The Elite in the Arts | Dance & Theatre Modern Dance of German Origin: Expressive Dance and Dance Theater

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

In the course of the twentieth century, artistic dance developed into an independent genre in the Western world. But its shaping as so-called “expressive dance” or “free dance” is undoubtedly a specifically German contribution to modernism.

Initially rather esoteric and confined to a small circle of initiates, in the years between the two world wars expressive dance developed into an immensely popular artistic practice, accompanied by a broad amateur dance movement. Its high-point was marked by the contributions of several prominent artists such as Rudolf von Laban, Gret Palucca and Mary Wigman in the accompanying program of the 1936 Olympic Games in Berlin. Expressive dance was the only modernist art genre that was spared suppression under Nazi cultural policy. Nevertheless, many artists were hindered in their work because of political or racist persecution.
 
After 1945, the pre-war artistic achievements of expressive dance were largely forgotten and, as in its early years, expressive dance was passed on only in small circles. It was only with the establishment of dance theater in the 1970s, and after 2000 through targeted measures by the Federal Cultural Foundation, that this form of artistic dance has once again attracted widespread attention.

Rudolf von Laban amongst his pupils (ca. 1929) Rudolf von Laban amongst his pupils, CA. 1929. In: Rozpravy Aventina, volume 4/1928-1929, issue 31, page 305 | © Institute of Czech Literature at the Czech Academy of Sciences, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0
A Short Biography of Expressive Dance
 
1910: Founding of the Jaques-Dalcroze Institute of Education for Rhythmic Gymnastics in Hellerau
 
1913 to 1918: Summer school of the choreographer Rudolf von Laban at the artists' colony Monte Verità
 
1925/27: Foundation of the Dance Department at the Folkwang School in Essen under the direction of Rudolf von Laban and Kurt Jooss
 
1928: Foundation of the Folkwang Dance Theater Studio
 
1932: International choreographic competition in Paris; first prize goes to Kurt Jooss's work Der Grüne Tisch (The Green Table), last performance by Oskar Schlemmer's Das Triadische Ballett (The Triadic Ballet)
 
1935/36: Preparations for a great choreographic initiatory performance entitled Vom Tauwind und der neuen Freude (Of the Thawing Wind and the New Joy) in the accompanying program of the 1936 XI Olympics in Berlin. Taking part are approximately 10,000 amateur dancers from all parts of the German Reich who have received instruction in the educational empire of the Laban schools. Expressive dance remains the only modern art form that is not denounced as degenerate under Nazism.

1967: Along with Rudolf von Laban, the most influential dancer and choreographer of the expressive dance movement, Mary Wigman, ceases her teaching activities.
 
1972: Pina Bausch takes over management of the Dance Department in Wuppertal at the Municipal Theater and renames it "Tanztheater Wuppertal" (Wuppertal Dance Theater). In this way, she pays tribute to the dance culture of the twenties, but at the same time breaks with its gloomy aesthetic paradigm.
 
The legacy of expressive dance is widely rediscovered, researched, revitalized, reconstructed, documented and appreciated in the years following 2000, in particular as part of the initiative of the Federal Cultural Foundation Dance Plan Germany (2006 to 2011) and the support funding for “Dance Heritage” (2011 until 2017).

To the Overview

Das Elitäre in den Künsten | Tanz und Theater Moderner Tanz deutscher Prägung: Ausdruckstanz und Tanztheater

01Key Visual Eliten
Igor Miske © Unsplash

Der künstlerische Tanz entwickelt sich im Verlauf des 20. Jahrhunderts in der westlichen Welt zu einer eigenständigen Sparte. Die Ausprägung als sogenannter Ausdruckstanz ist dabei ein spezifisch deutscher Beitrag zur Moderne.

Anfangs eher esoterisch und auf einen engeren Kreis von Initiierten beschränkt, entwickelt sich der Ausdruckstanz in den Jahren zwischen den beiden Weltkriegen zu einer ungemein populären künstlerischen Praxis, die begleitet wird von einer breiten Laientanz-Bewegung. Der Höhepunkt sind die Beiträge mehrere prominenter Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Rudolf von Laban, Gret Palucca oder Mary Wigman im Rahmenprogramm der Olympischen Spiele von 1936 in Berlin. Als einzige moderne Kunstsparte sieht sich der Ausdruckstanz nicht der Verfolgung durch die nationalsozialistische Kulturpolitik ausgesetzt. Gleichwohl werden viele Künstler*innen aufgrund politischer oder rassistischer Verfolgung an ihrer Arbeit gehindert.

Nach 1945 geraten die künstlerischen Errungenschaften weitgehend in Vergessenheit und werden wie in den Anfangsjahren nur in engen Zirkeln weitergegeben. Erst mit der Etablierung des Tanztheaters seit den 1970er-Jahren und nach 2000 durch gezielte Maßnahmen der Kulturstiftung des Bundes findet diese Form des künstlerischen Tanzes wieder eine breite Aufmerksamkeit.
 

Rudolf von Laban inmitten seiner Schüler (ca. 1929) Rudolf von Laban inmitten seiner Schüler, ca. 1929. Aus: Rozpravy Aventina, Band 4/1928-1929, Ausgabe 31, Seite 305 | © Institut für tschechische Literatur der Tschechischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Wikipedia, bearbeitet, CC0-1.0
Kleine Biographie des Ausdruckstanzes

1910: Gründung der Bildungsanstalt Jaques-Dalcroze für Rhythmische Gymnastik in Hellerau
 
1913 bis 1918: Sommerschule des Choreographen Rudolf von Laban in der Künstlerkolonie Monte Verità
 
1925/27: Gründung der Abteilung Tanz an der Folkwangschule Essen unter der Leitung von Rudolf von Laban und Kurt Jooss
 
1928: Gründung des Folkwang-Tanztheater-Studios
 
1932: Internationaler choreographischer Wettbewerb in Paris, 1. Preis für Kurt Jooss’ Arbeit Der Grüne Tisch, letzte Aufführung von Oskar Schlemmers Das Triadische Ballett
 
1935/36: Vorbereitungen zu einem großen choreographischen Weihespiel mit dem Titel Vom Tauwind und der neuen Freude im Rahmenprogramm der Spiele der XI. Olympiade von 1936 in Berlin. Es werden ca. 10.000 Laientänzer aus allen Teilen des Deutschen Reiches beteiligt, die am pädagogischen Imperium der Laban-Schulen unterrichtet worden sind. Der Ausdruckstanz bleibt die einzige moderne Kunstform, die im Nationalsozialismus nicht als entartet verfemt wird.
 
1967: Die neben Rudolf von Laban einflussreichste Tänzerin und Choreographin der Ausdruckstanz-Bewegung Mary Wigman stellt ihre Unterrichtstätigkeit ein.
 
1972: Pina Bausch übernimmt in Wuppertal die Leitung der Tanzsparte an den Städtischen Bühnen und benennt sie um in „Tanztheater Wuppertal“. Damit erweist sie der Tanzkultur der Zwanzigerjahre eine Reverenz, löst sich aber gleichzeitig von deren düsterem ästhetischem Paradigma.

Das Erbe des Ausdruckstanzes wird erst in den Jahren nach 2000 wieder auf breiter Front entdeckt, erforscht, belebt, rekonstruiert, dokumentiert und gewürdigt, insbesondere im Rahmen des Initiativprojekts der Kulturstiftung des Bundes „Tanzplan Deutschland“ (2006 bis 2011) sowie des Förderprogramms „Tanzfonds Erbe“ (2011 bis 2017).

Zurück zur Übersicht