Wolfgang Tillmans in Kinshasa A picture of the times

Wolfgang Tillmans at the exhibition opening on 12 January 2018 at the Musée d’Art Contemporain et Multimédias in Kinshasa.
Wolfgang Tillmans at the exhibition opening on 12 January 2018 at the Musée d’Art Contemporain et Multimédias in Kinshasa. | Photo: CatherineTrautes

For the first time, a solo exhibition by Wolfgang Tillmans can be seen on the African continent. Entitled Fragile, it opened in Kinshasa on 12 January 2018 in the presence of the artist. In an interview with Patrick Mudekereza, Tillmans talks about his impressions of the first station of the ifa touring exhibition, which is realised in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut Kinshasa. 

Mr Tillmans, you have shown your work in many countries around the world. What does this tour of Africa stand for, in particular the first stop in Kinshasa?
 
I work to communicate with people. I chose photography as a medium because I can speak better with it than with words. Photography travels well; it travels on printed pages, today of course also on the Internet. An exhibition in a room, in a gallery, on the other hand, is a unique experience. This way, I can create a holistic experience in a museum, three-dimensional and within time limits. The time I spend with the installation is very intense and I can feel every square metre of the gallery. I spent seven days and nights in the museum in Kinshasa and in the gallery at the academy. Now I am about to leave Kinshasa, but I hope that the spirit of the exhibition remains; that people can visit the exhibition and follow my way of thinking about the exhibition.
 

  • Gitte Zschoch, director of the Goethe-Institut Kinshasa, at the exhibition opening at the tower of the Echangeur. Photo: CatherineTrautes
    Gitte Zschoch, director of the Goethe-Institut Kinshasa, at the exhibition opening at the tower of the Echangeur.
  • In the exhibition space of the Musée d’Art Contemporain et Multimédias. Photo: Catherine Trautes
    In the exhibition space of the Musée d’Art Contemporain et Multimédias.
  • The radial architecture offers a unique spatial atmosphere. Photo: Catherine Trautes
    The radial architecture offers a unique spatial atmosphere.
  • In the centre of the symmetrical room, visitors can enter a video installation in which Tillmans shows a total solar eclipse. Photo: Catherine Trautes
    In the centre of the symmetrical room, visitors can enter a video installation in which Tillmans shows a total solar eclipse.
  • Wolfgang Tillmans talking with Patrick Mudekereza, director of the WAZA, Centre d’art de Lubumbashi. Photo: Goethe-Institut Kinshasa
    Wolfgang Tillmans talking with Patrick Mudekereza, director of the WAZA, Centre d’art de Lubumbashi.
  • Tillmans selected the works shown at the academy as possible starting points for the students. Photo: Michel Katompa
    Tillmans selected the works shown at the academy as possible starting points for the students.
  • Tillmans’s publications can be seen in the gallery of the art academy in Kinshasa. Photo: Michel Katompa
    Tillmans’s publications can be seen in the gallery of the art academy in Kinshasa. Photo: Michel Katompa

I believe that cultural exchange is very important. In Europe, we see a lot of musicians and artists from Africa, but it’s my impression that there are not many ambitious exhibitions by European artists in Africa. I toured North and South America in recent years, and then decided I would like to visit a continent that I don’t know at all. So this visit is not just about me showing people something, but also about learning about the Congo and getting to know it better. I also took pictures here, which I hope will be incorporated in my work and thus represent an aspect of the Congo.

Photography is democratic

The exhibition is taking place in two locations: the Museum of Contemporary Art and Multimedia and the Academy of Fine Arts. There are posters and large advertisements with your pictures throughout the city and the exhibition is also accompanied by a publication. Is photography something that you want to share with people who never go to exhibitions?
 
Photography is easily reproducible in various media. I myself also like to see photos in magazines or on album covers, not just in rooms where art is exhibited. Photography is therefore democratic, which gives it a lot of power. So the catalogue, the posters and the big billboards can be seen by people who have not made an active decision to go to the museum. Maybe someone who is not interested in art will find the publication in someone’s home. The dissemination of my work is an important aspect of my production.
 
