Gabi Schaffner
bangaloREsident@Maraa

Making Radio:
Gabi Schaffner is a sound and radio artist who plans to create a series of site-related radio works that channel locality, voice and individual perspective into poetic street performances. Parallel to this, she will pursue her sound mapping of applied botany and urban garden communities within the frame of her garden radio project Datscha Radio.

Gabi Schaffner studied German and American literature and ethnology at the Johann Goethe University in Frankfurt / Main. Since the late ‘80s, she has been an active contributor to literary journals and underground magazines. Her interest in photography led to a second degree at the Hamburg School of Fine Arts (with Johannes Bernhard Blume), from where she graduated with honours. Parallel to her studies she worked as a performer, storyteller and curator in the fields of experimental literature, music and film. Between 2002 and 2006, she maintained the interdisciplinary platform "Dada de Nada" in collaboration with activists from the Hamburg art, culture and DIY scene.
 
A DAAD scholarship in Iceland in 2001 gave rise to her first work with sound recordings. This was followed by publications with the Frankfurt Field Recording label "gruenrekorder" and, from 2005, by commissions for public radio stations ("Der Klang des Schnees" with Götz Naleppa, Deutschlandradio). In addition, she worked as a translator and writer for art publishers and galleries (among others, transkript, Verlag für Moderne Kunst, textem, The Green Box)
 
gabi schaffner © Mathias Deutsch Gabi Schaffner's artistic practice is determined by the methods of poetic ethnography in connection with fluxus-like mise-en-scènes and performances. Much of her work originates from her journeys.
A scholarship from the Kone Foundation in Helsinki facilitated the research for her fictitious biography about the avant-garde composer Martti Mauri. "Otto Mötö. Into the universe of Finnish motor music” won the prize "Radio play of the month" from the German Academy of Performing Arts in 2012. The same year, the internationally renowned radio project Datscha Radio was founded together with reboot.fm, Berlin’s art radio station.
 
Since 2015, she has been using micro-FM transmitters to create local radiospheres. "Electric Fairy Grounds" for instance, realised in Bogong, Australia in April 2017, is a multipart, collaged radio play that narrates the history of the region from different perspectives and in various locations in the terrain. It was made audible via three hidden micro-FM transmitters, and only accessible by hiking from station to station.

Gabi Schaffner also documented the Radiokunstfestival Radiorevolten 2016 in Halle in text and images. Currently, she is preparing (with Datscha Radio III) a five-day garden radio festival, which will take place in Berlin from the 25th to the 29th of August.
 
During the bangaloREsidency, she will work together with Maraa to create a series of site-related radio works that channel locality, voice and individual perspective into poetic street performances. The sound recordings of these performances will subsequently resurface as a poly-vocal radio installation.  At a later point in time they will be incorporated in the production of a 7" single, intended for use as a DJ tool.
 
Parallel to this, she will pursue her sound mapping of applied botany and urban garden communities, and make them available to Maraa's radio community too.
 

Final Report

Almost eight weeks in India, that sounds like a little and much a lot at the same time.: Too short a time to get to know this huge country thoroughly, and yet a enough time that to pours a multifaceted abundance of daily details into one’s brain and in the soul.

Gabi _ Augmented  

Indiranagar was the neighbourhood I was staying in, and while it clearly ranked among the "better neighbourhoods,", it was very different from that would typically mean in a city like what you would perceive as such in Berlin. YetNonetheless, the trees, the sounds, the speed, the brightness and brilliance, the colours, the distances, the smells and the languages were also all differd as wellent. One of the biggest surprises was that Bangalorians speak English with each other. India has more than a hundred different languages, and it cannot be taken for granted that the person next to you on the street comes from the same language arearegion.
 
I had been invited by media and arts collective maraa to contribute to their project "I Live Here". "I Live Here" explores relationships and new definitions of identity, gender, language and locality in the urban space. The members of the collective work situationally;, as performers, radio producers and as organizers of concerts and happenings.

I immediately felt very comfortable with Ekta and Angarika, Yashu, Ram and Anushi., Hhowever, due to the complexity of their and my own activities (also: botanical excursions), there were occasional minor confusions. Perhaps it is a "typical German" characteristic to tackle an idea right away, maybe it is perhaps not. Maraa asked me to work with a small group of students (from law to art studies) on sound and identity as part of their "I Live Here" project. However, the straight line is not the shortest route in India, s. So none of the participants had dealt with recording devices so farbefore. Gauri Lankesh's murder had just happened and engaged the public, the media, and of course the minds of my students. We attended one of the extensive demonstrations in College Park, made sound recordings, or wrote down our impressions.
 
