Gerhard Bach CLIL – where will the journey take us? A glance at the literature

Mindmap naturwissenschaftliches Experiment
© Salomé Monasterio

where we are now

There can be no doubt that CLIL has become established throughout Europe; perhaps to a greater or lesser extent in individual countries, but nonetheless with a convincing degree of diversity in terms of the individual variants. So it is now time to think briefly about where we are now, and what the next step is. 

Who are the people involved in CLIL?

“We” refers both to “CLIL practitioners”, that is to say the teachers in the various training and continuing education institutions who face the daily challenges of teaching lessons geared to both content and language, and to “CLIL trainers” who (further) develop the methods and tools needed for successful lesson work and convey them to their teachers. And then there are also the “CLIL advisers” whose work along the fine line between practice and theory leads to new findings in an exchange with practitioners. Everyone involved is an expert to an equal extent – not only within their narrower sphere of activity but also beyond, in neighbouring areas where “content” and “language” overlap. All of them are equally interested in establishing how far CLIL has progressed so far, and in the development potential that this method of teaching demonstrably offers. It is therefore well worthwhile taking a look beyond the horizons of one’s own sphere of activity, as well as being willing to pick up on new ideas and put them to the test in practice. 

a glance at the literature can provide useful orientation

After a good twenty years of CLIL, any observer will naturally wonder whether there is anything new to discover, and how the knowledge and experience that have already been gained, along with the findings of academic research, can be rethought in methodological terms. When considering such questions, it can be helpful to glance at the literature on CLIL didactics and methodology and the current areas of focus that can be identified. It makes sense in this context not only to review the classic CLIL literature but also to peruse the latest publications about methodology and handouts for practical use so as to be able to establish where the much-discussed CLIL added value is currently generated and where CLIL still offers potential for further development.
 
When reviewing the available material, it is striking that CLIL handbooks – be they about fundamental questions or actual lesson design – are still to be found almost solely in English. Even if the quality of the material does make it worthwhile for CLIL professionals from non-English-speaking countries to take the trouble to engage with it, this is nonetheless a more arduous route, yet apart from a few exceptions there is little literature available in other languages – however desirable this would be from a European multilingual policy perspective. One of these exceptions that merits praise in the area of CLILiG (Content and Language Integrated Learning in German) is presented below. 

classic CLIL literature

Let us first take a brief look back at the classic CLIL literature that paved the way for current approaches to CLIL in practice and still provides a clear conceptual differentiation of those factors that play a primary part in successful CLIL teaching. These include (listed by year of publication) fundamental works by 
  • Mehisto, Frigols and Marsh, Uncovering CLIL (2008) and
  • Coyle, Hood and Marsh, CLIL (2010).
In both, there is still evidence of a clear desire to take a practical view of the unique feature of CLIL – its so-called added value – using it either as a step-by-step model or as a cyclical or spiral model, yet in all cases as a curricular model with a network character. Do Coyle’s “4 Cs” model has proven to be one popular approach, in which the four factors for successful CLIL teaching – Content/Context, Communication, Cognition, Culture – form an interactive network that can also be regarded as a framework for designing individual CLIL modules. However, Peeter Mehisto’s CLIL matrix, which is an expansion of the “4Cs” model, has also shown itself (especially for those new to CLIL) to be a useful methodological framework when it comes to thoroughly planning, implementing and evaluating CLIL lessons – a form of teaching that is based on interaction. Interaction in this context is meant not only in the sense of linguistic consolidation and flexibility, but also as an action-oriented process in which a “subject” (geography, nature, art etc.) is dealt with linguistically. 

