The Elite in the Arts | Visual Arts Cracks in the Glass Facade: The Changing Popularity of a Modernist Architectural Vocabulary

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Hundreds of thousands of international tourists come annually to visit the Bauhaus building in Dessau. Designed by Walter Gropius and built in 1926, the building can be found in every standard work on the history of architecture. It has continued to do justice to the images that have been circulating around the world for ninety years: it is still agelessly beautiful.

Its environment, its institutional structure, its users and guests, its operations, and its heating have all changed. The glass building housed the College of Design for only six years, followed by a varied and dramatic history of closure, partial destruction and temporary use, until the rebuilt building reopened in 1976 for the 50th anniversary of the German Democratic Republic — and after its establishment as a foundation in reunified Germany, was added to World Heritage List.

The radicalism of the Bauhaus building is mainly associated with its method of construction: the horizontal, movement-emphasizing organization of its main body, but above all its glass curtain wall. The almost-floating, dematerialized workshop wing, free of the heaviness of the supporting wall, astonished visitors at the time. The fascination can be traced to the fact that, when moving through the rooms, what was beginning to structure life in the 1920s became almost tangible: the traditionally constructed environment of the Wilhelminian era no longer seemed to fit the simultaneity of media images and messages, the acceleration of everyday life, the compression of social experience and spatial relations. Glass buildings not only expressed the enthusiasm of the architects for this construction material, they also embodied a new, modernist everyday culture.

Yet glass buildings were no novelty: in 1911, Gropius had already designed a curtain wall for the Fagus shoe last factory in Ahlfeld.

External view of the Glashaus-Pavillon External view of the Glashaus-Pavillon | © Unbekannt, Wikipedia, edited, CC0-1.0 In 1914, Bruno Taut presented his glass pavilion at the Werkbund exhibition in Cologne. Five years later, in the aftershock of the November Revolution, Taut initiated the correspondence circle The Glass Chain (Die Gläsernen Kette): in it, artists, writers and architects such as Paul Scheerbart, Wenzel Hablik, Hans Scharoun, and Walter Gropius exchanged utopian reflections. In drawings and texts, they proposed a new architecture, created from the transparent, spiritual qualities of glass, making reference to Gothic cathedrals.
 
In his reflections on the "poverty of experience" as a signature of the times, Walter Benjamin cites Paul Scheerbart, who envisioned people housed in moving dwellings made of glass. After all, glass is, according to Benjamin, "a hard and smooth material on which nothing fixes"; in the new "glass culture", he argued, in which the Bauhaus also participated, spaces were created in which it was difficult to "leave traces".1 It was also Benjamin who described nineteenth century popular glass architecture – train stations, exhibition halls, and department stores – as "dream houses of the collective". In glass buildings, a new modernist culture, which envisaged a classless society, was forging ahead.
 
In these highly charged cultural debates, the Bauhaus building was perceived as a utopia materialized in glass and stone, open to interpretation by a wide variety of ideological camps. If modern media cultures were decisively influential for building with glass, films, magazines, books, exhibitions, and photographs contributed to its international dissemination. In the book International Architecture, published in 1927, Gropius presented pictures of the Bauhaus building together with international examples of a new world-wide architectural ethos. The iconic images by the photographer Lucia Moholy contributed to popularizing a particular convention of viewing the building. Her photos of it were also on display at the 1927 exhibition Machine Age, the first comprehensive show of international avant-garde art and architecture in New York.

Alfred Barr, fascinated by this modernist architecture, visited the Bauhaus on his European tour. This encounter inspired not only the founding of the Museum of Modern Art in 1929, whose first director Barr was, but also the idea of organizing an exhibition of this new "architectural style" in New York.

Together with Philip Johnson and Henry Russell Hitchcock, Barr undertook further travels to compile material for a publication on contemporary architecture entitled The International Style. Architecture since 1922. The classification of European buildings by Hitchcock, based on formal stylistic criteria and the associated omission of the political and social contexts of the New Architecture, shaped the 1932 Modern Architecture. International Exhibition. The show marks a milestone in the canonization and popularization of the Bauhaus building as a style to whose features – modular regularity, renunciation of ornamentation, and dissolution of the massive structural shell in favor of an architecture of space – the glass curtain wall decisively contributed.2 That the German emigrants Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, and Mies van der Rohe, who moved to the United States a few years later, accepted this popularization and reinterpretation of New Architecture, probably had something to do with their status as exiles and the effort to gain recognition in a foreign land.
Facade of the Bauhaus building in Dessau, 2018 Facade of the Bauhaus building in Dessau, 2018 | Wikipedia, edited, CC-BY-SA-4.0'
In the immediate post-war period, glass buildings became the American trademark of powerful representatives of large companies: the Lever Building by SOM (1952) and the Seagram Building by Mies van der Rohe (1958), both in New York, are signature examples of this change from experiment to mainstream.

