Wolfgang Spahn
bangaloREsident@ISRO

Wolfgang Spahn is an Austrian-German visual artist based in Berlin. His work includes interactive installations, miniature slide paintings and performances of light & sound. His art explores the field of analogue and digital media and focuses on both their contradiction and their correlation. That's why he is also specialised in re-appropriated and re-purposed electronic technologies.

Wolfgang Spahn - Portrait Wolfgang Spahn Spahn's immersive audio-visual performances merge the technically distinct production of images and sounds. In this respect, the data stream of a digital projector becomes audible whereas the sound created by electromagnetic fields of coils and motors is be visualised. Spahn teaches at the Professional Association of Visual Artists in Berlin (BBK-Berlin) and is Associate Lecturer at the University of Paderborn, Department of Media Studies as well as at the University of Oldenburg, Department of Art and Visual Culture.

Spahn has presented his work at national and international exhibitions (Selection):
2000 Biennial of Young Art in Genoa, Italy; 2003 The Kosovo Art Gallery in Pristina, Kosovo; 2005 Biennial in Prague, Czech Republic; 2010 Biennial Of Miniature Art in Serbia; 2010 Media-Scape in Zagreb, Croatia; Musrara Mix 2015, Jerusalem, Israel; Bodenlos – Vilem Flusser und die Künste 2015/16, Akademie der Künste, Berlin.
He was also exhibiting at international Festivals of Media Art (Selection): 2008 and 2009 Internationales Klangkunstfest in Berlin, Germany; 2009 The Art of the Overhead in Malmö, Sweden; PIXEL09 and 15 in Bergen, Norway; Transmediale 2012 and 2014, Berlin, Germany.

Final Report

Overview
 

The Indian Sonic Research Organisation gave me an opportunity to work as bangaloREsident in Art and Science Lab Bangalore of Srishti University from 8th of April to 16th May 2016. During this period I mainly concentrated on three projects which I partly developed and presented with some scientists and artists from Bangalore. These projects were: a modular synthesizer, an analogue Computer (Strange Attractors) anda music-performance, which a.o. would be based on the technologies mentioned above.

Yashas Shetty (Artists and Head of the Art and Science Lab), Shreyasi Kar (Assistant at the Art and Science Lab) and Dr. David Farris (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore) were important partners. A big advantage was co-operation from the bangaloREsidentsPaul Affeld and Tobias Daemgen.
 
In addition to this my stay in Bangalore inspired me to do a photo-project that I developed after coming back to Berlin and will be presenting next year.
 
Wolfgang Spahn - Paper Bit
 
The projects in detail:
 
 
1. Modular Synthesizer


My original idea was to develop an instrument which can produce analogue sounds and additionally can also be used in the class (useful for students and post-graduates). Hence Yashas Shetty and Shreyasi Kar introduced me first of all to the legendary SP Road, a shopping street in Bangalore. Here literally each and every latest electric part is available. But there is a problem – you have to try hard to look for them in the shops and shelves. It would have been very difficult initially to develop the project without the expert guidance. Thanks to the moderate prices it was possible to make the synthesizer cost efficient. This was a crucial factor, because one of my objectives was to enable Indian students reproduction of my model.

Wolfgang Spahn - SP Rd © Wolfgang Spahn It was a great privilege that I was allowed to use the well-equipped Art and Science Lab in its entirety. That is how Shreyasi Kar and I put together our first oscillator and I was introduced to the ‘Mosi Librarie’ (i.e. sound library for the Arduino).
An independent music project was quickly developed together with Yashas Shetty. The project began initially as a spontaneous jam-session but was later worked on to be performed in public. The synthesizer ‘Paper-Bits’ that was ready in the meantime was one of the instruments used in our common performances, for example in ‘Under the Flyover’.
 
 2. Analogue Computer (Strange Attractors)
           
‘Strange Attractors’ are entities belonging to the ‘Chaos Theory’. The graphic presentation of these systems is often so fascinating that it remains to be the focus of artistic discussions. The most known example of Strange Attractor is the ‘Lorenz Attractor’. Edward N. Lorenz, the famous American meteorologist described it in 1963 as an ideal-typical model for weather pattern (atmospheric convection). The characteristic of the Chaos Theory is that even the smallest change in the initial value leads to a totally different chaotic behaviour. This allows for infinite variations of similar (but not identical) structures in the artistic presentation.
 
