The Elite in the Arts | Music Take a walk on the wild side. Lou Reed between Elitism and Popularity

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

To describe pop music in the second half of the twentieth century, the attributes “elitist” and ”popular” quickly led into a thicket of other (supposed) opposing pairs such as mainstream / underground, high culture / subculture or pop music / art music, which are neither clearly antipodal nor parallel to the attributes “elitist” and “popular.” The work of rock legend Lou Reed is paradigmatic for these interwoven levels of meaning.

The many significant events and twists of his story are condensed below in three exemplary stations. Each station represents a different connotation of the attributes “elitist” and “popular.” Here an oscillation between these poles that cannot be resolved into unambiguous definitions becomes clear. It is precisely this field of tension that makes for pop culture, and here in particular pop music, and constantly rediscovers its social potential.
 
The Velvet Underground & Nico The Velvet Underground & Nico | © Billy Name, Wikipedia, edited, CC0-1.0 1967: The first station marks a form of elite pop culture that positions itself across from dichotomies such as pop and art, and therefore also across from a classical notion of elitist art music and popular pop music. Before Reed started his solo career, he was a member of the band The Velvet Underground, which he shaped unmistakably with his distinctive voice and his uncompromising love of experimentation. The Velvet Underground scored little commercial success in the first decade that Reed was still an active member. They were instead part of the New York avant-garde scene, especially through their collaboration with Andy Warhol, exemplified by the release of their debut album, mainly produced by Warhol, The Velvet Underground & Nico (1967). In these circles, pop culture mixed with art in a way that unhinged both the contrast between “popular” and “elitist,” and the compulsive coupling of pop culture with the attribute “popular” in the sense of "suitable for the masses."
 
1996: Avant-pop acts such as The Velvet Underground shaped the image of subcultures as the germ cells of political opposition and innovative music. Contrary to this but in an equally common reading, pop music is equated with mass culture. Popularity is measured from this perspective with the help of sales figures. Reed is also a dazzling example of this facet of the pop music business. After his influential, but commercially unsuccessful time with The Velvet Underground, he netted platinum with his second solo album Transformer (1972). The sales curve of his other chart placements was varying, but, seen in relation to his entire musical career, steadily rising. He achieved his international breakthrough in 1989 with the album New York. In the end, his cult status as a rock legend was symbolically celebrated with a double admission to the Hall of Fame (in 1996 with The Velvet Underground and posthumously in 2015 as a solo artist).

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Rock and Roll Hall of Fame | © Andrew Hitchcock, Flickr, edited, CC-BY-2.0
This extraordinary success also fueled a retrospective revaluation of his early days with The Velvet Underground. Although the band had long been celebrated as pioneering because of its great artistic influence on subsequent generations, the above-average well-selling new edition of The Velvet Underground & Nico (Super Deluxe Edition including bonus tracks & hardcover book, 2012), released on the twenty-fifth anniversary of its original release, cannot be explained without this wider success. The reissue is also an example of the cycle between authentic production and economic appropriation, which determines the complicated dependency between mainstream and opposition (and the concomitant specific form of the word pair “popular” and “elitist”).
 
Lou Reed 1977 Lou Reed 1977 | © Arista Records/Photo by Mick Rock, Wikipedia, edited, CC0-1.0 2000: The reissue of Reed's most controversial record Metal Machine Music (1975) was also stimulated by this mainstream success. To the horror of his then-record label RCA, and to the irritation of most of his fans, in 1975 Reed released a record whose tracks consisted of pure guitar feedback. After only three weeks, Metal Machine Music was pulled from the shelves to lead a shadowy existence as a bootleg album for more than twenty years. With this provocation, Reed almost destroyed his career. Twenty-five years later, in 2000, the record was re-mastered by Bob Ludwig and reissued by Buddha Records. All at once (at a time when music-historical developments had produced categories such as Noise and Drone), the re-release was a complete success – and not in the category of pop music but in that of contemporary art music. The ensemble Zeitkratzer transcribed the record in a 34-page score for eleven instruments and performed it live, sometimes with Reed in person. In experimental avant-garde music scenes, Metal Machine Music came to be celebrated as a visionary pioneering record of the subsequent Noise generation; it thus became popular in an elitist context and a symbol of the popularization tendencies of contemporary music.

To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Musik Take a walk on the wild side. Lou Reed zwischen Elitismus und Popularität

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Für die Beschreibung von Popmusik der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts führen die Attribute elitär und populär schnell in ein Dickicht aus weiteren (vermeintlichen) Gegensatzpaaren wie Mainstream versus Underground, Hochkultur versus Subkultur oder Pop versus Kunstmusik, die sich weder eindeutig antipodisch noch parallel zu den Attributen elitär und populär verhalten. Geradezu paradigmatisch für diese verwobenen Bedeutungsebenen ist das Wirken der Rocklegende Lou Reed.

Die vielen in diesem Zusammenhang aussagekräftigen Ereignisse und Wendungen seiner Geschichte werden im Folgenden in drei exemplarischen Stationen kondensiert. Diese Stationen stellen jeweils eine andere Konnotation von elitär und populär dar. Dabei wird eine Oszillation zwischen diesen Polen deutlich, die nicht in klaren Definitionen aufzulösen ist. Gerade dieses Spannungsfeld ist es, das Popkultur, und hier im besonderen Popmusik, ausmacht und immer wieder neu ihr gesellschaftliches Potential erschließt.

