The Elite in the Arts | Visual Arts Defining Photography

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Since its birth, creative photography has experienced a very bumpy path, fighting to become an independent art form.

While the basic steps to capture and make permanent an image were given freely to the world by the French government in 1839, the process proved to be arcane and difficult, requiring great skill. And there was a serious complication: the procedure demanded developing light sensitive silver plates over the fumes of mercury, slowly poisoning its practitioners.

From those very first years, photography stood accused of being incapable of being a fine art because it was made by a machine, the camera. By the turn of the century, the process had been made safe and also vastly simplified. Cameras became affordable and plentiful worldwide. Photography boomed as a hobby and camera clubs were everywhere. Photographers did not even have to develop film or print negatives. Anyone could make a picture, declared the Kodak ad: "You push the button. We do the rest."

For the first third of the twentieth century, most photographers adopted a style called Pictorialism in which photographs were made to replicate the look of established art forms. Soft-focus lenses, matte-textured and brown-toned printing papers, manipulation of the negative’s light-sensitive emulsion, romantic lighting, deliberate simplification of detail—many different effects were used in the effort to make a photograph look like a charcoal or an etching, or pastel drawing, manipulative techniques to show the hand of man overpowering the apparent machine, so that photography could be considered art. In addition, pseudo-historical subject matter became a popular subject to communicate the serious purpose of the photographer.
 


As a young man, American Alfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) studied photochemistry in Germany and gained prominence in photographic circles there by winning prizes at various salons and exhibitions. He returned home and became a leader of the Camera Club of New York. Stieglitz rejected Pictorialism, including the popular soft-focus lens, and chose instead lenses capable of sharp focus. He preferred natural light to the traditional artificial studio lighting. His viewfinder framed uncontrived, natural compositions in the city streets. His goals were to promote photography as a respected and independent medium: his vision of photography was art. Stieglitz opened a succession of hugely influential New York art galleries. While he exhibited photographs, paintings, and sculpture over the next four decades, covering the first half of the twentieth century, he found but a handful of photographers to be worthy of his support. It can be said that during his lifetime he was the most powerful leader in photograpy in the world. But he nurtured an atmosphere of exclusivity. He represented only artists who figuratively knelt before him. He charged his clients premium prices and would sell only to those he deemed worthy. He cultivated a new sensibility that eschewed Pictorialism but embraced elitism.

In 1932, an American photography movement, Group f.64, determined to set its own course, establishing photography as a fine art without Stieglitz’s exclusionary practices, including gender equality. Unable to gain recognition by Stieglitz, members of Group f.64 judged him to be out of touch with reality, with the contemporary world. They were exclusive only in their shared beliefs. They also agreed that photography must be wrested from the Pictorialists once and for all. Together they pledged to forge their own identity, separate from and in contrast with Stieglitz’s approach.
 
Group f.64 named itself for a tiny aperture setting on view camera lenses: focal length, f.64. A small lens opening combined with long-enough exposure time yielded the finely focused image with great depth of field that they demanded in their prints. Photography is the medium of light—light focused by a lens. Photography is capable of producing an image of exquisite sharpness of detail, with great depth-of-field, and a full range of tonalities. Photography can be an expression of immediacy. It can capture the world as it is seen and expressed by the photographer (although not necessarily as it really exists).
 
  • Magnolia Blossom by Imogen Cunningham, 1925 © Courtesy of the Imogen Cunningham Trust
    Magnolia Blossom by Imogen Cunningham, 1925
  • Shell 1S by Edward Weston © Collection Center for Creative Photography, Arizona Board of Regents
    Shell 1S by Edward Weston
  • The Golden Gate Before the Bridge by Ansel Adams © Courtesy of Mary Alinder
    The Golden Gate Before the Bridge by Ansel Adams

Most likely Group f.64 was the first art movement created at its very inception by both women and men. The members came from all walks of life. Three were college students, two were studio portrait photographers, one was a failed classical pianist, others were a housewife, a banker, a department store manager, a photographic assistant, and a newspaper photographer. All worked in their spare time to express themselves as creative artists, as creative photographers. 

To promote their philosophy they decided they must take their plan for photography to the masses. In the tradition of the other avant-garde movements of that century, they wrote a manifesto to proclaim publicly their beliefs and chart a plan of action. They posted it on the wall of their first museum exhibition in November 1932 at San Francisco’s M.H. de Young Memorial Museum.
 
