Projects

Berlin & Beyond Film Festival © Hellinger Doll Filmproduktion/Warner Bros. Ent.

Berlin and Beyond

Berlin & Beyond Film Festival is one of the leading festivals of European cinema in the world. With an annual attendance of over 10,000 film-goers, the festival has presented over 500 motion pictures from German-speaking countries in its history. It has welcomed to the San Francisco screen and stage many celebrated international film talents.

Birds in DC © Luke Huddon

Parks

Parks are found everywhere and oftentimes offer insight into society. 
But how do we use them? How do they differ from one place to another, from the United States to Germany? Join us on a multimedia journey through parks!

(c) p3m5 © p3m5

The Plurality of Privacy Project in Five-Minute Plays (P3M5)

In cooperation with the Goethe-Institut Washington, theaters across the US and Europe have commissioned playwrights to write five-minute plays exploring the central question, “What does privacy mean to you in the digital age?”

Girls Rock Feminism Photo: irina_levitskaya © fotolia.com

Feminism Today

What are the vital issues that women and feminists in Germany today consider to be of burning importance, what are they concerned about? And what else is there still to do? This is a showcase of people who are involved in the field of culture and who are dealing with the hottest feminist issues and debates of the moment.

Street Art Photo: Marlou Taenzer

#artbits Street Art Discoveries From Mexico, Canada and the U.S.

Covering walls and surfaces in cities around the world, Street Art is appreciated by thousands every day as they go about their daily business.

Digital Discourse | Freepost

Anti-liberal, nationalistic movements are gaining in strength around the world. Why are populist tendencies on the rise in this era of digitization and globalization? How can the values of democracy be protected?

Flags Photo: Karl-Josef Hildenbrand/dpa, © dpa

Europe

“Unity in Diversity” has been the motto of the European Union since 2000. Europe and the European project stand for freedom, peace and solidarity among nations – and for a community based on tolerance and interest in one another on the part of many different cultures, traditions and languages, whose preservation is the responsibility of all.

Future Perfect

The world is in need of ideas for a better, more sustainable future, but ideas are not enough. FUTUREPERFECT, tells the stories of individuals, initiatives, organizations, and businesses that have moved from ideas to action. 

win-a-trip-to-gamescom-cologne1

Transatlantic Gaming Summit

The Boston Transatlantic Gaming Summit project focuses on the exchange of important players in the German and US gaming scene, introducing German game designers to their US counterparts, building a network and fostering connections between them.

Sensitive Data

In the age of algorithms, surveillance has exceeded the boundaries of centralized government control to permeate every part of our lives and transform our collective sensorium.

Everywhere you look Copyright: Goethe-Institut

German Roots

As many have noticed, German-American history is a strong component of American history. That's why this website has the subtitle “Everywhere You Look.”

Projekte

Berlin & Beyond Film Festival © Hellinger Doll Filmproduktion/Warner Bros. Ent.

Berlin and Beyond

Berlin and Beyond Film Festival ist eines der wichtigsten Festivals für europäisches Kino weltweit. Mit jährlich über 10.000 Besuchern, hat Berlin and Beyond bisher über 500 Kino Filme aus deutschsprachigen Ländern gezeigt und viele internationale Filmtalente auf Bühne und Leinwand begrüßt. 

Berlinale Blogger 2018 Grafik: Lea Delazer © Goethe-Institut

Berlinale Blogger

Die Filmwelt zu Gast in Berlin: Vom 15. bis 25. Februar findet die 68. Berlinale statt. Zehn Bloggerinnen und Filmjournalisten aus der ganzen Welt berichten als Berlinale Blogger gemeinsam im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts über das internationale Filmfest.

(c) p3m5 © p3m5

The Plurality of Privacy Project in Five-Minute Plays (P3M5)

In Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut Washington haben Theater quer durch die USA und Europa Dramatiker beauftragt, fünfminütige Stücke zu schreiben, welche sich um die zentrale Frage „Was bedeutet Privatsphäre im digitalen Zeitalter?“ drehen.

Girls Rock Feminismus Heute Deutschland Gleichberechtigung Foto: irina_levitskaya © fotolia.com

Feminismus Heute

Was sind die wichtigsten Themen, die Frauen und Feministen in Deutschland heute unter den Nägeln brennen? Was treibt sie um? Und was gibt es noch zu tun? Wir stellen Kulturschaffende vor, die sich mit den aktuell heißesten feministischen Themen und Debatten beschäftigen.

Street Art Foto: Marlou Taenzer

#artbits Street-Art-Entdeckungen Aus Mexiko, Kanada, und den USA

Street Art findet sich überall auf der Welt an Wänden und Flächen und wird so täglich von Tausenden Menschen in ihrem Alltag wahrgenommen.

Portofrei © Bernd Struckmeyer

Digitaler Diskurs | Portofrei

Weltweit erstarken antiliberale, nationalistische Bewegungen. Weshalb kommt es zum Vormarsch populistischer Strömungen im Zeitalter von Digitalisierung und Globalisierung? Wie lassen sich die Werte der Demokratie schützen?

Flaggen Foto: Karl-Josef Hildenbrand/dpa, © dpa

Europa

„In Vielfalt geeint“ lautet das Motto der Europäischen Union seit dem Jahr 2000. Europa und der europäische Gedanke stehen für Freiheit, Frieden und Solidarität der Nationen – und für das tolerante und interessierte Nebeneinander vieler verschiedener Kulturen, Traditionen und Sprachen, die es gemeinsam zu bewahren gilt.

Future Perfect

Future Perfect

Die Welt braucht Ideen für eine bessere und nachhaltige Zukunft, aber Ideen sind nicht genug. FUTUREPERFECT erzählt die Geschichten von Menschen, Initiativen, Organisationen und Unternehmen, die den Schritt vom Denken zum Handeln schon gewagt haben. 

win-a-trip-to-gamescom-cologne1

Transatlantic Gaming Summit

Das Projekt Transatlantic Gaming Summit des Goethe-Instituts Boston möchte den Austausch zwischen wichtigen Protagonisten der deutschen und amerikanischen „Gaming Szene“ intensivieren und den Akteuren den Zugang zu den jeweiligen Märkten erleichtern.

sensible_daten Copyright: Goethe-Institut

Sensible Daten

Im Zeitalter der Algorithmen geht Überwachung weit über zentrale staatliche Kontrolle hinaus, sie durchdringt alle Bereiche unseres Lebens und verändert unser kollektives Empfindungsvermögen.

Everywhere you look Copyright: Goethe-Institut

Deutsche Spuren

Das Goethe-Institut lädt Sie zu einer Erkundungstour durch US-amerikanische Städte und ihrer Sehenswürdigkeiten ein, die eine Verbindung zu deutsch-amerikanischer Geschichte aufweisen.