Artificially Correct

Artificially Correct © El Boum

In journalism, on social media, in novels or in the classroom. Artificial intelligence shapes the language of our everyday lives. It can reproduce bias - but it can also help combat discrimination. 

This dossier compiles different perspectives on how artificial intelligence affects language and text production, and on why discriminatory language must already be addressed in schools. These articles marked the start to our coming events with which we would like to open up the topics of Artificially Correct and start the discussion around AI and text there, where text production begins for many of us: At school.

Artificial Intelligence & Text production

While we do not know what tomorrow’s algorithms will tell us, their answers will be based on the questions we ask and actions we take today. It is our duty to ourselves, and to the future, to make sure they are good ones.

Adam Smith

Smartphone Photo (detail): © colourbox.com

Artificial intelligence and fakenews
When robots make biased fake content on social media

Artificial Intelligence systems are massively implemented by organisations worldwide. However, these automatic systems are not always used for good, and they do not always make the best decisions. In this article I will highlight three types of biased robots, exemplified in three cases: disinforming social bots, biased AI tools, and synthetic profiles.
 


“Bounding boxes” that Max Gruber has artistically and humorously depicted here. Image (screenshot): Max Gruber © Better Images of AI / Ceci n'est pas une banane / CC-BY 4.0

Artificial Intelligence in Journalism
On the Hunt for Hidden Patterns

Even today, Artificial Intelligence (AI) already plays a key role in journalism: algorithms find stories in large data sets and automatically generate thousands of texts. Very soon, AI could become a critical infrastructure of media production.
 


Said Haider Image (screenshot): Stephanie Hesse © Goethe-Institut Finnland

Communicating with AI
Meta – A Chatbot Against Discrimination

It is Said Haider’s vision to develop a “1-1-2” for discrimination incidents. With his team, the Meta founder and CEO has developed the first chatbot that provides round-the-clock legal advice for people experiencing discrimination and looking for counselling.

 


Artificial Intelligence (AI) is capable of automatically generating texts that are almost indistinguishable from human-written ones. Alina Constantin / Better Images of AI / Handmade A.I / CC-BY 4.0

The artificial author
How AI could change how we write fact and fiction

Artificial intelligence (AI) could completely change the way that we write. AI can generate huge amounts of comprehensive content on any topic, filter fact from fiction, and provide a creative spark to poets and screenwriters. But how should we think about this revolutionary tool? And could computers’ endless output possibly reveal something hidden about ourselves?


From left to right: Prof. Dr. Mascha Kurpicz-Briki, Uli Köppen, Dr. Phil. Aljosha Burchardt, Dr. Stefanie Ullmann, Laura Hollink  Images (cropped): private, Uli Köppen: Lisa Hinder, BR Images (detail): private, Uli Köppen: Lisa Hinder, BR

Expert statements
‘The collaboration between humans and machines needs to be redefined.’

What kinds of bias can be found in texts that were created with the help of AI? And what solutions are there to mitigate or even avoid distortions of reality? We talked about this with five experts from the UK, Germany, the Netherlands, and Switzerland.


Language and power

School as an institution contributed and continues to contribute to the fact that certain people were or continue to be invisible. An environment must be created in which young people dare to come out and are not bullied for doing so – and unfortunately, that is currently not the case.

Sovia Szymula

English translation "Speaking & Being" by Kübra Gümüşay Profile Books

In conversation with Gesche Ipsen
Translation can adjust the balance of power

In “Speaking and Being” Kübra Gümüşay explores the question of how language shapes our thinking and determines power relations in our society. The book has now been published in English translation. We talked to the translator, Gesche Ipsen, about her work on the book and the linguistic power of translation.

 


Sophia Szymula Photo (detail): © Patrick Steck

Sovia Szymula in conversation
‘It takes more than gendered teaching materials’

How do teachers deal with gender-sensitive language? Do non-binary people find their place in school? In this interview, student teacher and queer rapper Sovia Szymula a.k.a. LILA SOVIA talks about their personal experiences.
 


The We A.R.E. team, from left to right: Griselda Welsing, Linda Schulz, Aster Oberreit, Kira Römer Photo (detail): Georgina Fakunmoju © We A.R.E.

Racist language at school
‘Language creates reality’

In many schools, discriminatory language is commonplace. The activists of the Hamburg-based initiative We A.R.E. don't want to put up with it any longer. In an interview, they explained to our author what racist language does to children.





ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE AND TRANSLATION

A white robotic hand next to a button with speech bubbles on it and the German and UK flag next to it. Photo (detail): Alexander Limbach © picture alliance / Zoonar

AI Stereotypes
De-biasing Translation Tools

Many people routinely use machine translation services like Google Translate to translate text into another language. But these tools also often reflect social bias.


Michal Měchura developed the plug in Fairslator to identify and reduce bias in machine translation. private

In conversation with Michal Měchura
When the machine asks the human

Language technologist Michal Měchura has always wanted a tool that allows machine translators to ask humans questions about ambiguous phrases. With Fairslator, he has developed such a tool himself. Michal talks to us about bias and ambiguity in automatic translations.
 


Sensitivity in translation


Two persons of colour, one with a headscarf and glasses, and one with dreads and a basketball Shirt. The words "empowerment" and "Selbstermächtigung" can be read in the background. © Goethe-Institut. llustration: EL BOUM.

Othering ~ Andern
10 terms related to identities that require sensitivity in translation

Translation is incredibly challenging: translating sensitively demands that historical, geographical, political and social contexts be taken into account.
In their article, the literature scholars and editors of the platform “poco.lit.” Lucy Gasser and Anna von Rath look specifically at English and German, and discuss 10 terms related to identity constructions that are difficult to translate.



The picture shows the busts of two persons of colour, one of whom may be male and the other female. The male one has short, black hair, the female one a bit longer, wavy, also black hair and earrings. The expressions "people of colour" and "Menschen mit Rassismuserfahrung" can be read in the background. © Goethe-Institut. llustration: EL BOUM.

Race ≠ Rasse
10 terms related to race that require sensitivity in translation

Translation is incredibly challenging: translating sensitively demands that historical, geographical, political and social contexts be taken into account.
In their article, the literature scholars and editors of the platform “poco.lit.” Lucy Gasser and Anna von Rath look specifically at English and German, and discuss 10 terms related to race that are difficult to translate.


More about this project

Language defines the world. The Goethe-Institut stands for an inclusive language - and thus for an inclusive world.

With Artificially correct, we work with experts to develop a tool that minimises the bias in texts and strengthen a conscious approach to language.    

Specifically, Artificially correct deals with AI-based translation- and writing tools and the biases (e.g. gender/racial bias) whose translations they generate. Artificially Correct creates an active network of people affected by this problem - translators, publishers, activists and experiential experts - and identifies partners who will pursue the issue with us in the long term. We bring together perspectives, create awareness, share knowledge and stimulate discussion.

Illustration, to the left a magnifying glass, to the right a screen with a brain on it. © Goethe-Institut. Illustration: EL BOUM

Summary of the results
Artificially Correct Hackathon 2021

Between the 1st and 3rd of October 2021, translators, activists and software developers from all over the world, came together to participate in the Goethe-Institut’s Artificially Correct Hackathon.12 teams had 52 hours (lots of coffee), and one mission – to develop innovative, forward-looking ideas and projects to help tackle bias in language and machine translators.
 


Screenshot from the video interview with Bettina Koch, Bhargavi Mahesh, Janica Hackenbuch, Joke Daems, and Shrishti Mohabey. © Goethe-Institut

In conversation with
Bias by Us

BiasByUs created a website at the Artificially Correct hackathon that acted as a ‘library’ for bias in translations. This collection of bias is to be generated through crowdsourcing bias found in machine translations. Watch them speak about challenges and scope of bias in machine translations, the ‘Bias by Us’ solution, their Artificially Correct hackathon experience, and more.

Screenshot from the video interview with the winning hackathon-team Aïcha Konaté, Lauri Laatu and Marvin Mouroum. © Goethe-Institut

In conversation with
Word 2 Vec

Word 2 Vec focused on one of Google Translates, and other deep learning systems flaws - the struggle to comprehend complex content during the Artificially Correct hackathon. As a solution the team developed a translation bias reduction tool that allows you to identify sentences susceptible to racial and gender bias. It works to identify and analyse the greater context of the sentence, and consequently highlights sentences and phrases that could be susceptible to bias. Find out more about their solution and their hackathon experience! 

Database BiasByUs
What happened after the Hackathon?

Janiça Hackenbuchner from the BiasByUs team won our hackathon with the idea of a database that raises awareness of gender bias in machine translation. On  medium.com she explains how this works and how it has progressed since the hackathon.

