Kerstin Godschalk
bangaloREsident@Forager Collective

Kerstin Godschalk is a critic, curator and cultural manager based in Berlin. Since 2014 she is Artistic Director at HB55 Kunstfabrik, a 7000 sq. m. creative hub housing over 200 artists and creative producers. On 600 sq. m. she organises exhibitions and cultural events with the local tenants.
 
Inspired by H. Lefebvre’s vision of human space as a product of ociety always contested by interactions, she collects emerging viewpoints under the framework of “L’espace de l’espèce”. Cutting through established art disciplines, viewing habits and approaches, she opens up multimedia spaces for interdisciplinary encounter and interactions speaking to all senses. By moulding control structures, new pathways are shaped for the reflection on existing and the creation of new social realities.
 
During her studies in Cultural Sciences her focus lay on art sociologist approaches. Her research led her to live and study in Argentina. With Andreas Siekmann, Alice Creischer and Max Jorge Hinderer she then worked first as an intern at the House of World Cultures Berlin, before accompanying them with their exhibition “The Potosí Principle” to Bolivia and the Museo Nacional de Arte (MNA)/ Museo Nacional de Etnografia y Folclore (MUSEF) in La Paz. Since then- post-colonial studies, phenomena of globalisation and current social issues are focal points in her curatorial praxis.
 
Kerstin - Portrait © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan As cultural manager she was Head of Production at the concert agency Handshake Booking, Berlin, and of Stattbad Wedding, Berlin. This professional experience enhanced her inter-disciplinary and multi-medial approach and led her to combine visual with performance arts and music in her future as a curator.
 
From 2013 until 2015 she worked as curatorial assistant to Anselm Franke and project coordinator for the exhibition series “Anthropocene Observatory #2-4” at the House of World Cultures. Throughout the past year, she published articles and gave talks in several occasions.

In the summer of 2015 Kerstin Godschalk was invited to take part in the first Berlin Food Art Week. The exhibition “LEBENSMITTELpunktKUNST” reassembled international artistic positions that in times of food courts, Global food and ethically correct healthy meals conveying sense and sensibility of nutrition in today’s society. The exhibition was accompanied by a range of interactive performances. From the moment of its inauguration until its closing event people could eat and share food on different occasions. A long table was located at the heart of the exhibition space and served as an invitation to enter a dialogue and reflect upon our consumer behaviour.
 
The Berlin Food Art Week will take place in a two-year circle. As Kerstin Godschalk’s personal interest lies in the articulation of emerging spaces, she is intrigued to find creative positions which instead of following the idea of escape are broadening cultural perspectives. In collaboration with Forager Collective she would like to seek local positions, which she could then integrate in the Berlin Food Art Week of 2017. Her research is driven by the question of whether life and eating on the streets of Bangalore is so different from Berlin. Which commonalities can be detected in a world of global over-shaping, and consequently which traditions resist and persist? In particular she would like to filter local motivation, demand and the social function of artistic debates on that issue. She will contribute to the Forager Magazine with an essay on her findings.

Final Report

Kerstin G. - Mysore © Kerstin Godschalk “The smell of wood, the air is filled with forest. The scent of roses lingers yet none are in sight. Only the infinite width of the country at your feet. Birds chirping blends together with the rattling and hissing of the moving train. The country is spreading hazily. The heat - shimmering. A hot airstream blows in my face, dances softly around my feet. Four weeks of India – what a rush!
Trains are delayed here as well.”

Those are the first and the last lines I wrote down during my stay in Bangalore. On my way back from Mysore, where the residents Christoph, Maureen and I went for a final trip. Even today - one month after my return - I am still lost for words to properly describe the overwhelmingly, insanely beautiful time that was  worth every minute of it. The Goethe-Institut, Bangalore has built up a fantastic residency programme; one that allows for the necessary freedom to develop your own project independently on site while at the same time being steered in the right directions to discover the fertile socio-cultural soil and expand your own network.

Kerstin G. - Palace Rd. © Kerstin Godschalk “Birds of prey circle above roof tops. The muezzin’s call to prayer echoes through the fuming city. The air is wasted.”
 
