Eduardo da Conceição
bangaloREsident@Sandbox Collective

Eduardo da Conceição (b. 1983, Barquisimeto, Venezuela) is a Portuguese architect and artist, based in Berlin. He studied at EUAC (Escola Universitária das Artes de Coimbra), dARQ (departamento de Arquitectura, Universidade de Coimbra) in Portugal and at RWTH Aachen, Germany.

From early on, Eduardo's understanding of architecture has been inspired by his interest in the arts. In his work he blends elements of architecture, design and performance, creating interactive situations that challenge the relationships between people and space. Drawing on temporary architecture, exhibition design, installation, illustration and scenography, he is constantly searching for new opportunities to further explore the roles that art can play in different contexts. Eduardo's creations take the shape of living platforms which invite people to take part, explore and play, questioning ideas of the traditional gallery or museum space. The result is a scenographic body of work where fiction and reality converge and people are driven to think and move beyond their daily habits.

Work 01 - Casa do Vapor:

For the project Casa do Vapor, Eduardo was involved in the design of a temporary community house, situated in Cova do Vapor, a small fishermen settlement on the river Tejo estuary near Lisbon. It was built collaboratively with the inhabitants of Cova do Vapor and a group of young Portuguese and internationals. For the space of six months, from April to October 2013, the Casa was conceived as a meeting point for people with varied backgrounds and knowledge. As a local hub it served as a political forum and place for critical dialogue about the ongoing territorial development, offered space for various workshops about local knowledge, a self initiated public library and the “cozinha do vapor”, a popular kitchen project. The activities were all co-ordinated by the citizens of Cova do Vapor and the international residents.

Work 02 – Nebulosa  Eduardo Profil Photo: Annika Weinthal

Nebulosa was a collaborative in situ performance staged in old ruins in the North Portuguese mountains. Conceived as a loose series of events, the performers were asked to respond to the space and the events. In the ensuing performance, their play, their bodies and the landscape blended into one another, transforming the environment into something new. Nebulosa can be seen as a space experiment, a game with light, a body challenge, using a given location to create an original piece of art.
In Bangalore, Eduardo will collaborate with Sandbox Collective to realise two main works, the Portable Museum and The Generator. Both concepts aim to break down boundaries between the artist and the spectator, the exhibition space or stage and our everyday environment. 

The Portable Museum relates to André Malraux "imaginary museum", as well as to the original form of the museum, the "cabinet de curiosité". It is conceived as a movable exhibition space that opens itself to the streets of Bangalore, curated by the inhabitants of the city. Each participant is asked to give or create an object piece for the museum, which represents their individual experience of urban life. In combination with the objects of other participants, a unique, locally generated and diverse image of Bangalore will be created, showing hidden aspects of Bangalore's complex character.

The Generator is a one-man performance theatre, which works with the idea of portable "prostheses“ for public space, fixed spatial corrections that temporarily change our known environment. With the help of The Generator the body of one actor will transform into an object that enters everyday places. By disrupting and altering familiar spaces and settled habits, an atmosphere of communication and exchange is instigated. Using the concept of the "open end game" by Friedrich Fröbel, German creator of the kindergarten, younger spectators will also be encouraged to engage in this spectacle that blurs the lines between dream and reality, the everyday and the stage.

Eduardo da Conceição
bangaloREsident@Sandbox Collective

Eduardo da Conceição (geb. 1983, Barquisimeto, Venezuela) ist ein portugiesischer Architekt und Künstler, der in Berlin lebt. Nach seinem Studium in Portugal an der EUAC (Escola Universitária das Artes de Coimbra) und im dARQ (departamento de Arquitectura, Universidade de Coimbra), setzte er seine Ausbildung an der RWTH Aachen fort.