Do you want to use the database yourselves? Take a look here!


Top

Artificially Correct

Artificially Correct © El Boum

Ob im Journalismus, auf Social Media, bei der Lektüre von Romanen oder im Klassenzimmer. Künstliche Intelligenz prägt die Sprache in unserem Alltag. Sie kann Bias reproduzieren – aber auch dabei helfen, gegen Diskriminierung vorzugehen. 

Wie sich künstliche Intelligenz auf Sprache und Textproduktion auswirkt, und wieso diskriminierende Sprache schon in Schulen thematisiert werden muss, dazu sind in diesem Dossier verschiedene Perspektiven zusammengestellt. Sie waren der Auftakt zu Veranstaltungen, mit denen wir die Themen von Artificially Correct öffnen möchten und die Diskussion bereits dort beginnen, wo Textproduktion für viele beginnt: In der Schule.
 

KI & Textproduktion

Wir wissen zwar nicht, was uns die Algorithmen von morgen sagen werden, aber ihre Antworten basieren auf den Fragen, die wir stellen, und den Maßnahmen, die wir heute ergreifen. Es ist unsere Pflicht uns selbst und der Zukunft gegenüber sicherzustellen, dass sie gut sind.

Adam Smith

Smartphone Foto (Detail): © colourbox.com

Künstliche Intelligenz und Falschmeldungen
Wenn Roboter verzerrte Inhalte in den sozialen Medien erzeugen

Weltweit setzen Organisationen Systeme Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) in großem Umfang ein. Jedoch werden diese Systeme nicht immer vorteilhaft genutzt und treffen auch nicht immer die besten Entscheidungen. In diesem Artikel behandle ich anhand von drei Beispielen drei Typen Roboter, die voreingenommene Inhalte erzeugen können: Social Bots, die Desinformation verbreiten, verzerrende KI‑Tools und synthetische Profile.
 


„Bounding Boxes“, die Max Gruber hier künstlerisch humorvoll dargestellt hat Foto (Detail): Max Gruber © Better Images of AI / Ceci n'est pas une banane / CC-BY 4.0

Datenjournalismus
Auf der Jagd nach verborgenen Mustern

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) spielt im Journalismus schon heute eine wichtige Rolle: Algorithmen finden Geschichten in großen Datensätzen und erzeugen automatisch Tausende Texte. Schon bald könnte KI zu einer kritischen Infrastruktur der Medienproduktion werden.


Said Haider Foto (Detail): Stephanie Hesse © Goethe-Institut Finnland

Mit Künstlicher Intelligenz kommunizieren
Meta – ein Chatbot gegen Diskriminierung

Said Haiders Vision ist es, die 110 bei Diskriminierung zu entwickeln. Mit seinem Team hat der Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Meta den ersten Chatbot entwickelt, der Diskriminierte, die Rat suchen, über ihre Rechte informiert – 24 Stunden am Tag, sieben Tage in der Woche.
 


Mit Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) können automatisch Texte generiert werden, die sich von Menschen geschriebenen Texten kaum unterscheiden lassen. Alina Constantin / Better Images of AI / Handmade A.I / CC-BY 4.0

Der künstliche Autor
Wie KI unser Schreiben über Fakten und Fiktionen verändern könnte

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) könnte unser Schreiben grundlegend verändern. KI kann zu jedem Thema riesige Mengen umfangreicher Inhalte erzeugen, Fakten von Fiktion trennen und Dichter*innen und Drehbuchautor*innen kreative Impulse geben. Aber was sollen wir von diesem revolutionären Tool halten? Und könnte der endlose Output von Rechnern etwas enthüllen, was uns selbst verborgen ist?
 


Von links nach rechts: Prof. Dr. Mascha Kurpicz-Briki, Uli Köppen, Dr. Phil. Aljosha Burchardt, Dr. Stefanie Ullmann, Laura Hollink Fotos (Detail): © privat, Uli Köppen: Lisa Hinder, BR

Expert*innen-Statements
„Die Zusammenarbeit von Menschen und Maschinen muss neu definiert werden“

Welche Arten von Bias lassen sich in Texten finden, die mit Hilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz entstanden? Und welche Lösungsansätze gibt es, um Realitätsverzerrungen abzuschwächen oder gar zu vermeiden? Darüber haben wir mit fünf Expert*innen aus Großbritannien, Deutschland, den Niederlanden und der Schweiz gesprochen.