Wolfgang Spahn - Art & Science Lab Wolfgang Spahn The objective of my project was to make an analogue computer that can simulate Strange Attractors. I wanted this simulation to take place in an acoustical manner and not in the graphic form. I often discussed the technical terms with the mathematician Dr. David Ferris, who frequently visited the Art and Science Lab as a guest. These discussions were of immense importance for the understanding of basic principles in mathematics. I was able to launch the first module of the analogue computer already in Bangalore and show the Lorenz Equation. It was an important part of my solo performance at the final presentation ‘On the Rooftop’ for the bangaloREsidency.  
 
3. Music and Performance

The music performances were an outcome of the intensive artistic cooperation with Yashas Shetty and in this respect one of the unexpected, wonderful surprises during my stay in Bangalore. In several Jam-sessions we used our respective artistic concepts of sound / noise and light to fathom the threshold of listening experience and conventional perception of humans.
 
Wolfgang Spahn - Entropie © Wolfgang Spahn Our first public performance ‘Under the FlyOver’ took place on an invitation by Jaaga DNA. It was part of a bigger event about using public space artistically. Shreyasi Kar (Sound), Paul Affeld (Rap) und Tobias Daemgen (Projection) joined in and together we performed on a large scale. This performance has been video documented in the meantime. In addition to that we performed ‘On the Rooftop’ at the closing ceremony of bangaloREsidency program in Bangalore. Later on 3. October 2016 our performance took place at Akademie Schloß Solitude (Stuttgart), where Yashas Shetty was staying that time as a scholar under the program Art, Science & Business. We are planning on more public appearances at international festivals.
 
I was very happy that I could present my solo-piece ‘Entropie’ several times for example at Srishti Old Campus Gallery, Venkatappa Art Gallery (Art Marathon) and ‘On the Rooftop’.
This piece merges analogue and digital techonolgy. Based on the parameters coincidence, chaos and order ‘Entropie’ generates simultaneously structured noise as well as abstract light patterns.
 
 
4. Fotography

The idea to do a project that focuses on the contrast between the historical city and the new technology initiated during a trip to Mysore, organized by the Goethe-Institut Bangalore. The first digital photos of the happenings on the streets were taken while walking through the ‘old village’ in the early mornings. These pictures are to be seen analogue as a contrast with the coloured transparencies. These colour transparencies provide the basis for the ‘Art of Painting on Transparencies’, which is inspired by the ‘Miniature Painting’ by Mysore School. The Goethe-Institut arranged for an excursion to the Mysore School and I was lucky to see the private collection and even take photos. Thanks to this excursion I could work in detail on the mythological motives used there.
 
Wolfgang Spahn - Mysore
 
Vote of Thanks
 
I thank the Art and Science Lab, Bangalore for inviting me, supporting me in every aspect and making my stay comfortable and pleasant. My special thanks go to Yashas Shetty and Shreyasi Kar. I also wish to thank the Goethe-Institut Bangalore for financing my stay and organising everything extremely well. Many thanks especially to Christoph Bertrams and Maureen Gonsalves who introduced me and the other bangaloREsidents to the cultural scene in Bangalore and gave us various opportunities to showcase our art in different fields.  
 
Additionally I also wish to express my gratitude to Dr. David Ferris for inspiring discussions and the scientific know-how. I was happy that he visited me in Berlin.
 
To all other bangaloREsidents – thanks a lot for an inspiring time together.

Wolfgang Spahn
bangaloREsident@ISRO

Der deutsch/österreichische Medienkünstler Wolfgang Spahn lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen auf interaktiven Installationen, Miniatur-Diamalerei und Klang-Licht-Performances. In seiner Kunst untersucht er die Gegensätze von analogen und digitalen Medien sowie deren  Erweiterungen bzw. Ergänzungen. Dementsprechend hat sich Spahn  nicht nur auf die Anwendung sondern auch auf die Entwicklung, Verfremdung und Modifikation analoger und digitaler Technologien spezialisiert.

Wolfgang Spahn - Portrait Wolfgang Spahn Seine immersiven audio-visuellen Performances zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass sie ursprünglich distinkte Bilder und Klänge miteinander verschmelzen. So werden die Datenströme eines digitalen Projektors in akustische Signale übersetzt, während die von Spulen und Motoren erzeugten elektromagnetischen Felder Geräusche erzeugen, die visualisiert werden.
 
Spahn unterrichtet im Auftrag des Berufsverbandes Bildender Künstler (BBK Berlin) und lehrt am Institut für Kunst und visuelle Kultur der Universität Oldenburg sowie am Institut für Medienwissenschaften der Universität Paderborn.
 