To me as a newcomer it appears as if when accessing Bangalore, you access India; a very modern, young India. However this is also the melting pot of all cultures, all religions, all languages, regions and shapes from modern to orthodox conservative. It appears as if everyone here is aware of their traditions and their surroundings, with everyone shifting gears, adjusting in a chameleonesque manner adapting to whichever part of the town they currently pass through. Every day, every district  offers up completely different, previously not encountered worlds ready for you to eagerly absorb while at the same time leaving you high and dry, unable to compartmentalise the perceived – in a constant  state of suspense and uncertainty. Every minute, every second you experience something altogether new. The instant that you start thinking `now I get it , `I know exactly how to handle this´ you find yourself in utterly strange circumstances. You can never stop to concentrate on taking everything in, to make coherent conclusions, to comprehend and carefully but not restrained, act accordingly; at no given time.

Kerstin G. - Malleshwaram © Kerstin Godschalk To zone out is rather difficult, to simply drift through the day nearly impossible. You have to keep up with the city’s pace otherwise you are left behind. However I never felt threatened or restricted by this imposed rhythm and hub of unfamiliar worlds. Something that – especially given the fact that I am a woman – definitely was of great concern to me in advance. Long pants, t-shirt and the wrapped-around scarf never inflicted any restraints but rather became a shield against the dust, a safe haven and above all respect for other cultures.

Everything surrounding me seemed so exciting and striking that it simply felt absolutely unnecessary to cause any additional attention.

Led by the urge to blend in with the masses I came to Bangalore as an observer. Yet, it was a thoroughly unfamiliar feeling that words failed me to express where I found myself. Two weeks in I finally got the feeling that I could possibly comprehend what actually happens in this gigantic city. But how was I supposed to go back to all those places within the two remaining weeks? How to communicate with street vendors that rarely speak any English? I simply had to get used to the idea that my initial research idea on street  food would cease to be realised in its original sense. It became evident to my hosts – the Forager Collective – and me that my confusion laid something bare: Contrary to my own consumer habits in  Berlin, street food in India/Bangalore constitutes a brief moment of pause in the constant buzz.

Kerstin G. - Street food Interview © Charlotte von Thaden Street food meant resting, stopping on the side of the road, lingering in the stream of the everyday of the city. My thematic focus thought up from afar suddenly became a point of entry to navigate and access this city; bringing it closer to me. Street food is an access point for anyone that sets foot into Bangalore. This is where you arrive and dive into a different world and food culture. A space where you communicate without words, contemplate things with a distance to the coming and going, with a distance to the hustle and bustle of the roads regardless of the limitless hunger of the continuously spreading city. One develops trust knowing that this is a stable place. An entry point from where one can discover the city anew in its endless possible paths and ways.
 
Controlled chaos:  this city is bursting at its seams; you realise quickly that it has grown much too fast. It is overwhelmed and consumed by its own growth spurt. Yet its inhabitants have settled in, each in the microcosm that is their own district, they have established  their routines, built  their access  points. Each district following their own logic and  culture. The diversity of Bangalore’s citizens from all over India and the rest of the world causes constant  new impulses to enter the city – continuing its staggering growth. And  the variety  of cultures,  languages and influences is especially reflected in the food that is offered. There has always  been a variety of North Indian  food, the city’s food map has spread much further than the borders of Karnataka. Automatically tech firms and the IT crowd brought in a westernised menu and life style. Consultants come with high demands, corporates with their culture. Food trucks selling hamburgers and  hot dogs are  setting up in the office districts and in front of shopping malls, catering to a different kind of crowd than the carts on the streets, stacked with traditional Indian food and snacks.
 
Kerstin G. - Street-fest © Kerstin Godschalk India: land of contrasts; for me not just between rich and poor. Bangalore shows me another face. I have experienced and witnessed what you couldn’t pack into one night anywhere else. I have roamed worlds in just a few hours; have left my trace and in return taken unforgettable impressions with me. I spent an evening in a traditional sari, mingling with the conservative wedding party of 2800 guests, listened  to grunge music at a preview taking place in a hip co-working space with drinks being poured by French barkeepers; turned night into day in a family home turned into a start-up office. Between old furniture and  decorations, in between post-its and whiteboards, I suddenly found myself  strangely close to my Berlin home, the same music, the same rush from heated, inspired discussions. Yet, again withdrawn, the balcony put forward hammock and stories of tigers and the only living black panther in India.
 
