Rachel Lee
bangaloREsident@MOD

Rachel Lee, bangaloREsident@MOD, who is based at the Habitat Unit of the TU Berlin, works at the interface between architectural and urban research, teaching, curating and art practice. She has been engaging with India’s historic built environment since 1998, when she surveyed Chemrey monastery in Ladakh. Rachel Lee Photo: Rachel Lee While always an important aspect of her interdisciplinary work, urban heritage has recently become its main focus.

Her current projects investigate curating and communicating heritage ‘from below’ in different cultural contexts, including Berlin and Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. 

Together with local actors and activists in Bangalore Rachel Lee will be working on an augmented reality heritage app during the residency. The app will use vintage photos of Bangalore to guide people through the city, providing historical insights and anecdotes, and an innovative way of engaging with the Garden City’s past.

Final Report

During the residency I was based at a very centrally located and simply, but comfortably, equipped apartment, and supported by my hosts Naresh Narasimhan and Anne-Katrin Fenk of MOD Institute. As well as providing accommodation, Naresh also gave me a workspace in his architecture office.
 
My 5-week stay in Bangalore was spent developing an augmented reality urban heritage app—Timescape Bangalore—with partners from the University of Liverpool, Centre for Public History at Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, and members of Bygone Bangalore. Together we created content for the app and improved its functionality. 
 
While challenging at times, particularly due to the time constraints of the residency and the busy schedules of all the partners, we succeeded in creating a very viable beta version of Timescape Bangalore, which we presented at the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan.

The residency enabled me to build on existing contacts in Bangalore that I had established during my PhD research in the city and transform them into collaborative partnerships. Although my stay was too short to complete a launchable version of the app, it gave me enough time to form a strong team of local partners that will be crucial for the next phase of the project.
 
In 2017 we plan to raise the funds needed to scale-up the project and dedicate full-time work to it. Aside from my project, I very much enjoyed and appreciated the other opportunities the Goethe-Institut gave me. These included getting to know the other residents and taking part in the organised events, such as Kris Merken’s moving theatre performance with Kirtana Kumar and Konarak Reddy. Another highlight was the trip to Kochi to visit the Biennale, which included guided tours of some of the exhibition sites and a meeting with the curators.

Rachel Lee
bangaloREsident@MOD

Rachel Lee, bangaloREsident@MOD, arbeitet an der Habitat Unit der TU Berlin an der Schnittstelle zwischen Architektur- und Stadtforschung, Lehre, Kuratieren und Kunstpraxis. Seit dem Jahr 1998, als sie das Chemrey Kloster in Ladakh mit einer Kommilitonin vermessen hat, beschäftigt sie sich mit Indiens gebauter Umwelt. Während es schon immer ein wichtiger Punkt ihrer Arbeit war, hat sie in der letzten Zeit einen besonderen Fokus auf urbanes Kulturerbe gelegt.

Aktuelle Projekte untersuchen die Möglichkeiten urbanes Kulturerbe ‘von unten‘ in verschiedene kulturelle Rachel Lee Foto: Rachel Lee Kontexte, einschließlich Berlin und Dar es Salam, Tansania, zu kuratieren und zu kommunizieren.
 
Gemeinsam mit lokalen Akteuren und Aktivisten in Bangalore wird sie während ihrer  Residency an einer Augmented Reality-App für urbanes Kulturerbe arbeiten. Diese App wird alte Fotos von Bangalore nutzen, um Menschen durch die Stadt zu führen. Dabei werden historische Einsichten und Anekdoten geliefert. Hierdurch wird dem Nutzer auf eine innovative Art angeboten, sich mit der Vergangenheit der Gartenstadt zu beschäftigen.
 

Abschlussbericht

Während der Residency war ich in einer sehr zentral gelegen und einfach, aber komfortabel ausgestattete Wohnung untergebracht, und von den Hosts Naresh Narasimhan und Anne-Katrin Fenk von MOD Institute unterstützt. Sowie die Bereitstellung von Unterkunft, Naresh gab mir auch einen Arbeitsplatz in seinem Architekturbüro.
 
Meine 5-wöchigen Aufenthalt in Bangalore verbrachte ich mit der Entwicklung einer erweiterten Realität städtischen Erbe-App—Timescape Bangalore— zusammen mit Partner*innen von der University of Liverpool, Centre for Public History at Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, und Mitglieder von Bygone Bangalore. Gemeinsam haben wir Inhalte für die App erstellt und ihre Funktionalität verbessert.
 
Obwohl die Arbeit zeitweise schwierig war, vor allem aufgrund der zeitlichen Zwänge der Residency und der vollen Terminkalender aller Partner*innen, ist es uns gelungen, eine sehr brauchbare Betaversion von Timescape Bangalore zu schaffen. Diese haben wir am Max Mueller Bhavan vorgestellt.
 
Die Residency ermöglichte mir, auf bestehende Kontakte in Bangalore aufzubauen, die ich während meiner Doktorarbeit in der Stadt gegründet hatte und die in kollaborative Partnerschaften zu verwandeln. Obwohl mein Aufenthalt zu kurz war, um eine startfähige Version der App abzuschließen, gab es genug Zeit, um ein starkes Team lokaler Partner zu bilden, das für die nächste Phase des Projekts entscheidend sein wird.
 
Im Jahr 2017 planen wir, die erforderlichen Mittel für die Erweiterung des Projekts zu schaffen und es Vollzeitarbeit zu widmen. Neben meinem Projekt habe ich die anderen Möglichkeiten des Goethe-Instituts sehr genossen und geschätzt. Dazu gehörten das Kennenlernen der anderen Residents und die Teilnahme an den vom Goethe Institut organisierten Veranstaltungen, wie Kris Merkens bewegende Theateraufführung mit Kirtana Kumar und Konarak Reddy.  Ein weiterer Höhepunkt war die Fahrt nach Kochi zur Besichtigung der Biennale mit Führungen einiger Ausstellungsorte und einem Treffen mit den Kuratoren.