Gabi _ Megaphone

"The Megaphone Guerrilla", our poetic street performance series, came about in the light of our new texts and also as a new personal approach to the public. Ekta and I bought megaphones - an exciting shopping spree through, the "electric district" of the Krishna market!  We had just had time for one and a half rehearsals and then our little group went off to the first metro station (out of four) to share songs and sounds with the people.

Gabi _ Gurukula

Between Amongst all thatis: an excursion to the botanical paradise of Gurukula in the Ghat Mountains of Kerala, tantamount necessitatingto adventurous train and bus travels and jeep rides. There were interviews about the horticultural scene in Bangalore with Poonam Bir Kasturi from Daily Dump, Richard Gomes from WorkbenchProject in Halasuru and Suresh Jayaram from the gallery Shanti Road, as well as a trip to Tirur to the Ayurveda garden of Kottakal as part of  a self-directed experiment in by the Ghandian Health Hygiene Home where great emphasis is put placed on coconut milk massages, being in touch with nature and the cultivation of the local body of  songs.

Gabi _ recording

India means the impossible becoming simple, the seemingly simple becoming strangely complicated. It took more than a week to make an appointment for the visit and secure an interview with the director of the gardens, only to then find out that communication is also possible by using the Latin plant names: Not everybody is fluent in English.
 
While staying at the cococut cookoo’s home, I started on preparations for "Resounding Bangalore", the final performance planned for late October. Composition, action and radio art -, all in one, and a private home (I live here!) as the location­­. At the same time I redesigned the print documentation of our Megaphone Guerilla Walk, which was finally effectively tabled on time.

Gabi _ Zugfahren

The bangaloREsidency was a very intense time - even a month and a half after my return to Berlin the impressions keep echoing in my mind. The collaboration with maraa has greatly enriched my artistic work. The fact that Ekta, Angarika, Yashu, Anushi and Ram possessed a network of friendships and contacts that I as a simple traveler could have never built up so quickly proved invaluable. Whatever I needed, they always had an idea for how to implement it,  and a phone number. Above all, they were registered with the Indian bus and train companies, which was a prerequisite to buy tickets online.

Furthermore, I am very grateful to the Goethe-Institut for the excellently organised excursions and the support of the ‘buddies’, in my case Nandita, who was there for all other organisational questions.

Gabi _

India is ‘augmented reality’, an augmented reality that goes far beyond what is imprinted on - even as an artist - one’s senses and dimensional perceptions from Central Europe. I am extremely grateful to maraa and the Goethe-Institute, above all Maureen Gonsalves and Claus Heimes for their invitation. I can also very well imagine further collaboration in the future. My hard drives still host material for several future radio broadcasts and compositions; for now, however, you may view and/or download the documentation "The Megaphone Guerrilla" on academia.edu. Further contributions and interviews on the horticulture(s) of India will be soon available as a part of my Berlin/international project Datscha Radio online.

Namasté!

Gabi Schaffner
bangaloREsident@Maraa

Hörfunken:
Sound- und Radiokünstlerin Gabi Schaffner plant eine Reihe von ortsbezogenen Radioarbeiten die Ort, Stimme und individuelle Perspektive in poetische Straßenperformances verwandeln. Im Rahmen ihres Gartenradio-Projekts Datscha Radio verfolgt sie außerdem die angewandte Botanik in Urban Garden Communities in Form von Soundkartierungen.

Gabi Schaffner studierte deutsche und a­merikanische Literaturwissenschaften und Ethnologie an der Johann Goethe Universität in Frankfurt/Main. Bereits seit den späten 80ern war sie als Autorin für Literaturzeitschriften und Undergroundmagazine aktiv. Ihr Interesse für Fotografie führte zu einem Zweitstudium an der HfbK Hamburg, wo sie bei Johannes Bernhard Blume ihr Diplom mit Auszeichnung erwarb. Parallel zum Studium arbeitete sie als Performerin, Geschichtenerzählerin und Kuratorin in den Bereichen experimentelle Literatur, Musik und Film. Von 2002 bis 2006 unterhielt sie die interdisziplinäre Plattform „Dada de Nada“ im Kollektiv mit Akteuren der Hamburger Kunst-, Kultur- und DIY-Szene.
Ein DAAD-Stipendium in Island im Jahr 2001 veranlasste sie zu ersten Arbeiten mit Tonaufnahmen. Es folgten Veröffentlichungen bei dem Frankfurter Field Recording Label „gruenrekorder“ und ab 2005 Aufträge für das Radio („Der Klang des Schnees“ mit Götz Naleppa, Deutschlandradio). Nebenberuflich war sie als Übersetzerin und Autorin für Kunstbuchverlage und Galerien (u. a. transkript, Verlag für Moderne Kunst, textem, The Green Box) tätig.
 
