Goethe Intern
With internships around the world

Fall is here - and so is Intern Season 5!

#goetheintern goes into a new round. The Fall of 2019 is full of charming changes. Not only are the trees turning into a sea of gold and red, the institute is also changing - with the move to the colorful LIZ building on 14th Street. Our interns are always out and about, reporting in social media about the moving process, the grand opening party and their diverse activities after work which make life in the capital so exciting.


Interns Season 5 ©Goethe-Institut

Melina ©Goethe-Institut Melina is the intern of the program department this fall. She went for an internship at the Goethe-Institut in Washington DC to take a little break from her master's degree in economic history in Göttingen. A longer stay in the capital offers her a unique opportunity to learn more about German-American relationship and the connections between the countries. Melina was very surprised and enthusiastic about the friendliness and openness of the people in DC. She meets them not only in cafés where she enjoys cupcakes, but also during her daily bicycle tour on her way to work along the Potomac River. She looks forward to bringing this positive attitude into her next adventure when she starts her semester abroad in Ireland in January.
Lisann ©Goethe-Institut Lisann is the intern of the language program department, that means she’s helping to organize projects which promote German and Germany in the USA. The planning of events and the work with German-teachers matches perfectly the subjects she is studying, German as Foreign Language and British and North American Studies. Lisann came to Washington DC, because she has been here before. Three years ago she worked as an Au Pair and wanted to come back ever since. Now she enjoys to living here again, visiting and exploring many old and new places as well as attending exciting events across the city. Originally, she is from northern Germany and she’ll go back there after the internship to finish her Bachelors.
Eric © Goethe-Institut Eric is an intern in the language department. He was born and raised in West Africa and studied German language and literature at the university. Eric lives in Washington DC since April 2019, together with his American wife, whom he met in Togo two years ago. He loves being an intern and is particularly pleased with the practical work in the language course and also the opportunity to practice and improve his German. After his internship, he is planning to get a teacher certificate so that he can teach German and French here in the USA. One of Erics favorite aspects in DC is the variety of interesting museums and places. His favourites are the African American Museum, the Clinton Presidential Museum and the National Mall.
Emily ©Goethe-Institut Emily is the intern of the Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP). At 16, she attended an American high school in California for a year and since then she has remained deeply involved with the English language and American culture. She soon completes her master's degree in English/American Studies at the University of Bonn and is excited about the practical applications outside her theoretical studies. Working for TOP brings her a lot of joy and she is grateful for the multifaceted work. One of her personal highlights in DC was the opportunity to support the TOP team at a conference in Austin, Texas. After work, she loves to stroll around the lively neigborhoods, discovering cosy cafes and hidden vintage bookstores.

 
Sophia ©Goethe-Institut Sophia is interning in the digital communictions department. The cultural studies student from Leipzig loves being abroad, a passion which sparked during a semester in Hong Kong. She enjoys taking a look behind the scenes of a large, internationally active organization and is excited that she can supervise her own small social media projects here at the Goethe Institut. After work and on weekends, Sophia is always out and about, exploring the lively districts and secret corners of the capital and other cities along the east coast. She is particularly enthusiastic about the swing scene in DC, which is why she never misses an opportunity to dance to jazz music in the evenings.

 

Intern Season No. 4 - Summertime in D.C.

Summer is here! We Goethe interns – some old and some new – are enjoying the D.C. summer by spending the hot days and balmy nights in some of our favorite spots around town. This season, we will be introducing some of our most beloved locations and things to do in D.C. – often far off the beaten path.
Get to know us here and follow us on Instagram so we can show you the best hidden gems around the city! #Followmeto…