They knew that not only the example of their photographs but also education would be the key to their crusade. That meant writing books and magazine articles. That meant teaching workshops and establishing schools and departments of photography at universities and museums. They did all these things: Making a Photograph, a basic textbook on how to create a finely focused negative and a sharp print from that negative (1935); the first Department of Photography in a museum—the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), NY (1940); and the first Department of Photography (as a creative art) at a college degree granting institution—San Francisco Art Institute (1945).[“Making a Photograph,” excerpt or?; Picture of MoMA Department of Photography reading room, 1942; William Heick, “Guest Instructor Dorothea Lange and Ansel Adams Discussing Photographs by Lisette Model with Students,” 1948; Al Richter, “Edward Weston Pointing Out Rock Formations to a Group of Students at Point Lobos,” 1948.
 
  • Ben Chinn and other photography students from the California School of Fine Arts (San Francisco Art Institute) at Edward Weston’s home in Carmel, 1948 © Courtesy of the Bill Heick family
    Ben Chinn and other photography students from the California School of Fine Arts (San Francisco Art Institute) at Edward Weston’s home in Carmel, 1948
  • Guest Instructor Dorothea Lange and Ansel Adams discussing Photographs by Lisette Model with Students, 1948 © Courtesy of the Bill Heick family
    Guest Instructor Dorothea Lange and Ansel Adams discussing Photographs by Lisette Model with Students, 1948
  • Pressroom, library and experimental gallery of the MoMA Centre for Photography © bulletin of The Museum of Modern Art, Oct.-Nov. 1943, 2 volume XI, CC0-1.0
    Pressroom, library and experimental gallery of the MoMA Centre for Photography

They made it clear that photography’s true strengths could be applied to the complete panorama of photographic expression. Who were these photographers? What were their contributions? Some would become among the greatest artists of their time.
 

The most important photographers and their work

  • Frances with a Flower by C. Kanaga © Estate of Consuelo Kanaga
    Frances with a Flower by C. Kanaga. Consuelo Kanaga (1894-1978) – one of the earliest female photo-journalists. She concentrated on photographing people of color, long denied by the world of white photographers as appropriate subject matter.
  • Brett Weston © public domain
    Brett Weston (1911-1993) – Dramatic black-and-white print tonalities expressing the natural scene.
  • Dune by Brett Weston © Courtesy of The Brett Weston Family
    Dune by Brett Weston
  • Peter Stackpole © public domain
    Peter Stackpole (1913-1997) – an early master of the hand-held 35 mm camera. Fearless images of the building of the Oakland Bay Bridge shooting from difficult and unusual vantage points.
  • Painters Giving Suspender Cables a First Coat of Aluminum Paint, San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge (1934) by Peter Stackpole © Peter Stackpole/Courtesy of The Peter Stackpole Family
  • Ansel Adams in Sierra © Courtesy of Mary Alinder
    Ansel Adams (1902-1984) – unforgettable landscapes that defined the American West. Each negative interpreted/performed as a musical score, each print a heightened reality to best communicate the emotions he felt when in the presence of the subject. Prolific photographic writer and teacher.
  • Moonrise by Ansel Adams © public domain
    Moonrise by Ansel Adams
  • Agave Design I by Imogen Cunningham © Courtesy of the Imogen Cunningham Trust
    Agave Design I by Imogen Cunningham. Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976) – a photographic pioneer – nude studies of men and women, multiple exposures, negative prints, extreme close-ups of plants and flowers. Mentor to many and always a supporter and teacher of women.
  • Portrait Dorothea Lange Public Domain
    Dorothea Lange (1895-1965) – one of the first photo-documentarians. Iconic images of the Great Depression and its effects on migrant labor.
  • Migrant Mother by Dorothea Lange © public domain
    Migrant Mother by Dorothea Lange
  • Portrait Willard van Dyke © Courtesy of the Willard van Dyke Family
    Willard Van Dyke (1906-1987) – Images of strange juxtapositions of unrelated objects, expressive bones that seem to speak. He became a leader of documentary cinema and first director of the Department of Film at the Museum of Modern Art.
  • Bone and Sky by Willard van Dyke © Courtesy of the Willard van Dyke Family
    Bone and Sky by Willard van Dyke
  • Portrait Edward Weston © Courtesy of the Edward Weston Family
    Edward Weston (1886-1958) – Visually isolating and simplifying the subject to reach "the strongest way of seeing". Close-ups that reveal the inner beauty of everyday objects, female nudes. Supreme photographic guru and philosopher. Concept of pre-visualization – the photographer must know how the final print should look before making the negative. Mentor to many.
  • Pepper No. 30 by Edward Weston © Collection Center for Creative Photography, Arizona Board of Regents
    Pepper No. 30 by Edward Weston
To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Bildende Kunst Fotografie als Kunst: Wie sie wurde, was sie ist

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Die Entwicklung der kreativen Fotografie folgte von Anfang an einem sehr holprigen Pfad: Sie kämpfte um Anerkennung als eigene Kunstform, sie litt unter der elitären Abschottung Alfred Stieglitz, sie blühte wieder auf durch die Gruppe f.64 und wurde schließlich fester Bestandteil moderner Kunst. 
 