While speaking with the students of the academy, you said that every wall, every empty space in the museum should be understood as part of the exhibition. What is your relationship to surfaces and architecture?
 
For me, photography is a three-dimensional medium. I think everything in three dimensions and translate it into two dimensions. You don’t often think about this translation, but for me it is central because I look with my eyes. I have two of them, which is why I can see spatially. I show sculptural situations in my photos. For example, a large work of a weed, an oddly panoramic work that you can travel in the space with your eyes when you stand in front of it. I installed the work on a freestanding wall, and immediately you have the illusion of this object in the three-dimensional space of the museum. The museum on the Echangeur has spectacular architecture. The room is round, with walls that radiate away from the centre. There are lots of perspectives to discover. At the centre, I placed a video installation showing a total solar eclipse. It’s fun to use every corner of this architecture that dates back to the 1970s. The Goethe-Institut helped fund the renovation of the space with new neon lights and additional walls. I’m glad that the rooms have been transformed and are gaining new glory. I hope the new space brings life to the very active cultural scene of Kinshasa.
 
The exhibition sometimes gives you the feeling of being on a scavenger hunt, as there are some photos that are hidden or placed high up on the wall or on the pillars. What advice can you give visitors who come to the museum?
 
There’s not just one way to enter the exhibition; it’s not linear but spatial. You can go through quickly and go out slowly again. Visitors shouldn’t wonder what the artist is trying to say. There is no key, but I would like to encourage them to use their own eyes without bias, and without any sense of importance, for example, thinking the large works are the most important and the small works are less important.

“It’s more important to ask yourself what’s not represented, what’s missing.”

The academy is currently holding a multi-part photography course conducted by EUNIC-RDC and supported by the European Union delegation. When young photographers ask you to give them advice in a few words, what would you tell them?
 
Young artists always think that the most important thing is their desire to express themselves. So I say that everyone wants to express themselves, but that in itself is not interesting, because the need for it is universal. It’s more important to ask yourself what’s not represented, what’s missing. The world today is so interesting, with important and urgent issues, it has changed very quickly. It’s therefore a good time to find something that needs to be said in a new way. I’m aware that the economic situation for artists in the Congo is not good and that it’s not easy to survive as an artist. But success in art never depends on the value of the materials. Since my youth I have admired the Dadaist Kurt Schwitters. He made revolutionary collages with old newspapers.
 
One of the questions repeatedly asked in previous interviews and events is about the places or pictures that impressed you the most in Kinshasa.
 
I’m a city person. I’ve always loved the city. The accumulation of millions and millions of decisions, designs ... every house is testimony to the desire of the person who built it. In cities, in Kinshasa as in all other cities as well, there is an infinite process of layering – a perpetual process of reinvention. In a little bar in Bon Marché, for example, I discovered the surface of the walls and the floor in a toilet; it was a contrast of different materials and colours, perhaps from several generations. A play of colours and at the same time a picture of the times. And I was very impressed by the street style of people in Kinshasa, how people dress. Very original and with very interesting combinations, that really inspired me.
 
And what about the rubbish in the photos you showed at the artist talk at the academy?
 
One thing that I’ve seen in other places, in other cities, and that really amazed me, is how the boundary between rubbish and valuable materials is interpreted – it’s very diffuse. Something that was just sold can become rubbish the next moment. And since the rubbish is not collected here, but compressed on the street, interesting shapes are created. I know that Europeans are at risk of aestheticising poverty in Africa. I do not want to say that all the trash in the streets is beautiful, no, not at all, because my photos are not always about beautiful things. I think the materiality of the world is a constantly ongoing process of things around me.
 
The interview was held in French. It was abridged for publication on goethe.de.