Interns Season 4 ©Goethe-Institut

Annika ©Goethe-Institut Annika is an intern for the Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) at the Goethe-Institut Washington. Since her first year abroad at a high school in New Jersey, Annika has kept coming back to the US. She is currently pursuing a graduate degree in North American Studies in Cologne. Annika is also known for traveling throughout the US on road trips, always packing lightly. Some of her highlights during her internship so far include long hours in some of the greatest Smithsonian museums, camping on Assateague Island, visiting wineries in Northern Virginia, and spending Memorial Day at the Jersey Shore. Even more adventures are waiting for her: “I hope after graduating I can find a job that excites and challenges me! I am also planning on taking half a year off at some point in my life to hike the Appalachian Trail.”
Lilly ©Goethe-Institut Lilly is an intern for the administrative department at the Goethe-Institut Washington. In the quaint town of Konstanz, she is currently pursuing an undergraduate degree in political science and management. After a couple of months in the United States, Lilly has now fully absorbed the American culture, including local eating habits, regular swimming pool sessions, and thrilling baseball games. Two cities that are still on her travel list: Chicago and New York City. Despite her enthusiasm for the U.S.-lifestyle, Lilly will return to Germany at the end of the summer to finish her graduate studies. But she might return to the U.S. for a master’s degree, who knows?! The world is her oyster and exciting times are on the horizon.
Angelika © Goethe-Institut Angelika is an intern in the Cultural Programs Department – and this is where she belongs! Pursuing a master’s degree in North American Studies in her beloved city of Berlin, she has specialized in pop culture, which reflects her passion for literature, movies, and music. Thus, she is very enthusiastic about the various partnerships that the Goethe-Institut maintains with other culture institutes, embassies, movie theatres, and museums. As Cultural Programs Intern, Angelika always has a full schedule. That’s how she got to know and love D.C. and its culture scene over time. Nevertheless, there is still plenty of time for weekend trips to places like Monticello and Mount Vernon, which impress her with their rich history and sprawling parklands. Before Angelika returns to Germany to finish her master’s and tackle the challenge of navigating the Berlin job market, she has a couple of exciting weeks ahead of her. In particular, she is looking forward to upcoming travels to New York City and a road trip through the Southern states.
 
Jenna ©Goethe-Institut Jenna is an intern for the Deutschlandjahr Team at the Goethe-Institut Washington. She is a senior undergraduate student at Virginia Tech, majoring in International Studies with minors in German and French. Jenna’s talent for languages can be traced back to her dual citizenship in both the United States and Germany as well as her time studying abroad and regularly visiting her German family. Considering her international lifestyle, it is no surprise that Jenna fell in love with the cosmopolitan and multicultural flair of the capital and would love to live and work in D.C. after graduating. She enjoys the vivid city life and the variety of activities offered here with her friends, such as cultural festivals, concerts, museums, and unique restaurants.
Ann-Kathrin ©Goethe-Institut Ann-Kathrin is the current intern in the communications department at the Goethe-Institut Washington and a master’s student in Culture and Economy at the University of Mannheim. While looking forward to her exchange semester in Montreal at the end of the year, she is currently enjoying the summer as an intern in D.C. She appreciates the various opportunities provided by the city such as free outdoor workout sessions, fantastic seafood, and the lovely shops in Georgetown. Comfy nights with her housemates are always welcome as well. During her internship, she would like to make use of the great potential that museums and think tanks in D.C. offer. Nevertheless, she enjoys a nice weekend getaway from the capital: “There is no better contrast to city life than just leaving it behind and spending time at the sea!”

Meet Our Interns - Season 3

The new year at the Goethe-Institut came along with new faces initiating the third season of our Goethe intern series. The interns provided entertaining behind-the-scenes action and thrilling Insta-glimpses into their lives: Who are they? What are they doing? Why are they here? All these questions and many more have been answered throughout the months. One thing is certain: all of them had an exciting time in D.C. and explored the limitless attractions the capital has to offer – from countless stunning museums to mouth-watering cupcakes.

Aylin ©Goethe-Institut Aylin is a Cultural Programs Intern at the Goethe-Institut Washington. As a cultural studies graduate from Hildesheim, she is passionate about promoting cultural exchange. Inspired by a year abroad in Istanbul, she started writing for an online nonprofit magazine called MAVIBLAU, which focuses on German-Turkish exchange. In DC, Aylin is excited to experience all the cultural events that the Goethe-Institut and the artsy city have to offer. The highlight of her time in DC so far was her participation in the Women’s March on January 19th. Three things she cannot live without: “If we were to be honest, I would say, oxygen, food, and sleep.”
Eva ©Goethe-Institut Eva is an intern for the Education Outreach Program at the Goethe-Institut Washington. She clearly has a talent for languages: in Münster, she is pursuing a Master of Education in Spanish, Sociology, and teaching German as a second language. Her work at the Goethe-Institut allows her to dive into the work environment of the American capital. As she is involved in diverse projects to support German as a foreign language in the US, she regularly reaches out to local schools and teachers. This is of particular interest for her since she will be an intern at a high school in Minnesota starting this August. One of her goals during her time here is to bring Münster’s bicycle madness to Washington. She is also hoping to practice her salsa skills in Arlington, where she lives right now. Three things she cannot live without: “Coffee, friends, long walks.”
Lara ©Goethe-Institut Lara is an intern in the editorial department of the Goethe-Institut Washington, which means she is responsible for the content management of our social media channels and the website. While she was born and raised on the coast of Nordfriesland, Germany’s far north, she is now pursuing an undergraduate degree in North American Studies in Berlin. In DC, the striving journalist is looking forward to diving into the work in an editorial department and using her creativity. Her bucket list includes an ice hockey game, the Newseum, and a typical American diner. She also aims to find vintage book stores and cute cafés everywhere she goes. Three things she cannot live without: “Music, muesli, and my people.”
Julia ©Goethe-Institut Julia is a language intern at the Goethe-Institut Washington. In Cologne, where she was born and raised, she recently finished her undergraduate degree in pedagogy and English studies. Now, she truly enjoys the practical experience at our institute and the close contact to our customers. During her internship, she is lucky to live with family members in Rockville, Maryland, which allows her to also experience the American suburban lifestyle. Among the interns, Julia is known as the American sports geek. From the NBA to the NHL and the MLB – she knows everything. One highlight of her time in DC so far, aside from the many sports events she has attended, was a trip with her host mom to Annapolis in Maryland. “A cute town with so much history.” Three things she cannot live without: “Cologne, Carnival, and the Beatles.”
Johanna ©Goethe-Institut Johanna is an intern for the “Schools: Partners for the future” (PASCH) initiative at the Goethe-Institut Washington. Although she was born in Hanover, she could almost be considered a local since she has lived in the DC-area for about two years by now. After her high school graduation, she was an au pair in the US for the first time. Afterwards, she deepened her cultural knowledge and pursued a degree in North American and English studies and history at Potsdam University. Now, she is working again as an au pair in Potomac, Maryland and is happy to call it her second home – “One heart on two continents”, she says. At the same time, she is happy about her contribution to German-American cultural and language exchange through her internship here. Three things she cannot live without: “Communication, a clean bathroom, and a nonfat chai tea latte.”

