Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Our Digital Future – C’est ICI
Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration

Our Digital Future – C’est ICI (Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration)
Our Digital Future – C’est ICI (Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration) | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Montreal

How can smart, digital tools for society and politics be developed in a short period of time? That was the aim of the competition called Our Digital Future – C’est ICI (Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration), in which the Goethe-Institut Montreal took the lead. 

By Annette Walter

Young people between the ages of 18 and 30 from Canada and Europe were eligible to take part in the competition organised by the Goethe-Institut Montreal together with ThinkYoung and Carrefour Jeunesse Emploi NDG (Montreal). Now the winners have been chosen from five finalists. The Thinkathon Online Challenge #2 with the title Our Digital Future – C’est ICI is part of a two-year initiative to empower youth.
 
It works like this: The participants develop policy recommendations for Canadian and European decision-makers thus helping to shape an integrative digital future. The teams virtually designed creative projects in a digital medium of their choice on one of the following topics: racism, health, climate change, gender equality and education. Each team was able to present their project in a five-minute pitch during the final online Zoom session. In addition to an audience award, cash prizes were awarded.

More microloans for BIPOCs in Canada

Nabeeha Pirzada presented the BIPOC Capital project for microfinance of the future. The problem they want to tackle is the lack of financial support for Black, indigenous and people of colour, who make up a fifth of Canada’s population. Only 13.6 percent own small and medium-sized businesses in Canada. Due to the lack of funding opportunities for them, digital progress is often more difficult for these communities to access. There is no long-term overall policy by the Canadian government to support BIPOC businesses. On the team’s policy recommendation, Pirzada said, “The Canadian federal government could assign interest-free loans to BIPOC companies, which will create more justice by ensuring that these companies are recognised, supported and upheld.” There should also be a microloan programme that would be fully digitally accessible via an app and website. The result: an increase in employment opportunities and a strengthening of the local economy. Ideally, this could somewhat reduce the prosperity gap caused by racist structures. The four creators of the BIPOC Capital project were honoured with the second prize for their commitment.

“Change the world, not women”

The first prize was awarded to the “MEL WIPSEE” project. It aims to use digital tools to create better opportunities for women in work, private and family life. “Change the world, not women” is their motto. Third prize went to “Greenorama”, which was conceived by three participants from Greece. The global protection of the seas can to be optimised through this project by means of digital data applications. Neo College, another ambitious project, aims to innovatively democratise education and implement interactive digital platforms that develop essential life skills. The audience award went to the project “Mr. & Mrs. SMITH” from France. It is developing a technological solution to the problem of regions in France with poor medical services, particularly for emergency care.
 
The lively discussion and the great enthusiasm demonstrated during the Zoom conference makes it clear that the collaboration will not end with a final online session. The teams will continue to devote themselves to their projects afterwards. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Our Digital Future – C’est ICI“
Unsere digitale Zukunft

„Our Digital Future – C’est ICI (Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration)“
„Our Digital Future – C’est ICI (Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration)“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Wie kann man in kurzer Zeit smarte, digitale Tools für Gesellschaft und Politik entwickeln? Das war das Ziel des Wettbewerbs „Our Digital Future – C’est ICI (Inclusion, Collaboration, Inspiration)“, bei dem das Goethe-Institut Montreal die Federführung übernahm.

Von Annette Walter

Teilnehmen konnten an dem Wettbewerb, den das Goethe-Institut Montreal gemeinsam mit ThinkYoung und Carrefour Jeunesse Emploi NDG (Montreal) veranstaltete, junge Menschen zwischen 18 und 30 Jahren aus Kanada und Europa. Nun wurden aus fünf Finalist*innen die Gewinner*innen gekürt. Die Thinkathon Online Challenge # 2 ist Teil einer zweijährigen Initiative zur Stärkung der Jugend mit dem Titel „Our Digital Future – C’est ICI“.
 
Darum geht es: Die Teilnehmer*innen entwickeln politische Empfehlungen für kanadische und europäische Entscheidungsträger*innen und gestalten so eine integrative digitale Zukunft mit. So entwarfen die Teams virtuell kreative Projekte in einem digitalen Medium ihrer Wahl zu einem der folgenden Themen: Rassismus, Gesundheit, Klimawandel, Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und Bildung. Jedes Team konnte in einem fünfminütigen Pitch sein Projekt in der finalen Online-Session auf Zoom vorstellen. Neben einem Publikumspreis wurden Geldpreise verliehen.

Mehr Mikrokredite für BIPOCs in Kanada

Nabeeha Pirzada stellte etwa das Projekt „BIPOC Capital“ zur Mikrofinanzierung der Zukunft vor. Das Problem, gegen das sie ankämpfen wollen: Fehlende finanzielle Unterstützung für BIPOC – Black, Indigenous und People of Color, zu denen ein Fünftel der kanadischen Bevölkerung gehören. Nur 13,6 Prozent sind Eigentümer*innen von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen in Kanada. Weil Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für sie fehlen, sind digitale Fortschritte für diese Communitys häufig schwerer zugänglich. Es gibt keine langfristige ganzheitliche Politik der kanadischen Regierung zur Unterstützung von BIPOC-Unternehmen. Die politische Empfehlung des Teams, so Pirzada: „Die kanadische Bundesregierung könnte BIPOC-Unternehmen zinslose Darlehen zuweisen, was mehr Gerechtigkeit schafft, indem sichergestellt wird, dass diese Unternehmen anerkannt, unterstützt und aufrechterhalten werden.“ Dazu soll es ein Mikrofinanzierungs-Programm geben, das komplett digital mit einer App und Website zugänglich sein soll. Die Folge: Eine Zunahme der Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und die Stärkung der lokalen Wirtschaft. Im Idealfall könnte die durch rassistische Strukturen bedingte Wohlstandslücke so ein Stück weit reduziert werden. Die vier Mitstreiter*innen des Projektes „BIPOC Capital“ wurden für ihr Engagement mit dem zweiten Preis geehrt.

„Verändert die Welt, nicht die Frauen“

Der erste Preis wurde an das Projekt „MEL WIPSEE“ verliehen. Dabei geht es um den
Einsatz digitaler Tools, um bessere Chancen für Frauen im Arbeits-, Privat- und Familienleben zu schaffen. „Verändert die Welt, nicht die Frauen“, so das Motto. Der dritte Preis ging an „Greenorama“, das drei Teilnehmer*innen aus Griechenland konzipiert haben. Der weltweite Schutz der Meere soll durch dieses Projekt mittels digitaler Datenanwendungen optimiert werden. „Neo College“, ein weiteres ambitioniertes Projekt, hat das Ziel, Bildung innovativ zu demokratisieren und interaktive digitale Plattformen zu implementieren, die wesentliche Lebenskompetenzen entwickeln. Der Publikumspreis ging an das Projekt „Mr. & Mrs. SMITH“ aus Frankreich. Es erarbeitet eine technologische Lösung für das Problem der medizinisch schlecht versorgten Gebiete in Frankreich, insbesondere für die Notfallversorgung.
 
Dass die Zusammenarbeit mit einer abschließenden Online-Session nicht vorbei sein wird, wurde anhand einer regen Diskussion und dem großen Enthusiasmus während der Zoom-Konferenz deutlich. Die Teams werden sich ihren Projekten auch danach mit großem Einsatz widmen.

Top