Sprache und Machtverhältnisse

Die Schule als Institution trug und trägt dazu bei, dass gewisse Menschen unsichtbar waren oder sind. Es muss ein Umfeld geschaffen werden, in dem junge Menschen ihr Coming-out wagen und dafür nicht gemobbt werden – und das ist derzeit leider nicht der Fall.

Sovia Szymula

Englische Übersetzung "Speaking & Being" von Kübra Gümüşay Profile Books

Im Gespräch mit Gesche Ipsen
Übersetzen kann Machtverhältnisse ausgleichen

In „Sprache und Sein“ geht Kübra Gümüşay der Frage nach, wie Sprache unser Denken prägt und Machtverhältnisse unserer Gesellschaft bestimmt. Nun erschien das Buch in englischer Übersetzung. Wir haben uns mit der Übersetzerin, Gesche Ipsen, über ihre Arbeit am Buch und die sprachliche Macht des Übersetzens unterhalten.
 


Sophia Szymula Foto (Detail): © Patrick Steck

Sovia Szymula im Gespräch
„Es braucht mehr als gegendertes Unterrichtsmaterial“

Wie gehen Lehrende mit geschlechtersensibler Sprache um? Finden nicht‑binäre Personen ihren Platz in der Schule? Im Gespräch berichtet Lehramtsstudent*in und queere*r Rapper*in Sovia Szymula alias LILA SOVIA über persönliche Erfahrungen.


Das Team von We A.R.E., von links nach rechts: Griselda Welsing, Linda Schulz, Aster Oberreit, Kira Römer Foto (Detail): Georgina Fakunmoju © We A.R.E.

Rassistische Sprache in der Schule
„Sprache schafft Wirklichkeit“

Diskriminierende Sprache ist in vielen Schulen Alltag. Die Aktivistinnen des Hamburger Vereins We A.R.E. wollen sich damit nicht länger abfinden. In einem Interview hat sich unsere Autorin erklären lassen, was rassistische Sprache mit Kindern macht.





KÜNSTLICHE INTELLIGENZ UND ÜBERSETZUNG

Eine weiße Roboterhand neben einer Taste mit Sprechblasen und der deutschen und britischen Flagge daneben. Foto (Detail): Alexander Limbach © picture alliance / Zoonar

Vorurteile von Künstlicher Intelligenz
Übersetzungstools sensibler gestalten

Um Texte schnell in eine andere Sprache zu übersetzen, nutzen viele nahezu täglich eine Übersetzungssoftware wie „Google Translate“. Aber auch diese Tools geben in den übersetzten Sprachversionen häufig gesellschaftliche Vorurteile wieder.


Michal Měchura entwickelte das Plug-in Fairslator, um Bias in Maschinenübersetzungen zu entdecken und zu vermindern privat

Im Gespräch mit Michal Měchura
Wenn die Maschine den Menschen fragt

Der Sprachtechnologe Michal Měchura wollte immer schon ein Tool, das es Übersetzungsmaschinen ermöglicht, in Zweifelsfällen den Menschen Fragen zu stellen. Mit Fairslator hat er selbst solch ein Tool entwickelt. Michal spricht mit uns über Bias und Mehrdeutigkeit in maschinellen Übersetzungen.
 


Schwierig zu übersetzende Begriffe

Auge, Sprechblasen und Mund. © Goethe-Institut. Illustration: EL BOUM

Die Macht der Sprache in maschineller Übersetzung

Sprache ist ein integraler Teil von Kommunikation, Kunst, Kultur und sozialen Strukturen. Einzelne Wörter können dabei eine enorme Macht ausüben.

 


Zwei persons of colour, eine mit Kopftuch und Brille, eine mit Dreads, vor einem beigem Hintergrund, auf denen die beiden Wörter "Empowerment" und "Selbstermächtigung" zu lesen sind. © Goethe-Institut. llustration: EL BOUM.

Othering ~ Andern
10 schwierig zu übersetzende Begriffe in Bezug auf Identitäten

Übersetzungen sind wahnsinnig herausfordernd: Historische, geographische, politische und soziale Kontexte müssen mitgedacht werden. In ihrem Gastbeitrag beschäftigen sich die beiden Literaturwissenschaftlerinnen und Herausgeberinnen der Plattform „poco.lit.“ Lucy Gasser und Anna von Rath mit den Sprachen Deutsch und Englisch und thematisieren 10 schwierig zu übersetzende Begriffe in Bezug auf Identitäten.



