Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk | Exhibition
Guadalajara

4th October to 15th November 2019

Ex-Convento del Carmen

Ex-Convento del Carmen Guadalajara© Ex-Convento del Carmen

  • The centrally located Ex Convento del Carmen is where “Queer as German Folk + La Okupa Cuir” take place © Berennu Hernández
    The centrally located Ex Convento del Carmen is where “Queer as German Folk + La Okupa Cuir” take place
  • The artist Lukas Avendaño in the opening performance: from a coyly smiling girl... © Berennu Hernández
    The artist Lukas Avendaño in the opening performance: from a coyly smiling girl ...
  • ... to a condemnating political agitator © Berennu Hernández
    ... to a condemnating political agitator
  • A few gentle opening words after a stirring performance. From left to right: Luis Josué Martínez, Jalisco Ministry of Culture; co-curator Mario "Wandu" Macías; Ruth López Hernández and Claus Witte, Cultural Program; Andrés Treviño, Director of Gender Diversity of the Jalisco State Government © Berennu Hernández
    A few gentle opening words after a stirring performance. From left to right: Luis Josué Martínez, Jalisco Ministry of Culture; co-curator Mario "Wandu" Macías; Ruth López Hernández and Claus Witte, Cultural Program; Andrés Treviño, Director of Gender Diversity of the Jalisco State Government
  • Lukas Avendaño: “I am not a person, I am a butterfly.” © Berennu Hernández
    Lukas Avendaño: “I am not a person, I am a butterfly.”
  • A program of contrasts: “Queer as German Folk” and “+La Okupa Queer” together and within each other © Berennu Hernández
    A program of contrasts: “Queer as German Folk” and “+La Okupa Queer” together and within each other
  • The exhibition does not separate German Folk and Latin Cuir but places them in contrast to each other © Berennu Hernández
    The exhibition does not separate German Folk and Latin Cuir but places them in contrast to each other
  • The exhibition poster: “Oh, if we were all snails, sex would only be half as hard.” © Berennu Hernández
    The exhibition poster: “Oh, if we were all snails, sex would only be half as hard.”
  • With one eye Queer as German Folk, with the other Latin Cuir © Berennu Hernández
    With one eye Queer as German Folk, with the other Latin Cuir
  • At “+ La Okupa Cuir” it’s important to look closely © Berennu Hernández
    At “+ La Okupa Cuir” it’s important to look closely


It only surprises at first glance that, in Mexico, an exhibition about the queer movement takes place in a former monastery like the Ex Convento del Carmen in Guadalajara. In the mid 19th century, with its reform laws, the liberal government of President Benito Juárez expropriated and nationalized church property across Mexico. Due to this specific historical situation, many cultural organizations today are located in former monasteries, churches, and church buildings.
 
What makes the Guadalajara edition of Queer as German Folk stands out is that it goes beyond the core exhibition. Thanks to the work of the two curators Mario Wandu and Cuaco Navarro, in one of the most Catholic and conservative states of Mexico, the project was enhanced by the addition of + La Okupa Cuir. This enhancement functions as an exhibition within the exhibition, as a parasitic infiltration of the original concept. By contrasting the texts and photographs of Queer as German Folk with artworks by LGBTIQ artists from Mexico, Costa Rica, Cuba, and Colombia, the curators provoke in order to ignite a discussion and question conventional, dominant narratives. Non-binary positions are the focus of the exhibition, which is accompanied by an extensive side program.
 
The provocation began at the exhibition opening on October 24, with a performance by the Muxe artist Lukas Avendaño. For the indigenous Muxe of the Isthmus of Tehauntepec there are no clearly assigned gender identities (see also the textQueer: No. Queer-po muxe: Yes by Avendaño). Individuals born with male sexual organs naturally take on roles that are regarded as traditionally female. The Muxe do not have words for “he” or “she,” as these categories simply do not exist. In his performance, Avendaño oscillates between the conventional roles of the “male” seducer and the “female” seduced. As Avendaño changes roles, Avendaño undermines identities. The performance is a denunciation of the moral concepts that constrict people, of the social constraints that oblige us to assume identities, of the societal taboos that lead to trauma and psychological damage, of those who oppress others because of their sexual preferences. It is also a denunciation of a country marked by drug wars, by the disappearance of more than 46,000 people (including Avendaño’s own brother), by looking the other way, by impunity.
 
