Francesco Petruccelli
bangaloREsident@Daily Dump

Trash – the final state of matter?!
Petruccelli proposes to explore trash as the material expression of death and rebirth. Trash, especially plastic, has immense creative potential that the artist will use to induce new perceptions.

The artistic education of Francesco Petruccelli is based upon different studies and experiences.

Beginning with the studies of Art and Humanities at the Università degli Studi in Milan, continuing with the work of cameraman in places like Haiti and Congo and finally concluding his formal education with Fine Arts at the Universität der Künste in Berlin, he was able to develop a complex artistic language whose main characteristics are a certain intellectual - almost philosophical - density,  attention to the paradoxes of existence, and a visual description of psychological processes which is always precise and brutal at the same time.

francesco petruccelli portrait © Diana Pacelli Even in his first exhibitions (e.g. at Neurotitan in Berlin in 2014) he focuses his interest on the contradictions of identity: in his sculptures the head in particular is the battlefield of instincts and tensions which cannot find a solution. By combining the use of the archaic technique of the encaustic with the perception of the pedestal as psychological support of the sculpture, he depicts the problematic unity of the ego and its inconsistency.

His analysis of the mental processes deepens and broadens its horizons in works in which he dialogues with the theories of K.G. Jung: in Berlin for Schauwerk in 2015 and at erstererster gallery in 2016, the artist presented sculptures and paintings whose main theme was the absence – the metaphysical void which remains, once every judgement that we pass about things turns out to be partial and false.

From this perspective, his use of trash as material for his statues has an ontological meaning: trash is what has lost any cultural significance, it represents the absence of human values… and yet, it remains with its unknown life.

The abandoning of a subjective perspective becomes definitive in the works he presented between 2016 and 2017 at Cruise & Callas and Schillerpalais, among others: his paintings of paintings and radiographies not only deny the human perception of art, but also reveal the hidden, subconscious identity of an artwork.

On the other hand, in other paintings done with the collage technique the artist destroys every possible personal meaning, in order to give to the viewers an empty visual space to fill with their own content and association of ideas.

During the bangaloREsidency Francesco Petruccelli will work with Daily Dump to explore trash, its ambiguous condition of ultimate, entropic state of matter and key for a new cultural evolution at the same time. As material expression of death and rebirth, trash has immense creative potential that the artist will use to induce new perceptions of it.
 

Final Report

The experience of the bangaloREsidency has been very positive from many points of view. The Goethe-Institut organised my residency very efficienly. More specifically Claus Heimes, Maureen Gonsalves and Anna Hofer were the persons of the Goethe-Insitut I dealt the most with: they have been supporting me in every decision I took regarding my project in India. Their advices were always meaningful and professional and, whenever I needed help for practical matters, they were always promptly available. On top of their professionality, their high level of culture and sympathy helped a lot the communication between us. Also, I had a very positive experience with he organization which hosted me: Daily Dump.

Francesco Final Event

In particular Poonam Bir Kasturi, CEO and founder of the company, supported me in so many ways: doing sculptures can be difficult if the if one doesn‘t have the proper space and adequate tools for it, but poonam offered me a very good space were to work – the storage room of her company – and anytime I needed some tools or materials for my work, there was always somebody of Daily Dump which was ready to help. Working in the office of Daily Dump has been very funny and also important for me to know better India, but I especially appreciated the conversations I had with Poonam about the environment of Bangalore and the visits we did to the difficult areas of the city: I could see in a very direct way the core of certain problematics of this city and understand the social and economical mechanisms that drive them.
All of this has been incredily useful to develop my project.

Final Exhibition

I strongly recommend the bangaloREsidency, in particular with Daily Dump as host: Bangalore is a city with very complex dynamics, which are mostly very different from the ones of the city I live in, but the Goethe-Institut and Daily Dump gave me the chance to understand a lot of it, and therefore to make artworks which reflect its complexity.

Francesco Petruccelli
bangaloREsident@Daily Dump

Müll - der finale Zustand?!
Francesco Petruccelli ergründet Müll als materiellen Ausdruck von Tod und Wiedergeburt. Müll, besonders Plastik, wohnt ein immenses kreatives Potential inne, das der bildende Künstler nutzen will, um neue Wahrnehmungen zu evozieren.

Die künstlerische Ausbildung von Francesco Petruccelli wurde durch sein Studium und seine verschiedenen Erfahrungen beeinflußt.

Seine Ausbildung begann er mit dem Studium der Kunst- und Geisteswissenschaften an der Università degli Studi in Mailand. Anschließend führte ihn die Arbeit als Kameramann an Orten wie Haiti und Kongo und schließlich entschied er sich, seine Ausbildung an der Universität der Künste im Fach der Bildenden Künste weiterzuführen. Hier konnte er eine Komplexe künstlerische Sprache entwickeln, deren Hauptcharakteristika eine gewisse intellektuelle - fast philosophische - Dichte aufweist und ihre Aufmerksamkeit den Paradoxien der Existenz widmet und somit eine visuelle Beschreibung von psychologischen Prozessen, die immer genau und brutal zugleich ist.

francesco petruccelli portrait © Diana Pacelli Schon in seine ersten Ausstellungen (z. B. bei Neurotitan in Berlin im Jahre 2014) konzentrierte er sein Interesse auf die Widersprüche der Identität: Seinen Skulpturen, vor allem deren Köpfe, zeigen ein Schlachtfeld, einen Kampf zwischen Instinkten und Spannungen, für die es keine Lösung zu geben scheint. Indem er die archaischen Technik der Enkaustik mit der Wahrnehmung des Sockels kombiniert, welcher die psychologische Stütze der Skulptur darstellt, zeigt er die problematische Einheit des Egos und seine Inkonsequenz auf.