The Velvet Underground & Nico The Velvet Underground & Nico | © Billy Name, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 1967: Die erste Station markiert eine Form der Popkultur-Elite, die sich quer zu Dichotomien wie Pop und Kunst und damit auch quer zu einer klassischen Vorstellung von elitärer Kunstmusik und populärer Popmusik positioniert. Bevor Lou Reed seine Solokarriere startete, war er Mitglied der Band The Velvet Underground, die er mit seiner markanten Stimme und seiner kompromisslosen Experimentierfreude unverkennbar prägte. Velvet Underground erzielten im ersten Jahrzehnt, in dem Lou Reed noch ein aktives Mitglied war, kaum nennenswerte kommerzielle Erfolge. Stattdessen waren sie Teil der New Yorker Avantgarde – besonders durch ihre Zusammenarbeit mit Andy Warhol, die hier exemplarisch mit dem Erscheinen des maßgeblich von Warhol produzierten Debütalbums The Velvet Underground & Nico (1967) verzeichnet ist. In diesem Umfeld mischte sich Popkultur mit Kunst auf eine Weise, die einen Gegensatz zwischen populär und elitär sowie eine zwingende Kopplung von Popkultur mit dem Attribut populär im Sinne von massentauglich aus den Angeln hob. 

1996: Avant-Pop-Acts wie The Velvet Underground prägten das Bild von Subkulturen als Keimzellen politischer Opposition und innovativer Musik. Konträr dazu wird Popmusik in einer ebenso gängigen Lesart mit Massenkultur gleichgesetzt. Popularität ist aus dieser Perspektive mithilfe von Verkaufszahlen zu messen. Auch für diese Facette des Popmusik-Business ist Lou Reed ein schillerndes Beispiel. Nach seiner musikgeschichtlich einflussreichen, aber kommerziell erfolglosen Zeit bei Velvet Underground spielte er schon mit seiner zweiten Soloplatte Transformer (1972) Platin ein. Die Verlaufskurve seiner weiteren Chartplatzierungen ist zwar wechselhaft, aber auf sein gesamtes Musikerleben gesehen stetig ansteigend. 1989 gelang ihm mit dem Album New York der internationale Durchbruch. Am Ende wurde sein Kultstatus als Rocklegende mit einer zweifachen Aufnahme in die Hall of Fame (1996 mit The Velvet Underground, 2015 posthum als Solokünstler) symbolisch zelebriert. 

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Rock and Roll Hall of Fame | © Andrew Hitchcock, Flickr, bearbeitet, CC-BY-2.0
Dieser außerordentliche Erfolg befeuerte außerdem eine retrospektive Aufwertung seiner frühen Zeit mit The Velvet Underground. Wenn auch die Band durch ihren großen künstlerischen Einfluss auf nachfolgende Generationen in Kennerkreisen längst als Pionier gefeiert wurde, ist doch eine überdurchschnittlich gut verkaufte Neuauflage der Platte The Velvet Underground & Nico (Super Deluxe Edition inkl. Bonus Tracks & Hardcover Buch, 2012) anlässlich ihres 25jährigen Erscheinens ohne diesen Erfolg nicht zu erklären. Diese Neuauflage ist außerdem ein Beispiel für den Zyklus zwischen authentischer Produktion und ökonomischer Aneignung, der das komplizierte Abhängigkeitsverhältnis zwischen Mainstream und Opposition (und die damit einhergehende spezifische Form des Wortpaares populär und elitär) bestimmt. 
 
Lou Reed 1977 Lou Reed 1977 | © Arista Records/Photo by Mick Rock, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0 2000: Auch die Neuauflage von Lou Reeds umstrittenster Platte Metal Machine Music (1975) wird von diesem Mainstream-Erfolg getragen. Zum Entsetzen seiner damaligen Plattenfirma RCA und zum Ärger der meisten seiner Fans veröffentlichte Lou Reed 1975 eine Platte, deren Klangmaterial aus reinem Gitarrenfeedback besteht. Nach nur drei Wochen wurde Metal Machine Music wieder aus dem Sortiment genommen und führte über zwanzig Jahre ein Schattendasein als Bootleg. Mit dieser Provokation hätte sich Lou Reed damals fast seine Karriere zerstört. 25 Jahre später, im Jahr 2000, wurde die Platte von Bob Ludwig neu gemastert und bei Buddha Records neu aufgelegt. Auf einmal (zu einem Zeitpunkt also, an dem musikgeschichtliche Entwicklungen Kategorien wie Noise und Drone hervorgebracht hatten), wurde die Platte ein voller Erfolg, und zwar nicht in der Kategorie „Popmusik“, sondern in der Kategorie „zeitgenössische Kunstmusik“. Das Ensemble zeitkratzer hat die Platte transkribiert, in eine 34seitige Partitur für elf Instrumente transferiert und – teilweise mit Lou Reed persönlich – live aufgeführt. In Szenen experimenteller avantgardistischer Musik wurde Metal Machine Music daraufhin als visionäre Pionierplatte einer nachfolgenden Noise-Generation gefeiert – sie wurde also populär in einem elitären Kontext und ist darüber hinaus ein Sinnbild für die Popularisierungstendenzen zeitgenössischer Musik.
 
 
Zurück zur  Übersicht