The Elite in the Arts | Literature China Literature: On Crowds and Power

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

For questions on the function of elites and their relationship to society as a whole, European-American literature on China is of signifying importance: It largely deals with the organization of seemingly absolute power, groups of rigorously educated officials, exceptional scholars, dramatic elite overthrows and potent crowds.

The chart tracks the popularity of China literature in terms of the breadth of its social appeal. The related trend changes during the twentieth century’s first half cycled in quick succession.

Cover picture of Karl May's And Peace on Earth Cover picture of Karl May's And Peace on Earth | Und Friede auf Erden! | © Sascha Schneider, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 Early in the century, Karl May’s adventure travel novel And Peace on Earth! – in which a cosmopolitan elite sets the example for a humane world society – and Elisabeth von Heyking’s semi-autobiographical Letters Which Never Reached Him, which portrays German diplomatic and scholarly circles engaging with the social upheavals in China and the USA, found a mass audience. On the cusp of World War I, Alfred Döblin created the intellectual China novel, which made more of an impact in the literary world per se: his eponymous subproletarian hero Wang-lun buys into the critique of power in thinking about possible courses of action in the class and mass society. In the same historical moment, Kafka’s Chinese parables reflect the failure to fulfill the social contract between the “leadership” and individual citizens and the incongruence between expert knowledge and victim experience. Like Döblin’s epic flood of images, Kafka’s tales unfold open narrative processes on unanswerable questions and were discussed by Weimar Republic intellectuals as theoretical-poetological model texts. 

The great Wall of China, Herbert Ponting, 1907 The Great Wall of China, 1907 | © Herbert Ponting, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 Literary works on China reached the apex of their popularity with the Pacific War looming on the horizon. Pearl S. Buck’s world bestseller The Good Earth, which struck a biblical note, was turned into a movie by MGM in which the German exile Luise Rainer starred as a Chinese social climber. Vicki Baum, the German-Californian writer, popular for her voyeuristic glimpse behind the façade of the elites, contributed to pro-Chinese wartime mobilization in the USA with her novel Shanghai '37. While Buck and Karl May shared a similar optimism about the productive turnover of ever better elites, Baum even more than Heyking emphasized the insecurity of all social positions in the process of modernity. That the “hard,” turned to stone in the form of an elite, succumbs to other forces is a Taoist teaching with which one of Brecht’s catchy gnomic China poems of the era confronted not only Stalinism. 

For decades after the founding of the People’s Republic, Chinese scenarios formed part of a highly specialized, socio-theoretical debate. Radical voices critical of elites demanding revolutionary pedagogical “self-education of the masses” in the Kursbuch periodical contributed as much to this discussion as did warnings by the hierarchy- and privilege-conscious top diplomat Erwin Wickert against humanity-devouring anarchy. China novels like Wickert’s The Heavenly Mandate and Tilman Spengler’s The Painter of Beijing supplemented these authors’ non-fiction works on China by providing historical case studies on the rise and fall of power, competition among elites and Pied Piperism. They kept alive a literary field that, since the cosmopolitan euphoria of the 1990s and the crises of liberal democracy, has gained again in popularity as an especially pellucid vehicle for designs of social order. 
 

Examples of China Literature

Examples 1:
Karl May: And Peace on Earth! (original: Et in terra pax,exp., 1901; original: Und Friede auf Erden! 1904)

Elisabeth von Heyking: The Letters Which Never Reached Him (1904; original: Briefe, die ihn nicht erreichten. 1902/03)
 
Examples 2:
Alfred Döblin: The Three Leaps of Wang Lun: A Chinese Novel (1991; original: Die drei Sprünge des Wang-lun,1916,) 

Franz Kafka: The Great Wall of China (1933; original: Beim Bau der Chinesischen Mauer; 1917)
 
Examples 3:
Pearl S. Buck: The Good Earth (1931; German: 1933 as Die gute Erde. Roman des chinesischen Menschen; filmed 1937; Nobel Prize for Literature 1938)

Vicki Baum: Shanghai '37 (1939; German: 1939 as Hotel Shanghai)

Bertolt Brecht: Legend of the Origin of the Book Tao-te-ching on Lao tse’s Road to Exile (1976; original: Legende von der Entstehung des Buches Taoteking auf dem Weg des Laotse in die Emigration, 1939)
 
Examples 4:
Erwin Wickert: The Heavenly Mandate (1961; original: Der Auftrag; English, 1964; exp. 1979 as Der Auftrag des Himmels. Ein Roman aus dem kaiserlichen China) 

Tilman Spengler: The Painter of Beijing (original: Der Maler von Peking,1993)

To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Literatur China-Literatur: um Masse und Macht

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Die europäisch-amerikanische China-Literatur besitzt für Fragen um die Funktion von Eliten und ihrem Verhältnis zur Gesamtgesellschaft eine herausragende Bedeutung: Sie dreht sich um die Organisation scheinbar absoluter Macht, um Gruppen streng ausgebildeter Beamt*innen und außergewöhnlicher Gelehrter, um drastische Elitenwechsel und energiegeladene Bevölkerungsmassen.

Der Kurvenverlauf folgt der Popularität der China-Literatur im Sinne der sozialen Breitenwirkung. In der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts sind die diesbezüglichen Trendwenden kurz getaktet.