Eduardos Verständnis von Architektur wurde von Anfang an von seinem künstlerischen Interesse beeinflusst. In seinen Arbeiten entnimmt er Elemente aus Architektur, Design und Performance, um interaktive Situationen herzustellen, die die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Raum in Frage stellen. Auf der Suche nach der Rolle, die Kunst in verschiedenen Situationen spielen kann, vermischt Eduardo Aspekte der zeitgenössischen Architektur, Ausstellungsdesign, Installationskunst, Illustration und Szenografie. Seine Arbeiten hinterfragen unsere Vorstellungen von Ausstellungsräumen und Museen, sie fungieren als lebendige Plattformen, die die Leute dazu einladen, teilzunehmen, zu erkunden und zu spielen. Das Ergebnis ist ein szenografisch angehauchtes Portfolio, dessen Einzelwerke immer wieder Fiktion und Realität verschwimmen lassen und die Leute dazu anregen, sich mit Fragen auseinander zu setzen und aus täglichen Gewohnheiten auszubrechen.

Arbeit 01 – Casa do Vapor

Für das Projekt Casa do Vapor hat Eduardo zusammen mit anderen ein temporäres Gemeindehaus entworfen, das in Cova do Vapor, einem kleinen Fischerdorf an der Mündung des Tejo in der Nähe von Lissabon, errichtet wurde. Zusammen mit den Einwohnern von Cova do Vapor und einer Gruppe portugiesischer und internationaler Teilnehmender, wurde das Haus gebaut und von April bis Oktober 2013 gemeinsam genutzt. Als lokaler Treffpunkt für Leute aller Art bot es Raum für politische Diskussionen und die Auseinandersetzung mit örtlichen Entwicklungen, örtlich verankerte Workshops, eine selbst initiierte Bücherei und die “cosinha do vapor”, ein Volksküchenprojekt. Die Aktivitäten wurden alle von den Einwohnern Cova do Vapors und den internationalen Bewohnern gestaltet.
 

Arbeit 02 – Nebulosa Eduardo Profil Foto: Annika Weinthal

Nebulosa war eine kollaborative in-situ-Performance, die in, in den
nordportugiesischen Bergen gelegenen, Ruinen durchgeführt wurde. Konzipiert als Serie lose miteinander verbundener Ereignisse, wurden die Performance-Künstler gebeten, in ihrem Spiel spontan auf die Umgebung und die skizzierten Szenen zu reagieren. In der sich daraus entwickelnden Performance vermischten sich ihr Spiel, ihre Körper und die Landschaft zu einer neuen Entität. Nebulosa kann als Raumexperiment, als Lichtspiel oder als Herausforderung des Körpers gesehen werden.
 
In Bangalore wird Eduardo mit dem dort ansässigen Sandbox Collective kollaborieren, um zwei wesentliche Werke zu realisieren, das Portable-Museum und The Generator. Beide Konzepte zielen darauf ab, die Trennung zwischen Künstler und Betrachter, Ausstellungsraum/Bühne und alltäglicher Umgebung aufzubrechen.
 
Das Portable-Museum bezieht sich auf André Malraux Idee des “imaginären Museums” und die Ursprungsform des Museums, dem “cabinet de curiosité”. Es soll als mobiler Ausstellungsraum fungieren, der sich den Straßen Bangalores öffnet und von den Einwohnern der Stadt kuratiert wird. Jeder Teilnehmende wird gebeten, ein Objekt für das Museum zu entwerfen, das die eigene Erfahrung des Stadtlebens widerspiegelt. Kombiniert mit den Objekten anderer Teilnehmender entsteht so ein einzigartiges, vor Ort generiertes, facettenreiches Bild von Bangalore, das verborgene Aspekte des komplexen Charakters der Stadt aufzeigt.
 
The Generator ist ein ein-Mann-Performance-Theater, das mit der Idee von portablen “Prothesen” für den öffentlichen Raum spielt, mit räumlichen Korrektiven, die kurzfristig die uns bekannte Umgebung verändern. Mit Hilfe des Generators wird der Körper eines Schauspielenden in ein Objekt verwandelt, das den öffentlichen Raum durchschreitet. Durch die Störung und Veränderung bekannter Orte und Angewohnheiten, werden Diskussionen und die Auseinandersetzung mit vorhandenen Vorstellungen und Räumen angeregt. Inspiriert durch das “open end game”-Konzept von Friedrich Fröbel – Erfinder des Kindergartens –, wird auch jungen Zuschauern die Teilnahme an diesem Spektakel, das Traum und Wirklichkeit, Alltag und Bühne vermischt, ermöglicht.

Abschlussbericht