Like the performance, the entire + La Okupa Cuir contains a utopian aesthetic moment in the hope that identities based on biological gender differences will become irrelevant for human coexistence and everyone will be able to slip into whatever roles they please.
 
The exhibition poster also highlights this alternation between “woman” and “man.” Two snails, whose hermaphroditism underscores the organizers’ rejection of unambiguous gender identities, embrace each other in a pink sexual act that symbolizes the absolute insignificance of gender determination. + La Qkupa Cuir does not want to be “L,” or “G,” or “B,” or “T”, or “I,” or “Q”, but simply “H” like human.


All exhibition venues

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk | Ausstellung
Guadalajara

4. Oktober bis 15. November 2019

Ex-Convento del Carmen

Ex-Convento del Carmen Guadalajara© Ex-Convento del Carmen

  • Das zentral gelegene Ex-Convento del Carmen ist der Schauplatz von „Queer as German Folk + La Okupa Cuir“ © Berennu Hernández
    Das zentral gelegene Ex-Convento del Carmen ist der Schauplatz von „Queer as German Folk + La Okupa Cuir“
  • Der Künstler Lukas Avendaño in der Eröffnungsperformance: Vom kokett lächelnden Mädchen ... © Berennu Hernández
    Der Künstler Lukas Avendaño in der Eröffnungsperformance: Vom kokett lächelnden Mädchen ...
  • ... zum anklagenden politischen Agitator © Berennu Hernández
    ... zum anklagenden politischen Agitator
  • Nach einer aufwühlenden Performance ein paar sanfte Einweihungsworte: Luis Josué Martínez, Kultusministerium Jalisco; Co-Kurator Mario „Wandu“ Macías; Ruth López Hernández und Claus Witte, Kulturprogramm; Andrés Treviño, Direktor für Geschlechterdiversität der Landesregierung Jalisco (von links nach rechts) © Berennu Hernández
    Nach einer aufwühlenden Performance ein paar sanfte Einweihungsworte: Luis Josué Martínez, Kultusministerium Jalisco; Co-Kurator Mario „Wandu“ Macías; Ruth López Hernández und Claus Witte, Kulturprogramm; Andrés Treviño, Direktor für Geschlechterdiversität der Landesregierung Jalisco (von links nach rechts)
  • Lukas Avedaño: „Ich bin keine Person, ich bin ein Schmetterling.“ © Berennu Hernández
    Lukas Avedaño: „Ich bin keine Person, ich bin ein Schmetterling.“
  • Kontrastprogramm: „Queer as German Folk“ und „+La Okupa Queer“ im Mit- und Ineinander © Berennu Hernández
    Kontrastprogramm: „Queer as German Folk“ und „+La Okupa Queer“ im Mit- und Ineinander
  • Die German Folk und die Latin Cuir sind in der Ausstellung nicht getrennt, sondern kontrastiv nebeneinander gestellt © Berennu Hernández
    Die German Folk und die Latin Cuir sind in der Ausstellung nicht getrennt, sondern kontrastiv nebeneinander gestellt
  • Das Ausstellungsplakat: „Ach, wenn wir alle Schnecken wären, dann wär der Sex nur halb so schwer.“ © Berennu Hernández
    Das Ausstellungsplakat: „Ach, wenn wir alle Schnecken wären, dann wär der Sex nur halb so schwer.“
  • Mit einem Auge „Queer as German Folk“, mit dem anderen „Latin Cuir“ © Berennu Hernández
    Mit einem Auge „Queer as German Folk“, mit dem anderen „Latin Cuir“
  • Bei „La Okupa Quir“ gilt es, genau hinzusehen © Berennu Hernández
    Bei „La Okupa Quir“ gilt es, genau hinzusehen


Dass eine Ausstellung zur Thematik der queeren Bewegung in Mexiko in einem ehemaligen Kloster wie dem Ex-Convento del Carmen in Guadalajara stattfindet, ist nur auf den ersten Blick verwunderlich. Aufgrund der spezifischen historischen Situation Mexikos, einem Land, in dem die liberale Regierung unter Präsident Benito Juárez mit ihren Reformgesetzen Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts kirchliches Eigentum enteignet und verstaatlicht hat, befinden sich viele Kultureinrichtungen in ehemaligen Klöstern, Kirchen und kirchlichen Einrichtungen.


