Queer as German Folk

Queer as German Folk - DC Queer as German Folk - DC

About

The project "Queer as German Folk" takes the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Uprisings as an occasion to examine the current status of the gender diversity discourse on the basis of the history of the Queer Movement. It focuses in particular on the German LGBTQI* movements generated by the respective civil societies. It is also intended to correct historical perspectives and to question a traditional cis-male narrative.

In the participating Goethe-Instituts in Montreal, Toronto, Chicago, New York, Washington, San Francisco and Mexico City, as well as the Goethe-Zentrum Guadalajara, the centerpiece of the commemorative event series is an exhibition developed in collaboration with the Schwules Museum, Berlin. With approx. 100 objects, it is intended to create a space of experience that allows visitors to learn about the history and present of movement.

In Chicago the exhibition will be shown in three parts and neighborhoods: on the Southside at the Packingtown Museum at The Plant in Back of the Yards, in the Loop at the Goethe-Institut Chicago, on the Northside at the Leather Archives and Museum in Edgewater.
Further components of the project in Chicago are:

  • The film series Queer as German Folk, celebrating the 35th anniversary of Edition Salzgeber, one of the most important LGBTQI* film distributers in Germany, at Chicago Filmmakers/Reeling in Andersonville.
  • A website to provide background information, documentation of the exhibition stations the video series Stonewall moments,
  • Spotify playlist.

EVENTS

Demonstration gegen § 218, Westberlin, um 1974 © Anke-Rixa Hansen (Vedant).

June 1 - 28, Multiple Venues
EXHIBITION: Queer as German Folk

Playful, committed and colorful like the queer movement itself: Documents and archive materials become objects that form ordered or anarchic installations and invite the public to interact.
 

Mapping Queer Chicago Mapping Queer Chicago

Online Map
Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present

Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present looks to the past and the present to contextualize Chicago as a city with a rich queer history. It aims to decentralize queer history beyond the established queer enclaves of “Boystown” and position it with the Latinx and Black queer experience in the city of Chicago.

Taxi zum Klo © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, June 07, 7 PM | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: Taxi zum Klo

Taxi zum Klo war in den 80er Jahren der erste "Schwulenfilm", in dem das homosexuelle Leben als „normal“ dargestellt wurde - nicht weil es sozial akzeptabel geworden war, sondern weil es den Protagonisten nicht um Repression und sanktionierte Moral ging.

Free Fall © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, June 14, 7 PM | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: Freier Fall

Freier Fall (Free Fall) is a film, which can be seen as a sign that emancipation has come a long way in this culture of origin. Two police academy students fall in love, one of them while in the midst of nest building with his pregnant girlfriend.

Seventeen © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, June 21, 7 PM | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: Siebzehn

Siebzehn (Seventeen) is a high school genre film with girls flirting and on-screen messaging. Sensitive inner lives of emancipated young women in their Central European habitat.

Prinz in Hölleland © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, June 28, 7 PM | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: PRINZ IN HÖLLELAND

The fall of the Wall tore West Berlin out of its post-punk slumber, in which at least part of the alternative scene had wrapped themselves up together like in a vulture’s nest right next to the wall. Deprived of this protection, the subculture must reorient itself: a haunting snapshot unfolds of an anarchic gay reality that is irretrievably lost.

Curators

Birgit Bosold has been a member of the Schwules Museum Berlin Board of Directors since 2006. She was instrumental in the strategic reorientation of the Schwules Museum also by means of (co-)curating exhibitions. She was project manager and co-curator of the exhibition "Homosexuality_en", which was initiated by the Schwules Museum* and shown in cooperation with the Deutschen Historischen Museum. Most recently, together with Vera Hofmann, she was project manager for the Jahr der Frau_en - a queer feminist annual program of the Gay Museum for 2018.

Carina Klugbauer is a research assistant at the Schwules Museum Berlin. In 2017 she was involved in the conception and curating of the travelling exhibition "Unverschämt" (shameless) on the persecution and discrimination of lesbian women and gay men in Hesse. In 2018, together with Birgit Bosold, she curated the queer art exhibition "Lesbisches Sehen" for the annual program Jahr der Frau_en.

 

Partners

Queer as German Folk is a project of the Goethe-Institutes in North America in cooperation with the Schwules Museum, Berlin, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

QAGF Partner © Goethe-Institut, SMU, BPB With support of the following local partners:

QAGF Partner Lokal © Goethe-Institut

Queer as German Folk

Queer as German Folk - DC Queer as German Folk - DC

Über das Projekt

Das Projekt "Queer as German Folk" nimmt den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall Uprisings zum Anlass, den aktuellen Stand des Gender Diversity Diskurses anhand der Geschichte des Queer Movement zu untersuchen. „Queer as German Folk“ konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die deutschen LGBTQI*-Bewegungen und wie sie von den jeweiligen Zivilgesellschaften beeinflusst werden. Es geht auch darum, historische Perspektiven zu korrigieren und ein traditionelles cis-männliches Narrativ zu hinterfragen.