CLIL favourites in Practice 

At the point of intersection between conceptualization and implementation, a whole series of publications can be found that were clearly written by practitioners for practitioners. What all of them have in common is that their introductory sections incorporate the CLIL classic literature when assessing where CLIL currently stands and what the added value of CLIL-specific practices is. Here once again are a number of examples (listed by year of publication) that have generated practical impetus: 
  • Kay Bentley’s The TKT Course CLIL Module (2010) offers a very concise presentation of the four elements of successful teaching – CLIL principles, lesson planning and implementation, and lesson evaluation. Each section comes with “spoken” examples and uses a variety of activities to encourage the reader to use the handbook interactively.
  • Dale and Tanner, CLIL Activities: a Resource  for Subject and Language Teachers (2012) is similar in structure to the aforementioned work, though the added value factor of integrating language and content is stressed even more strongly. Strategies for activating learners and dealing cognitively with new learning content are presented on the basis of numerous lesson examples. Dale and Tanner also provide scope for possible ways of evaluating learning success; in addition, they give valuable tips about feedback strategies.

New online approaches – that can also be fun

All of the handbooks that have been presented so far are traditional products that reflect Goethe’s famous aphorism: “For what one has in black and white, one can carry home in comfort”.  Some make additional materials available on online portals. The two publications listed below follow only this more modern path – they are available solely online (or at least were at the time of this publication): 
  • Playing CLIL: (2015) is the result of an EU-funded project on the subject of “drama pedagogy for bilingual teaching”; six partner institutions from Germany, Great Britain, Romania and Spain developed a method of putting CLIL to the test in a “playful” manner (= pCLIL). According to the project, the focus is on three objectives: (1) to strengthen language and content-based learning success, (2) to develop social and communicative skills and (3) to reach a wider target group through the “pCLIL” approach. A broad spectrum of teaching resources has been compiled and broken down according to area of application (type of school, age group) and thematic focus. So far, the collection is available only online, and only in English (with short summaries in German, Romanian and Spanish). A print version is currently being prepared. What can this collection of games, available only in English, contribute to CLILiG? As compared to the handbooks mentioned above, the limitations here are fairly minor, as most of the games can be applied in other languages after just a few modifications – in line with the idea that “there are no (language) boundaries in play”.
Anyone interested in getting hold of a German-language handbook written by practitioners for practitioners will have to search for a long time, but will in the end find what they are looking for, namely at the Goethe-Institut itself: 
  • Wolff and Quartapelle, CLIL in German, “Where are we now?” and “What is the next step?” Available only online, this handbook describes the framework conditions of and for CLIL, and explores questions relating to lesson organization, performance assessment and the development of materials, offering practical suggestions. One chapter is also devoted to the training and continuing education of CLIL teachers. Although it was written with the specific requirements of the Italian school system in mind, it can be unreservedly transferred to the systems of other countries. What is more, the online content relating to CLIL that is offered by branches of the Goethe-Institut – be they in Munich, Italy or Athens – is being constantly expanded.
  • As far as the Greek CLIL market is concerned, it is worth mentioning the CLIL Guidebook (2016) published by CLIL4U. Much like the aforementioned publication, it has the character of a handbook and is highly recommended as an introduction; it is available not only in an English version, but also in several other languages, including Greek. 

Where will the journey take us?

I would like to make particular mention of one publication that is as yet too new to the market to be described as a classic, but is likely to become one: 
  • Bell, Kelly & Clegg, Putting CLIL into Practice (2016). This book does what the title declares: it builds upon the CLIL foundation of the “4 Cs” (Coyle) – which is regarded as well-founded – and puts this into the context of various CLIL scenarios. Thus the starting point is always the lesson itself: reference is made to theories and principles wherever this is relevant to the planning and implementation of CLIL. Another aspect that should ensure that the book becomes a future classic in CLIL didactics is the chapter on “Assessment” – where the learners appraise and evaluate their learning success, and by extension the success of the teaching. The authors explain how to assess which contexts using which instruments. This kind of context-based assessment is extremely helpful for planning and evaluating CLIL in practice. This book also reflects the dual strategy pursued by publishers – it is available in a printed version and as an e-book, with additional materials provided by the publishing house online. This is a trend that is followed by almost all publishers these days; it is certainly worth looking beyond the printed version and also at the non-publisher-based CLIL portals – not least those offered by the Goethe-Institut.

Im Text vorgestellte Literatur

TextBell, Phil; Kelly, Keith; Clegg, John (2016): Putting CLIL into Practice. Oxford: OUP.
 
