Juliane Tübke
bangaloREsident@Pepper House

Juliane Tübke first studied African art history at the Free University Berlin and later Fine Arts at the University of Arts Berlin and the School of Visual Arts New York.

Juliane Tübke - Profile © Rosanna Graf In 2018, she completed her diploma in the class of Monica Bonvicini and received the President‘s Fine Arts Award for her show "tentare", which explored the idea that material can have agency. In the same year, she was artist-in-resident in Beirut supported by the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service). Further, she was selected to participate in the Liebermann Villa Emerging Artist Programme organised by the British Council, UK/Germany 2018.
 
tentare 
Her recent project “tentare” is a compilation of different photographs that reveal her attempts to develop a sense for stone as a material.
 
The word “tentare” (lat.) means both “to feel” and “to try”. The basis of these works is a type of paper, which is used in archaeology to assist in deciphering unearthed stone inscriptions. With the help of a special technique, she examines the qualities of different stony surfaces. But rather than focusing on the text, she prioritises the material itself as co-creator of the final image. "tentare" is thus an attempt to approach a material that appears to passively wait to be shaped by the human hand or to gain meaning through our intervention. How could one think of the material itself as an actor?
 
tentare - Kochi

After working mainly with photographic images, Juliane recently became interested in exploring architectural space and the body through sculpture. During her residency at Pepper House in Kochi, Juliane will develop a new project dealing with Kochi city’s architecture. After taking imprints of Kochi’s architectural surfaces, Juliane will incorporate them into a site-specific installation. These imprints carry the residue of human touch left over many years. What does it mean to be touched by a surrounding? How do these traces of memory speak to us and how do we speak to them?

This residency is organised with the generous support of Malabar Escapes.

Final Report

I arrived at Kochi airport on July 21, after spending an intensive orientation week with the bangaloREsidency team. The driver of the Kochi Biennale Foundation picked me up and we headed to Fort Kochi through a sudden bout of torrential rain. Later, I started setting up my studio at Pepper House - an old heritage building that is situated directly at the waterfront and is full of huge working spaces. From my studio window, I was able to observe the coming and going of immense container ships. Every week they seemed to disappear more and more behind the blue-grey fog which always appeared shortly before it started to rain.

KUMBALANGI

When the weather was good, I went on motorbike tours along Kochi’s coastline with a staff member from the Foundation. One day, early in the morning, we drove through Kumbalangi - a village located on the outskirts of Kochi amidst a network of lagoons, lakes and rivers. We stopped and walked along a narrow path to watch fishermen preparing for their day. The first person we met was Lalu, a banker from Mattancherry, who invited us to his house where he had lived with his family for several decades. His father used to work as a fisherman. Over the next week, we visited his family almost every day. We talked about the weather and had some fish from the farm right next to their house. Finally, I met Lalu’s mother Lakshmi. She told me more about how the village and its climate had changed over the last 50 years. Lakshmi also spoke about various buildings that we would pass every day on our way to her house and whose surfaces were heavily affected by the rain.

Juliane Tübke Papierabdruck Paper imprints drying on the facade of a building in Kumbalangi. | © Juliane Tübke Juliane Tübke paper imprints 2 A dried paper imprint peels away from the facade. | © Juliane Tübke WEATHERING

I started to think more about the weather and how it affects our lives and surroundings in general. Exactly one year ago, there was a big flood in the state of Kerala where Kochi is located. Consequently, the whole Foundation team began to monitor the movements of the clouds over Kerala and to follow the news closely for any signs of further floods. Due to its elevated location and geography, Kochi is usually spared the seasonal floods and this year was no exception.

The weather would be a predominant theme in the interviews I would conduct over subsequent weeks. I decided to work in Kumbalangi and talk to the people I met there. During my conversations, I was aided by Jith Joseph, who is a member of the Biennale Foundation and whose father also used to work as a fisherman. Naturally, without him translating, I wouldn't have been able to have these conversations. We often started the interviews with a chat about the weather but eventually ended up talking about something completely different. After each interview, I would also roam the small village for hours photographing my surroundings. The stories and photos would later feed ideas for a project that I plan to realise back in Germany. For this project, I am going to interweave my interview recordings and transcriptions with paper imprints of Kumbalangi's architectural surfaces. When creating these imprints, I was assisted by Antony Ajay, another member of the Biennale Foundation. Additionally, I decided to give myself an extra constraint and only use those buildings that Lakshmi had mentioned in our conversations.

Juliane Tübke installation views 1 Installation view of the open studio at Pepper House. | © Juliane Tübke Juliane Tübke installation views 2 Installation view of the open studio at Pepper House. | © Juliane Tübke PEPPER HOUSE

When the rain was too heavy, I spent a lot of time in my studio and started working with the architectural surfaces of Pepper House itself. The imprinting process revealed the tactile textures of the weathered surfaces which included traces of minor repairs. I then emphasised these surfaces by applying black pigments to the imprints. For the open days at the studio, I installed a selection of these paper wall imprints as well as floor imprints that I'd made from clay. I also presented my research material from Kumbalangi as part of the Let's Talk series on August 14th. While preparing for my talk, I came to the realisation that my stay in Kochi had a huge impact on my working process - an impact that I had previously underestimated. One of the strongest influences were the conversations with Lakshmi and Jith that were to significantly change my way of working over the ensuing weeks.