Economic boom, mass consumption and corporate capitalism in the geopolitical context of the Cold War assigned the buildings made of glass a different meaning. The elegant, sleek, technically perfect facades not only manifested the ethos of the rise and success of large corporations, but also organized their operations and gave them an aesthetic form. Yet, divested of the utopian ideas of the early years, they became the glass shells of American diplomatic buildings and hotels that were built around the world as instruments of cultural statecraft and landmarks of Western freedom, democracy, and cultural superiority.3 Curtain walls soon became the standard repertoire of the construction industry in the United States. The curtain wall was on offer even in Sweet’s Catalogue, the catalogue of one of the leading hardware stores of those years. It is therefore not surprising that architectural magazines reinterpreted the former European import in terms of American vernacular architecture.
 
Thus the reintegration of glass buildings into post-war Germany was charged with being the normative architecture, the counterpoint to the monumentality of National Socialism and the symbol of commitment to the Western values of freedom and democracy. The Dreischeiben skyscraper in Düsseldorf, built in 1957 by the architects Hubert Petschnigg and Helmut Hendrich for the Phoenix Rheinrohr AG, is an early testimony to these renewed transatlantic conversations along the curtain wall.
 
Bauhaus-Logo Bauhaus-Logo | © Oskar Schlemmer, Wikipedia, edited, CC0-1.0 Yet, despite the complicity with capitalism, the Cold War, and commerce, the promise of social advancement and prosperity was encoded in the DNA of the glass curtain facades of those years. The promise of modernist transparency was first broken only by the chic, post-modern mirror facades of John Portman. In the end, those emblems of neoliberal global finance capitalism, the thin banking towers wrapped in glass skins from Dubai to New York and from Shanghai to London, have taken over from their forefathers only the idea of the freedom of cash flow.

 
1 Benjamin, Walter, "Erfahrung und Armut," in Gesammelte Schriften, vol. 2, Walter Benjamin (Frankfurt/Main, 1991) p. 213.

2 Thöner, Wolfgang, "Austreibung des Funktionalismus und Ankunft im Stil," in  Bauhausstil zwischen International style und Lifestyle, ed. Regina Bittner (Berlin, 2003), p. 121.

3 Ockman, Joan, "Towards a theory of normative architecture," in Steven Harris and Deborah Berke (eds.), Architecture of the Everday, (Princeton, 1997), p. 131.
 
To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Bildende Kunst Risse in der Glasfassade: zur wechselnden Popularität eines modernen Architekturvokabulars

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Nur sechs Jahre beherbergte das Bauhaus Dessau die Hochschule für Gestaltung, darauf folgte eine wechselvolle und dramatische Geschichte der Schließung, teilweisen Zerstörung und temporären Nutzung. 1976 wurde das sanierte Gebäude zum 50. Geburtstag in der DDR wiedereröffnet und nach der Stiftungsgründung im wiedervereinten Deutschland in die UNESCO Welterbeliste aufgenommen.

Hunderttausende internationale Tourist*innen kommen jährlich, um das Bauhausgebäude in Dessau zu besichtigen. Das von Walter Gropius entworfene und 1926 errichtete Gebäude fehlt in keinem Standardwerk der Architekturgeschichte und hält den Bildern, die seit 90 Jahren um die Welt zirkulieren, stand: Es ist immer noch faltenlos schön.

Verändert haben sich sein Umfeld, seine institutionelle Struktur, seine Nutzer*innen und Gäste, seine Abläufe und seine Heizung.
 