Bentley, Kay (2010). The TKT (Teaching Knowledge Test) Course CLIL Module. Canbridge: CUP.
 
CLIL Guidebook (2016). (Autoren: Sandra Attard Montalto, Lindsay Walter, Maria Theodorou,
Kleoniki Chrysanthou). 
 
Coyle, Do;  Hood, Philip; Marsh, David (2010): CLIL. Cambridge: CUP.
 
Dale, Liz; Tanner, Rosie (2012). CLIL Activities: a Resource for Subject and Language Teachers. Cambridge: CUP.
 
Mehisto, Peeter; Frigols, Maria J.; Marsh, David (2008)Uncovering CLIL: Content and Language Integrated Learning and Multilingual Education. London: Macmillan.
 
Playing CLIL: Content and language integrated learning inspired by drama pedagogy. (2015) 
 
Wolff, Dieter; Quartapelle, Franca (2011): CLIL in deutscher Sprache. Goethe-Institut Mailand.

 

about the author

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Bach Foto: Privat, Gerhard Bach Gerhard Bach is professor emeritus of TESOL-methodology at the University of Bremen, Germany. There he directed the Institute for Foreign Language Learning and Multilingualism (Inform) and its international research branch and doctoral program (Langscape) until his retirement in 2008. He now works as an Independent Research Consultant focussing on career planning, academic publishing, and referrals. His numerous books and articles in scientific journals relate to research interests in the culture curriculum, CLIL-methodology, theories of task-based learning, student-centred classroom approaches, the pedagogy of multiliteracies, and empirical research methodologies. Gerhard Bach has been involved in the publication of two academic series on language learning and multi­lingual education: (1) since 2002 as co-editor of Mehr­sprachig­keit in Schule und Unterricht (MSU), and (2) from 2004 until 2012 as managing editor of Kolloquium Fremd­sprachen­unterricht (KFU), both published by Peter Lang.
Contact: gbach@uni-bremen.de

Gerhard Bach CLIL – wohin geht die Reise? Ein Blick in die Literatur

Mindmap naturwissenschaftliches Experiment
© Salomé Monasterio

Standortbestimmung

CLIL hat sich zweifelsfrei europaweit etabliert, mehr oder weniger intensiv in den einzelnen Ländern, aber dennoch mit überzeugender Vielfältigkeit in der Ausprägung individueller Varianten. Zeit also,  einen kurzen Blick zu werfen auf die Fragen: „Wo stehen wir?“ und „Wie geht es weiter?“

Wer sind die CLIL-Beteiligten?

„Wir“ – das sind sowohl die „CLIL-Praktiker/-innen“, also die Lehrkräfte in den verschiedenen Aus- und Weiterbildungseinrichtungen, die täglich die Herausforderungen eines sowohl an der Sache als auch an der Sprache orientierten Unterrichts bewältigen, als auch die „CLIL-Trainer/-innen“, die das methodische Rüstzeug für erfolgversprechende Unterrichtsarbeit (weiter-)entwickeln und ihren Lehrkräften vermitteln. Und es sind schließlich auch die „CLIL-Berater/-innen“, die auf dem schmalen Pfad zwischen Praxis und Theorie neue Erkenntnisse im Austausch mit den Praktikern aufarbeiten. Alle Beteiligten sind gleichermaßen Experten, nicht nur in ihrem engeren Wirkungskreis, sondern darüber hinaus auch in den angrenzenden Bereichen, die die Schnittmenge von „content“ und „language“ darstellen. Alle sind gleichermaßen interessiert an den Fragen der Standortbestimmung von CLIL und dem Entwicklungspotential, das nachweislich in dieser Unterrichtsmethode steckt. Insofern lohnt sich, bildlich gesprochen, auch immer der Blick über den Tellerrand des eigenen Handlungsfeldes, verbunden mit der Bereitschaft, neue Impulse aufzugreifen und der Bewährungsprobe in der eigenen Praxis auszusetzen.