Juliane Tübke final presentation Presentation in the framework of the Let’s Talk Series organised by the Kochi Biennale Foundation | © Kochi Biennale Foundation Considering I only spent 4 weeks in Kochi, my time there was surprisingly productive. Thanks to the great support of the Goethe-Institut Bangalore and the Kochi Biennale Foundation, I was able to collect enough material to develop a new body of work in Berlin. This wouldn't have been possible without the excellent organisational skills of the bangaloREsidency team, who enabled us to have an inspiring and productive stay in India. Also, I'd like to thank all the staff of the Kochi Biennale Foundation, especially Jith Joseph and Antony Ajay, for their tremendous daily support and their endless energy. Last but not least, I want to thank Malabar House for their generous support in providing me with accommodation. Back home, I'm now hard at work developing my project and I'm looking forward to presenting the results of my research in Kochi next year.

Juliane Tübke
bangaloREsident@Pepper House

Juliane Tübke studierte zuerst afrikanische Kunstgeschichte an der Freien Universität Berlin bevor sie ein Kunststudium an der Universität der Künste Berlin und an der School of Visual Arts New York begann.

Juliane Tübke - Profil © Andreas Kroneder 2018 beendete sie ihr Studium als Meisterschülerin von Monica Bonvicini und erhielt daraufhin den Preis des Präsidenten für Meisterschüler und Meisterschülerinnnen der UdK für ihre Ausstellung tentare, die sich thematisch mit der Idee einer Wirkungskraft von scheinbar unbelebten Materialien befasste. Nachdem sie Im gleichen Jahr eine vom DAAD geförderte Künstlerresidenz in Beirut besuchte, wurde sie vom British Council eingeladen, am Lieberman Villa Emerging Artist Programme, UK Germany 2018 teilzunehmen.
 
tentare
Ihr Projekt tentare ist eine Zusammenstellung verschiedener Fotografien, die sich thematisch um den Versuch einer Annäherung an das Material Stein drehen.
 
„tentare“ (lat.) bedeutet „fühlen“ und „versuchen“ gleichermaßen. Die Grundlage dieser Arbeiten bildet ein Papier, das in der Archäologie verwendet wird, um gefundene Steininschriften zu entziffern. Mit Hilfe einer Abdrucktechnik untersucht sie die Qualitäten von Steinoberflächen und rückt somit nicht die Sprache, sondern das Material mit seiner eigenen gestalterischen Kraft in den Vordergrund. tentare ist damit der Versuch einer Annäherung an ein Material, das allgemeinhin nur darauf zu warten scheint, durch den Menschen geformt zu werden beziehungsweise durch ihn an Bedeutung zu gewinnen. Wie könnte man das Material selbst als Akteur denken?
 
tentare - Kochi 
Nachdem sie längere Zeit hauptsächlich mit fotografischen Verfahren gearbeitet hat, interessiert sich Juliane aktuell für die skulpturale Erkundung von architektonischen Räumen. Während ihrer Residenz im Pepper House wird sie ein neues Projekt entwickeln. Die von ihr angefertigten Abdrücke architektonischer Flächen in Kochi werden die Grundlage für eine ortsspezifische Installation bilden. Diese Abdrücke offenbaren Erinnerungsspuren, die sich in die Haut der Gebäude eingeschrieben haben. Was heißt es, von seiner Umgebung berührt zu werden? Wie sprechen diese Erinnerungsspuren zu uns, und wie sprechen wir zu ihnen?

Diese Residency wird großzügig von Malabar Escapes unterstützt.

Abschlussbericht

Ich erreichte den Flughafen von Kochi am 21. Juli, nachdem ich zusammen mit dem Team der bangaloREsidency eine intensive Orientierungswoche verbracht hatte. Abgeholt wurde ich von dem Fahrer der Kochi Biennale Foundation, mit dem ich schließlich anderthalb Stunden durch den plötzlich einsetzenden Regen nach Fort Kochi fuhr. Ich richtete mir in den kommenden Tagen ein Studio im Pepper House ein. Das alte denkmalgeschützte Gebäude liegt direkt am Wasser und verfügt über riesige Atelierräume. Von meinem Studio-Fenster aus konnte ich das Kommen und Gehen von riesigen Containerschiffen beobachten, die im Laufe der Wochen immer häufiger hinter einem blaugrauen Nebel verschwanden, kurz bevor sich die Regenwolken entleerten.