Neben Einzelausstellungen und Performances nahm Spahn an  nationalen und internationalen Ausstellungen sowie Medienkunstfestivals teil (Auswahl):
2000 Biennale der jungen Kunst in Genua (Italien), 2003 The Kosovo Art Gallery in Pristina (Kosovo), 2005 Biennale in Prag (Tschechien), 2008 and 2009 Internationales Klangkunstfest in Berlin (Deutschland), 2009 The Art of the Overhead in Malmö (Schweden), PIXEL09 and 10 in Bergen (Norwegen), 2010 Biennial of Miniature Art in Serbia (Serbien), 2010 Media-Scape in Zagreb (Kroatien), Transmediale 2012 und 2014, Berlin (Deutschland), Musrara Mix 2015, Jerusalem (Israel); Bodenlos – Vilem Flusser und die Künste 2015/16, Akademie der Künste, Berlin (Deutschland).

Abschlussbericht

Überblick
 

Auf Einladung der Indian Sonic Research Organisation war ich vom 8. April bis 16. Mai 2016 bangaloREsident im Art and Science Lab Bangalore der Srishti Universität Bangalore. In dieser Zeit widmete ich mich drei Projekten, die ich z.T. in Kooperation mit  WissenschaftlerIinnen und KünstlerInnen aus Bangalore entwickelte und präsentierte: einen modularen Synthesizer, einen analogen Computer (Strange Attractors) und eine Musik-Performance, die u.a. auf den erstgenannten Technologien beruhte. Zudem inspirierte mich der Aufenthalt zu einem Fotoprojekt, das ich nach meiner Rückkehr in Berlin weiter entwickelte und im nächsten Jahr ausstellen werde.

Wichtige Kooperationspartner waren Yashas Shetty (Künstler und Leiter des Art and Science Lab), Shreyasi Kar (Mitarbeiterin des Art and Science Lab), Dr. David Farris (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore). Ein großes Plus war auch die Kooperation mit den bangaloREsidents Paul Affeld und Tobias Daemgen.

Wolfgang Spahn - Paper Bit

Die Projekte im Einzelnen:
 
1. modularer Synthesizer

Ursprünglich plante ich, ein Instrument zu entwickeln, mit dem es einerseits möglich ist, analoge Sounds zu erzeugen, und das andererseits auch für den Unterricht (Studierende und Postgraduierte) geeignet ist. Yashas Shetty und Shreyasi Kar 'initiierten' mich daher zunächst in die legendäre SP Road, eine Einkaufsstraße in Bangalore, in der es buchstäblich alle elektronischen Bauteile gibt, die derzeit hergestellt werden – mit der einzigen Schwierigkeit, dass man diese in den Läden und Regalen dann auch finden muss. Ohne die versierte Unterstützung der beiden wäre das Projekt daher schon zu Beginn sehr schwierig zu realisieren gewesen. Zugleich wurde es dank der dort moderaten Preise auch möglich, den Synthesizer sehr kostengünstig zu entwickeln – ein wesentlicher Faktor, da es ein Ziel des Projektes war, indischen Studierenden den Nachbau des Instrumentes zu ermöglichen.

Wolfgang Spahn - SP Rd © Wolfgang Spahn Ich empfand es als ein großes Privileg, das gut ausgestattete Art and Science Lab in vollem Umfang nutzen zu dürfen. So bauten Shreyasi Kar und ich gemeinsam einen ersten Oszillator, und ich erhielt eine Einführung in die Mosi Librarie (d.i. Sound librarie für den Arduino).
Aus der Zusammenarbeit mit Yashas Shetty entwickelte sich schnell ein eigenständiges Musik-Projekt, das zunächst spontan als Jam-Session begann und dann von uns gemeinsam weiter entwickelt und zur Aufführungsreife gebracht wurde. Dabei war der mittlerweile fertiggestellte Synthesizer Paper-Bit eines der Instrumente unserer gemeinsamen Performances, z.B. bei Under the FlyOver. 
 
2. analoger Computer (Strange Attractors)
           
Seltsame Attraktoren (Strange Attractors) gehören zu den Phänomenen der chaotischen Systeme, die wegen ihrer oft faszinierenden grafischen Darstellbarkeit immer wieder in den Fokus künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung geraten. Das bekannteste Beispiel für einen Strange Attractor ist der Lorenz-Attraktor, den der Meteorologe Edward N. Lorenz 1963 als idealtypisches Modell des Wettergeschehens beschrieb. Chaotische Systeme zeichnen sich dadurch aus, das selbst geringste Änderungen der Anfangswerte zu einem völlig anderen Verhalten führen. In der künstlerischen Darstellung ermöglicht dies unendliche Variationen einander ähnlicher (jedoch nicht identischer) Strukturen.
 