Ein Blick in die Literatur hilft bei der Orientierung

Nach gut zwanzig Jahren CLIL stellt sich natürlich jedem Beobachter die kritische Frage, ob es noch Neues zu entdecken gibt beziehungsweise wie Erfahrungswissen, verbunden mit wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, methodisch neu gedacht werden kann. Ein Blick in die Literatur zur Didaktik und Methodik von CLIL und deren gegenwärtig festzumachenden Schwerpunktsetzungen kann für die Auseinandersetzung mit dieser Frage hilfreich sein. Dabei macht es Sinn, den Blick sowohl zurück auf die CLIL-Klassiker zu wenden als auch die neuesten Publikationen zur Methodik und Handreichungen für die Praxis ins Visier zu nehmen, um so herauszuarbeiten, wo der vielbeschworene CLIL-Mehrwert derzeit zu verorten ist und wo CLIL noch Potential zur Weiterentwicklung bietet.
 
Grundsätzlich ist bei der Materialsichtung zu konstatieren, dass CLIL-Handbücher, ob zu Grundsatzfragen oder zur konkreten Unterrichtsgestaltung, nach wie vor fast ausschließlich in englischer Sprache vorliegen. Auch wenn sich der Umweg, den anderssprachige CLIL-Professionals hier gehen müssen, aufgrund der Qualität des Materials lohnt, ist er doch beschwerlich, und eine wünschenswerte Erweiterung – ganz im Sinne europäischer Mehrsprachigkeitspolitik, bleibt mit wenigen Ausnahmen noch Zukunftsmusik. Eine der für den Bereich CLILiG (Content and Language Integrated Learning in German) lobenswerten Ausnahmen wird weiter unten vorgestellt.

Die CLIL-Klassiker

Zunächst aber eine kurze Rückbesinnung auf die CLIL-Klassiker, die den Boden für gegenwärtige Modellierungen von CLIL-Praxis aufbereitet haben und nach wie vor konzeptionell die vorrangig beteiligten Faktoren für erfolgreichen CLIL-Unterricht ausdifferenzieren. Hierzu gehören (nach Erscheinungsjahr geordnet) die Grundlagenwerke von
  • Mehisto, Frigols und Marsh, Uncovering CLIL (2008) und
  • Coyle, Hood und Marsh, CLIL (2010).
In beiden ist nach wie vor der Impuls zu erkennen, das Alleinstellungsmerkmal von CLIL – den sogenannten Mehrwert  (added value) – praxisorientiert zu fassen, entweder als Stufenmodell oder als zyklisches bzw. spiralförmiges, in allen Fällen aber netzwerkartig curriculares Modell. Durchgesetzt hat sich dabei zu einem Do Coyles „4 Cs“-Modell, in dem die vier beteiligten Faktoren für erfolgreichen CLIL-Unterricht – Content/Context, Communication, Cognition, Culture – ein interaktives Netzwerk bilden, das als Rahmung für den Entwurf einzelner CLIL-Module zu sehen ist. Aber auch Peeter Mehistos CLIL-Matrix, die eine Erweiterung des „4Cs“-Modells darstellt, hat sich als (insbesondere für CLIL-Neulinge) methodisches Gerüst für die durchdachte Planung, Durchführung und Evaluation von CLIL-Unterricht bewährt, einem Unterricht, der auf Interaktion aufbaut. Interaktion wird hier nicht nur im Sinne sprachlicher Festigung und Flexibilität gedacht, sondern als ein handlungsorientierter Prozess, in dem eine „Sache“ (Geographie, Natur, Kunst, usw.) sprachlich ausgehandelt wird.

