The Elite in the Arts | Visual Arts Street Art - The Art of the Streets?

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

In the 1970s, PHASE 2 and other young artists in New York City’s Bronx neighborhood spray tags, words, and images on buildings and subway cars. Many pieces use the bubble-style, which forms letters into big, bubbly shapes. Most artists have local roots in the African-American and Caribbean communities. For them, creating graffiti and applying it to the built environment and transportation infrastructure is a way of claiming their right to use public space. Pieces sprayed on subway cars travel through the entire city of New York.


„Slave“ by Lee Fabulous Five „Slave“ by Lee Fabulous Five | © JJ & Special K, Flickr, edited, CC-BY-SA-2.0 1980s: Artists outside the Bronx are inspired by these new art forms. They become participants in the street art scene and develop their own styles. Soon, artists like Jean-Michel Basquiat and Keith Haring are the darlings of the elite New York arts establishment. Basquiat employs a neo-expressionist stylistic idiom. Haring uses a pop-art aesthetic to draw abstract figures of people, dogs, and hearts. Both artists become almost instantly famous and exhibit their work at home and abroad. In 1992, after Basquiat’s early death, the Whitney Museum of American Art hosts a retrospective of his work.
 
1990s: Street art continues to occupy the streets. Graffiti artists go on writing and tagging in public space, preferably incognito after dark. Cities like Philadelphia support mural arts programs. They provide space and financial support to young artists who create murals on walls of buildings across the city. The creation of murals beautifies urban space. It also provides a creative outlet for youngsters from inner city neighborhoods. Peace Wall by Jane Golden and Peter Pagast (created in 1997) is a beautiful example.
 
2000s: Works created by Jean Michael Basquiat sell for top dollar on the international art market. Museums worldwide own his paintings. The Smithsonian National Museum of American Art in Washington, D.C. is just one example. At the same time, street art retains its original character as art created by artists in the streets and for the streets, much of it in an effort to draw attention and/or provoke. Artists continue to write graffiti and paint murals. They also use seed bombings and yarn bombings to claim space and bring color to urban environments. Street art continues to express the voice of an urban populace and to resist elite appropriations.

To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Bildende Kunst Street Art - Kunst der Straße?

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

In den 1970er Jahren versehen PHASE2 und andere junge Künstler*innen Gebäude und U-Bahnen im New Yorker Stadtteil Bronx mit Signaturen (tags), Wörtern und Bildern. Besondere Popularität erlangt der Bubble-Style, der Wörter zu großen Buchstabenblasen formt. Viele Künstler*innen haben afro-amerikanische und karibische Wurzeln. Mit dem Aufsprühen von Graffiti bringen sie ihr Recht auf Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums zum Ausdruck. Auf den Zügen der Subway – viele Waggons sind komplett besprüht – fahren die Graffiti durch ganz New York.


„Slave“ von Lee Fabulous Five „Slave“ von Lee Fabulous Five | © JJ & Special K, Flickr, bearbeitet, CC-BY-SA-2.0 Künstler*innen jenseits der Bronx sind von der neuen Kunstform inspiriert und entwickeln sie weiter bis in die 1980er Jahre. So werden zum Beispiel Jean-Michael Basquiat und Keith Haring zu Darlings der elitären New Yorker Kunstszene. Basquiat malt neo-expressionistisch. Haring wählt eine Pop Art-Ästhetik und formt vor allem Menschen- und Hundefiguren aus dicken schwarzen Linien. Beide Künstler stellen national wie international aus. 1992 zeigt das Whitney Museum of American Art in New York nach Basquiats frühem Tod dessen erste Retrospektive.

Selbst zehn Jahre später bleibt Street Art auch noch auf der Straße. "Graffiti Writer" sprühen weiter im öffentlichen Raum, vorzugsweise nachts und unerkannt. Gleichzeitig unterhalten Städte wie Philadelphia mural-arts-Programme, die Wandmalerei als Stadtverschönerung und Jugendarbeit betreiben. Sie bieten vor allem jungen Künstler*innen Finanzierung und Gestaltungsfläche. Gleichzeitig kanalisieren sie kreatives Potential und machen es stadtweit sichtbar. Schönes Beispiel: Peace Wall von Jane Golden and Peter Pagast in Philadelphia (1997).

Bilder von Jean-Michel Basquiat erzielen in den 2000er Jahren Höchstpreise auf dem internationalen Kunstmarkt. Seine Bilder hängen in vielen Museen weltweit, so auch im Smithsonian National Museum of American Art in Washington, D.C. Street Art bleibt aber auch weiterhin Kunst im öffentlichen Raum und maßgeblich Guerilla-Kunst. Neben Graffiti und anderen Formen der Bemalung gewinnt die Bepflanzung (seed bombing) oder das Bestricken (yarn bombing) von Orten und Objekten an Popularität. Street Art bewegt sich damit bis in die Gegenwart auf der Schnittstelle von populär und elitär.

Zurück zur Übersicht