Die französische Regierung stellte der Welt im Jahr 1839 die grundsätzlichen Schritte, um ein Bild einzufangen und festzuhalten, frei zur Verfügung. Und doch stellte sich dieser Prozess als recht undurchschaubar und schwierig dar und erforderte besondere Fertigkeiten. Das Verfahren bestand darin, lichtempfindliche Silberplatten über Quecksilberdämpfen zu entwickeln, was oft zu langsamen Vergiftungen führte.

Bereits in diesen Anfangstagen sah sich die Fotografie dem Vorwurf ausgesetzt, sie könne nicht zu den schönen Künsten gehören; wird sie doch von einer Maschine, der Kamera, gemacht. Bis zur Jahrhundertwende war der Prozess schließlich stark vereinfacht und außerdem ungefährlich geworden. Kameras waren überall auf der Welt erschwinglich und fanden weite Verbreitung. Die Fotografie als Hobby boomte und sogenannte Camera Clubs waren plötzlich überall. Fotograf*innen mussten nicht einmal mehr selbst den Film entwickeln oder Abzüge von Negativen erstellen. Jeder konnte ein Foto machen, wie die Kodak-Werbung verkündete: „Sie drücken den Knopf, wir machen den Rest.“ Während des ersten Drittels des 20. Jahrhunderts verfolgten die meisten Fotograf*innen einen Stil namens Piktorialismus, bei dem die Fotografien dem Aussehen etablierter Kunstrichtungen nachempfunden waren. Weichzeichner-Objektive, matt-strukturiertes und braungetöntes Fotopapier, das Manipulieren der lichtempfindlichen Emulsion des Negativs, romantische Ausleuchtung, eine gewollte Vereinfachung der Details – viele verschiedene Effekte wurden angewandt, um eine Fotografie wie eine Kohlezeichnung, eine Radierung oder eine Pastellzeichnung aussehen zu lassen: Manipulationstechniken, die zeigen sollten, dass die Hand des Menschen die Maschine bezwingen und somit die Fotografie als Kunst anerkannt werden konnte. Außerdem waren pseudo-historische Themen ein beliebtes Motiv, um die ernsthaften Absichten des bzw. der Fotograf*in zu kommunizieren. (Anne Brigman, The Soul of the Blasted Pine, 1907)
 


Als junger Mann studierte der Amerikaner Alfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) Fotochemie in Deutschland und brachte es dort in Fotografenkreisen dank zahlreicher Preise in verschiedenen Salons und Ausstellungen zu Prominenz. Er kehrte nach Hause zurück und leitete den Camera Club in New York. Stieglitz lehnte den Piktorialismus einschließlich der beliebten Weichzeichner-Objektive ab, und wählte stattdessen Linsen, die einen scharfen Fokus erlaubten. Dem traditionellerweise eingesetzten Studio-Licht zog er natürliches Licht vor. Sein Sucher nahm ungekünstelte, natürliche Kompositionen in den Blick, die er auf den Straßen der Stadt fand. Sein Ziel war es, die Fotografie als ein respektiertes und unabhängiges Medium zu fördern und eine Vision der Fotografie als Kunst zu kultivieren. Stieglitz eröffnete eine sehr einflussreiche Kunstgalerie in New York. Während er über die nächsten vier Jahrzehnte, während der ersten Hälfte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts, Fotografien, Malerei und Skulpturen ausstellte, fand er nur eine Handvoll Fotograf*innen, die er als seiner Unterstützung würdig erachtete. Zu Lebzeiten war er sicherlich einer der einflussreichsten Fotografen der Welt, kultivierte dabei aber eine Atmosphäre der Exklusivität. Er repräsentierte nur Künstler*innen, die, sinnbildlich gesprochen, vor ihm auf die Knie fielen. Seinen Käufern stellte er Höchstpreise in Rechnung und verkaufte nur an die, die er für würdig erachtete. Die von ihm kultivierte neue Sensibilität lehnte den Piktorialismus ab, feierte jedoch den Elitismus.
 