Die CLIL-Praxis Favoriten

An der Schnittstelle zwischen Konzeption und Umsetzung findet sich eine Reihe von Publikationen, die offensichtlich aus der Praxis für die Praxis geschrieben worden sind. Allen gemeinsam ist, dass sie die CLIL-Klassiker einbeziehen, wenn es einleitend um die Standortbestimmung von CLIL und den Mehrwert CLIL-spezifischer Praktiken geht. Auch hier seien einige Beispiele, dem Erscheinungsjahr nach geordnet, genannt, die für die Praxis impulsgebend sind:
  • Kay Bentleys The TKT Course CLIL Module (2010) stellt in sehr komprimierter Form die vier Pfeiler erfolgreichen Unterrichts dar – CLIL-Prinzipien, Unterrichtsplanung und –durchführung sowie Unterrichtsevaluation. Jeder Bereich ist mit „sprechenden“ Beispielen unterlegt und fordert den Leser/die Leserin mit einer Reihe von Aktivitäten zum interaktiven Umgang mit dem Handbuch auf.
  • Dale und Tanner, CLIL Activities: a Resource  for Subject and Language Teachers (2012) ist ähnlich strukturiert wie das vorgenannte Werk, wobei der Fokus noch stärker auf den Mehrwertfaktor der Vernetzung sprachlicher und sachfachlicher Integration gelegt wird. Strategien zur Lerneraktivierung und zur kognitiven Verarbeitung neuer Lerninhalte werden anhand zahlreicher Unterrichtsbeispiele vorgestellt. Auch bei Dale und Tanner wird den Möglichkeiten der Bewertung von Lernerfolg Raum gegeben; darüber hinaus gibt es auch wertvolle Hinweise über Feedback-Strategien.

Neue – auch spielerische – Online-Wege

Alle bisher vorgestellten Handbücher sind Traditionsprodukte entsprechend dem Goethe-Aphorismus „Was man schwarz auf weiß besitzt, kann man getrost nach Hause tragen“.  Einige stellen auf Online-Portalen Zusatzmaterialien zur Verfügung. Die beiden nachfolgenden Publikationen gehen ganz den neueren Weg – sie sind (zumindest zur Zeit dieser Publikation) ausschließlich online verfügbar:
  • Playing CLIL: (2015) ist das Ergebnis eines EU-geförderten Projekts zum Thema „Dramapädagogik für den bilingualen Unterricht“; sechs Partner-Institutionen aus Deutschland, Großbritannien, Rumänien und Spanien haben eine Methodik entwickelt, mit der CLIL auf „spielerische“ Weise erprobt werden kann (= pCLIL). Nach eigener Darstellung stehen drei Ziele im Vordergrund: (1) Stärkung des sprachlichen und fachlichen Lernerfolgs, (2) Ausbildung sozialer und kommunikativer Kompetenzen und (3) Zielgruppenerweiterung durch den „pCLIL“-Ansatz. Ein breites Spektrum an Unterrichtsressourcen ist zusammengestellt worden, differenziert nach Einsatzbereich (Schulform, Altersgruppe) und Themenfokus. Noch ist die Sammlung nur online verfügbar, und zwar auf englisch (mit Kurzfassungen auf deutsch, rumänisch und spanisch). Die Print-Ausgabe ist in Vorbereitung. Was bringt die nur in englischer Sprache vorliegende Spielesammlung für den CLILiG-Bereich? Einschränkungen sind hier im Vergleich zu den vorgenannten Handbüchern eher gering einzuschätzen, denn mit nur wenigen Modifikationen lassen sich die meisten Spiele sprachenübergreifend einsetzen, nach dem Motto: „Spiele kennen keine (sprachlichen) Grenzen“.
Wer auf der Suche nach einem deutschsprachigen Handbuch ist, das aus der Praxis für die Praxis verfasst wurde, muss lange suchen, wird dann aber doch fündig, und zwar im Umfeld des Goethe-Instituts selbst:
  • Wolff und Quartapelle, CLIL in deutscher Sprache„Wo stehen wir?“ und „Wie geht es weiter?“ Das nur online verfügbare Handbuch beschreibt die Rahmenbedingungen von und für CLIL und geht auf Fragen zu Unterrichtsorganisation, Leistungsbewertung und Materialentwicklung mit praktischen Vorschlägen ein. Auch der Aus- und Weiterbildung von CLIL-Lehrkräften ist ein Kapitel gewidmet. Auch wenn es für die konkreten Anforderungen des italienischen Schulsystems geschrieben wurde, ist der Transfer auf andere länderspezifische Systeme ohne Einschränkung möglich. Außerdem werden die online-Angebote der Goethe-Institute zum Thema „CLIL“ ständig ausgebaut, ob in München oder Italien oder Athen.
  • Für den griechischen CLIL-Markt sei der Hinweis auf das von CLIL4U herausgegebene CLIL Guidebook (2016) erlaubt, das ähnlich wie die vorgenannte Publikation Handbuchcharakter hat und als Einstieg sehr zu empfehlen ist; es ist neben der englischen Version in mehreren Sprachen verfügbar, darunter auch auf Griechisch. 

