Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

International Relief Fund 2020
Education for all

A community assistant accompanies children back home after school, Dušan Radović Primary School, Novi Sad
A community assistant accompanies children back home after school, Dušan Radović Primary School, Novi Sad | Photo (detail of Video Still): © Andrija Kovač

Forum Roma Serbia has been working for years against the precarious living situation of Roma in Serbia and aims above all at expanding access to education for Roma children in order to create perspectives and strengthen the social participation of the minority. The children often fall out of the Serbian school system simply because of their language. The closure of schools and online classes during the pandemic have exacerbated the situation. With funding from the International Relief Fund 2020 of the Goethe-Institut, the German Foreign Office and other foundations and cultural intermediary organisations, Forum Roma was able to maintain teaching for various Roma settlements in Bor, Novi Sad and Požarevac.

By Saša Kamenović

The project under the title "Education for All" has been implemented in Bor, Novi Sad and Požarevac since September and runs until the end of the year, for the duration of the International Relief Fund 2020. The aim is to support socially disadvantaged children in coping with the school programme. This was prompted by problems schools had to deal with during the current pandemic. At least 40 children in each of the three cities are to be supported through the project activities. Active support is planned for all school children, with a focus on children of primary school age.

Practising the Serbian alphabet at the Vuk Karadžić Primary School in Bor Practising the Serbian alphabet at the Vuk Karadžić Primary School in Bor | Photo (detail Video Still): © Andrija Kovač
“Due to the current epidemiological situation, lessons are not held in units of 45 minutes. Lessons have been shortened to 30 minutes, which is not only too little for the normal subject matter, but especially for the individual support of pupils who need extra assistance,” says Ivana Pajkić, headmistress of the Vuk Karadžić Primary School in Bor. “The teachers at our school have recognised the need to support pupils of the Roma ethnic group in mastering certain lesson content.”, she adds. “During the COVID 19 pandemic, many students are in need of extra help. Only then will they have the same educational opportunities as their classmates. In cooperation with the Roma youth initiative 'Gypsy Soul', we designed a support programme that the Goethe-Institut and the Forum Roma Serbia considered important and supported. In addition to learning aids, the pupils have also received school supplies and an interactive blackboard has been donated to the school to enable modern teaching.”

The support measures for Roma pupils were designed and implemented by pedagogical assistants and primary school teachers. The pupils have attended these lessons regularly and have shown interest in attending additional lessons. Many pupils felt that this would help them to catch up on the lessons they had missed.
Forum Roma Serbia | Video: © Nemanja Babić and Andrija Kovač, Goethe-Institut e.V.
English subtitles can be displayed © YouTube Video in English, Serbian and Romany language.
German subtitles can be displayed.
 

Catching up on neglect

At the beginning of the project “Education for All”, in cooperation with pedagogical assistants from the Vuk Karadžić Primary School in Bor, a list of 42 children from grades 1 to 5 in need of additional learning support, especially in Serbian and mathematics, was drawn up. Regular communication took place with the Forum Roma members on topics as classroom dynamics, classroom support, ensuring unhindered activity in line with COVID-19 prevention measures, and procurement of teaching materials and school supplies.
 
The supporting measures for Roma pupils were designed and implemented by pedagogical assistants and primary school teachers. The pupils have attended these lessons regularly and have shown interest in attending additional lessons. Many pupils felt that this would help them to catch up on the lessons they had missed.
 
The teaching activities follow the curriculum of the Serbian Ministry of Education throughout and thus also the pace at which the respective teaching units are gone through in regular classes.
 

Author

Saša Kamenović is a teacher at the Vuk Karadžić Primary School in Bor.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Internationaler Hilfsfonds 2020
Bildung für alle

Eine Gemeindeassistentin begleitet Kinder nach der Schule zurück nach Hause, Dušan Radović Grundschule, Novi Sad
Eine Gemeindeassistentin begleitet Kinder nach der Schule zurück nach Hause, Dušan Radović Grundschule, Novi Sad | Foto (Video-Ausschnitt): © Andrija Kovač

Das Forum Roma Serbia arbeitet seit Jahren gegen die prekäre Lebenssituation der Roma in Serbien an und zielt vor allem auf einen Ausbau des Bildungszugangs für Roma-Kinder, um Perspektiven zu schaffen und die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe der Minderheit zu stärken. Die Kinder fallen oft schon allein wegen ihrer Sprache aus dem serbischen Schulsystem heraus. Die Schließung der Schulen und Online-Unterricht während der Pandemie haben die Situation noch verschärft. Mit Mitteln aus dem Internationalen Hilfsfonds 2020 des Goethe-Instituts, des Auswärtigen Amts und weiterer Stiftungen und Kulturmittlerorganisationen konnte Forum Roma analogen Unterricht für verschiedene Roma-Siedlungen in Bor, Novi Sad und Požarevac aufrechthalten.