Titelbild von Karl Mays Und Friede auf Erden! Und Friede auf Erden! | © Sascha Schneider, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 Karl Mays abenteuerlicher Reiseroman Und Friede auf Erden!, in dem eine Elite kosmopolitischer Edelmenschen eine humane Weltgesellschaft vorlebt, und Elisabeth von Heykings halbautobiografische Briefe, die ihn nicht erreichten, die deutsche Diplomaten- und Gelehrtenkreise in Auseinandersetzung mit den gesellschaftlichen Aufbrüchen in China und den USA zeigen, haben zu Jahrhundertbeginn ein Massenpublikum erreicht. Den intellektuellen, mehr in der literarischen Zunft selbst wirksamen China-Roman hat Alfred Döblin an der Schwelle zum Ersten Weltkrieg begründet: Sein subproletarischer Titelheld Wang-lun eignet sich ein machtkritisches Denken über politische Handlungsmöglichkeiten in der Klassen- und Massengesellschaft an. Die Nichterfüllung des Vorsorgevertrags zwischen „Führerschaft“ und einzelnem Bürger sowie die Nichtübereinstimmung zwischen Expertenwissen und Opfererfahrung reflektieren im selben zeithistorischen Augenblick die chinesischen Parabeln Kafkas. Wie die epischen Bilderfluten Döblins entfalten sie offene Erzählprozesse um unbeantwortbare Fragen und wurden unter den Intellektuellen der Weimarer Republik als theoretisch-poetologische Mustertexte diskutiert.
 
Die Chinesische Mauer, Herbert Ponting, 1907 Die Chinesische Mauer, 1907 | © Herbert Ponting, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 Ihren Popularitätshöhepunkt erreichte die China-Literatur vor dem Horizont des Pazifikkriegs. Pearl S. Bucks im Ton der Bibel verfasster Weltbestseller The Good Earth erreichte eine Verfilmung bei MGM, in der die deutsche Exilantin Luise Rainer die Hauptrolle einer chinesischen Sozialaufsteigerin spielte. Die Deutschkalifornierin Vicki Baum, beliebt für den voyeuristischen Blick hinter die Fassaden des Elitären, trug mit ihrem Roman Hotel Shanghai zur prochinesischen Mobilisierung in den USA bei. Während bei Buck ein ähnlicher Optimismus wie bei May über den produktiven Wechsel immer besserer Eliten vorherrscht, betonte Baum mehr wie Heyking die Ungesichertheit aller sozialen Positionen im Prozess der Moderne. Dass das „Harte“, zur Elite Versteinerte unterliegt, gehört zu den taoistischen Lehren, die Brecht in seinen spruchhaft eingängigen China-Gedichten dieser Zeit nicht nur dem Stalinismus entgegenhielt.
 
Nach Gründung der Volksrepublik waren chinesische Szenarien jahrzehntelang Teil einer hochspezialisierten gesellschaftstheoretischen Diskussion, zu der radikal elitenkritische Stimmen der Zeitschrift Kursbuch mit Forderungen nach einer revolutionspädagogischen „Selbsterziehung der Massen“ ebenso beitrugen wie der hierarchie- und rechtsbewusste Spitzendiplomat Erwin Wickert mit Warnungen vor der menschenverschlingenden Anarchie. China-Romane wie Wickerts Der Auftrag und Tilman Spenglers Der Maler von Peking begleiteten die aktuellen Sachbücher ihrer Verfasser mit historischen Fallstudien zum Aufbau und Verfall von Macht, zu Elitenkonkurrenz und Volksverführung. Sie hielten eine Literatursparte am Leben, die seit der kosmopolitischen Aufbruchsstimmung der 1990er-Jahre und seit den Krisen der liberalen Demokratie zu neuerlicher Popularität als besonders einleuchtendem Medium sozialer Ordnungsentwürfe findet. 


Beispiele von China-Literatur

Beispiele 1:
Karl May: Et in terra pax (1901, erw. 1904 als Und Friede auf Erden!)

Elisabeth von Heyking: Briefe, die ihn nicht erreichten (1902/03, engl. 1904 als The Letters Which Never Reached Him)

Beispiele 2:
Alfred Döblin: Die drei Sprünge des Wang-lun (1916, engl. 1991 als The Three Leaps of Wang Lun: A Chinese Novel

Franz Kafka: Beim Bau der Chinesischen Mauer (1917, engl. 1933 als The Great Wall of China)

Beispiele 3:
Pearl S. Buck: The Good Earth (1931, dt. 1933 als Die gute Erde. Roman des chinesischen Menschen, verfilmt 1937, Literaturnobelpreis 1938)

Vicki Baum: Hotel Shanghai (1939, engl. 1939 als Shanghai '37)

Bertolt Brecht: Legende von der Entstehung des Buches Taoteking auf dem Weg des Laotse in die Emigration (1939, engl. 1976 als Legend of the Origin of the Book Tao-te-ching on Lao tse’s Road to Exile)

Beispiele 4:
Erwin Wickert: Der Auftrag (1961, engl. 1964 als The Heavenly Mandate, erw. 1979 als Der Auftrag des Himmels. Ein Roman aus dem kaiserlichen China)
 
Tilman Spengler: Der Maler von Peking (1993)

Zurück zur Übersicht