In den beteiligten Goethe-Instituten in Montreal, Toronto, Chicago, New York, Washington, San Francisco und Mexico City, sowie im Goethe-Zentrum Guadalajara, steht die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Schwulen Museum entwickelte Ausstellung im Mittelpunkt der Veranstaltungen. Mit ca. 100 Objekten soll ein Erlebnisraum geschaffen werden, der es den Besuchern ermöglicht, die Geschichte und Gegenwart der Bewegung kennenzulernen.

In Chicago wird die Ausstellung in drei Teilen und drei Stadtteilen gezeigt: im Süden im Packingtown Museum im The Plant in der Back of the Yards Nachbarschaft, im Loop im Goethe-Institut Chicago und im Norden im Leather Archives and Museum in Edgewater.
Weitere Bestandteile des Projekts in Chicago sind:

  • Die Filmreihe Queer as German Folk, anlässlich des 35-jährigen Jubiläums der Edition Salzgeber, einem der wichtigsten LGBTQI*-Filmverleiher in Deutschland, werden an allen Freitagen im Juni vier Filme bei Chicago Filmmakers / Reeling Film Festival in Andersonville gezeigt.
  • Eine Website mit Hintergrundinformationen, Dokumentation der Ausstellungsstationen und der Video-Serie Stonewall Moments.
  • Eine Spotify Musiksammlung

Veranstaltungen

Demonstration gegen § 218, Westberlin, um 1974 © Anke-Rixa Hansen (Vedant).

1. - 28. Juni, Verschiedene Orte
AUSSTELLUNG: Queer as German Folk

Spielerisch, engagiert und bunt wie die Queer-Bewegung selbst: Dokumente und Archivalien werden  zu Objekten, die sich zu geordneten oder anarchischen Installationen formieren und das Publikum zur Interaktion auffordern.

Mapping Queer Chicago Mapping Queer Chicago

Online Karte
Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present

Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present blickt auf die Vergangenheit und die Gegenwart und  kontextualisiert Chicago als eine Stadt mit einer reichen queeren Geschichte. Es zielt darauf ab, diese Geschichte jenseits der etablierten queeren Enklaven von "Boystown" hinaus zu dezentralisieren und die Latinx- und Black-Queer-Erfahrungen in der Stadt Chicago zu positionieren.

Taxi zum Klo © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, 07. Juni, 19 Uhr | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: Taxi zum Klo

Taxi zum Klo of 1980, is the first “gay movie” in which gay life is shown as normality — not because it has become socially acceptable, but because the protagonists are not concerned with repression and sanctioned morality.

Freier Fall © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, 14. Juni, 19 Uhr | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: Freier Fall

Freier Fall ist ein Film, der als Zeichen verstanden werden kann, dass Emanzipation in der deutschen Gesellschaft einen langen Weg zurückgelegt hat. Zwei Studenten der Polizeiakademie verlieben sich, einer von ihnen mitten im „Nestbau“ mit seiner schwangeren Freundin.

Siebzehn © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, 21. Juni, 19 Uhr | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: Siebzehn

Siebzehn ist ein Genrefilm mit Mädchenflirt und On-Screen-Messaging der das sensible Innenleben emanzipierter junger Frauen in ihrem mitteleuropäischen Lebensraum zeigt.

Prinz in Hölleland © Edition Salzgeber

Fri, 28. Juni, 19 Uhr | Chicago Filmmakers
FILM: PRINZ IN HÖLLELAND

Der Mauerfall riss West-Berlin aus seinem Post-Punk-Schlummer, in den sich ein Teil der alternativen Szene eingewickelt hatte. Ohne diesen Schutz muss sich die Subkultur neu orientieren: es entfaltet sich eine eindringliche Momentaufnahme einer anarchischen schwulen Realität, die unwiederbringlich verloren geht.

Kuratorinnen

Birgit Bosold ist seit 2006 Mitglied des Vorstands des Schwulen Museums und war maßgeblich an der strategischen Neuorientierung des Schwulen Museums beteiligt u.a. auch mit von ihr (co-) kuratierten Ausstellungen. Sie war Projektleiterin und Co-Kuratorin der Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“, die vom Schwulen Museum* initiiert in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Historischen Museum gezeigt wurde. Zuletzt war sie zusammen mit Vera Hofmann Projektleiterin für das Jahr der Frau_en - ein queerfeministisches Jahresprogramm des Schwulen Museums für 2018.

Carina Klugbauer ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Schwulen Museum Berlin. 2017 war sie an der Konzeption und Kuratierung die Wanderausstellung „Unverschämt“ zur Verfolgung und Diskriminierung von lesbischen Frauen und schwulen Männern in Hessen beteiligt. 2018 kuratierte sie für das Jahresprogramm Jahr der Frau_en zusammen mit Birgit Bosold die queere Kunstausstellung „Lesbisches Sehen“.
 

Partner

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

QAGF Partner © Goethe-Institut, SMU, BPB Mit Unterstützung von folgenden lokalen Partnern:

QAGF Partner Lokal © Goethe-Institut