Washington D.C. Interns - Season 2

In the fall season of our intern series at the Goethe-Institut Washington, we provided you with a thrilling inside look at what it is like to be an intern in our office. What were their daily tasks and what did they enjoy the most about working at the Goethe-Institut?

On Instagram, Tobias, Pragya, Caroline, and Leonie gave us glimpses into their lives in Washington. Follow our hashtag #goetheintern and become an insider!

Tobias was an intern at the editorial department from September through December 2018. As part of our editorial team, he was responsible for all things related to social media and for the content management of our website. In particular, he enjoyed writing the transcript for our podcast series The Big Pond. When he was not working at the Goethe-Institut, he explored all that DC has to offer from sporty bike adventures to the National Christmas Tree Lighting.

See for yourself what he has to say about his time as an intern.

 
 
Pragya was an intern in the language department in the fall of 2018. She was responsible for our German courses and exams. Her weekly schedule included planning new courses, keeping all information on courses and exams up-to-date, updating our website, and drafting course brochures. She also provided guidance for possible new course participants and, if needed, assessed the participants’ level of German.

See for yourself what she has to say about her time as an intern.

 
Caroline was a Language Programs Intern at the Goethe-Insititut. She especially enjoyed her field trips to local schools as a German-for-Hire Ambassador.

See for yourself what she has to say about her time as an intern.

 
Leonie was a Cultural Programs Intern at the Goethe-Institut. As a self-declared film enthusiast, she was glad to be involved in planning the Film|Neu, a Goethe-Institut film festival featuring new films from Germany, Switzerland, and Austria.

See for yourself what she has to say about her time as an intern.

 

Washington, DC - Toronto - Mexico City

Goethe Interns - Season 1

All around the world, young students have the opportunity to not only get to know the work of the Goethe-Institut as an intern, but also to immerse themselves in a new culture. We wanted to know: how is our interns' experience abroad? What does a normal day at the Goethe-Institut look like? And how do the experiences differ at our locations around the globe?

In the summer of 2018, Carolin in Mexico City, Hans in Washington, DC, and Isabel in Toronto gave us glimpses into their internships and answered a weekly question.

Isabel Spoerl ©Isabel Spoerl Isabel, 24, is from a village close to Munich and studied North American Studies at the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich. She spends her free time outdoors hiking, playing volleyball, skiing, or snowboarding. During her semester breaks, she loves to travel.

After a semester studying on Canada’s west coast, Isabel knew she wanted to come back to Canada and applied for an internship in Toronto. Besides, it thematically fits her studies. Both the people and nature make Canada a special place for Isabel.

Hans Allner, Praktikant am Goethe-Institut Washington ©Hans Allner Hans, 22, is from Leipzig. When he is not interning at the Goethe-Institut Washington, he is studying English and cultural studies at the University of Leipzig. To start his day off right, Hans relies on good music, a healthy dose of humour, and fresh air.

The choice of Washington, DC was an easy one for Hans since the city has a lot to offer culturally and he’s hoping to collect many new experiences both personally and professionally.
Carolin Brejc ©Carolin Brejc Carolin, 23, is from Freising, near Munich. She studied International Culture and Business in Passau and wants to go to Amsterdam for her master's.

