The Elite in the Arts | Music HipHop - The Music of the Hour

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Because of the overwhelming diversity of hip-hop culture, it is difficult to portray paradigmatic changes: Since its emergence forty years ago, the music from the Bronx has become the world's dominant pop-cultural force par excellence. The following are only six exemplary moments — countless others are missing.


1. Sugarhill Gang, Rapper's Delight (1979)
“Now what you hear is not a test, I’m rapping to the beat / And me, the groove and my friends are gonna try to move your feet.” The first stanza of the fifteen-minute rap epic (and its first big sales success) already makes it clear what it's all about: moving your feet. To make things dance. This is literally a music of the streets, the working classes, block parties, but it is already looking around the corner at the banking tower of Manhattan.

2. Public Enemy, Fight the Power (1989)
Public Enemy’s chief ideologue and main rapper Chuck D rages at all-American idols like Elvis Presley and John Wayne and proclaims: "We gotta fight the powers that be!" The song sounds like a soundtrack for the coming rebellion, yet musically it’s extraordinarily complex, sampling James Brown and civil rights orators, and with a saxophone solo from jazz legend Branford Marsalis. The academic elite shows interest in this kind of music for the first time; musicologists analyze the track until it's coming out of their ears.
 
3. Cornel West, Sketches of My Culture (2001)
Since Cornel West, professor of theology and African-American Studies at Princeton and Harvard, likes to fall into rhythmic chanting in talks and lectures, and has always treated hip-hop in his theoretical writings, it was only a matter of time before he would release his first rap and spoken-word album. The result was not necessarily an aesthetic game changer for hip-hop, but it did take the genre deep into the sacred halls of the Ivy League.

Eminem at the „Up in Smoke Tour“ 2000 Eminem at the „Up in Smoke Tour“ 2000 | © Mixxula, Flickr, edited, CC-BY-2.0 4. Eminem, The Marshall Mathers LP (2000)
At about the same time, a platinum-blond kid from Detroit with virtuoso rhyming verbal insults and the powerful support of gangsta rap veteran Dr. Dre became the financially most successful rapper of all time. Eminem's autobiographical reports from the white working class made hip-hop compatible with the Western mainstream. At the same time, the LP introduced advanced postmodern narrative forms to hip hop with songs like Stan.
 
5. Wu-Tang Clan, Once Upon a Time in Shaolin (2015)
Have Wu-Tang Clan mastermind RZA or his producer Cilvaringz read Walter Benjamin's essay on “The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction”? The double album Once Upon a Time in Shaolin seems at any rate like a response to Benjamin's famous work. Only one copy of the CD was pressed, and this auratic one-off was sold for two million dollars. In an interview, RZA and Cilvaringz denied all allegations of financial elitism and pointed to the gritty sound. Bitter irony: the buyer was, of all people, the pharmaceutical mogul Martin Shkreli.

Kendrick Lamar: The DAMN. Tour, Boston Kendrick Lamar: The DAMN. Tour, Boston | © Kenny Sun, Flickr, edited, CC-BY-2.0
6. Kendrick Lamar, DAMN. (2017)
Lamar's fourth album climbed to No. 1 on the American Billboard charts when released; it sold over three million copies, the lead single landed on Barack Obama's year-end playlist, and in addition to a Grammy, Lamar received the Pulitzer Prize for the album. All this for a work that has musically rough edges and whose lyrics are marked by Lamar's childhood and youth in Compton: "I know murder, conviction / burners, boosters, burglars, ballers, dead ...". The street and the White House, poverty and success, popularity and elitism were probably never closer together.

To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Musik HipHop - Die Musik der Stunde

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Wegen des überwältigenden Artenreichtums der HipHop-Kultur lassen sich Paradigmenwechsel nur schwer darstellen: Seit seiner Entstehung vor 40 Jahren ist die Musik aus der Bronx zu der weltweit dominanten popkulturellen Kraft schlechthin geworden. Im Folgenden sechs exemplarische Momente – unzählige andere fehlen.