Seine Analyse der mentalen Prozesse wird weiterhin vertieft und durch seine Werke, die er mit den Theorien von K.G. Jung verknüpft, erweitert. Nennenswerte Beispiele in Berlin dafür sind: Schauwerk im Jahr 2015 und bei der erstererster Galerie im Jahre 2016. Hier präsentierte der Künstler Skulpturen und Gemälde, deren Hauptthema die Abwesenheit der metaphysischen Leere war, die bestehen bleibt, sobald jedes Urteil, das wir über Dinge haben, sich als partiell und falsch herausstellt.
Aus dieser Perspektive hat seine Verwendung von Müll als Material für seine Statuen eine ontologische Bedeutung: Der Müll, der jede kulturelle Bedeutung verloren hat, stellt die Abwesenheit von menschlichen Werten dar und doch besteht er mit seinem unerkennbaren Leben fort.

Der Bruch von einer subjektiven Perspektive wird in den Werken, die er zwischen 2016 und 2017 bei Cruise & Callas und Schillerpalais präsentiert hat, endgültig: Seine Gemälde von Gemäldenradiographien leugnen nicht nur die menschliche Wahrnehmung der Kunst, sondern zeigen auch die verborgene, unterbewusste Identität von einem Kunstwerk.

Andererseits zerstört der Künster mit anderen Gemälden, die mit Collagentechnik gemacht wurden, jede mögliche persönliche Bedeutung und Bezugsnahme. Dadurch gibt er dem Zuschauer einen leeren visuellen Raum, damit sie ihn mit ihrem Inhalt und Ideenverknüpfungen füllen können.

Während der bangaloREsidency wird Francesco Petruccelli mit Daily Dump zusammenarbeiten, um den Müll zu erforschen, seine zweideutige Beschaffenheit des ultimativen, entropischen Zustandes der Materie und der Schlüssel für eine neue kulturelle Evolution zur gleichen Zeit. Als materieller Ausdruck von Tod und Wiedergeburt hat der Müll ein unermessliches kreatives Potenzial, welches der Künstler nutzen will, um eine neue Wahrnehmung von diesem anzuregen.
 

Abschlussbericht

Meine Erfahrung mit der bangaloREsidency war aus verschiedenen Gründen sehr positiv.
Das Goethe Institut hat meinen Aufenthalt in Bangalore sehr zufriedenstellend organisiert. Claus Heimes, Maureeen Gonsalves und Anna Hofer waren die Personen, mit denen ich am meisten zu tun hatte. Sie haben mich bei jeder Entscheidung unterstützt, die ich für mein Projekt in Indien getroffen habe.
Neben ihrer Professionalität und dem hohen Niveau ihrer Anregungen, hat ihre Sympathie der Kommunikation zwischen uns sehr geholfen.
Ich habe auch eine sehr gute Erfahrung mit der Organisation Daily Dump gemacht, die meinen Aufenthalt begleitete.
Francesco Petruccelli
Poonam Bir Kasturi, Geschäftsführerin und Gründerin von Daily Dump, hat mich auf verschiedene Weise unterstützt. Skulpturen herzustellen  kann sehr schwierig sein, wenn man nicht die geeigneten Räume und Geräte hat. Poonam hat mir einen sehr guten Raum gegeben - den Abstellraum Ihrer Firma – und jedes Mal, wenn ich Materialien und Geräte brauchte, gab es einen Angestellten von Daily Dump, der bereit war, mir zu helfen. Ich hatte viel Spass, bei Daily Dump zu arbeiten. In täglichem Kontakt mit den Angestellten der Firma zu sein war mir sehr wichtig, um Indien besser zu verstehen. Hauptsächlich mochte ich die Konversationen mit Poonam über die Umweltprobleme von Bangalore. Wir besuchten schwierige Stadtteile. Sie haben mir geholfen, den Kern einiger Problematiken der Stadt zu sehen und die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Dynamiken zu verstehen, die zu diesen Problematiken führen.
Diese Erfahrungen waren sehr nützlich, um mein Projekt zu entwickeln.
Ich kann die bangaloREsidency nur weiter empfehlen, besonders mit Daily Dump als Gastgeber: Bangalore ist eine Stadt mit sehr komplexen Dynamiken, die ganz anders als die Dynamiken der europäischen Städte sind. Das Goethe Institut und Daily Dump haben mir die Chance gegeben, viel von Bangalore zu verstehen und deswegen Kunstwerke, die dessen Komplexität wiederspiegeln, herzustellen.
Finale Ausstellung