Im Jahr 1932 beschloss eine amerikanische Fotografie-Bewegung, die Group f.64, ihren eigenen Kurs einzuschlagen und die Fotografie ohne Stieglitz’ ausschließende Praktiken als Kunst zu etablieren – dazu gehörte für sie auch die Gleichstellung von Männern und Frauen. Die Mitglieder der Gruppe verurteilten Stieglitz als der Realität und der modernen Welt entfremdet, nachdem sie seine Anerkennung nicht gewinnen konnten. Exklusiv war die Gruppe nur in ihren gemeinsamen Überzeugungen. Sie waren sich außerdem darin einig, dass die Fotografie ein für alle Mal den Piktorialisten entrissen werden musste. Gemeinsam gelobten sie, eine eigene künstlerische Identität zu finden, die im Gegensatz zu der von Stieglitz stehen sollte. 

Group f.64 benannte sich nach einer winzigen Blendeneinstellung: Brennweite f.64. Eine kleine Linsenöffnung in Kombination mit einer ausreichend langen Belichtungszeit ergab das fein fokusierte Bild mit einer großen Tiefenschärfe, die sie in ihren Abzügen einforderten. Die Fotografie ist das Medium des Lichts – Licht, das von einer Linse fokussiert wird. Sie ist in der Lage, ein Bild von ausgesuchter Detailschärfe, mit großer Schärfentiefe und der ganzen Palette an Tonalitäten zu produzieren. Die Fotografie kann ein Ausdruck von Unmittelbarkeit sein. Sie kann die Welt einfangen, wie sie vom Fotograf*innen gesehen und dargestellt wird (wenn sie auch nicht die wirkliche Realität abbilden kann).
  • <i>Magnolia Blossom</i> von Imogen Cunningham, 1925 © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Imogen Cunningham Trust
    Magnolia Blossom von Imogen Cunningham, 1925
  • Shell 1S von Edward Weston © Collection Center for Creative Photography, Arizona Board of Regents
    Shell 1S von Edward Weston
  • The Golden Gate Before the Bridge von Ansel Adams © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Mary Alinder
    The Golden Gate Before the Bridge von Ansel Adams

Höchstwahrscheinlich war die Group f.64 die erste Kunstbewegung, die von Anbeginn von sowohl Männern als auch Frauen getragen wurde. Ihre Mitglieder*innen kamen aus allen sozialen Schichten. Drei von ihnen waren Studenten, zwei waren Porträtfotografen in einem Studio, einer war ein gescheiterter klassischer Pianist, außerdem gab es eine Hausfrau, einen Bankier, einen Kaufhausleiter, einen Fotoassistenten und einen Zeitungsfotografen. Alle arbeiteten in ihrer Freizeit daran, sich als kreative Künstler*innen, als kreative Fotograf*innen auszudrücken.
 
Um ihre Philosophie bekannt zu machen, beschlossen sie, ihren Plan für die Fotografie einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. In der Tradition anderer Avantgarde-Bewegungen jenes Jahrhunderts verfassten sie ein Manifesto, um ihre Überzeugungen öffentlich zu verkünden und einen Aktionsplan aufzustellen. Dieses hängten sie an der Wand ihrer ersten Museumsausstellung im November 1932 im M.H. de Young Memorial Museum auf.

Ihnen war bewusst, dass nicht nur die Vorbildfunktion ihrer Fotografien, sondern auch aktive Aufklärung eine Schlüsselrolle in diesem Feldzug einnehmen musste. Das bedeutete für sie das Schreiben von Büchern und Magazinartikeln. Es bedeutete das Unterrichten von Workshops und die Einrichtung von Schulen und Fotografie-Instituten an Universitäten und Museen. All diese Dinge setzten sie in die Tat um: Making a Photograph, ein Basislehrbuch darüber, wie man ein fein fokussiertes Negativ und einen scharfen Abzug von diesem Negativ macht (1935); das erste Institut für Fotografie in einem Museum—das Museum of Modern Art (MoMa), New York (1940); und das erste Institut für Fotografie (als kreative Kunst) an einer Universität, die anerkannte Abschlüsse anbot—das San Francisco Art Institute (1945).
  • Ben Chinn und weitere Fotografie-Studenten von der California School of Fine Arts (San Francisco Art Institute) in Edward Weston’s Zuhause in Carmel, 1948 © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Bill Heick Familie
    Ben Chinn und weitere Fotografie-Studenten von der California School of Fine Arts (San Francisco Art Institute) in Edward Weston’s Zuhause in Carmel, 1948
  • Gastdozentin Dorothea Lange and Ansel Adams diskutieren Fotografien von Lisette Model mit ihren Studenten, 1948 © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Bill Heick Familie
    Gastdozentin Dorothea Lange and Ansel Adams diskutieren Fotografien von Lisette Model mit ihren Studenten, 1948
  • Drucksaal, Bibliothek und Experimentiergalerie des MoMA-Zentrum für Fotografie © Rundschreiben vom Museum of Modern Art, Okt.-Nov. 1943, 2 volume XI, CC0-1.0
    Drucksaal, Bibliothek und Experimentiergalerie des MoMA-Zentrum für Fotografie