1. Sugarhill Gang, Rapper’s Delight (1979)
„Now what you hear is not a test, I’m rapping to the beat / And me, the groove and my friends are gonna try to move your feet.“ Bereits die erste Strophe des 15 Minuten langen Rap-Epos (und ersten großen Verkaufserfolgs) macht klar, worum es geht: die Füße zu bewegen. Die Verhältnisse zum Tanzen zu bringen. Dies ist im Wortsinn eine Musik der Straße, der unteren Schichten, der block parties – aber sie schielt schon um die Häuserecken und zu den Banktürmen von Manhattan.

2. Public Enemy, Fight the Power(1989)
Public Enemy-Chefideologe und main rapper Chuck D wütet gegen all-amerikanische Idole wie Elvis Presley und John Wayne und verkündet: „We gotta fight the powers that be!“ Der Song klingt wie ein Soundtrack zum kommenden Aufstand – zugleich ist er musikalisch ungehört komplex, sampelt James Brown und Bürgerrechtsredner, und Jazz-Legende Branford Marsalis steuert ein Saxofon-Solo bei. Die akademische Elite zeigt erstmals Interesse, Musikwissenschaftler analysieren den Track, bis die Ohren bluten.
 
3. Cornel West, Sketches of My Culture (2001)
Cornel West, Professor für Theologie und afroamerikanische Studien unter anderem in Princeton und Harvard, verfällt bei Vorträgen und Vorlesungen ohnehin gern in rhythmischen Sprechgesang und hat sich in seinen theoretischen Schriften immer wieder mit HipHop auseinandergesetzt. Es war daher wohl nur eine Frage der Zeit, wann er sein erstes Rap- und Spoken-Word-Album veröffentlichen würde. Das Ergebnis war nicht unbedingt ein ästhetischer Game Changer für den HipHop, führte das Genre aber immerhin tief in die Heiligen Hallen der Ivy League.

Eminem bei der „Up in Smoke Tour“ 2000 Eminem bei der „Up in Smoke Tour“ 2000 | © Mixxula, Flickr, bearbeitet, CC-BY-2.0 4. Eminem, The Marshall Mathers LP (2000)
Ungefähr zur selben Zeit wurde ein platinblondierter Bengel aus Detroit mit virtuos gereimten Verbalinjurien und beatkräftiger Unterstützung des Gangsta Rap-Veteranen Dr. Dre zum finanziell erfolgreichsten Rapper aller Zeiten. Eminems autobiographisch gefärbten Berichte aus der weißen Unterschicht machten HipHop für den westlichen Mainstream kompatibel. Zugleich führte die LP mit Songs wie Stan avancierte postmoderne Erzählformen in den HipHop ein.
 
5. Wu-Tang Clan, Once Upon a Time in Shaolin (2015)
Haben Wu-Tang-Clan-Mastermind RZA oder sein Produzent Cilvaringz den Aufsatz von Walter Benjamin über das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit gelesen? Das Doppelalbum Once Upon a Time in Shaolin wirkt jedenfalls wie eine Reaktion auf Benjamins berühmte Schrift. Von der CD wurde nur ein einziges Exemplar gepresst, dieses auratische Unikat wurde für zwei Millionen Dollar verkauft. In einem Interview wiesen RZA und Cilvaringz alle Vorwürfe des finanziellen Elitismus weitaus von sich und verwiesen auf den gritty sound. Bittere Ironie: Der Käufer war ausgerechnet der Pharma-Mogul Martin Shkreli.

Kendrick Lamar: The DAMN. Tour, Boston Kendrick Lamar: The DAMN. Tour, Boston | © Kenny Sun, Flickr, bearbeitet, CC-BY-2.0
6. Kendrick Lamar, DAMN. (2017)
Lamars viertes Album stieg auf Platz 1 der amerikanischen Billboard-Charts ein, er verkaufte über drei Millionen Exemplare, die Lead-Single landete auf Barack Obamas Jahresend-Playlist, und neben einem Grammy erhielt Lamar für das Album den Pulitzer-Preis. All das für ein Werk, das musikalisch schroffe Kanten hat und lyrisch erkennbar durch Lamars Kindheit und Jugend in Compton geprägt ist: „I know murder, conviction / Burners, boosters, burglars, ballers, dead …“ Die Straße und das Weiße Haus, Armut und Erfolg, Popularität und Elitismus lagen wohl niemals näher beieinander.

Zurück zur Übersicht