Carolin is interested in exploring different cultures, not only through her studies but also through traveling. Ever since her semester abroad in Chile and her travels through Argentina, Peru, and Bolivia, she has become a big fan of Latin America, which is why she applied for an internship at the Goethe-Institut in Mexico.

More about internships in... (Information in German)

Instagram of the week

Every week, we introduce one of our terrific interns on Instagram – they provide us with an insight into their exciting lives inside and outside of the Goethe-Insitut. You can see their post here and on our Instagram channel of Washington, D.C.

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Mit Praktika um die Welt
Goethe Intern

Der Herbst ist da - genau wie #goetheintern Staffel 5!

#goetheintern geht in eine neue Runde. Der Herbst 2019 bringt viele schöne Veränderungen mit sich. Nicht nur die Bäume verwandeln sich in ein Meer von Gold und Rot, auch das Institut verändert sich – durch den Umzug in das farbenfrohe LIZ-Gebäude auf der 14th Street. Unsere Praktikanten und Praktikantinnen sind bei allem live dabei, berichten in den sozialen Medien von dem Umzug, der großen Eröffnungsfeier und den herbstlichen Freizeitaktivitäten, die das Leben in der amerikanischen Hauptstadt so aufregend machen.
 

Interns Season 4 ©Goethe-Institut

Melina ©Goethe-Institut Melina ist in diesem Herbst Praktikantin der Programmabteilung. Um eine kleine Auszeit von ihrem wirtschaftshistorischen Masterstudium in Göttingen zu bekommen, hat sie sich für das Praktikum hier entschieden. Sie freut sich über die Gelegenheit, mehr über den deutsch-amerikanischen Austausch und die Verbindungen zwischen den Ländern zu erfahren. Melina war von Anfang an sehr überrascht und begeistert von der Freundlichkeit und Offenheit der Menschen in DC. Diese begegnet ihr nicht nur in ihrem Lieblingscafé bei Cupcakes und Vanilla Latte, sondern auch bei der Fahrradtour auf dem Weg zur Arbeit entlang des Potomac River. Sie freut sich darauf, diese positive Einstellung in ihr nächstes Abenteuer mitzunehmen, wenn sie im Januar ihr Auslandssemester in Irland beginnt.
 
Lisann ©Goethe-Institut Lisann ist Praktikantin der Bildungskooperation Deutsch und hilft bei der Organisation von Projekten, die Deutschlernen und Deutschland in den USA beliebter machen. Das Planen von Veranstaltungen und die Arbeit mit Deutschlehrkräften passt genau zu ihrem Studium von Deutsch als Fremdsprache und Anglistik/Amerikanistik. Lisann ist eine regelrechte Washington, DC Expertin, da sie schon vor drei Jahren die Hauptstadt als Au Pair unsicher machte. Jetzt genießt sie es wieder hier zu wohnen, zu arbeiten und viele altbekannte und neue Orte sowie spannende Veranstaltungen zu besuchen. Lisann kommt aus dem Norden von Deutschland und studiert auch im Norden, in Greifswald. Dahin wird sie nach dem Praktikum auch wieder zurückkehren, um ihren Bachelor zu beenden.
Eric © Goethe-Institut Eric ist Praktikant der Sprachabteilung. Er ist in Westafrika aufgewachsen und studierte dort Germanistik. Seit April 2019 lebt er in Washington DC zusammen mit seiner amerikanischen Frau, die er vor zwei Jahren in Togo kennenlernte. Eric genießt die Zeit im Goethe-Institut und freut sich besonders über die praktische Arbeit im Sprachkurs sowie die Möglichkeit, sein Deutsch zu üben und zu verbessern. Nach seinem Praktikum plant er, eine Prüfung als Sprachlehrer zu absolvieren, damit er hier Deutsch und Französisch unterrichten kann. Einer seiner Lieblingsaspekte der Hauptstadt ist die Vielfalt der interessanten Museen und Orte. Das National Museum of African American History and Culture, das Clinton Presidential Museum und die National Mall haben es ihm besonders angetan und sind für ihn immer einen Besuch wert.
 