Sie machten deutlich, dass die wahren Stärken der Fotografie auf das komplette Panorama des fotografischen Ausdrucks angewandt werden konnten. Wer waren diese Fotograf*innen? Was waren ihre Beiträge? Einige von ihnen sollten zu den größten Künstler*innen ihrer Zeit werden.

 

Die bedeutendsten Fotograf*innen und ihre Werke

  • Frances with a Flower von C. Kanaga © Estate of Consuelo Kanaga
    Frances with a Flower von C. Kanaga. Consuelo Kanaga (1894-1978) – eine der ersten Fotojournalistinnen. Sie konzentrierte sich auf das Fotografieren von „People of Color“, denen in der Welt der weißen Fotografen lange der Status als angemessenes Sujet verwehrt blieb.
  • Brett Weston © gemeinfrei
    Brett Weston (1911-1993) – Dramatische schwarz-weiß Tonalitäten in den Abzügen, die die Natur expressiv abbilden.
  • Dune von Brett Weston © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Brett Weston Familie
    Dune von Brett Weston
  • Peter Stackpole © gemeinfrei
    Peter Stackpole (1913-1997) – ein früher Meister der 35mm Handkamera. Abenteuerliche Bilder der Bauarbeiten der Oakland Bay Bridge, die aus schwierigen und ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven aufgenommen wurden.
  • Painters Giving Suspender Cables a First Coat of Aluminum Paint, San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge (1934) von Peter Stackpole © Peter Stackpole/Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Peter Stackpole Familie
  • Ansel Adams in Sierra © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Mary Alinder
    Ansel Adams (1902-1984) – unvergessliche Landschaften, die das Bild des amerikanischen Westens prägten. Jedes Negativ wurde als Partitur interpretiert/aufgeführt, jeder Abzug eine potenzierte Realität, die es dem Künstler am besten ermöglichte, die Gefühle auszudrücken, die er in der Gegenwart des Sujets erfuhr. Produktiver Autor und Pädagoge im Bereich der Fotografie.
  • Moonrise von Ansel Adams © gemeinfrei
    Moonrise von Ansel Adams
  • Agave Design I Cunningham © Mit freundlicher Unterstützung vom Imogen Cunningham Trust
    Agave Design. Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976) – eine Pionierin der Fotografie – Aktfotografien von Männern und Frauen, Mehrfachbelichtungen, Negativ-Abzüge, extreme Nahaufnahmen von Pflanzen und Blumen. Vielen eine Mentorin und immer eine Förderin und Lehrmeisterin für andere Frauen.
  • Portrait Dorothea Lange © gemeinfrei
    Dorothea Lange (1895-1965) – eine der ersten Dokumentarfotografinnen. Ikonische Bilder der Weltwirtschaftskrise und ihrer Auswirkungen auf Wanderarbeiter.
  • Migrant Mother von Dorothea Lange © gemeinfrei
    Migrant Mother von Dorothea Lange
  • Willard van Dyke © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Willard van Dyke Familie
    Willard Van Dyke (1906-1987) – Bilder von ungewöhnlichen Gegenüberstellungen zusammenhangsloser Objekte, expressive Knochen, die zu sprechen scheinen. Er führte das dokumentarische Kino an und wurde der erste Direktor des Film-Instituts am Museum of Modern Art.
  • Bone and Sky von Willard van Dyke © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Willard van Dyke Familie
    Bone and Sky von Willard van Dyke
  • Portrait Edward Weston © Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Edward Weston Familie
    Edward Weston (1886-1958) – Nahaufnahmen, die die innere Schönheit von alltäglichen Objekten abbilden, weibliche Akte. Oberster Guru und Philosoph der Fotografie. Konzept der Prä-Visualisierung – der Fotograf muss wissen, wie der finale Print aussehen soll, bevor er das Negativ erstellt. Ein Mentor für viele.
  • Pepper No. 30 von Edward Weston © Collection Center for Creative Photography, Arizona Board of Regents
    Pepper No. 30 von Edward Weston
Zurück zur Übersicht