Wolfgang Tillmans in Kinshasa Ein Bild der Zeit

Wolfgang Tillmans bei der Vernissage am 12. Januar 2018 im Musée d'Art Contemporain et Multimédias in Kinshasa
Wolfgang Tillmans bei der Vernissage am 12. Januar 2018 im Musée d'Art Contemporain et Multimédias in Kinshasa | Foto: CatherineTrautes

Erstmals ist eine Einzelausstellung von Wolfgang Tillmans auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent zu sehen: Am 12. Januar 2018 eröffnete sie unter dem Titel „Fragile“ im Beisein des Künstlers in Kinshasa. Im Interview mit Patrick Mudekereza spricht Tillmans über seine Eindrücke der ersten Station der ifa-Tourneeausstellung, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Kinshasa realisiert wird.

Herr Tillmans, Sie haben Ihre Arbeiten bereits in vielen Ländern der Welt gezeigt. Wofür steht nun diese Tournee in Afrika, besonders die Premierenstation Kinshasa?
 
Ich arbeite, um mit Menschen zu kommunizieren. Als Medium habe ich die Fotografie gewählt, weil ich durch sie besser sprechen kann als mit Worten. Fotografie reist einerseits gut; sie reist auf bedruckten Seiten, heute natürlich auch im Internet. Eine Ausstellung in einem Raum, in einer Galerie ist andererseits eine einzigartige Erfahrung. Auf diese Art kann ich in einem Museum eine ganzheitliche Erfahrung kreieren, dreidimensional und zeitlich begrenzt. Die Zeit, die ich mit der Installation verbringe, ist sehr intensiv und ich spüre jeden Quadratmeter der Galerie. Ich habe sieben Tage und Nächte im Museum in Kinshasa und in der Galerie an der Akademie verbracht. Jetzt bin ich dabei, Kinshasa zu verlassen, aber ich hoffe, dass der Geist der Ausstellung bleibt, dass man in die Ausstellung geht und meiner Art, die Ausstellung zu denken, folgen kann.
 

  • Gitte Zschoch, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Kinshasa, bei der Ausstellungseröffnung am Turm des Echangeur Foto: CatherineTrautes
    Gitte Zschoch, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Kinshasa, bei der Ausstellungseröffnung am Turm des Echangeur
  • In den Ausstellungsräumen des Musée d'Art Contemporain et Multimédias Foto: Catherine Trautes
    In den Ausstellungsräumen des Musée d'Art Contemporain et Multimédias
  • Die strahlenförmige Architektur bietet eine besondere Raumatmosphäre Foto: Catherine Trautes
    Die strahlenförmige Architektur bietet eine besondere Raumatmosphäre
  • In der Mitte des symmetrischen Raumes können die Besucher eine Video-Installation betreten, in der Tillmans eine totale Sonnenfinsternis zeigt Foto: Catherine Trautes
    In der Mitte des symmetrischen Raumes können die Besucher eine Video-Installation betreten, in der Tillmans eine totale Sonnenfinsternis zeigt
  • Wolfgang Tillmans im Gespräch mit Patrick Mudekereza, Leiter des Kunstzentrums WAZA in Lubumbashi Foto: Goethe-Institut Kinshasa
    Wolfgang Tillmans im Gespräch mit Patrick Mudekereza, Leiter des Kunstzentrums WAZA in Lubumbashi
  • Tillmans wählte die Werke in der Akademie als mögliche Anknüpfungspunkte für die Studierenden aus Foto: Michel Katompa
    Tillmans wählte die Werke in der Akademie als mögliche Anknüpfungspunkte für die Studierenden aus
  • In der Galerie der Kunstakademie in Kinshasa sind Tillmans’ Publikationen zu sehen Foto: Michel Katompa
    In der Galerie der Kunstakademie in Kinshasa sind Tillmans’ Publikationen zu sehen

Ich glaube, dass kultureller Austausch sehr wichtig ist. In Europa sehen wir viele Musiker und Künstlerinnen aus Afrika, aber ich habe den Eindruck, dass es nicht sehr viele ambitionierte Ausstellungen europäischer Künstler in Afrika gibt. Ich bin in den letzten Jahren in Nord- und Südamerika getourt, und bin dann darauf gekommen, dass ich gerne einen Kontinent besuchen würde, den ich überhaupt nicht kenne. Dieser Besuch ist also nicht nur dazu da, dass ich den Menschen etwas zeige, sondern auch, damit ich etwas über den Kongo erfahre und ihn besser kennenlerne. Ich habe hier auch Fotos gemacht, die hoffentlich in meine Arbeit eingehen werden und so einen Aspekt des Kongo repräsentieren werden.