Von Saša Kamenović

Das Projekt unter dem Titel „Bildung für alle“ wird seit September bis zum Ende des Jahres, für die Laufzeit des Internationalen Hilfsfonds 2020, in Bor, Novi Sad und Požarevac durchgeführt. Ziel ist es, sozial benachteiligte Kinder bei der Bewältigung des Schulprogramms zu unterstützen. Anlass waren Probleme, mit denen sich Schulen während der aktuellen Pandemie auseinandersetzen mussten. Mindestens 40 Kinder in jeder der drei Städte sollen durch die Projektaktivitäten gefördert werden. Aktive Förderung ist für alle Schulkinder vorgesehen, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Kindern im Grundschulalter. Das serbische Alphabet üben an der Vuk Karadžić Grundschule in Bor Das serbische Alphabet üben an der Vuk Karadžić Grundschule in Bor | Foto (Video-Ausschnitt): © Andrija Kovač „Wegen der derzeitigen epidemiologischen Situation findet der Unterricht nicht in Einheiten von 45 Minuten statt. Unterrichtsstunden wurden auf 30 Minuten verkürzt, was nicht nur für den normalen Unterrichtsstoff zu wenig ist, sondern vor allem auch für die individuelle Betreuung von Schülern, die zusätzliche Unterstützung brauchen“, sagt Ivana Pajkić, Direktorin der Vuk Karadžić Grundschule in Bor. Dann fügt sie hinzu: „Die Lehrer und Lehrerinnen an unserer Schule haben die Notwendigkeit erkannt, dass Schüler der Roma-Volksgruppe bei der Bewältigung bestimmter Unterrichtsinhalte unterstützt werden müssen. Während der COVID-19-Pandemie sind viele Schüler auf zusätzliche Hilfe angewiesen. Nur so haben sie die gleichen Bildungschancen wie ihre Klassenkameraden. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Roma-Jugendinitiative ‚Gypsy Soul‘ haben wir ein Förderprogramm konzipiert, das vom Goethe-Institut und dem Forum Roma Serbien als wichtig erachtet und unterstützt wurde. Die Schüler haben außer Lernförderung auch Schulzubehör erhalten, und der Schule wurde eine interaktive Schultafel gespendet, die modernen Unterricht ermöglichen soll.“

Forum Roma Serbia | Video: © Nemanja Babić und Andrija Kovač, Goethe-Institut e.V.
English subtitles can be displayed © YouTube Video in Englisch, Serbisch und Romanes.
Deutsche Untertitel einblendbar.
 

Versäumtes nachholen

Am Anfang des Projekts „Bildung für alle“ wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit pädagogischen Assistent*innen der Vuk Karadžić Grundschule in Bor eine Liste von 42 Kindern der 1. bis 5. Klasse erstellt, die zusätzliche Lernhilfen brauchen, vor allem in den Fächern Serbisch und Mathematik. Mit den Mitgliedern des Forum Roma wurde regelmäßig kommuniziert, und zwar zu den Themen Unterrichtsdynamik, Unterrichtsbegleitung, Gewährleistung einer ungehinderten Tätigkeit im Einklang mit den Präventionsmaßnahmen gegen COVID-19 sowie Beschaffung von Lehrmaterial und Schulzubehör.
 
Die Unterstützungsmaßnahmen für Schüler*innen der Roma-Volksgruppe wurden von pädagogischen Assistenten*innen und Grundschullehrer*innen konzipiert und praktisch umgesetzt. Die Schüler*innen haben diesen Unterricht regelmäßig besucht, und sie haben Interesse am Besuch zusätzlicher Unterrichtsstunden gezeigt. Viele Schüler*innen meinten, auf diese Weise könnten sie den versäumten Unterrichtsstoff besser nachholen.
 
Die Unterrichtsaktivitäten folgen durchgehend dem Lehrplan des serbischen Bildungsministeriums und damit auch dem Tempo, in dem die jeweiligen Unterrichtseinheiten im Regelunterricht durchgenommen werden.
 

Autor

Saša Kamenović ist Lehrer an der Vuk Karadžić Grundschule in Bor.

Top