Die Radikalität des Bauhausgebäudes wird vor allem mit seiner Konstruktionsweise, seiner horizontalen, die Bewegung betonenden Organisation der Baukörper, vor allem aber mit seiner Glasvorhangfassade assoziiert. Der nahezu schwebende, entmaterialisierte, von der Schwere der tragenden Wand entlastete Werkstattflügel hat seine damaligen Besucher*innen in Erstaunen versetzt. Die Faszination lässt sich auch darauf zurückführen, dass beim Bewegen durch die Räume nahezu körperlich erfahrbar wurde, was das Leben in den 1920er Jahren zu strukturieren begann: Die tradierte gebaute Umgebung der Gründerzeit schien der Simultanität von medial verbreiteten Bildern und Botschaften, der Beschleunigung des Alltags, der Verdichtung sozialer Erfahrungen und räumlicher Beziehungen nicht mehr zu entsprechen. Glasbauten brachten nicht nur die Begeisterung der Architekten für diesen Baustoff zum Ausdruck, sie verkörperten eine neue, moderne Alltagskultur.

Dabei waren Bauten aus Glas kein Novum: Bereits 1911 hatte Gropius für die Schuhleistenfabrik Fagus in Ahlfeld einen Curtain Wall entworfen.
 
Außenansicht des Glashaus-Pavillon Außenansicht des Glashaus-Pavillon | © Unbekannt, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 1914 präsentierte Bruno Taut seinen Glaspavillon auf der Werkbundausstellung in Köln. Fünf Jahre später im Nachbeben der Novemberrevolution initiierte er den Briefzirkel Die Gläserne Kette: Hier tauschten Künstler, Schriftsteller und Architekten wie Paul Scheerbart, Wenzel Hablik, Hans Scharoun und Walter Gropius ihre utopischen Gedanken aus. In Zeichnungen und Texten schlugen sie eine neue Architektur, geschaffen aus den transparenten, spirituellen Qualitäten des Glases, vor, die auf gotische Kathedralen Bezug nahm.

Walter Benjamin zitiert in seinen Überlegungen zur „Erfahrungsarmut“ als Signatur der Zeit Paul Scheerbart, der die Menschen in beweglichen Behausungen aus Glas untergebracht sah. Glas sei schließlich, so Benjamin „ein hartes und glattes Material, an dem sich nichts festsetzt“; mit der neuen „Glaskultur“, an der auch das Bauhaus mitwirkte, entstünden Räume, in denen es schwer sei „Spuren zu hinterlassen“.1 Zugleich war es Benjamin, der die populären Glasarchitekturen des 19. Jahrhunderts, die Bahnhöfe, Ausstellungshallen und Kaufhäuser als „Traumhäuser des Kollektivs“ beschrieb. In den Glasbauten breche sich eine neue moderne Kultur Bahn, die eine klassenlose Gesellschaft vorwegnähme.
 
In diesen aufgeladenen kulturellen Debatten wurde das Bauhausgebäude wie eine in Glas und Stein materialisierte Utopie wahrgenommen, offen für Deutungen aus unterschiedlichsten ideologischen Lagern. Waren die modernen medialen Kulturen konstitutiv für das Bauen aus Glas, so trugen Filme, Zeitschriften, Bücher, Ausstellungen und Fotografien zur internationalen Verbreitung derselben bei. 1927 veröffentlichte Walter Gropius in dem Buch Internationale Architektur das Bauhausgebäude zusammen mit internationalen Beispielen einer neuen weltumspannenden Baugesinnung. Die ikonischen Bilder der Fotografin Lucia Moholy trugen zur Popularisierung eines bestimmten Blickregimes des Gebäudes bei. Ihre Fotos vom Bauhausgebäude waren auch auf der Ausstellung Machine Age 1927 zu sehen – der ersten umfassenden Schau internationaler Avantgarde in Kunst und Architektur in New York.
 
Alfred Barr, fasziniert von den Glasbauten, besuchte auf seiner Europareise auch das Bauhaus. Diese Begegnung inspirierte nicht nur die Gründung des Museums of Modern Art 1929, dessen erster Direktor Barr wurde, sondern auch die Idee, eine Ausstellung dieses neuen „Baustils“ in New York zu organisieren.
 