One thing is clear: the city is in constant motion, yet for food things come to a momentary pause. The hectic gaze disappears from people’s eyes and calm sets in. Even if one eats  alone, you stand together at the cart, withdrawn from the rush and enjoy.

Kerstin Godschalk
bangaloREsident@Forager Collective

Kerstin Godschalk lebt und arbeitet als Kuratorin und Kulturmanagerin in Berlin. Seit 2014 hat sie die künstlerische Leitung an der HB55 Kunstfabrik inne, einem 7.000m2 großen Ateliergebäude mit mittlerweile über 200 spartenübergreifenden Kulturschaffenden. Auf 600m2 Ausstellungsfläche organisiert sie dort Ausstellungen und kulturelle Veranstaltungen.
 
Unter dem Titel “L’espace de l’espèce” fasst sie ausgehend von Henri Lefebvres Studien über die Produktion von Raumordnungen aufstrebende Positionen zusammen und erschafft Kontexte, die Interaktionen mit Raum und Mensch befördern. Fernab von einer Disziplinierung der Künste, Sehgewohnheiten und Herangehensweisen eröffnet sie interdisziplinäre Erfahrungsräume, die den Dialog antreiben und multimedial zu allen Sinnen sprechen. Gezielt werden Kontrollmechanismen überwunden, um neue Wege der Reflexion über bestehende und kommende soziale Realitäten zu ebnen.

Kerstin - Portrait © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Während ihres Studiums der Kulturwissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt Kunstsoziologie zog es Kerstin Godschalk zunächst für ein Jahr nach Argentinien.
Darauf folgend arbeitete sie mit Andreas Siekmann, Alice Creischer und Max Jorge Hinderer zunächst als Praktikantin am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, dann begleitete sie sie mit dem Ausstellungsprojekt “Das Potosí Prinzip” nach La Paz, Bolivien, ans Museo Nacional de Arte (MNA)/ Museo Nacional de Etnografia y Folclore (MUSEF). Postkolonialismus, Globalisierungsphänomene und aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Debatten spielen seitdem eine zentrale Rolle in ihrer kursorischen Arbeit.

Als Kulturmanagerin hielt sie die Produktionsleitung der Konzertagentur Handshake Booking, Berlin, sowie des Stattbad Weddings, Berlin, inne. Diese berufliche Erfahrung verstärkte ihren interdisziplinären und multimedialen Ansatz in der Entwicklung von Veranstaltungsformaten, die Bildende und Darstellende Kunst mit Musik vereinen.

Von 2013 bis 2015 war sie als kuratorische Assistentin von Anselm Franke und Projektkoodinatorin der Ausstellungsserie “Das Anthropozän-Observatorium #2-4”  am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, tätig. Im Laufe des vergangenen Jahres veröffentlichte sie darüber hinaus Artikel und gab zu verschiedenen Anlässen Talks.
 
Im Sommer 2015 nahm Kerstin Godschalk mit den Künstlern der HB55 Kunstfabrik als Partnerin an der ersten Berlin Food Art Week teil. Unter dem Motto “LEBENSMITTELpunktKUNST” versammelte sie internationale Positionen, die zu Zeiten der Foodcourts, des Globalfoods und des gesunden und ethisch korrekten Essens, die Sinnlichkeit und Sinnhaftigkeit von Nahrung in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft hinterfragt. Neben einer Ausstellung hielt die Woche an der HB55 Kunstfabrik auch  interaktive Performances bereit. Gespeist wurde zur Eröffnung, zu Dinner-Performances und zur Abschlussveranstaltung an einer langen Tafel im Ausstellungsraum, die das Herzstück der Ausstellung darstellte und zum Austausch und der Reflexion unseres Konsumverhaltens einlud.

Im Zwei-Jahres-Zyklus wird die Berlin Food Art Week zukünftig wieder aufgenommen. Kerstin Godschalk plant in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forager Collective in Bangalore während ihrer Residency ortsspezifische Positionen herauszuarbeiten, die sie im kommenden Jahr in das Festival integrieren kann. Ihre Recherche ist angetrieben von der Frage, was das Essen und Leben auf der Straße in Bangalore im Vergleich zu Berlin bedeutet: Welche Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede sind erkennbar, welche globalen Überformungen gleichen die Städte an und welche Traditionen widersetzen sich? Vor allem geht es hierbei auch darum herauszufiltern, worin die lokale Motivation, der Anspruch und die gesellschaftliche Funktion einer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema liegt. Ihre Ergebnisse wird sie zunächst in Form eines Artikels für das Forager Magazins zusammenfassen.