Wolfgang Spahn - Art & Science Lab Wolfgang Spahn Das Ziel meines Projektes war, einen analogen Computer zu entwickeln, mit dem Strange Attractors simuliert werden können. Ihre Darstellung sollte jedoch nicht grafisch, sondern akustisch erfolgen. Dabei waren der fachliche Austausch mit dem Mathematiker Dr. David Ferris, der oft zu Gast im Art and Science Lab war, für das Verständnis der mathematischen Grundlagen von unschätzbarem Wert. Das erste Modul des analogen Computers konnte ich noch in Bangalore in Betrieb nehmen, um die Lorenz-Gleichung zu erzeugen und hörbar zu machen. Dies wurde ein wichtiges Element meiner Solo-Performance bei der gemeinsamen Abschlussveranstaltung „On The Rooftop“.

3. Musik und Performance

Die Musik-Performances waren ein Resultat aus der intensiven künstlerischen Kooperation mit Yashas Shetty und insofern eine der ungeplanten wunderbaren Überraschungen meines Aufenthaltes in Bangalore. In mehreren Jam-Sessions nutzten wir unsere jeweiligen künstlerischen Konzepte von Sound/Noise und Lichteffekten, um die Grenzbereiche menschlicher Hörerfahrungen und Sehgewohnheiten auszuloten.

Wolfgang Spahn - Entropie © Wolfgang Spahn Unsere erste öffentliche Performance Under the FlyOver fand auf Einladung von Jaaga DNA statt und war Teil eines größeren Programms zur künstlerischen Nutzung des öffentlichen Raumes. Shreyasi Kar (Sound), Paul Affeld (Rap) und Tobias Daemgen (Projektionen) kamen als weitere Künstler dazu, so dass letztlich eine größere gemeinsame Performance entstand, von der es mittlerweile eine Videodokumentation gibt. Wir präsentierten unsere Performance außerdem bei der Abschlussparty des Residence-Programmes „On The Rooftop in Bangalore, und am 3. Oktober 2016 in der Akademie Schloß Solitude (Stuttgart), wo  Yashas Shetty als Stipendiat des Programms art, science & business weilte. Weitere gemeinsame Auftritte bei internationalen Festivals sind in Planung.

Gefreut habe ich mich auch über die Gelegenheit, mehrfach meine Soloperformance ENTROPIE zu präsentieren, die analoge und digitale Technologien kombiniert, um anhand der Parameter Zufall, Chaos und Ordnung strukturierten Noise und abstrakte Lichteffekte zu generieren: in der Srishti Old Campus Gallery, in der Venkatappa Art Gallery (Art Marathon) und On The Rooftop.

4. Fotografie

Augangspunkt für das Fotoprojekt, das den Gegensatz zwischen historischer Stadt  und neuer Technologie fokussiert, war ein vom Goethe-Institut organisierter Ausflug nach Mysore. Bei dem Spaziergang durch das 'old village' entstanden die ersten Digitalaufnahmen von Straßenszenen in den frühen Morgenstunden. Für das Projekt sollen sie mit analogen Farbdias kontrastiert werden, die als Basis für Diamalerei dienen, die von der Miniaturmalerei der Mysore School inspiriert ist. Dank einer vom Goethe ermöglichten Exkursion zur Mysore School, in der ich die Privatsammlung ansehen und sogar fotografieren durfte konnte ich mich eingehend mit den dort verwendeten mythologische Motiven beschäftigen.

Wolfgang Spahn - Mysore

Dank
 
Mein Dank gilt dem Art and Science Lab Bangalore, das mich eingeladen und meinen Arbeit in jeder Hinsicht unterstützt und meinen Aufenthalt sehr angenehm gemacht hat – ganz besonders Yashas Shetty und Shreyasi Kar. Danken möchte ich auch dem Goethe Institut Bangalore, das den gesamten Aufenthalt finanzierte und exzellent organsierte, und vor allem Christoph Bertrams und Maureen Gonsalves, die mich und die anderen bangaloREsidents in die Kunstszene von Bangalore einführten, uns Türen öffneten und viele Gelegenheiten schufen, unsere Kunst in verschiedenen Kontexten zu präsentieren.

Außerdem danke ich Dr. David Ferris für inspirierende Gespräche und fachliches know-how, und freue mich, dass er sich bereits zu einem Gegenbesuch in Berlin einfand.

Dank auch an die anderen bangaloREsidents für eine inspiriende gemeinsame Zeit.