Fotografie ist demokratisch

Die Ausstellung findet an zwei Orten statt, im Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst und Multimedia sowie an der Kunstakademie. Dazu gibt es überall in der Stadt Poster und große Werbeflächen mit Ihren Bildern, außerdem wird die Ausstellung von einer Publikation begleitet. Ist die Fotografie für Sie etwas, das Sie mit den Menschen, die nie in Ausstellungen gehen, teilen wollen?

Die Fotografie hat die Eigenschaft, in verschiedenen Medien gut reproduzierbar zu sein. Ich selbst habe Fotos gerne auch in Magazinen oder auf Album-Covern gefunden, nicht nur in Räumen, in denen Kunst ausgestellt wird. Die Fotografie ist daher demokratisch, was ihr sehr viel Macht verleiht. Daher kann der Katalog, können die Poster und die großen Billboards von Menschen wahrgenommen werden, die sich nicht aktiv dafür entschieden haben, ins Museum zu gehen. Vielleicht findet jemand, der sich nicht für Kunst interessiert, die Publikation bei jemanden zu Hause. Die Verbreitung meiner Arbeiten ist ein wichtiger Aspekt meines Schaffens.

Im Gespräch mit den Studierenden der Akademie haben Sie gesagt, dass man jede Wand, jeden Leerraum im Museum wie einen Teil der Ausstellung verstehen soll. Was ist Ihr Verhältnis zu Oberfläche und Architektur?
 
Für mich ist die Fotografie ein dreidimensionales Medium. Ich denke alles dreidimensional und übersetze dies ins Zweidimensionale. Man denkt häufig nicht über diese Übersetzung nach, aber für mich ist sie zentral, denn ich schaue mit meinen Augen. Derer habe ich zwei, weswegen ich räumlich sehen kann. Ich zeige in meinen Fotos skulpturale Situationen. Es gibt zum Beispiel eine große Arbeit von einem Unkraut, eine unheimlich panoramamäßige Arbeit, die man mit den Augen im Raum bereisen kann, wenn man vor ihr steht. Die Arbeit habe ich auf einer freistehenden Wand installiert, und sofort hat man die Illusion dieses Objektes im dreidimensionalen Raum des Museums. Das Museum am Echangeur hat eine spektakuläre Architektur. Der Raum ist rund, mit Wänden, die sich von der Mitte strahlenförmig wegbewegen. Es gibt viele Perspektiven zu entdecken. Im Zentrum habe ich eine Videoinstallation platziert, sie zeigt eine totale Sonnenfinsternis. Es macht Spaß, jede Ecke dieser Architektur zu nutzen, die aus den 70er-Jahren stammt. Das Goethe-Institut hat die Renovierung des Raumes unterstützt, mit neuen Neonleuchten und zusätzlichen Wänden. Ich freue mich, dass die Räume transformiert wurden und zu neuem Ruhm kommen. Ich hoffe, dass der neue Raum Leben in die Kulturszene Kinshasas bringt, die sehr aktiv ist.
 
In der Ausstellung hat man manchmal das Gefühl, auf Schnitzeljagd zu sein, denn es gibt einige Fotos, die versteckt oder ganz weit oben an der Wand oder den Säulen angebracht sind. Welchen Ratschlag können Sie Besucherinnen und Besuchern geben, die ins Museum kommen?
 
Es gibt nicht nur einen Weg, in die Ausstellung zu gehen, sie ist nicht linear, sondern räumlich. Man kann schnell durchgehen und langsam wieder herausgehen. Die Besucherinnen und Besucher sollen sich nicht fragen, was der Künstler sagen möchte. Es gibt keinen Schlüssel, aber ich möchte gerne dazu ermutigen, die eigenen Augen ohne Vorurteil zu benutzen und ohne einen Sinn für Wichtigkeit, dass zum Beispiel die großen Arbeiten die wichtigsten und die kleinen Arbeiten weniger wichtig sind.