Abschlussbericht

Kerstin G. - Mysore © Kerstin Godschalk “Der Geruch von Holz, Wald liegt in der Luft. Rosenduft doch keinerlei Rose in Sicht.

Nur die unendliche Weite des Landes. Vögelgezwitscher mischt sich unter das Zischen und Rattern des Zuges. Diesig breitet sich das Land aus. Flirrend die Hitze. Heiß der Fahrtwind, der mir ins Gesicht schlägt und meine Füße umspielt!Vier Wochen Indien ein Rausch! Und auch hier haben die Züge Verspätung.”
Dies waren die ersten und letzten Zeilen, die ich während meines Bangalore Aufenthalts schrieb. Auf dem Weg zurück aus Mysore, vom gemeinsamen Abschlussausflug der Residenten mit Christoph und Maureen.
Eine wahnsinnige Zeit, die mich bis heute, einem Monat danach, sprachlos zurücklässt, überwältigt und doch jeden Moment Wert war. Das Goethe Institut Bangalore hat ein großartiges Residencyprogramm auf die Beine gestellt, das einem die nötige Freiheit lässt, sein Projekt vor Ort zu entwickeln und es gleichzeitig in die richtigen Bahnen lenkt, um den sozio-kulturellen Nährboden aufzutun und das eigene Netzwerk auszuweiten.

Kerstin G. - Palace Rd. © Kerstin Godschalk “Greifvögel kreisen über den Dächern. Im Hintergrund ruft der Muezzin sein Gebet in die rauchende Stadt. Müll liegt in der Luft.”

Betritt man Bangalore, betritt man Indien, so scheint es mir als Neuankömmling. Ein sehr modernes, junges Indien. Trotzdem: hier treffen alle Kulturen, alle Religionen, Sprachen, Regionen und Ausformungen von modern bis konservativ orthodox zusammen. Jeder, so scheint es, ist sich hier seiner Tradition und dem Umfeld bewusst, passt sich dem jeweiligen Strom des Bezirks und der Umgebung an, schwimmt wie ein Chamäleon mit. Denn: jeder Tag, jeder Bezirk hält komplett andere Welten parat, die sich begierig einfangen lassen und zugleich für mich unkategorisiert im Schwebezustand verweilen. Denn: jede Minute und Sekunde erlebt man etwas komplett Neues. In dem Moment, wo man eigentlich dachte, jetzt habe ich etwas begriffen, weiß, wie ich mich zu verhalten habe, begegnet man einer völlig fremdartigen Situation. Zu jedem Zeitpunkt ist man angehalten konzentriert aufzunehmen, Zusammenhänge zu verstehen und vorsichtig, jedoch nicht verhalten, zu reagieren.

Kerstin G. - Malleshwaram © Kerstin Godschalk Abschalten kann man hier nur schwer, sich treiben lassen erst recht nicht. Man muss mit  dem Lauf der Stadt mithalten, sonst ist  man verloren. Trotzdem habe ich mich nie wirklich bedroht oder unfrei gefühlt. Gerade als Frau war das meine größte Sorge. Doch die lange Hose, das T-Shirt und der Schal, den ich mir immer umschlug, stellten keinerlei Einschränkungen dar, sondern Schutz vor Staub, Rückzugsmöglichkeit und vor allem Respekt gegenüber der anderen Kultur.
Alles schien mir so auffällig, dass ich selbst nicht noch unnötig Aufsehen erregen wollte.