Gabi Schaffners künstlerische Praxis ist bestimmt von den Methoden der poetischen Ethnografie in Verbindung mit fluxusnahen Inszenierungen und Performances. Ein Großteil ihrer Arbeiten entsteht auf Reisen.

gabi schaffner © Mathias Deutsch Ein Stipendium der Kone Foundation in Helsinki ermöglichte die Recherchen für ihre fiktive Biografie über den Avantgarde-Komponisten Martti Mauri. „Otto Mötö. Im Universum der finnischen Motorenmusik“ gewann 2012 den Preis „Hörspiel des Monats“ der Akademie der Darstellenden Künste Berlin. Im gleichen Jahr gründete sie gemeinsam mit dem Berliner Künstlerradio reboot.fm das inzwischen international renommierte Radiokunstprojekt Datscha Radio.
 
Seit 2015 verwendet sie Mikro-UKW-Transmitter zur Schaffung lokaler Radiosphären. „Electric Fairy Grounds“ etwa, realisiert im April 2017 in Bogong, Australien, ist eine Klang- und Stimmencollage, die als mehrteiliges Hörspiel die Geschichte der Region aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und an verschiedenen Orten im Gelände erzählt. Hörbar gemacht wurde es über drei Mikrosendestationen, die mit Taschenradios in der Hand erwandert werden konnten.

Gabi Schaffner dokumentierte außerdem das Radiokunstfestival Radio Revolten 2016 in Halle in Bild und Text. Aktuell bereitet sie für Datscha Radio unter dem Titel „Plots & Prophecies“ ein Gartenradio-Festival vor, das vom 25. bis 29. August 2017 in Berlin stattfinden wird.
 
In der bangaloREsidency wird sie in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kollektiv Maraa eine Reihe ortsbezogener Radioarbeiten entwerfen, in denen Lokalität und individuelle Perspektive zu poetischen Streetperformances verknüpft werden. Die Tonaufnahmen dieser Auftritte werden als vielstimmige Mikro-UKW-Installation erneut hörbar gemacht und fließen in die Produktion einer 7“Single ein, deren Verwendung als DJing-Tool ausdrücklich erwünscht ist.

Parallel dazu verfolgt sie ihr Soundmapping zu angewandter Botanik und urbanen Gartengemeinschaften und stellt es gleichfalls Maraa’s Radiocommunity zur Verfügung.
 

Abschlussbericht

Knapp acht Wochen Indien, das klingt nach wenig und viel zugleich: Zu kurz um dieses riesige Land gründlich kennenzulernen und dennoch eine Zeit, die sich facettenartig auffächernd eine anwachsende Fülle täglicher Details einem ins Gehirn und in die Seele legt.

Gabi _ Augmented

Indiranagar war das Viertel in dem ich untergebracht war, und während es eindeutig zu den „besseren Gegenden“ zählte, unterschied es sich wesentlich von dem was man oder frau in Berlin darunter verstehen würde. Aber es unterschieden sich auch die Bäume, die Sounds, die Geschwindigkeit, der Glanz, die Farben, die Wegstrecken, die Düfte und die Sprachen. Eine der größten Überraschungen war, dass Bangalorianer untereinander meist Englisch sprechen. Indien hat über einhundert verschiedene Sprachen, und es ist eben nicht selbstverständlich, dass der nächste Mensch neben Dir auf der Straße aus dem gleichen Sprachraum stammt.
 
Ich war von dem Media und Arts- Kollektiv Maraa eingeladen worden, zu ihrem Projekt „I Live Here“ beizutragen. “I Live Here“ erforscht Zusammenhänge und Neudefinitionen von Identität, Gender, Sprache und Lokalität im urbanen Raum. Die Mitglieder des Kollektivs arbeiten situativ, als Performer*innen, Radiomacher*innen und als Veranstalter*innen von Konzerten und Happenings.
Ich fühlte mich also sofort sehr wohl mit Ekta und Angarika, Yashu, Ram und Anushi, doch gerade aufgrund der Vielschichtigkeit ihrer und meiner Tätigkeiten (auch: botanische Exkursionen) kam es ab und an auch zu geringfügigen Verwirrungen. Vielleicht ist es eine „typisch deutsche“ Eigenschaft, eine Idee geradewegs in Angriff zu nehmen, vielleicht ist es dies auch nicht.  Auf Wunsch von Maraa sollte ich im Rahmen von „I Live Here“ mit einer kleinen Gruppe von Student*innen (von Jura bis Kunst) zum Thema Sound und Identität arbeiten. Die gerade Linie ist jedoch in Indien nicht der kürzeste Weg. So hatte keine der TeilnehmerInnen bislang mit Aufnahmegeräten zu tun gehabt. Gauri Lankeshs Ermordung beschäftigte gerade die Öffentlichkeit, die Medien und auch die Gemüter meiner Student*Innen: Wir besuchten eine der extensiven Kundgebungen im College Park, machten Tonaufnahmen oder schrieben unsere Eindrücke nieder.