Emily © Goethe-Institut Emily ist Praktikantin des Transatlantic Outreach Programs (TOP). Als Teenager besuchte sie ein Jahr lang eine amerikanische High School in Kalifornien und ist seitdem begeistert von der englischen Sprache und amerikanischen Kultur. Sie schließt bald ihr Master Studium der Anglistik/Amerikanistik an der Uni Bonn ab und freut sich über die praktischen Anwendungen außerhalb ihres theoretischen Studiums. Das Praktikum bereitet ihr viel Freude und sie ist dankbar für die abwechslungsreichen Aufgaben. Ein Highlight war für Emily die TOP-Konferenz in Austin, Texas, auf der sie ihr Team tatkräftig unterstützte. Ansonsten verbringt sie ihre Freizeit damit, DC zu erkunden und ist dabei schon auf gemütliche Cafes und spannende Vintage-Buchläden gestoßen.
Sophia © Goethe-Institut Sophia ist Praktikantin in der Informationsabteilung des Goethe-Instituts Washington. Die Leipziger Kulturwissenschaftsstudentin zieht es seit einem Auslandssemester in Hongkong immer wieder in die Ferne. Sie findet es sehr spannend, einen Blick hinter die Kulissen einer großen, international agierenden Organisation zu werfen und freut sich, dass sie hier am Goethe-Institut eigene kleine Social Media Projekte betreuen kann. Nach der Arbeit und am Wochenende ist Sophia immer unterwegs und erkundet die lebendigen Viertel und geheimen Ecken der Hauptstadt sowie andere Städten der Ostküste. Besonders begeistert ist sie von der Swing Dancing Szene in DC, weshalb sie keine Gelegenheit verpasst, Abends zu Jazzmusik tanzen zu gehen.

 

Mehr über Praktika in...

#goetheintern Staffel 4 – Sommerzeit in DC

Der Sommer 2019 ist da! Die Goethe Praktikantinnen – einige bekannte und einige neue Gesichter – genießen gemeinsam die warme Jahreszeit in DC und verbringen die heißen Tage und lauen Sommerabende an ihren Lieblingsorten der Stadt. In dieser Staffel werden Highlights vorgestellt, besondere Plätze und Aktivtäten in DC, die die Praktikantinnen zu lieben gelernt haben und welche nicht jedermann kennt. Lernt sie hier kennen und folgt dem Goethekanal auf Instagram zu den verborgenen Schätzen der Stadt! #Followmeto…
 

Interns Season 4 ©Goethe-Institut

Annika ©Goethe-Institut Annika ist Praktikantin für das Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) am Goethe-Institut Washington. Seit ihrem Auslandsjahr an einer High School in New Jersey zieht es sie immer wieder in die USA. In Köln absolviert sie zurzeit ihren Master in Nordamerikastudien. Ihr praktisches Wissen erlangt sie durch ihre vielen Road Trips durch Amerika, auf welchen sie stets mit wenig Gepäck reist. Einige ihrer bisherigen Highlights während des Praktikums sind ausgedehnte Besuche der Smithsonian-Museen, Camping auf der Assateague Island, das Erkunden von Weingütern in Northern Virginia und der Memorial Day, welchen sie an der Jersey Shore verbrachte. Noch mehr Abenteuer warten auf Annika: „Ich hoffe, dass ich nach meinem Abschluss einen aufregenden und zugleich anspruchsvollen Job finde! Auch plane ich, mir irgendwann in meinem Leben mal ein halbes Jahr freizunehmen und den Appalachian Trail zu wandern.“
 
Lilly ©Goethe-Institut Lilly ist Praktikantin in der Verwaltung des Goethe-Instituts Washington. Im beschaulichen Konstanz studiert sie im Bachelor Politik-und Verwaltungswissenschaften. Nach einigen Monaten in den Staaten hat Lilly die amerikanische Kultur nun vollständig absorbiert, einschließlich örtlicher Essgewohnheiten, regelmäßiger Swimmingpool-Sessions und spannender Baseballspiele. Zwei Städte, die noch auf ihrer Ausflugsliste stehen: Chicago und New York City. Trotz ihrer Euphorie für den US-Lebensstil wird Lilly Ende des Sommers nach Deutschland zurückkehren, um ihren Bachelor zu beenden. Doch womöglich kommt sie für ein Masterstudium zurück in die USA, wer weiß?! Die Welt steht ihr jedenfalls offen und spannende Zeiten warten auf sie.
Angelika © Goethe-Institut Angelika ist Praktikantin der Programmabteilung – und dafür schlägt ihr Herz! Nicht ohne Grund hat sie sich in ihrem Master in Nordamerikastudien an der Freien Universität Berlin auf Popkultur spezialisiert. Für Literatur, Film und Musik lässt sie sich immer begeistern, sowohl zu Hause im heißgeliebten Berlin als auch am Goethe-Institut in Washington, DC, wo sie die vielen Partnerschaften mit anderen Kulturinstituten, Botschaften, Kinos und Museen sehr zu schätzen weiß. So hat Angelika als Programmpraktikantin stets einen gut-gefüllten Terminkalender, wodurch sie DC und dessen Kulturszene über die Zeit kennen und lieben lernte. Trotz alledem bleibt genügend Zeit für Wochenendtrips an Orte wie Monticello und Mount Vernon, die mit ereignisreicher Historie und weitläufigen Parkanlagen bestechen. Bevor Angelika nach Deutschland zurückkehrt, um ihren Master zu beenden und sich der Herausforderung des Berliner Arbeitsmarkts zu stellen, liegen noch einige spannende Wochen vor ihr. Besonders freut sie sich auf die nahende Reise nach New York City und den Road-Trip durch die Südstaaten.
 