KUMBALANGI

Wenn es das Wetter zuließ, unternahm ich mit einem Mitarbeiter der Foundation Motorradtouren entlang der Küste von Kochi. Eines Tages fuhren wir frühmorgens durch Kumbalangi, ein Dorf inmitten der Backwaters. Wir hielten an und gingen einen schmalen Weg entlang, um Fischer bei ihren Arbeitsvorbereitungen zu beobachten. Die erste Person, der wir dort begegneten, war Lalu, ein Bänker aus Mattancherry, der uns schließlich in sein Haus einlud, in dem er mit seiner Familie seit einigen Jahrzehnten lebte. Sein Vater arbeitete früher als Fischer und berichtete uns aus seinem Leben in Kumbalangi. In den kommenden Tagen besuchten wir seine Familie immer häufiger, unterhielten uns und aßen gemeinsam Fisch. Schließlich traf ich auch Lakshmi, Lalus Mutter, und sie erzählte mir davon, wie sich der Ort Kumbalangi und das dortige Klima in den letzten 50 Jahren verändert hatten. Sie sprach auch von verschiedenen Gebäuden, die auf dem Weg zu ihrem Haus lagen, und deren Oberflächen stark vom Regen gezeichnet sind.

Juliane Tübke Papierabdruck Papierabdrücke trocknen an der Fassade eines Gebäudes in Kumbalangi. | © Juliane Tübke Juliane Tübke Papierabdrücke 2 Ein Papierabdruck löst sich von der Fassade. | © Juliane Tübke WEATHERING

Ich begann mich intensiver mit dem Wetter und seinen Auswirkungen zu beschäftigen. Vor genau einem Jahr ereignete sich eine verheerende Flut in Kerala. Das gesamte Team der Foundation verfolgte daher regelmäßig die Nachrichten und die Bewegungen der Wolken über Kerala. Kochi war auch in diesem Jahr weitgehend von Überschwemmungen verschont geblieben. Das Wetter wurde zu einem vorherrschenden Thema in den Interviews, die ich in den folgenden Wochen durchführte. Ich entschied mich dafür, in Kumbalangi zu arbeiten und mit den Leuten zu sprechen, die ich dort bei meinen ersten Besuchen getroffen hatte. Jith Joseph, ein Mitarbeiter der Biennale, dessen Vater lange Zeit als Fischer gearbeitet hatte, begleitete mich und half mir bei den Übersetzungen.

Ohne Jith wäre meine Arbeit in Kumbalangi nicht möglich gewesen. Nach jedem Interview streifte ich außerdem noch stundenlang durch den kleinen Ort und fotografierte meine Umgebung. Die auf diese Weise entstandene Fotoserie bildet - zusammen mit den Aufzeichnungen der Gespräche - die Basis für mein neues Projekt, das ich in Berlin umsetzen möchte. Für dieses Projekt werde ich die Transkriptionen der Interviews mit Papierabdrücken von ausgewählten architektonischen Flächen in Kumbalangi verschränken. Für das Abdruckverfahren, bei dem mich Antony Ajay unterstützte, habe ich nur die Gebäude ausgewählt, die in den Unterhaltungen mit Lakshmi erwähnt wurden.

Juliane Tübke Installationsansichten 1 Installationsansicht vom open studio im Pepper House. | © Juliane Tübke Juliane Tübke Installationsansichten 2 Installationsansicht vom open studio im Pepper House. | © Juliane Tübke PEPPER HOUSE

Wenn der Regen zu stark war, verbrachte ich viel Zeit im Studio und begann auch dort mit den architektonischen Flächen des Gebäudes zu arbeiten. Auch hier trugen die Flächen starke Verwitterungsspuren, die sich in Verbindung mit kleineren Ausbesserungsarbeiten zu zeichenhaften Kompostionen formierten. Während der open studios zeigte ich bearbeitete Wand- und Bodenabdrücke, die ich als Materialstudien im Pepper House angefertigt hatte. Am 14. August präsentierte ich außerdem mein Recherchematerial aus Kumbalangi im Rahmen der Let’s Talk Reihe. Während der Vorbereitungen für meine Präsentation realisierte ich, was für einen großen Einfluss mein Aufenthalt in Kochi auf meinen Arbeitsprozess hatte. Vor allem die Gespräche mit Leuten aus Kumbalangi und den Mitarbeitern der Biennale, hatten meine Arbeitsweise deutlich verändert.

Juliane Tübke Abschlusspräsentation Präsentation im Rahmen der ‚Let’s Talk’ Reihe der Kochi Biennale Foundation. | © Kochi Biennale Foundation Die 4 Wochen in Kochi waren für mich überraschend produktiv. Durch die große Unterstützung von Seiten des Goethe Instituts Bangalore und der Kochi Biennale Foundation, konnte ich in einer relativ kurzen Zeitspanne ausreichend Material sammeln, um daraus in Berlin einen neuen Werkkomplex zu entwickeln. Das wäre nicht möglich gewesen, ohne die hervorragende Organisationsleistung von Seiten des Teams der bangaloREsidency, das selbst den Leuten, die das erste Mal in Indien arbeiteten, einen inspirierenden und produktiven Aufenthalt ermöglicht hat. Ganz besonders danke ich auch den Mitarbeitern der Kochi Biennale Foundation - vor allem Jith Joseph und Antony Ajay - für ihre tägliche Unterstützung und endlose Energie. Ich freue mich sehr darauf, im nächsten Jahr nach Kochi zurückzukehren, und dort die Ergebnisse meiner Recherche zu präsentieren.