Besonders an „Queer as German Folk“ in Guadalajara ist die Tatsache, dass hier nicht nur die eigentliche Ausstellung gezeigt wird. Dank der Arbeit der beiden Kuratoren Mario Wandu und Cuaco Navarro wurde das Projekt in einem der katholischsten und konservativsten Bundesländer Mexikos um den Zusatz „+ La Okupa Cuir“ erweitert. Diese Erweiterung der Ausstellung, die man als Ausstellung in der Ausstellung betrachten kann, versteht sich als parasitäre Unterwanderung des Originalkonzepts. Durch kontrastive Gegenüberstellung der Texte und Fotos von „Queer as German Folk“ mit Kunstwerken von LGBTIQ+-Künstler*innen aus Mexiko, Costa Rica, Kuba und Kolumbien soll durch bewusste Provokation ein Dialog entstehen, der herkömmliche, dominante Narrative in Frage stellt. Nicht-identitäre Positionen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung, die von einem umfangreichen Rahmenprogramm begleitet wird.

Die Provokationen begannen mit einer Performance des Muxe-Künstlers Lukas Avendaño zur Eröffnung am 24. Oktober 2019. Bei den Muxe-Indigenen aus dem Istmo von Tehauntepec existieren keine eindeutig zugeordneten Geschlechteridentitäten (siehe auch den Artikel Queer: Nein. Queer-po muxe: Ja von Lukas Avendaño): Personen werden mit männlichen Geschlechtsorganen geboren und nehmen ganz selbstverständlich auch Rollen ein, die als traditionell weiblich angesehen werden. Die Muxe kennen ebenso keine Wörter für „er“ und „sie“, diese Kategorien existieren schlicht und ergreifend nicht. So oszilliert Avendaño in seiner Performance immer zwischen dem in konventionellen Kategorien „männlichen“ Verführer und der „weiblichen“ Verführten. Rollen werden gewechselt, Identitäten unterminiert. Wichtig ist bei dieser Performance die Anklage: Anklage gegen Moralvorstellungen, die Menschen einengen, gegen soziale Zwänge, die uns verpflichten, eine Identität anzunehmen, gegen gesellschaftliche Tabus, die zu Traumata und psychischen Schäden führen, gegen Menschen, die Menschen aufgrund ihrer sexuellen Präferenzen unterdrücken, aber auch eine Anklage gegen ein Land, das von einem Drogenkrieg geprägt ist, vom Verschwinden von mehr als 46.000 Personen (eine davon ist der Bruder von Lukas), vom Wegschauen und von Straflosigkeit.

So enthält diese Performance, und mit ihr die gesamte „+ La Okupa Cuir“, ein utopisches ästhetisches Moment, die Hoffnung darauf, dass – wenn auch biologische Geschlechtsunterschiede bestehen mögen – die Identitäten im Miteinander der Menschen unwichtig werden und jede und jeder in Rollen schlüpfen können, die ihr oder ihm lieb sind.


Dieses Springen zwischen „Frau“ und „Mann“ wird auch in dem die Ausstellung bewerbenden Poster hervorgehoben. Zwei Schnecken, deren Hermaphroditismus (Zweigeschlechtlichkeit) die von den Ausstellungsmacher*innen intendierte Ablehnung eindeutiger Geschlechtsidentitäten unterstreichen soll, umschlingen sich im pinken Geschlechtsakt und symbolisieren die Idee einer absoluten Unwichtigkeit von Geschlechtsfestlegungen. Nicht „L“, nicht „G“, nicht „B“, nicht „T“, nicht „I“, nicht „Q“ will La Qkupa Cuir sein, sondern einfach „M“ wie Mensch.


Alle Ausstellungsorte

Top