Gabi _ Megaphone

„The Megaphone Guerilla“, unsere poetische Straßenperformanceserie, stand im Lichte dieser neuen Texte und auch eines neuen, persönlichen Umgangs mit Öffentlichkeit. Ekta und ich kauften Megafone – eine hochinteressante Einkaufstour, das „Elektro-Viertel“ des Krishna-Markts! –, wir hatten anderthalb Termine für Proben und dann ging es gemeinsam mit unserer kleinen Gruppe auf zur ersten Metrostation (von insgesamt vier), um dort Sang und Klang unter die Leute zu bringen.

Gabi _ Gurukula

Zwischen all dem: Exkursion ins botanische Paradies von Gurukula in den Ghat Mountains der Provinz Kerala, also abenteuerliche Zugreisen, Busreisen und Jeeptransporte. Interviews zur hortikulturellen Szene in Bangalore mit Poonam Bir Kasturi von Daily Dump, Richard Gomes von Workbench-Project in Halasuru und Suresh Jayaram von der Galerie Shanthi Road.  Sowie eine Fahrt nach Tirur zu dem ayurvedischen Garten von Kottakal angelegentlich eines Selbstversuchs im Ghandian Health Hygene Home, das großen Wert auf Kokosmilchmassagen, Naturverbundenheit und Pflege des örtlichen Liedguts legt.

Gabi _ recording

In Indien: das Unmögliche wird einfach, das scheinbar Einfache wird sonderbar kompliziert: Über eine Woche dauerte es um einen Termin zu dem Besuch und ein Interview mit dem Direktor der Gärten zu bekommen – um zumindest festzustellen, dass eine Kommunikation über lateinische Pflanzennamen möglich ist: Nicht immer sprechen alle Menschen fließend English.

Noch während meines Aufenthalts im Kokoskuckucksheim begannen die Vorbereitungen für „Resounding Bangalore“, der für Ende Oktober geplanten Abschlussperformance. Komposition, Aktion, und Radio, alles in einem, als Location ein privates Heim (I live here!). Mehr oder weniger zeitgleich arbeitete ich an der Dokumentation unseres Megaphone Guerilla Walks, die dann auch pünktlich auf dem Tisch lag.

Gabi _ Zugfahren

Die bangaloResidency war eine ausgesprochen intensive Zeit... auch anderthalb Monate nach meiner Ankunft in Berlin klingen die Eindrücke noch nach. Die Zusammenarbeit mit maraa hat meine künstlerische Arbeit in großem Umfang bereichert. Von unschätzbaren Wert war da die Tatsache, dass Ekta, Angarika,  Yashu, Anushi und Ram über ein Netzwerk an Freundschaften und Kontakten verfügten, das eine einfache Reisende so schnell nie aufbauen könnte. Was immer ich benötigte: Sie hatten eine Idee zur Umsetzung und eine Telefonnummer. Vor allem hatten sie auch eine Registrierung bei den indischen Bus- und Bahngesellschaften, die nötig ist um Tickets online zu kaufen.
Weiterhin bin ich dem Goethe-Institut sehr dankbar für die exzellent organisierten Ausflüge und die Unterstützung durch die Buddies, in meinem Fall Nandita, die bei allen anderen organisatorischen Fragen für mich da war.

Gabi _ accident zone

Indien ist „augmented reality“, eine erweiterte Realität, die weit über das hinausgeht, was einem, auch als Künstlerin, sich sonst so in Mitteleuropa über die Sinne und Dimensionen einprägt. Ich bin dem Arts und Media Collective maraa und dem Goethe-Institut, darunter vor allem Maureen Gonsalves und Claus Heimes, für ihre Einladung außerordentlich dankbar und kann mir sehr gut noch spätere Kollaborationen vorstellen. Auf meinen Festplatten lagert Material für einige Radiosendungen und Kompositionen, vorerst jedoch kann man die Dokumentation „The Megaphone Guerilla“ auf academia.edu anschauen bzw herunterladen. Auch im Rahmen meines Berliner/internationalen Projekts Datscha Radio werden sich Beiträge und Interviews zu den Hortikulturen Indiens abrufen lassen.

Namasté!