Jenna © Goethe-Institut Jenna ist Praktikantin für das Deutschlandjahr-Team am Goethe-Institut Washington, DC. Sie studiert in ihrem letzten Bachelorjahr an der Virginia Tech im Fachbereich Internationale Studien mit Deutsch und Französisch im Nebenfach. Jennas Talent für Sprachen lässt sich zurückführen auf ihre doppelte Staatsbürgerschaft in den Vereinigten Staaten und Deutschland sowie auf mehrere Auslandsaufenthalte während des Studiums und die regelmäßigen Besuche ihrer deutschen Familie. In Anbetracht ihres internationalen Lebensstils ist es wenig überraschend, dass Jenna sich in das weltoffene, multikulturelle Flair der Hauptstadt verliebt hat und nach ihrem Studium gerne in DC leben und arbeiten möchte. Zusammen mit ihren Freunden genießt sie das blühende Stadtleben und die Vielzahl an Aktivitäten, die sich hier bieten, wie Kultur-Festivals, Konzerte, Museen und einzigartige Restaurants.
Ann-Kathrin © Goethe-Institut Ann-Kathrin ist die derzeitige Praktikantin in der Informationsabteilung und Masterstudentin der Kultur und Wirtschaft an der Universität Mannheim. Während sie sich schon auf ihr Austauschsemester in Montreal Ende des Jahres freut, genießt sie derzeit den Sommer als Praktikantin in D.C. Gerne nimmt sie die diversen Möglichkeiten wahr, welche die Stadt zu bieten hat, wie offene Workout-Sessions im Park, fantastisches Seafood und die hübschen Läden in Georgetown. Aber auch gemütliche Abende mit ihren Mitbewohnern sind immer willkommen. Während der Praktikumszeit möchte sie gerne das Potenzial der vielen Museen und Think Tanks in DC ausschöpfen, während sie an den Wochenenden eine andere Art von Aktivität bevorzugt: „Es gibt keinen schöneren Kontrast zum Großstadtleben als es einfach hinter sich zu lassen und Zeit am Meer zu verbringen!"

#goetheintern Staffel 3 – Hinter den Kulissen

Das Jahr 2019 am Goethe-Institut ging einher mit neuen Gesichtern am Praktikantenhimmel, welche die dritte Staffel der #goetheintern Serie einführten. Sie gewährten unterhaltsame Blicke hinter die Kulissen und eine Einführung in die aufregende Intern-Instawelt. Wer sind sie? Was machen sie? Warum sind sie hier? Diese und viele weitere Fragen wurden über die Zeit beantwortet. Eins ist sicher: sie alle hatten spannende Monate in DC und erkundeten die Hauptstadt in all ihren Facetten – von zahlreichen spannenden Museen bis hin zu zuckersüßen Cupcakes.
 

