Innovative Forms
of Memory Culture

Shaping the Past / Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

How does the past take shape, and what happens in the process of coming to terms with the past? What social repercussions are associated with the rooting of history in monuments and memorials? How can those narratives be shifted or upended through alternative, innovative approaches to memorialization?  

These questions are at the center of Shaping the Past, a partnership between Monument Lab, the Goethe-Institut, and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb). 
More on this project

Project Highlights



Civic Displace

Goethe-Institut Los Angeles
Civic Displace

How could Indigenous voices shape L.A.’s Memory Culture? A discussion with Julia Bogany, Pamela Villaseñor and Joel Garcia.

Counter-Memories © Gary Coronado

Counter-Memories

The Counter-Memories conversation series investigates a number of international monuments and places of remembrance whose symbolic significance often reveals a great deal about our relationship to history.
Watch the videos

Memory Map

Which questions has Shaping the Past tackled so far? Explore videos, photo galleries, and other documentation of the programs and events that have taken part so far in North America. 

Perspectives

Historical memory is constantly shaped and reshaped by new interpretations of the past. Explore unique perspectives, nuanced arguments, and an examination of current events by scholars, activists, and the Monument Lab Fellows. 







Art Kit © Joseph Hladik/Elmhurst Art Museum

The Power of the Message: Send us your message!

Alisha Wormsley, Ayanah Moor and some very special helpers show you in a short video how to create from everyday objects you may already have at home. Send us a photo of your kite, poster, or yard sign and we will publish it on our Facebook and Instagram pages!
Watch the video

Our Fellows

Our Fellows

The fellows for Shaping the Past come from Monument Lab's 2019 and 2020 fellowship cohorts and were selected from an applications pool of over 100 memory workers throughout North America and Germany with existing projects using art, activism, history, journalism, and other tools to approach monuments in their communities. Applications were reviewed by a jury representing the fields of art, history, and social engagement, who recommended applicants who demonstrated excellence, innovative processes and projects for public engagement.


Shaping the Past – post cards

Get a Set of Postcards!

With most of our events being digital, we still wanted to give you something tangible. Enter your address and we will send you a set of postcards with a selection of modern monuments and art in public spaces!
To the form

Partners

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).


Monument Lab Logo






 

Local Partners

1014 - space for ideas Logo

 
Friends of the Goethe-Institut
Onassis Foundation Los Angeles

 
Elmhurst Art Museum Chicago

Top

Innovative Formen der Erinnerungskultur

Shaping the Past / Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

Wie wird Vergangenheit gestaltet? Wie findet Vergangenheitsaufarbeitung statt? Was sind gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen, wenn Monumente und Denkmäler mit Geschichte aufgeladen werden? Können übliche Narrative der Erinnerungskultur mit alternativen und innovativen Ansätzen verschoben oder gekippt werden?  

Diese Fragen behandeln wir im Rahmen von Gestaltung der Vergangenheit (Shaping the Past). Das Projekt wurde in Partnerschaft mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung entwickelt. 
Mehr über das Projekt...

Bisherige Highlights

Kansas City Storefront

Versuch der Aussöhnung oder das Unbehagen der Erinnerung

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
Versuch der Aussöhnung

Ein Gespräch über zwei Erinnerungsorte zu Lynchmorden – mit Susan Neiman, Patrick Weems, Glenn North und Dave Tell. 

Civic Displace

Goethe-Institut Los Angeles
Civic Displace

Wie können indigene Stimmen in der Erinnerungskultur von Los Angeles eine wichtigere Rolle spielen? Ein Gespräch zwischen Julia Bogany, Pamela Villaseñor und Joel Garcia.

Counter-Memories © Gary Coronado

Counter-Memories

Die Dialogserie Counter-Memories setzt sich mit einer Reihe von internationalen Denkmälern und Erinnerungsorten auseinander, deren symbolische Bedeutung viel über unser Verhältnis zur Geschichte verrät.
Zu den Videos

Memory Map

Welche Fragen hat Shaping the Past bisher thematisiert? Entdecken Sie hier Videos, Bildergalerien und weitere Dokumentationen der Programme und Veranstaltungen, die bereits in ganz Nordamerika stattgefunden haben.  

Zur Debatte

Erinnerung an Geschichte befindet sich im kontinuierlichen Wandel, die Vergangenheit wird immer wieder neu interpretiert. Erfahren Sie mehr über einzigartige Perspektiven, nuancierte Auseinandersetzungen und die Sicht auf aktuelle Geschehnisse von Intellektuellen, Aktivist*innen und den Monument Lab Fellows.







Art Kit © Joseph Hladik/Elmhurst Art Museum

The Power of the Message: Schicken Sie uns Ihre Botschaft!

Alisha Wormsley, Ayanah Moor und einige ganz besondere Helfer*innen zeigen in einem kurzen Video, wie Sie aus Alltagsgegenständen, die Sie vielleicht schon zu Hause haben, Kunstwerke herstellen. Schicken Sie uns ein Foto von Ihrem Drachen, Poster oder Hofschild und wir veröffentlichen es auf unseren Facebook- und Instagram-Seiten. 
Zum Video

Unsere Fellows

Die Fellows für Gestaltung der Vergangenheit kommen aus den Stipendiatenkohorten 2019 und 2020 von Monument Lab und wurden aus einem Bewerber*innenpool von über 100 Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen“ aus Nordamerika und Deutschland ausgewählt. In ihren Projekten befassen sie sich mit Denkmälern in ihren jeweiligen Gemeinschaften und bedienen sich dabei unter anderem künstlerischen Praktiken, Aktivismus, Geschichtswissenschaft und Journalismus.

Unsere Fellows

Shaping the Past – Postkarten

Bestellen Sie ein Postkarten-Set!

Da unsere Veranstaltungen nun größtenteils im digitalen Raum stattfinden, möchten wir Ihnen auch etwas Haptisches anbieten. Geben Sie Ihre Adresse ein und wir schicken Ihnen ein Postkartenset mit einer Auswahl zeitgenössischer Denkmäler und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum per Post!
Zum Formular

Partner

Shaping The Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.


Monument Lab Logo





 

Lokale Partner

1014 - space for ideas Logo

Friends of the Goethe-Institut
Onassis Foundation Los Angeles

Elmhurst Art Museum Chicago

Top