Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Logo of the project Europe's kitchenFigure: © Daniela Burger

Hospitality beyond borders
Europe’s Kitchen

What happens to ideas of Europe, togetherness and sharing when considered from the vantage point of the kitchen? Find out! Step into Europe’s Kitchen


Stations of Europe`s Kitchen

What happens when we invite artists and strangers to one table? In these 11 countries physical or virtual encounters will take place in private, public or metaphorical kitchens.


Bloggers

These three bloggers will accompany Europe`s Kitchen throughout the year. Their contributions will be available here.

Marie Detjen © Marie Detjen

Blogger
Marie Detjen

Marie Detjen lives in Berlin and London. Her passion for Henry James and the German Civil Code lead her to pursue a law degree next to her studies in social science and literature. When she’s not in university, she works as an assistant editor for Verfassungsblog, writes fiction, and plays the piano.

Mohammed Z. Rahman © STEP

Blogger
Mohammed Z. Rahman

Mohammed Z. Rahman is a writer, visual artist and keen cook based in London. He has a BA in Social Anthropology and worked on projects with Tate Modern and the Smithsonian Institute. Mohammed’s short fiction and art inescapably gravitate towards images of food as a foundation of community and self. More recently he has gained experience catering for small events with Queer Masala, a community kitchen for Queer people of colour.

Mandula van den Berg © Marianne Hommersom

Blogger
Mandula van den Berg

Mandula van den Berg is Dutch/Hungarian, and grew up in Amsterdam before moving to Berlin. She mostly writes literary non-fiction and paints, but is also part of the Oorzaken Podcast Academy 2020. Mandula is interested in (Visual) Anthropology, Everyday Life History and Literature, with a focus on Central and Eastern Europe. Right now, she is working on a project about Socialist cowboys in East Germany which she has written about for ZEIT Online.

“Europe’s Kitchen” is a project by the Goethe-Institut, supported with special funds from the Federal Foreign Office for the German EU Council Presidency 2020.
Hellgrünes Logo des Goethe-Instituts auf weißem Grund Logo EU 2020

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Logo des Projekts EuropakücheIllustration: © Daniela Burger

Gastfreundschaft über Grenzen hinweg
Europaküche

​Was passiert mit unseren Vorstellungen von Europa, Gemeinschaft und Teilhabe, wenn wir sie aus dem Blickwinkel der Küche betrachten? Finde es heraus! Willkommen bei der Europaküche.


Stationen der Europaküche

Was passiert, wenn wir Künstler*innen und Fremde an einen Tisch einladen? In diesen 11 Ländern werden physische oder virtuelle Begegnungen in privaten, öffentlichen oder metaphorischen Küchen stattfinden.


Blogger*innen

Diese drei Blogger*innen werden die Europaküche an den verschiedenen Standorten begleiten. Die einzelnen Beiträge werden hier zu lesen sein.

Marie Detjen © Marie Detjen

Bloggerin
Marie Detjen

Marie Detjen lebt in Berlin und London. Ihre Leidenschaft für Henry James und das deutsche Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch führten dazu, dass sie neben ihrem Studium der Sozial- und Literaturwissenschaften auch ein Jurastudium zu absolviert. Wenn sie nicht an der Universität ist, arbeitet sie als Redaktionsassistentin für Verfassungsblog, schreibt Belletristik und spielt Klavier.

Mohammed Z. Rahman © STEP

Blogger
Mohammed Z. Rahman

Mohammed Z. Rahman ist Schriftsteller, bildender Künstler, begeisterter Koch und lebt in London. Er hat einen Abschluss in Sozialanthropologie und war bereits an Projekten von Tate Modern und dem Smithsonian Institute beteiligt. Mohammeds Kurzgeschichten und Kunst drehen sich unausweichlich um Nahrung als Grundlage von Gemeinschaft und Selbst. In letzter Zeit sammelte er Erfahrungen im Catering für kleine Veranstaltungen mit Queer Masala, einer Gemeinschaftsküche für Queer People of Colour.

Mandula van den Berg © Marianne Hommersom

Bloggerin
Mandula van den Berg

Mandula van den Berg ist Niederländerin/Ungarin, in Amsterdam aufgewachsen und lebt in Berlin. Sie schreibt hauptsächlich literarische Sachtexte und zeichnet, ist aber auch Teil der Oorzaken Podcast Academy 2020. Mandula interessiert sich für (visuelle) Anthropologie, Alltagsgeschichte und Literatur mit Schwerpunkt auf Mittel- und Osteuropa. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an einem Projekt über sozialistische Cowboys in Ostdeutschland, über das sie für ZEIT Online schreibt.

Die „Europaküche“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert mit Sondermitteln des Auswärtigen Amts zur deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2020. 
Hellgrünes Logo des Goethe-Instituts auf weißem Grund Logo EU 2020

Top