Wohin geht die Reise?

Auf einen Klassiker, der noch keiner ist, da noch zu „frisch“ auf dem Markt, sei hier besonders hingewiesen:
  • Bell, Kelly & Clegg, Putting CLIL into Practice (2016). Das Buch tut, was der Titel ankündigt: Es baut auf dem als gesichert wahrgenommenen CLIL-Fundament der „4 Cs“ (Coyle) auf und setzt diese in Beziehung zu diversen CLIL-Kontexten. Ausgangspunkt ist somit immer der Unterricht selbst: Auf  Theorien und Prinzipien wird Bezug genommen, da wo sie bedeutsam werden in der Planung und Umsetzung von CLIL. Ein weiterer Gesichtspunkt, der das Buch als zukünftigen Klassiker der CLIL-Didaktik ausweisen dürfte, ist das Kapitel über „Assessment“, also die Einschätzung und Bewertung des Lernerfolgs seitens der Lernenden und damit auch des Lehrerfolgs. Die Autoren zeigen auf, welche Kontexte mit welchen Instrumenten wie zu bewerten sind. Ein solches kontextgebundenes Assessment ist äußerst hilfreich für die Planung und Evaluation von CLIL in der Praxis. Auch dieses Buch spiegelt die Doppelstrategie der Verlage – es ist im Druck erschienen, als e-book, und der Verlag stellt online Zusatzmaterialien zur Verfügung. Diesem Trend folgen inzwischen alle Verlage; der Blick über den Rand des gedruckten Werkes ist in jedem Fall zu empfehlen, auch auf den verlagsunabhängigen CLIL-Portalen, nicht zuletzt die der Goethe-Institute.

Im Text vorgestellte Literatur

TextBell, Phil; Kelly, Keith; Clegg, John (2016): Putting CLIL into Practice. Oxford: OUP.
 
Bentley, Kay (2010). The TKT (Teaching Knowledge Test) Course CLIL Module. Canbridge: CUP.
 
CLIL Guidebook (2016). (Autoren: Sandra Attard Montalto, Lindsay Walter, Maria Theodorou,
Kleoniki Chrysanthou). 
 
Coyle, Do;  Hood, Philip; Marsh, David (2010): CLIL. Cambridge: CUP.
 
Dale, Liz; Tanner, Rosie (2012). CLIL Activities: a Resource for Subject and Language Teachers. Cambridge: CUP.
 
Mehisto, Peeter; Frigols, Maria J.; Marsh, David (2008)Uncovering CLIL: Content and Language Integrated Learning and Multilingual Education. London: Macmillan.
 
Playing CLIL: Content and language integrated learning inspired by drama pedagogy. (2015) 
 
Wolff, Dieter; Quartapelle, Franca (2011): CLIL in deutscher Sprache. Goethe-Institut Mailand.

 

Über den autor

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Bach Foto: Privat, Gerhard Bach Gerhard Bach ist Professor emeritus an der Universität Bremen, wo er bis 2008 den Bereich Fremdsprachendidaktik Englisch vertrat und dort auch das Institut für Fremdsprachendidaktik und Förderung der Mehrsprachigkeit INFORM leitete. Jetzt ist er als Berater für Wissenschaftsprojekte im In- und Ausland tätig, insbesondere auch in EU-geförderten Projekten des Goethe-Instituts. Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind: CLIL, Curriculumforschung, interkulturelles Lernen, Multiliteralität. Gerhard Bach ist Mitherausgeber der Schriftenreihe Mehrsprachigkeit in Schule und Unterricht (MSU) (Peter Lang Verlag).
Kontakt: gbach@uni-bremen.de