Intern Season 3 © Goethe-Institut

Aylin ©Goethe-Institut Aylin ist Praktikantin in der Kulturprogrammabteilung des Goethe-Instituts Washington. Und sie ist eine echte Kultur-Liebhaberin: In Hildesheim, ihrem Wohnort in Deutschland, studiert sie im Bachelor Kulturwissenschaften und ästhetische Praxis, und arbeitet ehrenamtlich für das türkisch-deutsche Online Magazin MAVIBLAU. Hier in Washington freut sie sich selbstverständlich auf alle Kulturangebote des Goethe-Instituts, wie dem Zeitgeist Literature Festival, und der künstlerischen Stadt DC. Besonders viel Eindruck hat bei ihr ihre Teilnahme am Women’s March am 19. Januar hinterlassen. Drei Dinge, ohne die sie nicht leben kann: „Wenn wir hier ehrlich wären, dann wäre das Luft, Essen und Schlaf.“
Eva ©Goethe-Institut Eva ist Praktikantin für die Abteilung Bildungskooperation Deutsch am Goethe-Institut Washington. Sie ist ein echtes Sprachwunder: in Münster studiert sie zurzeit Spanisch, Sozialwissenschaften sowie Deutsch als Zweit-und Fremdsprache im Master of Education. Die Arbeit am Goethe-Institut erlaubt ihr, in die DC-Arbeitswelt einzutauchen, aber auch mit lokalen Schulen und Lehrern in Kontakt zu kommen. Da sie ab August ein Praktikum als Lehrerin an einer Schule in Minnesota absolvieren wird, ist dies für sie besonders spannend. Eines ihrer Ziele in Washington ist es, den Fahrradwahn aus Münster nach Washington zu bringen. Dazu hat sie sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Salsa zu lernen. Drei Dinge, ohne die sie nicht leben kann: „Kaffee, Freunde, Spaziergänge an der frischen Luft“
Lara ©Goethe-Institut Lara ist Praktikantin in der Informationsabteilung des Goethe-Instituts Washington, und somit für die sozialen Netzwerke und die Online-Redaktion unserer Webseite zuständig. Gebürtig ist sie ein Küstenkind aus Nordfriesland, aber mittlerweile studiert sie in Berlin im Bachelor das Fach Nordamerikastudien. In DC freut sich die anstrebende Journalistin, in die Arbeit einer Online-Redaktion in Washington einzutauchen und ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf zu lassen. Auf ihrer To-Do Liste für die Zeit ihres Praktikums steht unter anderem der Besuch eines Eishockey-Spiels, des Newseums, eines typischen Diners sowie aller sonstigen Bücherläden, süßen Cafés, und Events, die sie spontan auffindet. Drei Dinge, ohne die sie nicht leben kann: „Musik, Müsli, meine Menschen“
Julia ©Goethe-Institut Julia ist Praktikantin in der Sprachabteilung des Goethe-Instituts Washington. In Köln, wo sie geboren und aufgewachsen ist, hat sie vor kurzem ihren Bachelor in Englisch und Erziehungswissenschaften abgeschlossen. Daher freut sie sich besonders über die praktische Arbeit im Sprachkurs-und Kundenbetrieb unseres Instituts. Hier in Washington hat sie das Glück, bei Verwandten in Rockville, Maryland unterzukommen, und kommt somit auch in den Genuss des amerikanischen Vorstadtlebens. Julia begeistert sich außerdem für amerikanische Sportarten – von Basketball über Eishockey bis Baseball – sie weiß Bescheid. Ein Highlight ihrer Zeit war neben den vielen Sportevents, die sie besucht hat, ein Ausflug mit ihrer Gastmutter nach Annapolis in Maryland: „Eine niedliche Stadt mit viel Geschichte.“ Drei Dinge, ohne die sie nicht leben kann: "Köln, Karneval und die Beatles."
Johanna ©Goethe-Institut Johanna ist Praktikantin für die Initiative Schulen: Partner der Zukunft (PASCH) am Goethe-Institut Washington. Die gebürtige Hannoveranerin könnte schon fast als Einheimische bezeichnet werden, denn mittlerweile lebt sie schon seit zwei Jahren im DC-Gebiet. Nach dem Abitur war sie das erste Mal als Au Pair in den USA tätig. Danach vertiefte sie ihr kulturelles Wissen über das Land noch durch ein Amerikanistik/Anglistik und Geschichtsstudium in Potsdam. Nun ist sie erneut als Au Pair in Potomac, Maryland, tätig und hat dort ihr zweites Zuhause gefunden – „ein Herz auf zwei Kontinenten“, so sagt sie – Gleichzeitig freut sie sich über die Möglichkeit, das Lernen der deutschen Sprache durch ihr Praktikum an unserem Institut zu fördern. Drei Dinge, ohne die sie nicht leben kann: „Kommunikation, ein sauberes Badezimmer und Nonfat Chai-Tea Latte.“
 

#goetheintern Staffel 2 – Instagram Takeover

Im Herbst 2018 haben wir euch spannende Einblicke in den Arbeitsalltag unserer Praktikanten und Praktikantinnen am Goethe-Institut in Washington, DC gegeben. Was sind ihre täglichen Aufgaben und was gefällt ihnen besonders an ihrer Arbeit?
Auf Instagram könnt ihr nachverfolgen, was unsere Praktikanten und Praktikantinnen Tobias, Pragya, Caroline und Leonie selbst berichteten. Folgt einfach unserem Hashtag #goetheintern und werdet zum Insider!

Tobias war im Herbst Praktikant in unserer Informationsabteilung. Als Teil der Redaktion war er hauptsächlich für die Pflege unserer Social-Media-Kanäle und der Website verantwortlich. Besonders viel Vergnügen hatte er daran, das Transkript für unsere Podcast-Serie "The Big Pond" zu schreiben. Wenn er nicht fleißig tippte, erkundete er alles, was Washington DC zu bieten hat - von sportlichen Fahrradtouren bis zur Erleuchtung des nationalen Weihnachtsbaums.

