch online statt. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden Empfehlungen für Debattiertrainer*innen, Webinare sowie Infografiken, die vielen anderen jungen Menschen helfen, Aspekte der Medienkompetenz zu erlernen, entwickelt.

***

Projektpartner:
Mediawijs (Belgien), Goethe-Institut Tschechien (Tschechische Republik), National Library of Latvia (Lettland), International Youth Debate Alumni Association (Litauen), Kolegium Europy Wschodniej (Polen), Novo kulturno naselje (Serbien)

Laufzeit des Projekts: 03.02.2020–02.08.2021

Das Projekt wird kofinanziert durch das Programm Erasmus+ der Europäischen Union.
Das Projekt läuft bereits. Die Bewerbungsfrist für die Teilnahme am Projekt ist leider vorbei.
Du kannst dich aber trotzdem noch am Projekt beteiligen. 

Dank der Platfrom Moodle kannst du dich den Teilnehmer*innen von DYI anschließen und dabei nicht nur etwas über das Projekt DYI sondern auch über die EU, Fake News oder Propaganda erfahren. 

 Jetzt mitmachen! 

 
Zuzana Hubková

Verwandte Projekte

Klartexte Illustration: © Martina Hamouzová

Medien
#Klartexte

Es scheint immer schwieriger, Fakten von „alternativen Fakten“, News von „Fake News“, Wahrheit und Lüge zu unterscheiden. Und Klartext vom Text? #Klartexte möchte einen aufmerksamen, unaufgeregten und kritischen Medienkonsum fördern.
 

JáDu © Goethe-Institut

Onlinemagazin
jádu

Geschichten aus dem Alltag und solche, die man wahrscheinlich nur einmal erlebt. Geschichten (nicht nur) aus Deutschland, Tschechien und aus der Slowakei.

Jugend Debattiert in Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa

Wettbewerb
Jugend Debattiert in Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa

Gute Debatten sind die Voraussetzung einer lebendigen Demokratie und eines gelungenen Zusammenlebens nicht nur in Europa. Miteinander statt gegeneinander.

Themenraum Europa Foto: Pavlína Jáchimová / Goethe-Institut

Themenraum
Europa

Auf dieser Seite erfahren Sie mehr über unsere aktuellen und zurückliegenden europäischen Projekte. Entdecken Sie Bücher, Artikel und Videos zum Thema.


Projektpartner

Top