„Es ist wichtiger, sich zu fragen, was nicht repräsentiert ist, was fehlt.“

An der Akademie findet gerade eine mehrteilige Fotografieausbildung statt, durchgeführt von EUNIC-RDC und unterstützt von der Delegation der Europäischen Union. Wenn junge Fotografen Sie bitten, ihnen in wenigen Worten Ratschläge zu geben, was würden Sie ihnen sagen?
 
Junge Künstlerinnen und Künstler denken immer, das wichtigste sei ihr Verlangen, sich auszudrücken. Ich sage dann, dass alle sich ausdrücken wollen, aber dass das an sich nicht interessant ist, denn das Bedürfnis danach ist universell. Es ist wichtiger, sich zu fragen, was nicht repräsentiert ist, was fehlt. Die Welt heute ist so interessant, mit wichtigen und dringenden Anliegen, sie hat sich sehr schnell gewandelt. Es ist daher eine gute Zeit, etwas zu finden, was auf neue Weise gesagt werden muss. Ich bin mir bewusst, dass die wirtschaftliche Situation der Künstlerinnen im Kongo nicht gut ist und es nicht einfach ist, als Künstler zu überleben. Aber der Erfolg in der Kunst hängt nie vom Wert der Materialien ab. Seit meiner Jugend habe ich den Dadaisten Kurt Schwitters geschätzt. Er hat revolutionäre Collagen mit alten Zeitungen gemacht.
 
Eine Frage, die in den bisherigen Interviews und Veranstaltungen mehrmals gestellt wurde, ist die nach den Orten oder Bildern, die Sie in Kinshasa am meisten beeindruckt haben.
 
Ich bin ein Stadtbürger. Ich habe immer die Stadt geliebt. Die Akkumulation von Millionen und Millionen von Entscheidungen, Designs … jedes Haus ist Zeuge des Wunsches der Person, die es gebaut hat. In Städten, in Kinshasa wie in allen anderen Städten auch, gibt es einen unendlichen Prozess, Schicht über Schicht zu legen – layering –, ein immerwährender Prozess der Neuerfindung. In einer kleinen Bar in Bon Marché zum Beispiel habe ich die Oberfläche der Wände und des Bodens in einer Toilette gefunden, es war ein Kontrast verschiedener Materialien und Farben, vielleicht von mehreren Generationen. Ein Farbspiel und gleichzeitig ein Bild der Zeit. Und ich war in Kinshasa sehr beeindruckt vom Streetstyle der Leute, davon, wie die Menschen sich kleiden. Sehr originell und mit sehr interessanten Kombinationen, das hat mich sehr inspiriert.
 
Und was hat es mit dem Müll in den Fotos auf sich, die Sie beim Künstlergespräch an der Akademie gezeigt haben?
 
Eine Sache, die ich an anderen Orten, in anderen Städten gesehen habe und die mich hier sehr erstaunt hat, ist, wie die Grenze von Abfall und wertvollen Materialien interpretiert wird – sie ist sehr diffus. Etwas, was gerade verkauft wird, kann im nächsten Moment schon Müll werden. Und weil der Müll hier nicht eingesammelt, sondern auf der Straße zusammengepresst wird, entstehen interessante Formen. Ich weiß, dass es für Europäer eine Gefahr ist, Armut in Afrika zu ästhetisieren. Ich will nicht sagen, dass aller Abfall in den Straßen schön ist, nein, ganz und gar nicht, denn in meinen Fotos geht es nicht immer um schöne Dinge. Ich denke, die Materialität der Welt ist ein sich ständig fortsetzender Prozess der Dinge, die um mich herum sind.
 
 
Das Interview wurde auf Französisch geführt. Für die Veröffentlichung auf goethe.de wurde es gekürzt.