Gemeinsam mit Philip Johnson und Henry-Russell Hitchcock unternahm er weitere Reisen, um Material für eine Publikation über die zeitgenössische Architektur mit dem Titel The Internationale Style. Architecture since 1922 zusammenzutragen. Die an formalen stilistischen Kriterien orientierte Einordnung der europäischen Bauten von Hitchcock und die damit verbundene Auslassung der politischen und sozialen Kontexte des Neuen Bauens prägte auch die 1932 stattfindende Ausstellung Modern Architecture. International Exhibition. Die Schau ist ein Meilenstein in der Kanonisierung und Popularisierung des Bauhausgebäudes als Stil: Dazu trug die modulare Regelmäßigkeit, der Verzicht auf das Ornament und die Auflösung des massiven Baukörpers hin zur Architektur des Raumes bei. Dass die deutschen Emigranten Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer und Mies van der Rohe, die wenige Jahre später in die USA übersiedelten, diese Popularisierung und Uminterpretation des Neuen Bauens hinnahmen, hatte wohl auch mit ihrem Status als Exilanten und dem Bemühen um Anerkennung in einem für sie fremden Land zu tun.
Rekonstruierte Fassade des Bauhauses Dessau Rekonstruierte Fassade des Bauhauses Dessau | Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC-BY-SA-4.0'
Glashäuser wurden in der unmittelbaren Nachkriegszeit zum amerikanischen Markenzeichen der machtvollen Repräsentation großer Unternehmen: Das Lever Building von SOM 1952 oder das Seagram Building von Mies van der Rohe 1958 in New York sind Signaturen dieses Wandels vom Experiment zum Mainstream.

Wirtschaftsboom, Massenkonsum und Konzernkapitalismus im geopolitischen Kontext des Kalten Krieges schrieben den Bauten aus Glas eine andere Bedeutung zu. Die eleganten, glatten, technisch perfekten Fassaden symbolisierten nicht nur den Aufstieg und Erfolg großer Konzerne, sie organisierten auch deren Operationen und gaben diesen eine ästhetische Form. Obwohl beraubt von den utopischen Ideen der frühen Jahre, wurden Glashüllen von amerikanischen Botschaftsgebäuden und Hotels zu Wahrzeichen westlicher Freiheit, Demokratie und kultureller Überlegenheit.3 Zudem gehörten Curtain Walls bald zum gängigen Repertoire der Bauwirtschaft in den USA. Im Sweet‘s Katalog – einem der führenden Baumärkte dieser Jahre – ist auch der Curtain Wall im Angebot. So verwundert es nicht, dass in den Architekturzeitschriften der einstige europäische Import zur amerikanischen vernakulären Architektur umgedeutet wurde.

Solchermaßen aufgeladen war die Reintegration der Glasbauten in das Nachkriegswestdeutschland als normative Architektur, als Kontrapunkt zur Monumentalität des Nationalsozialismus und als Symbol der Bindung an westliche Werte der Freiheit und Demokratie folgerichtig. Das Dreischeibenhochhaus in Düsseldorf, 1957 von den Architekten Hubert Petschnigg und Helmut Hendrich für die Phoenix Rheinrohr AG errichtet, gilt als frühes Zeugnis dieser erneuten transatlantischen Konversationen entlang des Curtain Wall.

Bauhaus-Logo Bauhaus-Logo | © Oskar Schlemmer, Wikipedia, edited, CC0-1.0 Trotz der Komplizenschaft mit Kapitalismus, Kaltem Krieg und Kommerz: Glasvorhangfassaden dieser Jahre enthielten in ihrer DNA das Versprechen von sozialem Aufstieg und Wohlstand. Erst an den schicken, von John Portman entworfenen Spiegelfassaden der Postmoderne bricht sich das Versprechen moderner Transparenz. Schließlich haben die mit dünnen Glashäuten verspannten Bankentürme von Dubai bis New York und von Shanghai bis London als Wahrzeichen des neoliberalen global operierenden Finanzkapitalismus von ihren Vorfahren lediglich die Idee der Freiheit der Geldflüsse übernommen.
 

 
1 Benjamin, Walter. (1991). Erfahrung und Armut. In: Walter Benjamin. Gesammelte Schriften, vol. 2. Frankfurt/Main, p. 213

2 Thöner, Wolfgang. (2003). Austreibung des Funktionalismus und Ankunft im Stil. In: Regina Bittner (ed.), Bauhausstil zwischen International style und Lifestyle. Berlin, p. 121

3 Ockman, Joan. (1997). Towards a theory of normative architecture. In: Steven Harris and Deborah Berke (eds.), Architecture of the Everday. Princeton, p. 131

Zurück zur Übersicht