Geleitet von dem Bedürfnis, in der Masse unterzugehen, war ich als Beobachterin nach Bangalore gekommen. Dennoch war es für mich ungewöhnlich, dass mir die Worte fehlten. Nach zwei Wochen hatte ich das erste Mal das Gefühl, ich könnte das, was in dieser riesigen Stadt passiert, greifen. Aber wie sollte ich in den noch verbleibenden zwei Wochen, zu all den Orten zurückkehren? Wie mich mit den Straßenverkäufern, die meist kein Englisch sprachen verständigen? Ich musste mich damit abfinden, dass eine Recherche zum Thema Streetfood in diesem Sinne nicht möglich war. Gemeinsam mit meinen Hosts, dem Forager Collective, fiel uns jedoch auf, dass meine Verwirrung eines ganz klar offenbarte: Streetfood stellte hier, im Gegensatz zu meinem eigenen Konsumverhalten in Berlin, einen Moment des Innehaltens und eine Ruhepause her.

Kerstin G. - Street food Interview © Charlotte von Thaden Streetfood war Rast, der Aufenthalt am Straßenrand für die Menschen der Stadt ein Halt im Alltag. Der aus der Ferne überlegte Themenschwerpunkt stellte nicht nur für mich einen guten Anhaltspunkt dar, nach dem ich mir die Stadt erschloss, sondern es brachte mir die Stadt näher. Stereophon ist Anlaufstelle für jeden, der Bangalore betritt. Hier kommt man an und kehrt in eine andere Welt und Esskultur ein. Man verständigt sich auch ohne Worte und betrachtet die Dinge mit Abstand zum Kommen und Gehen, zum Treiben der Straße und zum unaufhörlichen Wachstum der Stadt. Man schöpft Vertrauen im Wissen, dass dieser Ort beständig ist. Findet einen Anknüpfungspunkt, von dem man sich die Stadt ständig neu erschließen kann, von dem unendliche Wege abzweigen.

Kontrolliertes Chaos: auch wenn die Stadt aus allen Nähten platzt, man ihr anmerkt, dass sie schnell, viel zu schnell gewachsen ist. Sie ist überfordert. Die Menschen in ihr haben sich jedoch eingerichtet in ihrem Mikrokosmos des eigenen Bezirks, haben ihre Routinen und Anlaufstellen aufgebaut. Jeder Bezirk hat seine eigene Logik und Kultur. Auch wenn oder gerade weil es immer wieder neue Impulse gibt und die Stadt wächst, zollt sie der Vielfalt der Einwohner Bangalores und ihrer Herkunft aus ganz Indien und der Welt Tribut. Die Varietät an Kulturen, Sprachen und Einflüssen ist vor allem auch am Essenangebot erkennbar. Längst gibt es viel nordindisches Essen, reicht die Foodlandkarte über die Grenzen Karnatakas weit hinaus. Natürlich gibt es durch die Tech-firmen und die IT-Brache auch ein verwestlichtes Angebot an Essen und Lebenskultur. Berater bringen Ansprüche mit, Firmen ihre Kultur. Die Foodtrucks mit Hamburgern und Hot Dogs vor Firmen und Shopping Malls bedienen eine andere Klientel als die Carts auf den Straßen mit traditionellem indischen Essen und Snacks.

Kerstin G. - Street-fest © Kerstin Godschalk Indien: ein Land der Kontraste; für mich jedoch nicht so sehr zwischen Armut und Reichtum. Bangalore zeigte mir ein anderes Gesicht. Ich habe dort Dinge erlebt und gesehen, die man sonst nicht an einem Abend erfährt. Habe in wenigen Stunden Welten durchstreift, Spuren hinterlassen und Eindrücke mitgenommen. Habe an einem Abend im traditionellen Sari an einer konservativen Gesellschaftshochzeit mit 2800 Gästen teilgenommen, einem Grunge Konzert bei einer Vernissage in einem hippen Co-working Space mit französischen Barkeepern gelauscht und die Nacht in einem zum Startup-Office umfunktionierten Einfamilienhaus zum Tag gemacht, Zwischen der alten Möblierung und Dekoration, zwischen Post-its und Whiteboards, war ich Berlin auf einmal wieder seltsam nah, die selbe Musik, dieselben vom Rausch aufgeheizten Gespräche. Doch der Balkon hielt in der Hängematte Geschichten von Tigern und dem einzigen lebenden schwarzen Panther in Indien parat.

Eins ist klar: die  Stadt ist sändig in Bewegung, aber beim Essen wird innegehalten. Dann verschwindet die Hektik aus dem eigenen Blick und es kehrt Ruhe ein. Auch wenn man alleine is(s)t, steht man zusammen um den Cart, entzieht sich dem Rausch und genießt.