Es sind die Büsten zweier persons of colour abgebildet, wovon einer als männlich und die andere als weiblich gelesen werden kann. Der Mann hat kurze, schwarze Haare, die Frau ertwas längere, ebenfalls schwarze, gewellte Haare und Ohrringe. Im Hintergrund sind die Ausdrücke "Menschen mit Rassismuserfahrung" und "people of colour" zu lesen. © Goethe-Institut. llustration: EL BOUM.

Race ≠ Rasse
10 schwierig zu übersetzende Begriffe in Bezug auf Race

Übersetzungen sind wahnsinnig herausfordernd: Historische, geographische, politische und soziale Kontexte müssen mitgedacht werden. In ihrem Gastbeitrag beschäftigen sich die beiden Literaturwissenschaftlerinnen und Herausgeberinnen der Plattform „poco.lit.“ Lucy Gasser und Anna von Rath mit den Sprachen Deutsch und Englisch und thematisieren 10 schwierig zu übersetzende Begriffe in Bezug auf Race.


Über dieses Projekt

Sprache definiert die Welt. Das Goethe-Institut steht für eine inklusive Sprache – und damit für eine inklusive Welt.

Mit Artificially Correct entwickeln wir mit Expert*innen Tools, die den Bias in Texten minimieren und erhöhen das Bewusstsein für einen kritischen Umgang mit Sprache.

Konkret beschäftigt sich Artificially Correct mit KI-basierten Übersetzungs- und Schreibtools und den Verzerrungen (z.B. gender-/racial-Bias), die sie generieren können. Artificially Correct schafft ein aktives Netzwerk an Menschen, die dieses Problem betrifft – Übersetzer*innen, Aktivist*innen und Expert*innen – und identifiziert Partner, die das Thema gemeinsam mit uns langfristig verfolgen. Wir bündeln Perspektiven, schaffen Aufmerksamkeit, vermitteln Wissen und regen die Diskussion an.

Illustration, auf der linken Seite eine Lupe, auf der rechten Seite ein Computerbildschirm, auf dem ein Gehirn abgebildet ist. © Goethe-Institut. Illustration: EL BOUM

Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse
Artificially Correct Hackathon 2021

Zwischen dem 1. und 3. Oktober 2021 kamen Übersetzer*innen, Aktivist*innen und Softwareentwickler*innen aus der ganzen Welt zusammen, um am Artificially Correct Hackathon des Goethe-Instituts teilzunehmen. 12 Teams hatten 52 Stunden Zeit (in denen sie viel Kaffee brauchten), um eine Mission zu erfüllen: innovative, zukunftsweisende Ideen und Projekte zu entwickeln, die helfen, Bias in Sprache und maschineller Übersetzung zu bekämpfen.


Screenshot aus dem Video-Interview mit Bettina Koch, Bhargavi Mahesh, Janica Hackenbuch, Joke Daems und Shrishti Mohabey. © Goethe-Institut

Im Gespräch mit
Bias By Us

Das Team BiasByUs entwickelte beim Artificially Correct Hackathons eine Website, die als „Bibliothek“ für Bias in Übersetzungen dient. Sie sammeln vorurteilsbelastete Übersetzungsbeispiele, die typischerweise in Übersetzungsprogrammen auftreten, mithilfe von Crowdsourcing. Im Video-Interview sprechen Sie über die Problematik von Bias in Übersetzungen, ihren Lösungsansatz, wie es war, am Artificially Correct Hackathon teilzunehmen und vieles mehr.

Screenshot aus dem Video-Interview mit den Hackathon-Gewinner*innen Aïcha Konaté, Lauri Laatu und Marvin Mouroum. © Goethe-Institut

Im Gespräch mit
Word 2 Vec

Word 2 Vec konzentrierte sich beim Artificially Correct Hackathon auf eine Schwachstelle von Google Translate und anderen Deep-Learning Systemen: die Schwierigkeit, komplexe Inhalte zu verstehen. Der Lösungsvorschlag des Teams ist ein Tool, das Bias reduziert, indem es Nutzer*innen anzeigt, wie anfällig ein Satz für Bias in Bezug auf Gender und Race ist. Hier könnt ihr mehr über ihren Lösungsansatz und ihre Hackathon-Erfahrung hören!


Top