Frauke Frech
bangaloREsident@Blank Noise

Frauke Frech was born in 1982 in Leipzig. She studied Performance and Fine Arts with La Ribot and Yan Duyvendak at Haute Ecole d'art et design, Geneva and at Muthesius Academy for Art & Design, Kiel. She is the founder of The Grand Beauty Salon.

Frauke Frech combines performance art with intervention, video, graphics and text through which she explores personal and social relationships, boundaries and translation processes. In her long-term project My own private Germany she has been working since 2013 – in the sense of social sculpture – with local communities at characteristic places in Germany on our society. So far in Duisburg-Marxloh, Augsburg, Chemnitz, Berlin-Lichtenberg.

Attempt at a self-portrait

Particularly when I am in foreign countries, my name becomes quite difficult for others to get their mouth around. I am given new names, each time becoming someone else. I take in all of these encounters and they shape me – in some cases more strongly than others – into the person I am capable of being. What do my age, degrees and exhibitions – which are supposed to say something about my reputation – really say about me?

  Frauke Frech © Lena Wiewell Am I the same person that you see in me?
 
In art, I search for the most powerful means of approaching the other, the goal of this exchange being to discover something that connects us, that lasts beyond this moment, that can alter the reality between us.
 
In The Grand Beauty Salon, I work with a cosmopolitan ensemble, engaging with the vulnerable, outer limits of the human being. The places where we negotiate with ourselves over beauty and flaws – day in, day out – and where our own self-perception manifests itself.
 
You normally don't see what lies behind a mirror.
 
The Grand Beauty Salon is to be a place where social equality can exist for different, culturally shaped concepts of beauty, and where we can gain more intimate insight into the other and into ourselves.

Beauty Action Centre

How do women in India practice their struggle for gender equality and how can this show in outward appearance?
 
The Beauty Action Centre is an intervention which I want to initiate as a nomadic, pop-up place together with the Blank Noise movement in Bangalore. Just as with The Grand Beauty Salon I am looking for local beauty experts, with whom I want to establish a safe space to exchange our different experiences as women in patriarchy-dominated worlds – questioning female stereotypes in our appearance, behaviour and role models. It is embedded in the setting of a cosmopolitan beauty salon where oppressive images can be deconstructed through the invention of our own. 
 
The discourse in Germany about sexual harassment in India is highly influenced by the way mass media reports about it. What is the real situation?
 
Following the events of the New Year's Eve 15/16 in Cologne and the successful "No means No" campaign (inflamed through the Lohfink case), sexual attacks on women were back in the headlines of the German media. However, there is still also in our world - in spite of the emancipation of women - the need to raise awareness, in particular about the subtlety of sexual harassment (by men regardless of their cultural background) and to stand up against it. My aim within the Beauty Action Centre is to gain encouraging experience and to communicate it through an international network, to confront the injustice that befalls women  all over the globe and to mutually empower to say "No, I never asked for it!"

Final Report

CONTEXT    NETWORK     EXCHANGE
 
Jasmeen, Vira, Vasundhara, Eeshita, Rishita, Chitra gave me a very warm welcome, which made me feel at home in Yelahanka (North of Bangalore) right away. Since the BN office is located at the Srishti Heritage Campus I was to stay in a nice compound close by (which had its advantages and disadvantages – travelling into the city mostly takes an hour or longer).

But most important for me was the interest in my approach and the motivation of the BN Action Heroes to help with personal as well as practical information. I could always come up with whatever and there would be a willing ear to listen to me. Thank you all for having taken me to your favourite beauty parlours, trusting me with personal experiences and making me part of your life for this limited period of time or beyond. This goes to the BN Action Heroes I met, my Yelahanka stay-at-home-friends, various beauticians from whom I've learned, the Vimochana feminists who were so inviting as to host us and our MEHENDI happening, the diverse bunch of women who made that final happening possible and so rich, my Bangalore friends for making me feel at home and giving only honest advice.
 

Nevertheless, Blank Noise is an NGO (doing political work through artistic means), run by a 2-person board only, meaning you are most likely the one who can get involved in BN activities, rather than that they would have the capacity to do so in yours.
 
To get a glimpse of what happened during my residency http://thegrandbeautysalon.tumblr.com/
 
Prospect for further collaboration with Blank Noise I NEVER ASK FOR IT:
not stopping to ask these delicate questions wherever I go; with the idea of a global community in mind; sharing insights in those who are affected in both cultures.

Frauke Frech
bangaloREsident@Blank Noise

Frauke Frech wurde 1982 in Leipzig geboren. Sie studierte Performance-Kunst bei La Ribot und Yan Duyvendak an der Haute Ecole d'art et design Genève und an der Muthesius Kunsthochschule in Kiel. Frauke Frech ist die Begründerin des »Grand Beauty Salon«.
 
Sie erforscht mit Performance/Intervention, Video, grafischen Mitteln und Text gesellschaftliche Zusammenhänge, soziale Grenzen und Übersetzungsprozesse. In ihrem Langzeitprojekt ›Mein ganz privates Deutschland‹ arbeitet sie – im Sinne von Sozialer Plastik – an charakteristischen Orten Deutschlands mit der lokalen Bevölkerung an unserem Zusammenleben. Bisher in Duisburg-Marxloh, Augsburg, Chemnitz, Berlin-Lichtenberg.

Versuch einer Selbstdarstellung

Gerade im Ausland wird mein Name schnell zur schwer lösbaren Aufgabe für die Münder der Anderen. Ich bekomme neue Namen und werde jedes Mal eine Andere. Alle Begegnungen, die ich erlebe, gehen in mich ein und formen mich – mal mehr, mal weniger – zu der, die ich sein kann.
Was sagen mein Alter, die Abschlüsse und Ausstellungen, die ich gemacht habe und die über meine Reputation Auskunft geben sollen, tatsächlich über mich?

