A-Level / Advanced Higher German Topics
German for Young People

Berlin Reichstag
Berlin Reichstag | © Bernhard Ludewig 2012
Below pupils can find useful links to German-language websites on subjects relating to German society and culture. The topics are chosen with reference to the UK exam boards' specifications, and our aim is to provide fast access to websites which are well-presented and up-to-date.

To find out which materials are available in the Goethe-Institut libraries in London and Glasgow, you can search our online library catalogues. If pupils would like help with finding information, they can also contact our information service by sending an email to:
library-london@goethe.de
 

Topics


Father and daughter with digital tablet under blanket
Father and daughter with digital tablet under blanket | ©picture alliance / Westend61

The family continues to be a highly-valued institution in German society. Yet ideas about what form families should take, as well as their structure, have changed dramatically in the wake of social change.


Munich Oktoberfest - Ferris wheel in front of alpine panorama
Munich Oktoberfest - Ferris wheel in front of alpine panorama | ©picture-alliance / dpa; Fotograf: Frank Leonhardt; dpa - Fotoreport


New home
New home | © picture alliance/Sven Simon; photographer: Anke Fleig / SVEN SIMON
Since the 1950s immigration has played a major role in shaping the population structure of Germany. The first major flow of immigrants into West Germany consisted mainly of workers from Turkey, Italy and Greece. Later the immigrant population included ethnic Germans from East European countries, as well as people seeking asylum from political oppression, many of whom were also from eastern Europe.




Berlin traffic light
Berlin traffic light | © Getty Images/William Fawcett
Berlin is Germany's capital city, and one of the largest and most important cities in Germany. It has a population of around 3.5 million people, and Germany's 'Bundestag' (parliament) is based in Berlin's Reichstag building. After World War Two the city was divided into East and West, and the people living on either side were separated from one another by the Berlin Wall. This Wall was knocked down by protesters when German reunification took place in 1989.


Berlin Wall graffiti Trabi
Berlin Wall graffiti Trabi | Free photo
In 1949 Germany was divided into two states, each with its own government and separate political structure. Travel and communication between the two states was tightly controlled and a wall was built to separate East and West Berlin. Here you can read about the history of Germany's division, and find out how reunification came about in 1989.


Veggie World 2014 Fair
Veggie World 2014 Fair | picture alliance / dpa, Fotograf: Fredrik von Erichsen, © dpa
Germany is often regarded as being at the forefront of European developments concerning issues such as climate change and recycling, transport and renewable energy sources. The Green Party, together with other environmental pressure groups, has been an influential force in German politics.


 


Work
Work | © dpa - Report; Fotograf: Ronald Bonß


Top

A-Level / Advanced Higher Deutsch Themen
Deutsch für Jugendliche

Berlin Reichstag
Berlin Reichstag | © Bernhard Ludewig 2012
Unten stehend finden Schüler nützliche Links zu deutschsprachigen Internetseiten rund um die deutsche Sprache und Gesellschaft. Die Themen wurden im Einklang mit den Anforderungen der britischen Prüfungsausschüsse gewählt. Hier soll Zugang zu durchdachten und regelmäßig aktualisierten Internetseiten angeboten werden.

Welche Materialien in den Goethe-Instituten London und Glasgow verfügbar sind, kann über die Suchmaschinen der jeweiligen Bibliotheken recherchiert werden. Wenn Schüler Hilfe bei der Suche nach weiteren Informationen benötigen, können sie eine E-Mail an unseren hauseigenen Informationsdienst schicken:

library-london@goethe.de

library-glasgow@goethe.de

Themen


Vater und Tochter mit Tablet unter der Decke
Vater und Tochter mit Tablet unter der Decke | ©picture alliance / Westend61
Die Familie gilt immer noch als hoch geschätzte Institution in Deutschland. Doch die Vorstellungen davon, wie eine Familie zusammengesetzt sein sollte, haben sich vor dem Hintergrund sozialer Veränderungen dramatisch gewandelt.


Münchner Oktoberfest - Riesenrad vor Alpenpanorama
Münchner Oktoberfest - Riesenrad vor Alpenpanorama | ©picture-alliance / dpa; Fotograf: Frank Leonhardt; dpa - Fotoreport


Neue Heimat
Neue Heimat | © picture alliance/Sven Simon; Fotograf: Anke Fleig / SVEN SIMON
Seit den fünfziger Jahren hat Migration eine wichtige Rolle in der Entwicklung der deutschen Gesellschaftsstruktur gespielt. Beim ersten Einwanderungsschub waren es vor allem Arbeiter aus der Türkei, Italien und Griechenland, die nach Westdeutschland zogen. Dann kamen Einwanderer aus Osteuropa mit deutschen Wurzeln hinzu, sowie Asylanten, die vor politischer Unterdrückung in ihren Heimatländern flohen, viele von ihnen ebenfalls aus Osteuropa.




Berlin Ampel
Berlin Ampel | © Getty Images/William Fawcett
Berlin ist die Hauptstadt Deutschlands, und eine der größten und wichtigsten Städte des Landes. Die Bevölkerungszahl liegt bei 3,5 Millionen, und das Reichstagsgebäude in Berlin ist Sitz des Deutschen Bundestages. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde Berlin in Ost-Berlin und West-Berlin geteilt, und die Berliner Mauer wurde aufgebaut, um die Einwohner in den beiden Bezirken voneinander zu trennen. Als 1989 die deutsche Wiedervereinigung stattfand, wurde die Mauer von den Demonstranten zerstört.


Berliner Mauer Trabi Graffiti
Berliner Mauer Trabi Graffiti | Free photo
Im Jahr 1949 wurde Deutschland in zwei Staaten mit jeweils eigener Regierung und Staatsform geteilt. Reisen von einem Staat zum anderen, sowie der Kontakt zwischen den Einwohnern waren strengen Kontrollen unterworfen und die Regierung der DDR baute eine Mauer, um Ost- von Westberlin zu trennen. Hier erfährst Du von der Geschichte der deutschen Teilung und davon, wie es 1989 zur Wiedervereinigung kam.
 

Veggie Welt Messe 2014
Veggie Welt Messe 2014 | picture alliance / dpa, Fotograf: Fredrik von Erichsen, © dpa
Deutschland gilt als einer der Vorreiter, wenn es um europäische Entwicklungen im Bereich Klimawandel, Abfallverwertung, Verkehr und Erneubare Energien gibt. Gemeinsam mit anderen Umweltorganisationen haben Die Grünen (German Green Party) starken Einfluss auf deutsche Politik ausgeübt.



Arbeit
Arbeit | © dpa - Report; Fotograf: Ronald Bonß


Top