Schau nach, was er über seine Zeit als Praktikant erzählt.
 
 
Pragya war Praktikantin in der Sprachabteilung des Goethe-Instituts. Ihre größten Verantwortungen waren die Pflege unserer Deutschkurse und Prüfungen. Wöchentlich plante sie neue Kurse, aktualisierte Kurs-und Prüfungsinformationen auf unserer Webseite und entwarf Broschüren. Kontakt zu Kunden kam ebenfalls nicht zu kurz, da sie mögliche Teilnehmer mit Rat zur Seite stand und, wenn nötig, ihr Sprachlevel beurteilte.

Schau nach, was sie über ihre Zeit als Praktikantin erzählt.
 
Caroline war Praktikantin für das Programm der Sprachabteilung. Besonders gefielen ihr die Ausflüge zu Schulen in der Umgebung. Als Botschafterin unseres "German-for-Hire"-Programms, vertrat sie das Goethe-Insitut vor Ort.

Schau nach, was sie über ihre Zeit als Praktikantin erzählt.
 
Leonie war Praktikantin für das Programm unserer Kulturabteilung. Als selbserklärte Film-Liebhaberin, freute sie sich besonders bei Film|Neu mitzurwirken. Dies ist ein Film-Festival vom Goethe-Institut, bei dem neue Filme aus Deutschland, der Schweiz und Österreich gezeigt werden.

Schau nach, was sie über ihre Zeit als Praktikantin erzählt.
 

#goetheintern Staffel 1 – Praktika auf der ganzen Welt

Während eines Praktikums an einem Goethe-Institut im Ausland haben junge Studierende die Möglichkeit, nicht nur die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts kennenzulernen, sondern auch in ein neues Land und eine andere Kultur einzutauchen. Wir haben gefragt: wie erleben unsere Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten ihre Zeit im Ausland? Wie sieht der Alltag an einem Goethe-Institut aus? Und vor allem: wie unterscheiden sich die Erfahrungen an unseren Instituten weltweit?

Im Sommer 2018 beantworteten Isabel in Toronto, Hans in Washington DC, und Carolin in Mexiko-Stadt wöchentlich eine Frage gaben uns Einblicke in ihre Praktika.

Isabel Spoerl ©Isabel Spoerl Isabel, 24, kommt aus der Nähe von München und hat Nordamerikastudien an der LMU in München studiert. In ihrer Freizeit ist sie am liebsten draußen in der Natur, beim Wandern, Volleyball spielen, Skifahren oder Snowboarden. Die Semesterferien verbringt sie am liebsten mit Reisen.

Nachdem sie ein Semester an der Westküste Kanadas studiert hat, wollte sie unbedingt nach Kanada zurück und hat sich deshalb für das Praktikum in Toronto beworben – außerdem passt es thematisch super zu ihrem Studiengang. Sowohl die Menschen in Kanada als auch die Natur machen diesen Ort für Isabel so besonders. 

Hans Allner, Praktikant am Goethe-Institut Washington ©Hans Allner Hans, 22, kommt aus Leipzig. Wenn er nicht gerade Praktikant am Goethe-Institut Washington ist, studiert er an der Universität Leipzig Anglistik und Kulturwissenschaften. Neben der richtigen Musik auf den Ohren sind für ihn die wichtigsten Voraussetzungen, um gut in den Tag zu starten eine gesunde Dosis Humor und frische Luft, die ihm ins Gesicht weht.

Die Wahl für Washington, DC, als Praktikumsort fiel ihm nicht sonderlich schwer, da die Stadt kulturell viel zu bieten hat und er sich durch dieses Umfeld erhofft, viele neue Erfahrungen sowohl privat als auch beruflich zu sammeln.
 
Carolin Brejc ©Carolin Brejc Carolin, 23, kommt aus Freising, in der Nähe von München. Sie hat in Passau International Culture and Business studiert und möchte für ihren Master nach Amsterdam gehen. 

Nicht nur im Rahmen ihres Studiums interessiert sich Carolin für verschiedene Kulturen – sie liebt es zu reisen. Seit ihrem Austauschsemester in Chile und ihrer anschließenden Reise durch Argentinien, Peru und Bolivien, schlägt ihr Herz vor allem für Lateinamerika. Dies veranlasste sie auch dazu, sich beim Goethe-Institut Mexiko zu bewerben.

Instagram der Woche

Jede Woche stellen wir euch einen unserer Praktikanten und Praktikantinnen auf Instagram vor. Sie geben uns einen Einblick in ihre aufregende Zeit innerhalb und außerhalb des Goethe-Instituts. Ihr könnt den Post hier und auf unserem Instagram Channel verfolgen.
 

Top