Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Marx Now© DanMohr / yesisaid.com

Marx Now

What is still interesting about Karl Marx 200 years after his birth? Why do people on both sides of the Atlantic read the works of this old philosopher of economics? And what can we learn from Marx today?
  
The Goethe-Institut in North America asked around for interesting perspectives on Marx and came across all sorts of things worth seeing and hearing. We asked public figures in science, politics and culture to read their favorite Marx texts, select the best Marx films and put together a playlist of revolutionary music. Rediscover Karl Marx with us and join the discussion!


Experts Read Marx

For “Reading Marx/Marx Lesen”, the Goethe-Institut has asked people in various cities in North America and Germany to select and read short quotations from Marx and to explain why these texts are still relevant today. The result is a kaleidoscope of voices that raise the key issues of our time and seek their solutions. We were surprised ourselves by what Marx has to say!


Films on Marx

Films on Marx

The oeuvre of films on Karl Marx is fairly accessible and easy to bundle into a series. It encompasses numerous feature films and documentaries that merely reference Marx or that focus solely on him.

Film list


Multimedia experience “Dictionary of Marx”

On May 5th, 2018, Marx’s 200th birthday, the one-time-only multimedia experience, Dictionary of Marx, gave the chance to reencounter the work of the German economic philosopher Karl Marx. A dozen of Washington, DC’s most engaging presenter-performers came together at the Capital Fringe Theatre responding to key words from the Marxist lexicon in a series of artistic interpretations. From theater performances to musical works and from film to poetry, Dictionary of Marx explored these economic theories from today’s perspective. The viewer also had the chance to engage directly, whether in a creative writing workshop, a game of Anti-Monopoly, or a philosophic discussion at the bar.

Presented as part of the Goethe-Institut’s international series Marx Now, Dictionary of Marx was curated by John Feffer, novelist, playwright, and director of Foreign Policy In Focus at the Institute for Policy Studies.

You can find the respective performance at the indicated time code:
Alienation, Regie Cabico (00:01:08)
History, Vanessa Wills (00:09:47)
Human Rights, Vincent Thomas (00:17:42)
Labor, Creative Feds (Erica Ginsberg & Leon Gerskovic; not recorded)
Materialism, Natalia Gleason-Nagy (00:29:18)
Private Property, Sami Miranda (00:37:56)
Proletariat, Joe Uehlein (00:49:06)
Resistance, Nu Sass Productions (Mary Myers; 01:05:49)
Revolution, Edgar Endress (01:20:57)
Socialism, Michael Kazin (01:30:37)
Utopia, Tanya Paperny (01:39:38)
Workers, Kiley Kraskouskas (Not Recorded)

Musicians for the event
Elena & Los Fulanos
Magpie
Maykas


Revolution in Music


New Texts on Marx

The Goethe-Institut in North America is not alone in commemorating Marx’s 200th birthday – the anniversary has motivated a discussion of Marx and his theories on many levels among the Goethe-Institut wolrldwide. Here you will find a selection of articles on this topic.


Marx Now on Social Media


Our Partners

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Marx Now© DanMohr / yesisaid.com

Marx Now

Was ist an Karl Marx auch 200 Jahre nach seiner Geburt interessant? Warum lesen Menschen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks den alten Wirtschaftsphilosophen? Und was können wir heute von Marx lernen?
  
Das Goethe-Institut in Nordamerika hat sich umgehört nach interessanten Stimmen zu Marx und ist dabei auf allerhand Sehens- und Hörenswertes gestoßen. Wir haben Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Kultur gebeten, ihren Marx zu lesen, die besten Marx-Filme ausgewählt sowie eine Playlist mit revolutionärer Musik zusammengestellt. Entdeckt gemeinsam mit uns den alten Marx neu und diskutiert mit!


Marx vorgelesen

Für „Marx lesen/Reading Marx“ hat das Goethe-Institut Persönlichkeiten in verschiedenen Städten in Nordamerika und Deutschland gebeten, kurze Marx-Zitate auszuwählen, zu lesen und zu erläutern, warum diese Texte noch heute relevant sind. Entstanden ist ein Kaleidoskop unterschiedlicher Stimmen, die die wichtigsten Fragen unserer Zeit aufwerfen und Lösungen suchen. Wir sind selbst überrascht, was uns Marx zu sagen hat!


Marx im Film

Marx im Film

Das Oeuvre von Filmen zu Karl Marx ist sehr überschaubar und gut in einem Filmprogramm zu bündeln. Neben mehreren eher biographischen Spielfilmen gibt es auch einige Dokumentarfilme, die direkt oder indirekt auf Marx Bezug nehmen.

Zur Filmliste


Multimediales Spektakel „Dictionary of Marx“

Am 5. Mai – Marx‘ 200. Geburtstag – gab es die einmalige Gelegenheit, den deutschen Wirtschaftsphilosophen Karl Marx in einem multimedialen Spektakel Dictionary of Marx neu zu interpretieren. Ein Dutzend herausragender lokaler Künstler und Experten setzten in den verschiedenen Räumen und der Bar des Capital Fringe Theaters – sowie bei gutem Wetter auch in den Außenräumen – Schlüsselbegriffe aus dem marxistischen Lexikon auf unterschiedlichste Weise künstlerisch um. Kleine Theateraufführungen wechselten sich ab mit musikalischen Darbietungen, Poesie und Film. Zudem gab es für die Besucher die Gelegenheit, selbst kreativ zu werden in unserem Creative-Writing-Workshop, im philosophischen Gespräch an der Bar oder im Anti-Monopoly Spiel.

Das Programm war Teil der vom Goethe-Institut organisierten Serie Marx Now und wurde kuratiert von John Feffer, Autor und Director of Foreign Policy In Focus beim Institute for Policy Studies.

Die einzelnen Performances können Sie an den angegebenen Timecodes finden:
Alienation, Regie Cabico (00:01:08)
History, Vanessa Wills (00:09:47)
Human Rights, Vincent Thomas (00:17:42)
Labor, Creative Feds (Erica Ginsberg & Leon Gerskovic; nicht aufgenommen)
Materialism, Natalia Gleason-Nagy (00:29:18)
Private Property, Sami Miranda (00:37:56)
Proletariat, Joe Uehlein (00:49:06)
Resistance, Nu Sass Productions (Mary Myers; 01:05:49)
Revolution, Edgar Endress (01:20:57)
Socialism, Michael Kazin (01:30:37)
Utopia, Tanya Paperny (01:39:38)
Workers, Kiley Kraskouskas (nicht aufgenommen)

Musiker des Events 
Elena & Los Fulanos
Magpie
Maykas


Revolution in Songs


Marx in neuen Texten

Marx's 200. Geburtstag wird nicht nur vom Goethe-Institut in Nordamerika gefeiert – das Jubiläum ist Anlass für eine Auseinandersetzung mit Marx und seinen Thesen auf vielen Ebenen in Goethe-Instituten in der ganzen Welt. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl von Artikeln zum Thema.


Marx Now in sozialen Medien


Unsere Partner

Top