Frauke Frech © Lena Wiewell Bin ich die, die du in mir siehst?
 
In der Kunst suche ich nach dem kraftvollsten Zugang zu meinem Gegenüber, um durch den Austausch etwas Verbindendes in einander zu entdecken, das diesen Moment überdauern und die Wirklichkeit zwischen uns verändern kann.
 
Im »The Grand Beauty Salon« arbeite ich mit einem kosmopolitischen Ensemble an den verletzlichen, äußeren Grenzen des Menschen. Dort wo jede/r tagtäglich mit sich selbst über Schönheit und Makel verhandelt und die eigenen Selbstbilder manifest werden.
 
Was hinter einem Spiegel liegt, sieht man in der Regel nicht.
 
»The Grand Beauty Salon« soll ein Ort der gesellschaftlichen Gleichstellung sein, an dem verschiedene, kulturell geprägte Vorstellungen von Schönheit aufeinander treffen und wir durch das Austauschen intimer Einblicke mehr vom Anderen erfahren können und von uns selbst.

Beauty Action Centre

Wie praktizieren Frauen in Indien ihren Kampf für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter
und wie zeigt sich dieser in ihrer äußeren Erscheinung?

BEAUTY ACTION CENTER ist eine Intervention, die ich als nomadischen, pop-up Ort mit dem Blank Noise Movement in Bangalore initiieren werde. Angelehnt an den Ansatz des »Grand Beauty Salons« möchte ich lokale Beauty Expert*innen gewinnen, gemeinsam einen sicheren Raum zu schaffen, an dem wir unsere Erfahrungen – Frauen in patriarchal dominierten Gesellschaften zu sein – austauschen und mit weiblichen Stereotypen, durch das selbstbestimmte Erfinden unserer eigenen Selbstbilder, aufräumen können.

Der Diskurs in Deutschland über sexuelle Belästigung in Indien ist stark von der Art und Weise beeinflusst, wie die Massenmedien darüber berichten.
 
Wie ist die reale Situation in Indien?
 
Nach den Ereignissen der Silvesternacht 15/16 in Köln und der am Fall Lohfink entflammten und erfolgreichen »Nein heißt Nein« Kampagne, standen Übergriffe auf Frauen wieder in den Headlines von deutschen Medien. Auch in unserer Welt besteht – trotz der Emanzipation von Frauen – der Bedarf das Bewusstsein, gerade die Subtilität von sexueller Belästigung (durch Männer, unabhängig ihres kulturellen Hintergrundes), zu erweitern und sich gezielt dagegen einzusetzen. Ich möchte im Rahmen des BEAUTY ACTION CENTERS Erfahrungen sammeln, die eben dazu ermutigen und die weiter anstecken, dem Unrecht das Frauen weltweit widerfährt, entgegen zu treten und zu sagen »Nein, ich habe nicht danach gefragt!«

Abschlussbericht

KONTEXT  NETZWERK   AUSTAUSCH

Jasmeen, Vira, Vasundhara, Eeshita, Rishita, Chitra, empfingen mich so herzlich, dass ich mich in Yelahanka (nördlich von Bangalore) gleich wie Zuhause fühlte. Da sich das BN Büro auf dem Srishti Heritage Campus befindet, wurde ich in einer schönen, nahe gelegenen Wohnanlage einquartiert, (was seine  Vor- und Nachteile hatte – die Fahrt ins Zentrum dauert meistens eine Stunde oder länger).

Aber das Wichtigste für mich war das Interesse der BN Action Heroes an meinem Ansatz und die Motivation, mir mit persönlichen und praktischen Informationen weiter zu helfen. Ich konnte immer kommen, was auch immer es war und bin auf mindestens ein offenes Ohr gestoßen. Ich möchte allen mit denen ich in Berührung gekommen bin dafür danken, dass ihr mich zu euren Lieblingssalons mitgenommen habt, mir persönliche Erfahrungen anvertraut und mich zu einem Teil eures Lebens für diesen begrenzten Zeitraum oder sogar darüber hinaus gemacht habt. Dieser Dank gilt den BN Action Heroes, die ich getroffen habe, meinen Yelahanka-Haus-Freundinnen, verschiedenen Schönheitsexpertinnen, von denen ich gelernt habe, den Vimochana-Feministinnen, die uns und unser MEHENDI Happening mit offenen Armen empfangen haben, den verschiedenen Frauen, durch die ebendieses möglich und so reichhaltig wurde, meinen Freunden in Bangalore, durch die ich mich zu Hause gefühlt habe und die mich mit Ehrlichkeit bedacht haben.
 
Man sollte jedoch wissen, dass Blank Noise eine NGO ist (die politische Arbeit mit künstlerischen Mitteln macht), die von einem 2-Personen-Team geleitet wird, was bedeutet, dass du höchstwahrscheinlich die- oder derjenige bist, der in BN-Aktivitäten involviert sein kann, als dass sie die Kapazitäten hätten, sich ebenso in deine Arbeit einzubringen.

Um einen Einblick zu bekommen, was während meiner Residenz passierte, schau hier http://thegrandbeautysalon.tumblr.com/

Perspektiven für die weitere Zusammenarbeit mit Blank Noise:
DU LÄSST DEINE FINGER VON MIR. ICH BIN FREI WEIL ICH ES SO WILL:
nicht aufhören diese heiklen Fragen zu stellen, wo auch immer ich bin; weil ich solidarisch mit Frauen weltweit empfinde; Einblicke in die Wirklichkeiten von denjenigen ermöglichen, die betroffen sind – in der jeweils anderen Kultur.